MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.
2023-11-17
Star Rating: 
5
Howard from Summerhill writes:
As a previous buyer of a Tofino, I enjoyed and loved the instrument. We had a bridge lifting issue at which point I saw the most amazing kind and courteous customer service to address the issue and was determined that I could not or would not buy any more guitars and assured my wife of same. That being said, the Ian Tyson is so spectacular, and I am sure my wife would agree if I had the courage to tell her That I bought another of your guitars. I have a number of more expensive guitars and cannot wrap my head around the beautiful instrument that I have in my hands. Please keep this between us!
2023-11-17
Star Rating: 
5
Sean from Eau Claire writes:
I am absolutely the average MMG buyer being 59 years old with decades of playing acoustic guitar using other brands. I have owned and played dozens of brands including Martin, Larrivee, Gibson, Taylor, Santa Cruz, Garrison, Takamine, Froggy Bottom etc.... So many guitars costing lots more. Over the years, I have actually spent several thousand dollars for a few of these guitars. I no longer own any really expensive guitars since world wide guitar making has improved by leaps and bounds in my opinion. I was not really expecting that much when ordering this Tofino X. I currently have a Martin, Yamaha and Faith guitars that sound great. Imagine my surprise when I unboxed this and realized that it sounds great. This guitar is evenly balanced and perfect intonation and playability up all frets. The playability is hard to describe. It just plays more easily then two of my recent favorites. For a new guitar it also sounds fairly open with great sustain. Very easy action set at a great height for my light flatpicking. The guitar is also very light weight compared to many guitars that I have owned. It fits very comfortably on my lap. The cedar top is also beautiful and does not seem to mellow or muddle the projection as some cedar top do. In fact, it almost sounds like a sitka top even though it is clearly a cedar top when looking at it. After playing several hours over a few days I would recommend this Tofino X to any acoustic guitar player. I would certainly put its sound and playability on level with any of the high end guitars I have owned and my other current favorites. The price point is utterly amazing in terms of this flawless tone and ease of play. Hoping to be a repeat customer if the right model comes out. I am a very happy customer. I am also a bit disappointed by a popular acoustic forum website that degrades these Mackenzie/ Marr guitars. Guitar snobbery is still present and thriving so it seems. Solid value here.
2023-10-17
Star Rating: 
4
Ryan from London writes:
My Mac&Marr Riverboat dread arrived 10 days ago. Overall, I am fairly pleased. The guitar manufacturer has very little to offer in terms of in-depth reviews, which made me very hesitant to purchase. So, I hope this helps someone who is deliberating their next purchase! Guitar was packaged fairly well, cardboard box had some visible damage from the shipping process. I left the guitar to get acclimated to my home for ~8 hours, opened case, and loved what I saw. The craftsmanship is pretty good, the high gloss finish on the body looks great, the neck is very smooth and matte-finished. The tuning keys have a bit of black "gunk" on them that I can't get off, perhaps from a guitar tech's sticky fingers during the setup? Not sure. I also noticed some damage on the back of the headstock where the volute was carved into the wood - you can see the file marks ("V" shape). The frets and nut were finished... Meh. Weren't polished to a high polish, very rough feeling when attempting to bend - strings would get caught on the frets. Nothing a bit of elbow grease or a Dremel can't fix, though. Strings are also catching in the nut when tuning, which made a loud "ting" noise when tuning strings D and G. The nut also had file marks from rough shaping and wasn't finished or polished very well. Once again, nothing some elbow grease can't fix. Kind of a shame though, my Yamaha LL6 had better fretwork out of the box and it's 1/2 the price. I also found the maple binding on the edge of the fretboard appeared quite dirty? Like metal filings/grime from fret leveling and sanding was left over - this came off easily with a cloth and some guitar cleaner. Additionally, I also noticed some scratches/dents along the fretboard binding, and a small hairline scratch that runs the entire length of the fretboard on the bottom side of the fretboard binding (i.e., facing the floor). This was likely caused by a file during the fret dressing stage. Not terrible, but also tells me that care wasn't taken. The action and intonation are great for me, no fret buzz or issues with barre chords... Feels quite comfortable to play. The intonation is slightly off, but this is to be expected in my opinion. The guitar sounds fantastic - very loud, resonant, clear. The Guitar came with a high-quality arched top case - fits like a glove, gorgeous red velvet interior... Can't complain. However, I later noticed that one of the rivets holding the hinges on was falling out. Overall opinions: Great guitar from a little-known brand out of Canada, manufactured in China. Quality woods, reasonably good craftsmanship, some little snags here and there that can be corrected by the average educated layperson/guitar player with some help from YouTube. Guitar is gorgeous, and I don't think you'd get a guitar of similar quality from Martin, Taylor, Gibson, etc, for a similar price. The guys at Mackenzie & Marr offer a 7-day return with paid return shipping... I won't be sending mine back, though. John Marr entertained all of my stupid questions via email prior to purchase, which is nice. To see some pictures, check out my review on reddit at: https://www.reddit.com/r/AcousticGuitar/comments/173bb1a/ngd_mackenzie_and_marr_riverboat_dread_mini_review/
2023-10-12
Star Rating: 
5
David from Baltimore writes:
At first week of use didnt know if i liked sound,loved playability after a month of playing have fallen in love with sound. I have always played dreadnoughts and love them but this guitar is awesome for fingerstyle .
