Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

ERIC from KINGSTON, ON

Thu, 05/13/2021 - 17:19

I recently purchased an Ian Tyson inspired cutaway. It is the most beautiful acoustic that I have ever seen. Everyone who has seen the guitar comments on its beauty. It has a sweet sound and the balance from the high e to the low e blends beautifully. The neck is quite similar to an electric and as it comes equipped with light gauge strings it is very playable. I purchased the Tom Rush Signature dreadnaught #55 back in 2012. It has more bass and volume that the Ian Tyson but doesn't have the same balance. I have gone into music stores and played their high-end guitars. I found none that sounded any better, or as good, as either of my MacKenzie Marr guitars. As it turns out, I have two amazing guitars for far less than than than I would have paid for a mid-level "brand name".

Dick from Fenton

Wed, 04/28/2021 - 10:39

Beautiful guitar. I have several very fine guitars, and the Grand Manan is right there at the top. Workmanship couldn't be any better. I played it yesterday with friends. They each play Martins. One is a 00028 EC, and the other is an OM 42. My new Macmarr made itself proud and drew compliments from my friends. The clarity and definition are amazing. I can't wait to get back at it again today. Thanks to John Marr for all his support and knowledge.

Gordon from Stittsville

Thu, 04/15/2021 - 16:22

Inspiring! After a number of conversations with John Marr I settled on the Grand Manan. When it arrived and I got through the robust packaging and then got to the incredibly nice case and opened it, I was greeted with a very pretty example of a slope shouldered dreadnaught. I Picked it up, tuned it and then hit and open G and was immediately impressed. I then played it daily for about a week and it got better and better, I then took it to my bench and set it up and as I like my guitars and then played it, the word inspiring came to mind. Now, while this sounds like gushing, I made sure that I added some objectivity to this review. I have a number of other guitars and I spent some serious time comparing and the Mack/Marr Grand Manan continued to Stand out. It’s on the stand closest to my hand and gets played daily. Even my wife thinks this is the nicest acoustic I have. The next acoustic I buy will be another Mack/Marr. Thank you gentlemen.

Lee from Galena

Thu, 04/08/2021 - 08:50

This guitar has a lovely voice: balanced and bright with an excellent sustain. To my hand the neck is sublime as to be invisible. I would describe it as perfect. The wood is everywhere remarkable. The fine old-growth sacrificed to produce this instrument has found a second life as vital as the first. Detailing on a par with the general excellence of this instrument puts it in an odd class where superlatives turn trite. It simply must be played to be appreciated.

Deric from San Diego

Thu, 04/08/2021 - 08:35

Hello, I received my Ian Tyson yesterday and the problem I'm having with it is I can't put it down. It is not only a gorgeous piece but plays and sounds just as wonderful as it looks. Craftmanship is exquisite. The setup is right around where I like it so no need to adjust for now. This is going to age nicely. One other problem is pickguard or no pickguard but I'll eventually get that worked out. Thank you for your honest advertising and keeping your quality at such a high level. Deric

Kevin from Etobicoke

Wed, 04/07/2021 - 10:35

Guitar exceeded my expectations for quality of craftmanship, playability and superb beauty. As my first Mackenzie & Marr purchase my friends & fellow players are jealous of me! Special thanks to Mr. Marr who was awsome helping me with an ordering mistake on my part. Very,very satisfied.

Randy from Toronto

Wed, 04/07/2021 - 10:28

My first 12string was stolen many years ago, and I've always wanted a new one to fill out my collection. I've tried many since then and really didn't find one that fit the bill. When I saw MacMarr was making one, I jumped at the chance and was not disappointed. As always with MacMarr works, the guitar is a beauty, but it excels in its playability and sound. The neck and fretboard are smooth and easy to play and the sound really fills out a room. I am so happy that I've found a new 12-string, that I've named it "Twelve Toes" after the old SchoolHouse Ditty (look it up) - like an old friend that came back home.

Kevin from Knoxville

Mon, 04/05/2021 - 09:42

Just received my Ian Tyson model and I cannot believe how amazing it is. Bright, projects and incredibly full sounding! Stunning guitar! Playing this Friday, Saturday & Sunday and this is my main guitar now! I would say that these guitars are way better than a $3000 Martin! Just ordered a Algonquin 12 string now! Thank you so much for these guitars! I cannot believe I waited so long!!!!

Jorge from St Catharines

Mon, 04/05/2021 - 09:41

Overall a beautiful guitar with an amazing sound. Sometimes I have to take a step back and just admire it in the sunlight. The mahogany back is unlike anything I’ve seen and it just really stands out. The guitar arrived only a couple days after tracking number was received and much earlier than anticipated since it ended up arriving on a weekend. Compared to other guitars in this price range, I don’t think you’ll find a better deal than this beautiful instrument.

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.