MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.
2024-06-05
Star Rating: 
5
Dale from Regina writes:
I never thought i'd buy a guitar without trying it out first so it took me some time to decide to give it a go.The money back after a weeks trial and actually talking to Bill Marr helped my decision. I was very reluctant but I liked the look of the guitar and the dragons den episode pushed me over the line. I was looking for a pretty guitar and found the tofino even prettier than the picture. It has a great ringing sound and I couldn't be happier with it. I did get the strings lowered at the nut and it's still a little harder to play then my gibson electric but I guess that's expected. It came with a first class case and I ordered it with a pickup. All my reservations went out the door when I started playing it. I've tried a lot of expensive guitars at the music store and this one to me doesn't take second to any of them. It's a beautifully made great sounding guitar.
2024-06-04
Star Rating: 
5
John from Mississauga writes:
Unlike the other musicians who have left reviews for their Mackenzie & Marr guitars, I am not a talented or accomplished guitarist. While not a beginner, I wouldn't classify myself as an intermediate player, either. I decided that I wanted a really nice, high quality guitar to practice, learn and improve on, and I finally landed on the Tofino X. Quite simply, this is an amazing instrument. It is beautiful to look at and it sounds even better. The tone is clear and bright and I find it very easy to play. It always stays in tune, even with a capo on. It has already made me a better player. Most importantly for me, it makes me want to play. It hangs on the wall of my (properly humidified) home office, and rare is the day that I don't pick it up and strum it for a while. I am definitely happy with my decision to buy Mackenzie & Marr.
2024-05-23
Star Rating: 
5
James from Carson City writes:
I've played my new MacKenzie & Marr Opeongo for a few days and I'm liking it a lot. It is fun to play! It has a good setup out of the box, level frets, plays well. All tuners (Grover Sta-Tite18:1) worked w/o issue, the tuning is stable. The frets could use a better polishing, but there's zero buzzing. I have to say this is a nice sounding guitar. It has a strong and warm mahogany/spruce tone. It has ample bass evenly balanced with the mids and trebles. It is resonant. It is not at all boxy sounding. It is very responsive to a light fingerpicking touch and has a wide dynamic range. It kept up with strumming fine. It takes a capo well w/o any tonal fade. The build is clean and very light, with a thin open-pore finish. This one weighs just a skosh over 3 pounds. The bridge and neck joints are tight, the workmanship inside the box is clean. The neck set is good and it shows good saddle height. The slot head is cleanly done. The neck profile is a C with a slight flat at the back of the neck. I would call it a medium feel overall. It’s a bit of a different feel than typical Martin or Taylor necks..a bit more toward a crossover classical neck (with a 1.75" nut). The woods seem of good quality. She has a nice silky quartered sitka top with no runout, and typically unflashy banded mahogany B/S and mahog neck. The binding is subtle (looks like Pau Ferro perhaps). The Pau Ferro bridge and fretboard have nice wood grain...a touch of oil should darken them up nicely. The x-bracing is not advanced…the x junction sits a bit south of the soundhole. The finish is cleanly done but thin. I can feel the texture of the woods and herringbone through the finish. There is a bit of buffing compound in one corner of the headplate. It’s not a boutique finish, but it certainly works. It came with a good branded archtop HSC which fits like a glove. Overall…I’m kind of blown away. This is a lightly built long scale guitar…it’s got a lot of power and surprising sustain. There is real depth and character to the tone. The warmth of the tone is traditional, but the sustain and power give it a slightly modern “kick”. It’s kind of like a mini 000-12 with a bit more snuggle. Also kudos to MacMarr for using the Grover tuners…solid! Thanks for a nice guitar and huge bang for the buck!
2024-05-18
Star Rating: 
5
Moses from Lethbridge writes:
2024-05-18 I'm a retired senior and have been practicing on my electric guitar for a couple of years.I also like the sound of the acoustic guitar, finger and flat picking. My new Opeongo looks beautiful and the craftsmanship is excellent! However,I had to get used to the sound, since I found the 12-53 strings it came with too loud and had difficulty playing softly. Also, I expected a mellower sound. So, I switched to 9-48 strings and now I can play softly.The guitar sounds more musical to my ears with the light weight strings.Overall I'm impressed with this guitar.
