MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.
2024-05-18
Star Rating: 
5
Moses from Lethbridge writes:
2024-05-18 I'm a retired senior and have been practicing on my electric guitar for a couple of years.I also like the sound of the acoustic guitar, finger and flat picking. My new Opeongo looks beautiful and the craftsmanship is excellent! However,I had to get used to the sound, since I found the 12-53 strings it came with too loud and had difficulty playing softly. Also, I expected a mellower sound. So, I switched to 9-48 strings and now I can play softly.The guitar sounds more musical to my ears with the light weight strings.Overall I'm impressed with this guitar.
2024-05-16
Star Rating: 
5
Tom from HATTIESBURG writes:
I recently received the Ian Tyson Inspiration model. I’ll begin at the end – simply superb! I am fortunate to have a number of high-end guitars in my stable, some costing much more than this one, and although they all have their merits, in terms of design, materials, workmanship, playability, and tone, this guitar goes head-to-head. The design of the guitar is well thought out. It strikes me as a pinched waste mini-jumbo which along with the materials and workmanship make for a very versatile instrument but I’ll get to that. The neck is very comfortable – a flatted C-shape. The heel is carved flat, which along with the perfectly executed Florentine cutaway provides excellent access to the highest frets should one choose to explore that territory. The workmanship is impeccable even on the interior. The nitrocellulose finish, a nice choice, is perfectly applied and provides a showcase for the top, back, and sides. The top is definitely at least AAA Sitka with tight grain and replete with medullary silking – perfect. The Bolivian Rosewood (aka Pau Ferro – iron wood in Portuguese, Santo Rosewood) is STUNNING with a narrow sapwood center, straight grain bordering the sapwood with lovely figuring toward the outer edges. NOTE: Pau Ferro is not a true rosewood (Dalbergia) but is a closely related genus (Mashaerium). To my eyes and ears is indistinguishable from Palo Escrito, a true Dalbergia, and less dense than most rosewoods. I believe that many would think that the tonal characteristics of this guitar fall about midway between Honduran mahogany and Indian rosewood, as do I. The binding is black – not sure what it is made of. The rosette is lovely – the nicest of any of my guitars. The Grover gold plated, open-back tuning machines are as beautiful as they are smooth and contrast nicely with the black headstock The tone is crisp and articulate when fingerpicked. There is plenty of bottom end (I like to thump the bass and do bass runs with my thumb) and the trebles shimmer. It gravitates more to fundamentals to my ear rather than overtones which makes for articulate, responsive fingerstyle work but also full and resonant when flatpicked. Extremely versatile! The case is extraordinary – Gieb style, I think. It even has an extra support or the headstock which I appreciate. (My only bespoke guitar by Canadian Luthier David Iannoni - Morgan Guitars - fell from a shelf and suffered a headstock fracture because there was no additional headstock support). I was conflicted as to order with or without the Anthem pickup system. I have heard great things about it and although it pained me to do so, I ordered without. My rationale is that since I play fingerstyle primarily and have largely hung up my performing shoes, I wanted the top to be unfettered by additional weight and as responsive as possible. As I stated, it is very articulate and responsive. I don’t know what the sound would be with the Anthem but the guitar is perfectly satisfying without. The instrument is a tremendous value even without the Anthem and with it, even more so. Maybe I’ll have to order another so I have a “counterfactual” for comparison . Bottom line, bravo – highly recommend!
2024-05-10
Star Rating: 
5
Michael from BALDWINSVILLE writes:
I recently purchased the Dionisio X Cedar Top Cutaway after some online research. I have no regrets, the guitar is absolutely beautiful and plays great. It has a nice warm tone when I use fingerstyle and it "perks up" very nicely when I use a pick. When you see the guitar, experience the out of the case set up it is hard to believe I got it for the $800 bucks delivered. It you are thinking about buying one ... go for it, you will not regret it.
2024-05-07
Star Rating: 
5
Dave from Calgary writes:
I just received my beautiful Mackenzie & Marr Dionisio X Cedar Top Cutaway. The fit and finish of the guitar is stellar and the sound it produces is beautiful! Strong resonance comes from the body of the guitar and it is a dream to play. Set up well for finger picking! Can’t beat the price for an solid wood guitar! Cheers and keep on strumming.
