fbpx Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

John from Cumberland

Tue, 08/17/2021 - 12:26

The very first comment I have for this company is to praise the outstanding service. I purchased an Opeongo recently and had an issue with the guitar. Having purchased the guitar “sight unseen”, I was skeptical on how this issue would be resolved. Within hours of receiving the instrument and discovering the issue, I called the company. I spoke with John Marr directly and explained the issue to him. He immediately arranged to have the instrument looked at the very next day. He assured me if there was a problem with the instrument would be fixed on site or that if it could not be resolved immediately, it would be replaced. To be honest, that night I was questioning myself about having purchased a guitar without trying it first. And now there was an issue with the guitar. After thinking about the situation I was pretty sure I was going to return the guitar the next day when I met with the luthier. As the company has a “love it or leave it” policy. The next day I met with the Luthier from M&M a very knowledgeable, polite, friendly fellow and is truly an asset to their company. He inspected the guitar and came to the conclusion that it could not be repaired on site and had to be returned for repair. He had, along with his tools, brought a brand new Opeongo guitar just in case he could not repair the one that I had received the day before. As I mentioned earlier, I was just simply going to return the guitar. But since the Luthier had brought another Opeongo and I hadn’t had the opportunity to try one as the first one had issues, I decided to try the new one. It was set up just the way I like and the playability was excellent. So I decided to keep the new one and give it an honest try. Once the Luthier had left I went over the guitar with a fine tooth comb. Fit and finish are excellent A +. The matte finish is very appealing to me. Size and weight are perfect for me. Grover tuning machines are very smooth. The sounds, highs and lows are second to none. I love the sound ! I started playing the guitar and just couldn’t put it down ! What a fun guitar to play. This is my guitar to keep !! In conclusion, I would not hesitate to purchase another instrument from Mackenzie & Marr. They have an excellent product. The customer service is the best I have ever had or seen. A VERY happy customer John (Admin comments: The reviewer did not mention the name of the luthier. He's Jerry Greenberg. He's a key member of our team. Jerry is available to do work for individuals and can be reached at (613)636-1094.

Douglas from Killeen

Mon, 08/02/2021 - 14:08

The Algonquin 12 string arrived in flawless condition. It looks and sounds just great.The Baggs PU was installed but the end that holds the battery needed to be taped down, so I took care of that. I plugged it in, made the adjustments on the insert. I am very pleased. The cases is suitable for traveling with no worries. Thank you, MacKenzie and Marr. I already owned the Ian Tyson model 6 string with the venetian cut-away and its my baby. But I have taken the 12 string out on-stage and its a hit! I have been playing since 1968. I already own a Martin SPD 6string, a 1972 Martin D 28 and a 1972 Martin D 41. But the Mac's are at the top of my list. Once again, a HUGE Thank You!

Ron from north attleboro

Fri, 07/23/2021 - 09:53

Sounds great, plays great, and looks even better. Comes in a really nice case. I was so impressed with this guitar I ordered the Riverboat Dread.

Gail from Gresham

Fri, 07/23/2021 - 09:32

I am very satisfied, the build quality is very good, fit and feel are great. I am looking for a 12 fret slope shoulder dreadnaught. Hope something may be in the works. Gail.

Nathan from London

Fri, 07/23/2021 - 09:25

Having ordered the 12-string online without playing it first, I was apprehensive. It was a pleasant surprise that it arrived in only two days. When I took it out of the case, I was struck with the quality of its finish, the Grover tuners, and the fine spruce and rosewood construction. It is a really fine-looking instrument. It had been tuned to standard 'E' tuning, and I lowered it to a 'DGCFAD', which I prefer on a 12-string. I tried a few tunes which fit best on a 12-string, like "Walk Right In" and was so pleased with its lovely tone and sustain. I've been playing it for two weeks I have not installed a battery and tried it with an amplifier so cannot comment on that. I can't tell if there is a truss rod or some way to adjust the neck if necessary. I really enjoy playing this guitar and so far, I am satisfied that it is a very good guitar at a very good price.

Christopher from Toronto

Mon, 07/19/2021 - 09:49

Delivery was fast with no issues. Have been looking for an affordable12 fret small body acoustic for some and the Opeongo all solid ticks all the boxes. Love this box.

Edward from Vancouver

Wed, 07/14/2021 - 10:13

This is one sweet guitar that demands precise contact to yield a rich tone. Wow, did I say that... I've improved dramatically in only a few days! The more I caress this instrument.. the sweeter the sound in general. Finger picker may wants to lower the action but now it's a good compromise. Intonation is almost bang on, and my slide likes the height of the strings.. Looks wonderful, feels wonderful, and even smells wonderful. To the point, I can forgive a blemish or two. ) Five stars are needed to complement this guitar!

Holly from Montgomery

Tue, 07/13/2021 - 10:41

My Opeongo arrived in early June and has exceeded every expectation. The spruce and mahogany wood on this baby is gorgeous. The playability is impressive: highs and lows ring clear and the guitar is wonderfully balanced with great sustain. I love the size of this guitar. It is not as small as, say, a Larrivee parlor (which is a fine guitar, btw), but is just the perfect size for me. It has an amazing resonance for its size. I was so pleased with the overall quality of this instrument that I have pre-ordered the 14-fret Baby Riverboat.

Dave from Lloydminster

Sat, 07/10/2021 - 13:35

I'm one of those who almost never leaves reviews. However, as I was always looking for new reviews before I purchased mine, I thought I should leave one for someone in the same position. I think its a very very nice guitar. Looks great. Sounds great. Very well balanced sound. Much nicer mids than my other acoustics and the top and bottom end are sweet. Surprising how much bottom end is there. I played it for a friend who at first said "nice guitar". Then he said after how nice it sounds. As well it's a very light and comfortable guitar to play. I can't wait to hear the reactions and the sound when others play it or I have the chance to play and compare it to other peoples guitars. No buyers remorse here at all. But, just one thing to mention for people thinking about it - if you play chords up the neck often, as I do, consider a 14 fret or cutaway. At the time I purchased, it was the only small body 1-3/4 nut width being offered and I really wanted that width as I play fingerstyle often. I see another guitar in my future now and wouldn't be concerned in the slightest purchasing from M&M again.

Charles from Wichita

Wed, 07/07/2021 - 14:57

I recently purchased the Opeongo because I have wanted a small body, 12-fret, slotted headstock guitar. And this guitar fits all those requirements. I also have a couple of high-end dreadnought guitars as well. I could not ask for a better moderately priced guitar, and am very happy with it. I don't believe I have played one of the dreadnoughts since this one arrived. Very good "bang" for the "buck."

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.