2024-05-16
Star Rating: 
5
Tom from HATTIESBURG writes:
I recently received the Ian Tyson Inspiration model. I’ll begin at the end – simply superb! I am fortunate to have a number of high-end guitars in my stable, some costing much more than this one, and although they all have their merits, in terms of design, materials, workmanship, playability, and tone, this guitar goes head-to-head. The design of the guitar is well thought out. It strikes me as a pinched waste mini-jumbo which along with the materials and workmanship make for a very versatile instrument but I’ll get to that. The neck is very comfortable – a flatted C-shape. The heel is carved flat, which along with the perfectly executed Florentine cutaway provides excellent access to the highest frets should one choose to explore that territory. The workmanship is impeccable even on the interior. The nitrocellulose finish, a nice choice, is perfectly applied and provides a showcase for the top, back, and sides. The top is definitely at least AAA Sitka with tight grain and replete with medullary silking – perfect. The Bolivian Rosewood (aka Pau Ferro – iron wood in Portuguese, Santo Rosewood) is STUNNING with a narrow sapwood center, straight grain bordering the sapwood with lovely figuring toward the outer edges. NOTE: Pau Ferro is not a true rosewood (Dalbergia) but is a closely related genus (Mashaerium). To my eyes and ears is indistinguishable from Palo Escrito, a true Dalbergia, and less dense than most rosewoods. I believe that many would think that the tonal characteristics of this guitar fall about midway between Honduran mahogany and Indian rosewood, as do I. The binding is black – not sure what it is made of. The rosette is lovely – the nicest of any of my guitars. The Grover gold plated, open-back tuning machines are as beautiful as they are smooth and contrast nicely with the black headstock The tone is crisp and articulate when fingerpicked. There is plenty of bottom end (I like to thump the bass and do bass runs with my thumb) and the trebles shimmer. It gravitates more to fundamentals to my ear rather than overtones which makes for articulate, responsive fingerstyle work but also full and resonant when flatpicked. Extremely versatile! The case is extraordinary – Gieb style, I think. It even has an extra support or the headstock which I appreciate. (My only bespoke guitar by Canadian Luthier David Iannoni - Morgan Guitars - fell from a shelf and suffered a headstock fracture because there was no additional headstock support). I was conflicted as to order with or without the Anthem pickup system. I have heard great things about it and although it pained me to do so, I ordered without. My rationale is that since I play fingerstyle primarily and have largely hung up my performing shoes, I wanted the top to be unfettered by additional weight and as responsive as possible. As I stated, it is very articulate and responsive. I don’t know what the sound would be with the Anthem but the guitar is perfectly satisfying without. The instrument is a tremendous value even without the Anthem and with it, even more so. Maybe I’ll have to order another so I have a “counterfactual” for comparison . Bottom line, bravo – highly recommend!
2024-05-10
Star Rating: 
5
Michael from BALDWINSVILLE writes:
I recently purchased the Dionisio X Cedar Top Cutaway after some online research. I have no regrets, the guitar is absolutely beautiful and plays great. It has a nice warm tone when I use fingerstyle and it "perks up" very nicely when I use a pick. When you see the guitar, experience the out of the case set up it is hard to believe I got it for the $800 bucks delivered. It you are thinking about buying one ... go for it, you will not regret it.
2024-05-07
Star Rating: 
5
Dave from Calgary writes:
I just received my beautiful Mackenzie & Marr Dionisio X Cedar Top Cutaway. The fit and finish of the guitar is stellar and the sound it produces is beautiful! Strong resonance comes from the body of the guitar and it is a dream to play. Set up well for finger picking! Can’t beat the price for an solid wood guitar! Cheers and keep on strumming.
2024-05-07
Star Rating: 
5
BRIAN from Ladysmith writes:
The essance of a conversation between my wife and I after receiving my new guitar in the mail. She starts: "Sweetie, dinner's ready, get it while it's hot" "I'll be there in a minute, baby, I'm really in a groove" 10 minutes later: "C'mon sweetie, dinner's getting cold" "Yeah, but I'm really cookin' now, darlin'...be there in a minute" "You've been playing all day...don't you want to take a break?" "Really getting into it my love...be there soon" 15 minutes later" "I ate without you...I left yours so you can heat it up later" "Thanks baby, listen to this (twang twang)" 3 hours later: "Sweetie are you ever going to put that guitar down?" "Maybe" "Any idea when?" "I don't know, baby...ah...check the obits.
2024-04-03
Star Rating: 
4
Darrell from Port Hood writes:
Beautiful finish on guitar, action was too high.Lowered action and made it easier on my fingers.Nice tone.Going to try extra light strings.Very good case.The more I play the guitar the better it sounds it's a keeper. Darrell
2024-02-29
Star Rating: 
5
Evan from Lloyd Harbor writes:
After my Riverboat Dread arrived I decided to go to a local music shop and try out some other dreadnoughts-- a Martin D-28 and similarly priced guitars from Gibson and Taylor. So nearly 3x the cost of the Riverboat. The only one that I was tempted by, in comparison to the M&M, was the Martin, but that may have just been the name. They were all lovely guitars in their different ways, but I left the store feeling happy with my M&M choice. Love the big sound it gives, and fit and finish are excellent. I am interested to see how it develops as I play it more.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.