Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Dan from Cincinnati

Tue, 01/05/2021 - 11:43

I had been in touch with MacKenzie & Marr, as I was very interested in a Grand Manon. I didn't expect to see one for many months. Out of the blue, John Marr informed me that one had become available. I was pretty excited. I've been playing guitar for over fifty-five years, and my first steel string acoustic was a Gibson J-50 (another slope-shouldered dreadnaught) which I had sold in order to buy a Martin D-28 in 1974. I still have that guitar. Some years later I passed up the opportunity to buy a J-45. I mention this because I'd never purchased an acoustic sight unseen (and unheard!), but your reviews were good, the guitar looked beautiful, and frankly, the price is irresistible. So I purchased it. As mentioned, I still have my beautiful old D-28, and also have access to a Taylor 314-CE. So the Grand Manon had a high bar to vault. It cleared the bar. Although I haven't "A-B-C'd" the guitars next to each other, after playing the Grand Manan, I played the Taylor and Martin, which are in a different location. The Grand Manon has all the tone of the Taylor, which is brighter than my Martin, and I do like that. I also expect the Grand Manon will warm with time, yet the tone is very full across the spectrum and I'm very happy with it right from the start. I mentioned passing on a J-45 some years ago, and frankly, its tone was muddy. I loved the look but hoped I'd find something better. I'm glad I waited. The intonation on the Grand Manon is perfect. The harmonics are crystal clear all over. Incidentally, your YouTube reviews just have flat pickers, which is great, but I'd love to see some different styles. The finish is beautiful. The joint work is clean. I like the machines, although I'm pretty used to close backed Grovers, and so at first I wasn't sure about the opened gears, but the ratio is very precise and I do like the retro feel of them. It just took a few minutes to grow accustomed to the look. The action is just where I like it, and I play and chord all over the neck. I appreciate the flat finish on the neck. Moving quickly is effortless. I'm pretty sure the thin pickguard, included, is designed to discourage anyone from using it. On the other hand, perhaps its lightness is meant to minimize loss of tone. Either way, I won't attach it. A good hardshell case is also included. I actually have not been able to plug the guitar in yet, but unless there is a problem with the wiring, I'm sure it will sound fine. I am very very pleased with my new Grand Manon. My thanks to John for notifying me of its availability, and expediting the shipping so promptly. I look forward to recommending MacKenzie & Marr to other musicians.

Daniel from Brampton

Tue, 12/29/2020 - 10:19

Better quality than expected Amazing Very easy to playing action Flawless guitar For the money extremely good quality 5 star rating from thank you very much Want to purchase a second one to keep at my other resisdence

Mike from Gabriola

Thu, 12/24/2020 - 12:53

I bought my Tofino guitar in July of 2020 with the LR Baggs Anthem pick up system. Of all the guitars I have I pick up this one all the time. I love it. It sounds amazing even with no amp has a sustain and ring that is so nice. The quality, look and feel are great. I can leave this guitar for days and it is always in tune. It is one of the best buys I've ever made. As a West Coast Canadian I was drawn to the name Tofino of course but mostly wanted to support Canadian business. Believe me, you won't be disappointed if you buy one of their guitars and I'm 72 and still buying and playing. Mike Mead

Art from Green Vqlley

Wed, 12/09/2020 - 10:08

Just a few comments on the Ian Tyson Inspiration Florentine cut-a-way acoustic guitar recently purchased - wow! Great visual appeal and detailed workmanship. The sound is full bodied - very clear and balanced. Wonderful playability. This instrument is a work of art for sure - the hardwood finish is exquisite and stunning. Overall a truly great value. Art from AZ & CT

David from WINSTON-SALEM

Tue, 12/01/2020 - 16:11

I was looking for a robust, all around great sounding guitar to use for recordings. Previously, my go to guitar was a '66 Gibson B-25, which has a very sweet sound, but . . . it sounds small . . . because it is small. I wanted a bigger sound, and I tried out the Tofino. When it arrived, I was a bit skeptical, because it's not much bigger than my B-25; but it sounds bigger! That bigger sound just rolls out. It just sounds great. Great for strumming, single note flat picking, finger picking, and Ohh the harmonics! You will feel a primal need to play the intro to "Roundabout." This guitar has a few characteristics that I had to adjust to: I have long been using heavy picks, but on this guitar, using a thin pick for strumming chords gives a sweeter sounding attack. I think it makes a significant difference. Also, if you do any big band style rhythm guitar, like chords on the beat with a little silence between each strum, you will find that you don't get that silence in between; because the section of string above the nut is still vibrating. I stuck a piece of felt up there, and that was the end of that. That portion of the string vibrating probably adds some richness and complexity, but in that style, I had to dampen that stuff. And, . . I didn't put that silly pickguard on. If you strum with an absolute reckless abandon, maybe you would need it, or maybe you would find a better one. I'm perfectly happy with no pickguard. Great guitar. Beautiful finish. Great value. Came with a nice case, too.

Daniel from Sudbury

Tue, 12/01/2020 - 16:09

Wow!!! They nailed it with this guitar!. Beautiful workmanship, and the sound rings like a bell. Every note played, comes out clean and clear!! Truly a work of art! Can’t find anything wrong with this beauty! Well worth the price, totally satisfied!!

