Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Keith from ETOBICOKE

Wed, 06/08/2022 - 11:01

I’m an amateur who wants to play a little bit on an acoustic (69 yrs). I appreciate craftsmanship and while I may never do this beautiful guitar justice, I just wanted to treat myself and not have to buy another down the road. My rationale? I’ll leave it to my son some day. I discovered your company, read your story online. Canadian eh? Made in China? The reviews looked promising so I decided to take the leap, enamoured by the quality of materials and apparent craftsmanship. When I opened the lovely case and saw what I can only describe as an artistic masterpiece, I was so happy and assured that I’d made the right decision. The detail, materials and craftsmanship in this instrument are astounding. The website photos can’t convey its true beauty. Thanks for a great instrument and for delivering on your promise. I look forward to years of pleasure with my new Riverboat. Keith N - Toronto

Richard from Montreal

Mon, 06/06/2022 - 12:27

I am now the proud owners of two Mackenzie and Marr guitars and have to say how so very pleased I am. They play superbly and look so very special. I can only say and recommend any future purchasers of guitars to consider these great products; they won't be disappointed

Stephen from Ajax

Mon, 05/30/2022 - 13:42

I Received my new instrument a little over 4 months after the order. There were some delays, but it was most definitely worth the wait. The craftsmanship is superb, as is the sound quality and comes with a custom fitting hardshell case. I'm now contemplating ordering the Riverboat Dred.

James from Cortland

Wed, 05/25/2022 - 02:29

I believe this may be the best acoustic guitar on the market at any price. It’s simply a beautiful instrument. I could not find even one small imperfection in the finish, it’s flawless. Thou I am not a professional player, it fits me perfectly and sounds absolutely fantastic. Case is very nice also. My only gripe was I thought when I bought it was made in the USA, and not in China. But that is a minor concern now as I love it. I have a Seagull, Taylor, Dean, and Epiphone Master built Texan and it’s my favorite go to guitar. I love cedar top instruments. GO BUY ONE

Chris from CASTLE ROCK

Thu, 05/19/2022 - 14:47

I’ve been a six-string acoustic guitar player for almost thirty years now, and I have probably ten or so six strings spread around the house, from a cheap $100 Yamaha that was my first guitar (and is now my take camping guitar) to a wonderful mahogany Taylor that rarely leaves the house, and many sundry six-strings in between. The Taylor has been my favorite since I acquired it, and it opened my eyes to the wonders of all solid wood construction on a guitar. A solid top, back and sides on a guitar simply blows away a laminate instrument, and for this reason I made the decision to only purchase solid wood guitars from here on out. But when I got the itch to try a twelve string, I just couldn’t bring myself to pay Taylor prices (or, god forbid, Martin) for an instrument that I might only use 10-20 percent of the time. Luckily I stumbled upon the Mackenzie & Marr website and this Algonquin 12 guitar. Sure, I was reticent at first. Their guitar listings all sounded too good to be true, and I’ve never bought a guitar without playing it first. But, between the positive reviews and the ‘return it in the first week’ offer, I decided to give it a go. Man, am I glad I did. Took a couple weeks for the guitar to arrive, but when it did, I was blown away by the instrument right out of the box. They weren’t kidding—this baby is like a work of art. The Sitka Spruce top is flawless and the grain tight and even. The Rosewood back and sides have the most amazing wood coloring and grain patterns, and I love the little strip of lighter heartwood that runs down the middle of the back. Both woods are further enhanced by the beautiful high-gloss finish that adds such an incredible depth and clarity to the guitar’s look. My hand effortlessly glides up and down the satin finish of the mahogany neck, and the ebony fingerboard looks and feels stunning, as do the sparkling brass tuners and glossy headstock. But all that gleam and glitz would be meaningless without a good sound and playability. Well, I’m happy to report that this guitar has both of those as well in abundance. Right out of the box, the instrument was set up perfectly, and I only had to tune it up two steps to get it in tune. I’ve also heard twelves can be a nightmare to tune, but this one was no problem. I’ve spent many hours at guitar shops trying out twelve stings and some play like you need a vice to fret the strings, but this guitar is as easy as my Taylor in its action, almost like playing a six-string. And the sound is out of this world. It sounds as good or better than the twelve string Martins and Taylors I’ve tried, but for a third the price! And the included pickup sounds awesome as well. There is just so much sound when you plug this thing in, from the throaty, freight train lows to the bell-like clarity of the highs, and the warm mids in between, this guitar has it all. I could go on and on, but suffice to say, this was a great purchase, and I will likely be back for another Mack & Marr in the future!

BARRY from Glendale

Thu, 05/19/2022 - 14:47

Initial impressions were that the action was generally good, although the nut height needs lowering (not a difficult diy). Was hoping the bass response would be better than my Wechter TO-8418. Different, but not louder. In the 2.5 weeks I've had it there is a buzz developing on the low F/F#. Not entirely sure what's causing it, but I'm a little worried. Trying to keep it humidified, which is not easy in the Arizona summer.

David from Port Hope

Fri, 05/13/2022 - 17:20

I've had this guitar for about three months. It's actually the second guitar that I received. The first Tofino X had a minor cosmetic flaw that I could have likely simply ignored. It didn't affect the playability in any way, but it was always there, and it bothered me. I returned the guitar, under the "Love It or Leave It" seven day guarantee, and a replacement guitar was shipped to me without question. That guarantee is impossible to beat! This guitar sits on a stand, near my computer. I spend several hours each day at my computer and I find myself continually being inspired by something, and automatically reaching for this beautiful instrument. I've played for over fifty years. I've owned many different guitars, some at the lower end, and some way over the top, like a Martin D41 and a Bourgeois Custom Slope D, among others. The Tofino guitar is as playable, and as inspiring, as any guitar I've ever owned. The combination of tonewoods that are generally somewhat difficult to find in an acoustic guitar. The AAA western red cedar top over a AAA mahogany body was just what I was looking for. A soft, yet powerful and loud guitar with a very natural sound. Very attractive indeed. Feature after feature after feature totally unexpected in a guitar at this price. Maple binding top and botton. Also maple fretboard and headstock bindings. Abalone purfling. Rosewood fretboard and bridge. Grover Gold tuners. I could go on and on. This is definitely my goto guitar. Just picked up for a minute or two, often turns out to be an hour or two. I would highly recommend this very well priced, high end guitar, to anyone looking for an excellent quality instrument. Sometimes I can't even believe that it's really that good, at such a reasonable price. Dave.

Michael from Hillsdale

Tue, 04/19/2022 - 21:14

This is my first M & M guitar and I am more than impressed with the beauty, quality, sound and the experience! A friend of mine saw it last week, had never heard of the company but after playing it he researched the company. He said it would easily compete with $3000 guitars. Looking forward to hearing how the sound continues to get better with playing and aging of the wood.

Chuck from Myrtle Beach

Mon, 04/11/2022 - 09:36

Great guitar, great price.

Albert from Woodstock NB

Fri, 04/01/2022 - 11:37

Another outstanding instrument!! I thought my Grand Manan was well detailed, but my Riverboat Dread is over the top! The sustain is top of the line. I'll show this one off with pride! Well Done!!

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.