MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.
2024-04-03
Star Rating: 
4
Darrell from Port Hood writes:
Beautiful finish on guitar, action was too high.Lowered action and made it easier on my fingers.Nice tone.Going to try extra light strings.Very good case.The more I play the guitar the better it sounds it's a keeper. Darrell
2024-02-29
Star Rating: 
5
Evan from Lloyd Harbor writes:
After my Riverboat Dread arrived I decided to go to a local music shop and try out some other dreadnoughts-- a Martin D-28 and similarly priced guitars from Gibson and Taylor. So nearly 3x the cost of the Riverboat. The only one that I was tempted by, in comparison to the M&M, was the Martin, but that may have just been the name. They were all lovely guitars in their different ways, but I left the store feeling happy with my M&M choice. Love the big sound it gives, and fit and finish are excellent. I am interested to see how it develops as I play it more.
2024-02-29
Star Rating: 
5
Terry from Canton writes:
I have been playing my new Opeongo for a week now and here is my little review. First, some background. I am 77 years old and have been playing stringed instruments professionally since I was 18. Solo, bands, teaching, session work. I am not famous, but I have been in the game my entire adult life. I have also done a lot of set ups, repairs, and restorations. Over the years I have owned a lot of high-end instruments. I chose the Opeongo because of the parlor size (especially the split headstock!), woods used, incredibly low price, and your reputation for building quality guitars. I have been playing the Opeongo nearly non-stop since it arrived! What a joy it is to play! The sound is amazing and the playability the best I’ve ever experienced right out of the box. My instinct is to immediately find something to adjust (dress frets, adjust the action, etc.). Not the Opeongo! The construction details are impeccably done! It just gets better each day! Well done Mackenzie & Marr!!!
2024-02-25
Star Rating: 
5
Don from Smithville writes:
Mr. Marr, Thank you for taking the time to talk with me about your guitars. Admittedly when I saw a picture of your guitar on line it definitely caught my interest, but when I saw the price I thought though it was really nice looking, the quality might not be there. Because I was searching on-line to add to my collection, your guitars kept popping up, and each one was beautiful. So I finally sent you an email with my cell number asking for more information, and I was very surprised that you called me right away. You took the time to go into detail about your company and your approach to how and why you are selling these great guitars on line. Your trial and refund policy is excellent, so the next day I ordered the Dionisio model and you shipped it to me exactly when you said you would. I can't believe how beautiful this guitar is. It plays every bit as well, and sounds as nice as my other acoustic guitars (A Martin, Taylor and a Furch), at significantly less cost. I would highly recommend your company and your product, and wouldn't hesitate to order from you again. Don Robert
2024-02-23
Star Rating: 
5
Paul from SURREY writes:
I have been looking for a 12 string for a while now. I tried several in the local and national music shops. Big brand names, expensive ones, medium priced ones and cheap ones. None fitted the bill. They either sounded too bright, didn't hold the tuning or the action was off. I looked into Mackenzie & Marr. I researched them, read the reviews, watched the online videos. Honestly, I was hesitant to purchase a guitar on-line without seeing it, feeling it, playing it. They guarantee a seven day period which you can return it, so I was all ready to mail it back. It arrived having travelled across Canada through ice and snow and sub zero temperatures. Upon receipt I opened it up and strummed it. I was flabbergasted that it was still in tune! The action is better than most 6 strings I have played. The quality, sound resonance are all fabulous. I have used it for several live performances and the LR Baggs Anthem sounds superb through the various PA systems I plugged it into. It also comes with a quality hard case to protect it. Everything about it is top quality from the grover tuners to the abalone rosette. It is definitely a keeper.I would highly, highly recommend it.
2024-02-23
Star Rating: 
5
john from glace bay writes:
5star guitar and company, I also ordered another and all good with my new 6 string .both guitars are parked for daily playing by a kitchen window looking ocean view My solice.my music space thank you ,delivered on time,follow up is appreciated as well as flowers sent at valentines for my wife ,storm delivery for flowers did not turn out so fresh 4 days late,the thought that counts ,bloomex no response So thank you for beautiful playing guitars John mullaly Glacé bay ns
2024-02-16
Star Rating: 
5
Mick from Port alberni writes:
Just have to give a shout out to the girls and boys at Mackenzie & Marr , I picked up a Tofino X in January good job its truly a wonderful guitar , plays ,sounds, looks and feels great again truly a wonderful guitar thanks , sincerly Mick
2024-02-09
Star Rating: 
5
larry from Columbus writes:
My main acoustic guitar is a Guild D55. My second is a Martin CEO4. But now the Ian Tyson has knocked the Martin down the list. Impeccably made, flawless workmanship, superior tone woods and other items you would find on a guitar that costs twice as much. And it comes with a case!!! When I received it I could not stop playing it.
2024-02-09
Star Rating: 
4
Gerard from St-Damase writes:
Je suis vraiment étonné de la qualité de ma nouvelle guitare Ian Tyson Inspiration. Les ajustements sont parfait et elle sonne comme une guitare que l’on pourrait évaluer au double du prix. Très satisfait. Je n’ai pas mis 5 étoiles pour la seule raison que votre site et les communications sont en anglais seulement malgré que vous soyez une compagnie Montréalaise.
2024-01-18
Star Rating: 
5
JOHN from Sudbury writes:
Having only received my Algonquin 12 String a couple days ago, this review in based on my initial reaction. Definitely a beautiful instrument, with very minor 'imperfections' that really only add to the character of the guitar. I owned a Vox 12 string many years ago (don't recall what happened to it) and a Yamaha 12 more recently. Clearly my Algonquin far surpasses both. The tone and sustain match that of my Martin D28 (which is 14 years old). I have loved the sound of a 12 string ever since I attended a performance by Gordon Lightfoot in 1967 at the Living End Lounge in Detroit; hence the acquisition of the Vox. I had the chance to discuss Gibson B45-12 with Gord, which at the time was out of my price range. The Algonquin I am sure meets or possibly surpasses the Gibson in appearance and tone. The only modification that I intend to do with my guitar is to lower the saddle sightly as I primarily play finger-style and desire easier action at the upper end of the fret-board. Now back to playing my new guitar!

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.