Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Deric from San Diego

Thu, 04/08/2021 - 08:35

Hello, I received my Ian Tyson yesterday and the problem I'm having with it is I can't put it down. It is not only a gorgeous piece but plays and sounds just as wonderful as it looks. Craftmanship is exquisite. The setup is right around where I like it so no need to adjust for now. This is going to age nicely. One other problem is pickguard or no pickguard but I'll eventually get that worked out. Thank you for your honest advertising and keeping your quality at such a high level. Deric

Kevin from Knoxville

Mon, 04/05/2021 - 09:42

Just received my Ian Tyson model and I cannot believe how amazing it is. Bright, projects and incredibly full sounding! Stunning guitar! Playing this Friday, Saturday & Sunday and this is my main guitar now! I would say that these guitars are way better than a $3000 Martin! Just ordered a Algonquin 12 string now! Thank you so much for these guitars! I cannot believe I waited so long!!!!

Jorge from St Catharines

Mon, 04/05/2021 - 09:41

Overall a beautiful guitar with an amazing sound. Sometimes I have to take a step back and just admire it in the sunlight. The mahogany back is unlike anything I’ve seen and it just really stands out. The guitar arrived only a couple days after tracking number was received and much earlier than anticipated since it ended up arriving on a weekend. Compared to other guitars in this price range, I don’t think you’ll find a better deal than this beautiful instrument.

Richard from Montreal

Mon, 04/05/2021 - 09:39

I would like to state that I have found your guitar that I bought from you an exceptional piece of craftsmanship. Of all the guitars I've owned, and that is quite a few, this is the one I've always dreamed of owning. It looks very good, plays very well and makes me feel so comfortable playing it.

Mike from Gabriola.BC.Canada

Sun, 03/28/2021 - 14:33

My new Opeongo that is hanging on my wall resonates and sings back to me when I sneeze. First off the guitar is awesome and sounds great but to have it sing back when I'm not touching it denotes the calling of a top quality guitar. I pick it up and play it right away when that happens.

Steve from Stratford

Wed, 03/24/2021 - 15:42

The Tofino X is the second Tofino model that I own. It is everything my first one is plus more. It looks so much prettier with the abalone binding and the gold tuners. But the thing that is most important is the sound. I am so thrilled with it. The high clear tones and the mids shine magnificently. Some chords even ring almost as much as a 12 string. The action is smooth and effortless and damn it’s just a great guitar. There should be no hesitation in getting one. I have recommended Mackenzie and Marr many times and am proud to be able to do so.

Gene from Portland

Wed, 03/24/2021 - 15:38

I made a living as an acoustic guitarist/vocalist for a lot of years. The guitars I use now are mostly for recording, writing and front porch jams. I've bought and sold dozens of guitars over the years, and keep the special ones. I'll be keeping this one. Amazing value. Full sound that should only improve with age. Beautiful attention to detail. Wood binding is gorgeous. The case alone would cost at least $150. Well done, MacMarr.

Bruce from Barrie

Sun, 03/07/2021 - 09:59

This all started with an information request by email. Reply came back on the same Sunday I sent it!! That was the first big surprise - extra special customer service! So I ordered the same day. Next big surprise, the delivery arrived on Tuesday. Less than forty-eight hours from the order time. Biggest surprise of all, this instrument is absolutely beautiful. Beautiful to look at, beautiful to play and beautiful to listen to. Oh yes, the case was also a surprise. I am a big Martin fan. Have too many of them. Each instrument has its own sound, and I admit I am sold on the cedar top sound. It is what I have been missing. Now I still love my Martins, they all play and sound great too. But...... If this sounds like too good to be true, then let me add, I gave this Dionisio to my friend and band mate to play. We go back (just like these guys) to high school days in the late 60's. Bob was so impressed, he has ordered two - yes two instruments from MacKenzie and Marr - a Tofino and an Algonquin twelve string - both arriving in May. I am really excited about this - mostly because I know I will get to play both of them and hear them on a regular basis as we continue to play and sing together. So if you are on the fence wondering if one of these fine - amazingly priced instruments belongs in your hands, I am certain you will be very pleasantly surprised - just like I still am. I am in the process of selling an unplayed Anniversary '68 Gibson Les Paul Custom - so I can order another model (or two)from MacMarr!

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.