MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.
2024-02-16
Star Rating: 
5
Mick from Port alberni writes:
Just have to give a shout out to the girls and boys at Mackenzie & Marr , I picked up a Tofino X in January good job its truly a wonderful guitar , plays ,sounds, looks and feels great again truly a wonderful guitar thanks , sincerly Mick
2024-02-09
Star Rating: 
5
larry from Columbus writes:
My main acoustic guitar is a Guild D55. My second is a Martin CEO4. But now the Ian Tyson has knocked the Martin down the list. Impeccably made, flawless workmanship, superior tone woods and other items you would find on a guitar that costs twice as much. And it comes with a case!!! When I received it I could not stop playing it.
2024-02-09
Star Rating: 
4
Gerard from St-Damase writes:
Je suis vraiment étonné de la qualité de ma nouvelle guitare Ian Tyson Inspiration. Les ajustements sont parfait et elle sonne comme une guitare que l’on pourrait évaluer au double du prix. Très satisfait. Je n’ai pas mis 5 étoiles pour la seule raison que votre site et les communications sont en anglais seulement malgré que vous soyez une compagnie Montréalaise.
2024-01-18
Star Rating: 
5
JOHN from Sudbury writes:
Having only received my Algonquin 12 String a couple days ago, this review in based on my initial reaction. Definitely a beautiful instrument, with very minor 'imperfections' that really only add to the character of the guitar. I owned a Vox 12 string many years ago (don't recall what happened to it) and a Yamaha 12 more recently. Clearly my Algonquin far surpasses both. The tone and sustain match that of my Martin D28 (which is 14 years old). I have loved the sound of a 12 string ever since I attended a performance by Gordon Lightfoot in 1967 at the Living End Lounge in Detroit; hence the acquisition of the Vox. I had the chance to discuss Gibson B45-12 with Gord, which at the time was out of my price range. The Algonquin I am sure meets or possibly surpasses the Gibson in appearance and tone. The only modification that I intend to do with my guitar is to lower the saddle sightly as I primarily play finger-style and desire easier action at the upper end of the fret-board. Now back to playing my new guitar!
2024-01-09
Star Rating: 
5
donna from Wimauma writes:
Hi this is Bill Donna's husband. She bought me the Algonquin 12 string for Christmas and boy was I happy. I have a couple of Martin six strings with Indian Rosewood back and sides that sound good and have played a friend's with Brazilian Rosewood that is special. So when I saw your video on the shark pit and looked up your site I saw and read about all of your guitars and was impressed with the quality look and the materials that you used. I have been wanting a 12 string for a while and fell in love with the Algonquin so when my wife asked me what I wanted for Christmas I showed her your guitar. So we took a chance and it has proven to be one of the best decisions I've ever made. It looks beautiful and sounds beautiful. The fretboard plays like butter. I took it to my guitar group and everyone fell in love with it. Now I am thinking about selling one of my Martin's and getting one of your six strings to match it. Thank you for building such a fantastic guitar. Your new friend Bill
2024-01-07
Star Rating: 
5
Henry from Winlock writes:
This is a really fun guitar to play. I mainly finger pick and occasionally use a plectrum. My other 6 string is a D18 MD and I wanted a different sounding guitar. I must admit I was not happy with my first strum but the more I play it the more I love the crisp, clean "woody" sound. That's probably due to the excellent construction and the minimalist open pore matte finish. The intonation was right on and I only needed a little tweak to straighten the fretboard. Good setup. I made 3 modifications. I prefer a thinner triangular neck, like the Martin so I reshaped the neck. I think the new M&M guitar has this neck. The frets are well finished without too much slope on the fret ends so I able to fill and recut the nut for the 1st and 6th strings to move the strings further out. Take advantage of the 1 3/4 inch nut. Now I can use my thumb on the 6th string (D chord), and not damp the 1st string when playing a C chord. The asymmetric nut modification works for me. I also put silk and steel strings on this Opeongo parlor guitar. Very happy I took the leap to mail order a guitar. Wouldn't hesitate to buy another. Maybe I need something in rosewood. Great case too.
2024-01-04
Star Rating: 
5
H Collins from Great Barrington writes:
The Ian Tyson has what it takes for a performing/studio guitarist of many decades. The florentine cutaway and gold equipment make it a looker when performing. It sounds very balanced in the studio miked, the lower large bout gives it a smooth bass that's wonderful, and great in open tunings. Easy to play for both strumming and finger work. All around a great value, after I tried all the top models of the usual Taylor, Breedlove, etc...this one has a voice worth hearing. Just for the record, I grew up on Ian and Sylvia LP's, so this one has extra meaning, an added bonus.
2024-01-04
Star Rating: 
5
Robert from Michigan city writes:
This is an amazing 12 string guitar. The sound and sustain are incredible the only thing I would like to see is a ebony finger board, but it is amazing. Even the case is nice. Fits like a glove. I still can't believe the quality for the price. Nice
2024-01-03
Star Rating: 
5
Stephen from Sioux Lookout writes:
My mackenzie and Marr Tofino X is everything I hoped it would be, beautiful to look at and wonderful to play with amazing tone.
2024-01-03
Star Rating: 
5
Roger from Prescott Valley writes:
I own a Martin, several Taylors, and many other name brand guitars. I'm always looking for a better playing, better sounding guitar. I have been absolutely amazed by my Torfino on the quality and finish but more than that, the superb sound quality. This guitar has become my everyday player and I'm thinking of selling many of my other guitars. Mackenzie and Marr, well done and keep up the quality.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.