Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Gordon from Stittsville

Thu, 04/15/2021 - 16:22

Inspiring! After a number of conversations with John Marr I settled on the Grand Manan. When it arrived and I got through the robust packaging and then got to the incredibly nice case and opened it, I was greeted with a very pretty example of a slope shouldered dreadnaught. I Picked it up, tuned it and then hit and open G and was immediately impressed. I then played it daily for about a week and it got better and better, I then took it to my bench and set it up and as I like my guitars and then played it, the word inspiring came to mind. Now, while this sounds like gushing, I made sure that I added some objectivity to this review. I have a number of other guitars and I spent some serious time comparing and the Mack/Marr Grand Manan continued to Stand out. It’s on the stand closest to my hand and gets played daily. Even my wife thinks this is the nicest acoustic I have. The next acoustic I buy will be another Mack/Marr. Thank you gentlemen.

Lee from Galena

Thu, 04/08/2021 - 08:50

This guitar has a lovely voice: balanced and bright with an excellent sustain. To my hand the neck is sublime as to be invisible. I would describe it as perfect. The wood is everywhere remarkable. The fine old-growth sacrificed to produce this instrument has found a second life as vital as the first. Detailing on a par with the general excellence of this instrument puts it in an odd class where superlatives turn trite. It simply must be played to be appreciated.

Deric from San Diego

Thu, 04/08/2021 - 08:35

Hello, I received my Ian Tyson yesterday and the problem I'm having with it is I can't put it down. It is not only a gorgeous piece but plays and sounds just as wonderful as it looks. Craftmanship is exquisite. The setup is right around where I like it so no need to adjust for now. This is going to age nicely. One other problem is pickguard or no pickguard but I'll eventually get that worked out. Thank you for your honest advertising and keeping your quality at such a high level. Deric

Randy from Toronto

Wed, 04/07/2021 - 10:28

My first 12string was stolen many years ago, and I've always wanted a new one to fill out my collection. I've tried many since then and really didn't find one that fit the bill. When I saw MacMarr was making one, I jumped at the chance and was not disappointed. As always with MacMarr works, the guitar is a beauty, but it excels in its playability and sound. The neck and fretboard are smooth and easy to play and the sound really fills out a room. I am so happy that I've found a new 12-string, that I've named it "Twelve Toes" after the old SchoolHouse Ditty (look it up) - like an old friend that came back home.

Kevin from Knoxville

Mon, 04/05/2021 - 09:42

Just received my Ian Tyson model and I cannot believe how amazing it is. Bright, projects and incredibly full sounding! Stunning guitar! Playing this Friday, Saturday & Sunday and this is my main guitar now! I would say that these guitars are way better than a $3000 Martin! Just ordered a Algonquin 12 string now! Thank you so much for these guitars! I cannot believe I waited so long!!!!

Jorge from St Catharines

Mon, 04/05/2021 - 09:41

Overall a beautiful guitar with an amazing sound. Sometimes I have to take a step back and just admire it in the sunlight. The mahogany back is unlike anything I’ve seen and it just really stands out. The guitar arrived only a couple days after tracking number was received and much earlier than anticipated since it ended up arriving on a weekend. Compared to other guitars in this price range, I don’t think you’ll find a better deal than this beautiful instrument.

Richard from Montreal

Mon, 04/05/2021 - 09:39

I would like to state that I have found your guitar that I bought from you an exceptional piece of craftsmanship. Of all the guitars I've owned, and that is quite a few, this is the one I've always dreamed of owning. It looks very good, plays very well and makes me feel so comfortable playing it.

Mike from Gabriola.BC.Canada

Sun, 03/28/2021 - 14:33

My new Opeongo that is hanging on my wall resonates and sings back to me when I sneeze. First off the guitar is awesome and sounds great but to have it sing back when I'm not touching it denotes the calling of a top quality guitar. I pick it up and play it right away when that happens.

Steve from Stratford

Wed, 03/24/2021 - 15:42

The Tofino X is the second Tofino model that I own. It is everything my first one is plus more. It looks so much prettier with the abalone binding and the gold tuners. But the thing that is most important is the sound. I am so thrilled with it. The high clear tones and the mids shine magnificently. Some chords even ring almost as much as a 12 string. The action is smooth and effortless and damn it’s just a great guitar. There should be no hesitation in getting one. I have recommended Mackenzie and Marr many times and am proud to be able to do so.

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.