2024-05-07
Star Rating: 
5
BRIAN from Ladysmith writes:
The essance of a conversation between my wife and I after receiving my new guitar in the mail. She starts: "Sweetie, dinner's ready, get it while it's hot" "I'll be there in a minute, baby, I'm really in a groove" 10 minutes later: "C'mon sweetie, dinner's getting cold" "Yeah, but I'm really cookin' now, darlin'...be there in a minute" "You've been playing all day...don't you want to take a break?" "Really getting into it my love...be there soon" 15 minutes later" "I ate without you...I left yours so you can heat it up later" "Thanks baby, listen to this (twang twang)" 3 hours later: "Sweetie are you ever going to put that guitar down?" "Maybe" "Any idea when?" "I don't know, baby...ah...check the obits.
2024-04-03
Star Rating: 
4
Darrell from Port Hood writes:
Beautiful finish on guitar, action was too high.Lowered action and made it easier on my fingers.Nice tone.Going to try extra light strings.Very good case.The more I play the guitar the better it sounds it's a keeper. Darrell
2024-02-29
Star Rating: 
5
Evan from Lloyd Harbor writes:
After my Riverboat Dread arrived I decided to go to a local music shop and try out some other dreadnoughts-- a Martin D-28 and similarly priced guitars from Gibson and Taylor. So nearly 3x the cost of the Riverboat. The only one that I was tempted by, in comparison to the M&M, was the Martin, but that may have just been the name. They were all lovely guitars in their different ways, but I left the store feeling happy with my M&M choice. Love the big sound it gives, and fit and finish are excellent. I am interested to see how it develops as I play it more.
2024-02-29
Star Rating: 
5
Terry from Canton writes:
I have been playing my new Opeongo for a week now and here is my little review. First, some background. I am 77 years old and have been playing stringed instruments professionally since I was 18. Solo, bands, teaching, session work. I am not famous, but I have been in the game my entire adult life. I have also done a lot of set ups, repairs, and restorations. Over the years I have owned a lot of high-end instruments. I chose the Opeongo because of the parlor size (especially the split headstock!), woods used, incredibly low price, and your reputation for building quality guitars. I have been playing the Opeongo nearly non-stop since it arrived! What a joy it is to play! The sound is amazing and the playability the best I’ve ever experienced right out of the box. My instinct is to immediately find something to adjust (dress frets, adjust the action, etc.). Not the Opeongo! The construction details are impeccably done! It just gets better each day! Well done Mackenzie & Marr!!!
2024-02-25
Star Rating: 
5
Don from Smithville writes:
Mr. Marr, Thank you for taking the time to talk with me about your guitars. Admittedly when I saw a picture of your guitar on line it definitely caught my interest, but when I saw the price I thought though it was really nice looking, the quality might not be there. Because I was searching on-line to add to my collection, your guitars kept popping up, and each one was beautiful. So I finally sent you an email with my cell number asking for more information, and I was very surprised that you called me right away. You took the time to go into detail about your company and your approach to how and why you are selling these great guitars on line. Your trial and refund policy is excellent, so the next day I ordered the Dionisio model and you shipped it to me exactly when you said you would. I can't believe how beautiful this guitar is. It plays every bit as well, and sounds as nice as my other acoustic guitars (A Martin, Taylor and a Furch), at significantly less cost. I would highly recommend your company and your product, and wouldn't hesitate to order from you again. Don Robert
2024-02-23
Star Rating: 
5
Paul from SURREY writes:
I have been looking for a 12 string for a while now. I tried several in the local and national music shops. Big brand names, expensive ones, medium priced ones and cheap ones. None fitted the bill. They either sounded too bright, didn't hold the tuning or the action was off. I looked into Mackenzie & Marr. I researched them, read the reviews, watched the online videos. Honestly, I was hesitant to purchase a guitar on-line without seeing it, feeling it, playing it. They guarantee a seven day period which you can return it, so I was all ready to mail it back. It arrived having travelled across Canada through ice and snow and sub zero temperatures. Upon receipt I opened it up and strummed it. I was flabbergasted that it was still in tune! The action is better than most 6 strings I have played. The quality, sound resonance are all fabulous. I have used it for several live performances and the LR Baggs Anthem sounds superb through the various PA systems I plugged it into. It also comes with a quality hard case to protect it. Everything about it is top quality from the grover tuners to the abalone rosette. It is definitely a keeper.I would highly, highly recommend it.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.