2023-10-12
Star Rating: 
5
Jack from Mount Shasta writes:
My husband bought me the Riverboat for Christmas. I got to play it for seven days and will not see it again until Dec. 25th...... I'll miss it. It compares well to my D28. It's beautifully made with high quality materials and the clarity of the sound is out standing. I played it last Sunday in a worship set and have had several people ask me about it. It's beautiful and an exceptional value! I happily recommend it.
2023-10-11
Star Rating: 
5
john from Glace Bay writes:
Hi , thank you for the opportunity to share my thoughts on your guitar/music -it's beautiful -sounds great ,and it 's priced right-in my opinion. I received guitar from staples(fed ex location ) -had to pick up on my way to hospital to see my wife who had surgery-never will I forget that day -her surgery, my new guitar I have a schedule -to play in nursing homes-my accordion/guitar and harmonica -this week and at least next week I'm nursing my wife at home-I just asked her if I could take a break and play a few tunes at the kitchen table-the guitar- my Mackenzie and Marr 12,string is parked next to a beautiful window looking at the ocean with cruise ships passing by in evening hours. nice case, nice guitar-I play a 6 string Richards guitar or my 6 string larrivee -and wanted a 12 string for fuller sound in an acoustic nursing home environment ,I had no issue with ordering,delivery,payment-and this survey request is just a simple way for the company to follow up and market more-no issues with competency -only makes sense and is reasonable to ask me. good luck with future sales-I 'd be happy to stay in touch or refer to potential customers now back to serenading my wife who definitely could use a pick me up-I'm a guitar and every body picks on me John Mullaly Glace Bay,ns
2023-10-11
Star Rating: 
5
Robert from APOPKA writes:
I love my Tofino X. It sounds great. The action is superb. The neck is perfect for my hand. It is beutiful, particularly the maple binding. I also have a Taylor 314- I thought nothing would top it, but the Tofino X does. Not to mention that the Taylor cost almost 3 times as much. The Tofino X is a wonderful, affordable masterpiece of a guitar.
2023-09-27
Star Rating: 
5
Robert from Livonia writes:
Love my new Mac Marr!! Highly recommend to anyone looking for a quality instrument! Looking forward to many years of fun playing. My brother has one also and is very happy with his as well.
2023-09-12
Star Rating: 
5
Jordon from Hamilton Township writes:
I'm very pleased with my purchase. I was on the hunt for the best acoustic guitar I could find for my money when I found out about Mackenzie and Marr. After reading numerous reviews I was convinced I should at least give them a try since they have a 7 day return window. Well it didn't take long before I knew I wouldn't be sending it back. The sound is unlike anything else in the price range, and I haunted the music stores for a month trying all the big brands. No regrets, this thing plays like a dream and will sound better over time. Well done with this one!
2023-09-11
Star Rating: 
5
Kay from Soquel writes:
My new little Opeongo guitar is definitely a keeper! I’ve been playing it pretty much nonstop since I got it. The combination of mahogany back and sides and spruce top is amazing and just what I’ve been looking for. The combination of these tone-woods and the deeper sound box really adds up to a clear, full, and robust sound. The shape of the neck is super comfortable. And while the Opeongo doesn’t sound quite as good with a capo as my Martin 00 ms15, and doesn’t ring as clear beyond the 12th fret, this is a fine instrument and is a welcome addition to my collection. This is a great looking little guitar, too. The logo on the headstock is handsome, and it also looks great on the awesome hard shell case the guitar comes in. There were some minor issues upon delivery, but John Marr kindly and promptly replied to my email and we worked that out. He even checked back with me a few days later to make sure everything was okay. Thanks John:) I’m quite happy with this M&M guitar, and I seem to pick it up these days instead of any of my other guitars. With the “fall in love in a week” guarantee, there’s really nothing to lose. That guarantee speaks confidence! Take MacKenzie and Marr up on that—you won’t be sorry.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.