Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Pierre from Montreal

Tue, 08/23/2022 - 15:12

A great well built Guitar at a super price! this guitar is just right on! You get a great guitar at a fraction of the cost. It will only get better by playing it. The quality of the guitar can match many high-end guitars out there. Mr. Marr sure knows how good Guitars are made of.

Hans from Port Stanley

Mon, 08/22/2022 - 20:06

Awesome guitar I like just looking at it as well as playing it. It really is a work of art Great job Mackenzie and Marr

Ken from Sacramento

Wed, 08/10/2022 - 23:35

This is a beautiful guitar, very pleasing to the eye. The tone and ease of play are much better than expected for this price point. And the clarity and presence are excellent as well. With a solid AAA Sitka spruce top and Bolivian Rosewood back and sides, this instrument is a tremendous value, comparing very favorably with top-end Martin, Guild, and Taylor 12-strings. And I can't seem to put it down!

Brian from Winnipeg

Tue, 07/26/2022 - 18:28

I received my guitar on Friday. You are not getting this one back, all I have been saying is wow, if I were to be super critical there's nothing, and I mean nothing that I can say about this guitar. From the sound of the cedar to the mahogany sides and back from top to bottom it is flawless and I just love the sound, I could go on and on .

Paul from Wakaw

Tue, 07/26/2022 - 16:29

This is the third Mackenzie and Marr guitar I have owned, first being a Tom Rush and then an Opeongo. Both are guitars I really liked but the former gone to my father and the latter to my daughter. The Tofino has much the same feel as a vintage Gibson SJ with the same gentle playability but a far superior sound. The Tofino isn't easily overpowered by percussive strumming and the whereas the Gibson can sound muted the M and M stays warm and clear.

David from Racine

Thu, 07/21/2022 - 11:23

My experience with 12-string guitars was limited to the not so good instrument that I bought way back in 1990. I didn't know much about guitars then. It was a Dreadnought Style guitar, large and not too dissimilar to hugging a log. The sound of the instrument was bright but brittle and over time the neck warped Beyond repair and could not be readjusted.  I considered a number of brand named instruments and found to be overpriced and I didn't like the sound of most when I heard them on the videos.  Then I found the Algonquin in my online search. First, I admire the business philosophy of Mackenzie and Marr: high quality instruments at Factory Direct prices. I appreciate the craftsmanship and the care that went into the development of this Algonquin. It took me a while to adjust to the algonquin. The shape and size of this instrument were different than my old 12 string. The body style of the Algonquin is very similar in design and tone to my Santa Cruz F model 6 string, both being rich and balanced and resonant. The overtones on the Algonquin ring like handbells. The appearance of the instrument is indeed dramatic with the split Rosewood back, the spruce top with its long straight grain, the detail work and finish flawless. Tuners are quite sensitive and this instrument is easy to keep in tune.  I am very happy to have purchased this instrument. My only regret was not having the electronics installed. Simply, I was just too anxious to play your superb instrument. Thank you for your work in developing this fine instrument.

Derek from Lee Creek

Mon, 07/18/2022 - 16:28

The only negative I have was that it did need an initial setup as there was some buzzing.. But a slight adjustment on the neck, and bam! Beautiful sound and wonderful to play. I think my guitar time has increased tenfold since it arrived as it is so fun to play. I would recommend it to anyone!

Christopher from Worcester

Mon, 07/11/2022 - 20:44

When I first received the Opeongo and unpacked it, I was very impressed with the quality of craftmanship on the guitar. I was also impressed with the fine quality case. When I began to play I was a bit concerned that the tone was thin and reedy. That being said I found it so easy to play that I kept picking it up, and not surprising for a guitar made of fine quality solid wood, the tone changed rapidly, becoming deeper but still maintaining a clarity from note to note which is a real pleasure. I am enjoying this guitar a great deal. It is truly a fine bargain, a great value for dollars invested. Thanks to you at M&M !

Reno from Gatineau

Wed, 07/06/2022 - 16:37

I just love that guitar. From the sound, to the playability and the esthetics, everything is just perfect. It plays better than a lot of guitars worth twice the price. Also, I received my order within 24 hours after ordering, which was a pleasant surprise. Keep up the good work !

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.