James from Conway

Tue, 12/01/2020 - 15:57

My Ian Tyson Inspiration arrived a few days ago, and I think I'm in love.  The first thing I saw was just the sheer physical beauty of the guitar.  The wood, the fit and finish, the attention to detail are fabulous.  Even if I just hung it on the wall it would (almost) be worth the price and the wait.  It would be a real shame to do that though.  From the first chord, I could tell this guitar was something special.  The balance really stands out, with solid lows that penetrate without sounding "boomy", and crisp clean highs that ring forever.  Incredible sustain.  Like many people, I was at first hesitant to buy sight (and sound) unseen, but those fears were allayed in minutes. Friends who are much better players than me have confirmed my thoughts.  I've already had one person try to buy it!  My other guitars, including two Taylors, are fine instruments, especially my 414, but the Ian Tyson is something special.   There was one small problem when the guitar arrived.  The pickup had become detached in shipping, which John attributed to a bad bottle of Krazy glue, but it was about a five-minute fix. The LR Baggs pickup, which came at no extra charge, amplifies beautifully, with a clean true acoustic sound.  Buy your next guitar from these guys.  you won't regret it.

John from Baltimore

Fri, 11/20/2020 - 09:10

My guitar: Tofino X, 10th anniversary edition of the Tofino flagship guitar. Purchased May 2020. If you’re reading this you have two questions. 1. Should I buy a MacKenzie.& Marr guitar? 2. Why? The answer to the first question is an unequivocal “Yes.” Whatever one you’re considering buy it now. As for the second question, I’ve narrowed the answers down to the following. Playability. This is or should be the prime criterion when selecting a guitar. The trick with a MacMarr is that you cannot assess its playability before you open the case for the first time. So let me assure you: It’s playable. My Tofino X is arguably one of the most playable instruments on the market. For tone, balance, clarity, volume, sustain (such sustain!) you cannot do better without spending thousands more — and even then you’ll probably do just as well. The neck as set up by MacMarr plays a big role in this; it’s an amazingly playable neck for an acoustic. I have mine on an acoustic guitar stand in the living room, in front of our non-working fireplace. I can’t walk by it without picking it up just to fingerpick or strum and pick out some scales, even for a couple of minutes. It is a very satisfying guitar to play. Beauty. That’s the only word I can come up with to describe how really, really good this guitar looks. It’s beautiful. The reason it’s allowed to sit in its stand in the living room is because my wife thinks it’s beautiful, too. The silhouette, the inlay, the finish, the binding, the lovely gold hardware, the headstock and logo... It is a very beautiful guitar and impossible to not just stand in front of it and admire it. All the Little Details. This guitar wants for nothing. The touches that add to its beauty. The quality of the wood and hardware. X-bracing! The strings. Here’s one detail that I really applaud MacMarr for. I hate getting a new acoustic and having to drill a hole in the heel of the neck for a strap button. I’m always afraid I’m going to screw it up. I was particularly stressed about my Tofino as I waited for it. And then I opened the case and there on the neck heel was a lovely, perfectly placed strap button. For that alone they will always have my admiration. You could call this answer “MacKenzie & Marr clearly has made sure that every small detail that would make a guitarist smile is included in the final product. And that includes the arch top case, which is both solid and really cool. This is one thoughtfully designed, carefully crafted, and perfectly produced instrument.” Value. There is no better value on the market, anywhere. The price for an instrument this playable, beautiful, and detail-rich should shame other builders. And they are highly valued by their owners, as an ongoing survey of sites like eBay and Reverb shows. I’ve looked high and low, month after month, and I’ve found just one MacMarr for sale. No one is parting with his or her MacKenzie & Marr. If you want a MacMarr, you’ll have to buy new. And you’ll want more. Every BMW owner I know loves their BMW so much that they have at least two. I think MacMarr owners feel the same about their guitars. I’m saving for an Opeongo and hope I can salt enough away for the upcoming 12-string, too, before it sells out. MacKenzie & Marr. Guitars aren’t built in a vacuum. When you buy your guitar, you’re also buying into the company that built it. I have nothing but admiration for and trust in MacMarr. They are a thoroughly customer-focused organization, uncompromising in their vision and execution of that vision. They care about the customer experience. Here’s a perfect example. For you kids reading this in 2045, we had a bit of a scare with something called COVID-19 back in 2020. My guitar came with a thoughtfully designed and perfectly crafted mask, a vital piece of the public health battle against the disease. It was such a beautiful, happy surprise. How many other companies can you name that care if you live or die — and show you? MacKenzie & Marr is one of the best companies in any category, anywhere. I really love my Tofino X. I consider it one of the best purchases I’ve made and a truly satisfying addition to my life. It will only increase in value. I look forward to expanding my MacMarr collection. Any other questions?

David from Caledonia

Tue, 11/17/2020 - 17:55

The guitar is such a welcome addition to my collection, the combination of the lite and dark rosewood is just plain stunning coupled with the spruce top the tone is fantastic... With the playability,the fit and finish and the included features I think it's just a really good bang for the dollar, I will probably swap out the bridge pins for something a little more exotic because I like bling

Brian from Cambridge

Tue, 11/17/2020 - 10:29

Guitar arrived a few weeks late - M&M did inform me of the delay and with Covid going on it was no surprise to me. Guitar arrived by Fedex and the packaging was solid. The Hard Shell Case is pretty substantial. The guitar is everything it was stated to be. Quality of build is incredibly high, the installation of the LR Baggs system is spot on. It's just a beautiful guitar. The sound is very well balanced and the notes ring out. Overall volume and sound is very, very good. I checked intonation up and down the neck and it's very good. I would highly recommend M&M guitars. You get a lot of guitar for the price point...easily could sell for double what I paid. M&M deliver what they promise. One tiny critique is the bridge pins...they looked like they are from a toy guitar and were not well fitted...this surprised me given the high attention to all other details. I have pins at home that I switched out so no big deal. I am glad I made the decision to go with M&M - all in all a great experience and I look forward to adding the Ian Tyson Inspiration to my collection of much played guitars.

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.