Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

The Grand Manan Sunburst Dreadnought

WOW! I really wasn't prepared for the quality of workmanship or The Sweet Sounds that come from my Grand Manan. I've let some of my guitar playing friends try it and the response is always the same - "That's a great guitar". I was hesitant to buy a guitar sight unseen, but I will not hesitate to recommend a MacKenzie-Marr guitar to anyone.


Al Cosman, proud owner of a MacKenzie Marr Grand Manan


Reveiwed by: Shirley.hughes1942 on 03/06/2020 - 07:30

The Grand Manan Sunburst Dreadnought

Absolutely love the guitar. It looks and sound amazing. Yesterday, I took it to my guitar tech/luthier for an inspection and set up adjustment and he was floored at how nice the guitar is... he swore it was a $3500 instrument... and he works on high end instruments all day long.

So abundant kudos to the MacMarr team!!!
Reveiwed by: BrentH on 02/29/2020 - 07:05

The Tom Rush Naked Lady

This beautiful guitar has an easy action and great sound. It’s a delight to play!


Reveiwed by: Mylariggs on 01/30/2020 - 06:43

The Ian Tyson Inspiration

I already own a few acoustic guitars (Guild, Martin, Alvarez, Fender, Cordoba), but I was thinking about maybe getting a Taylor, after playing a couple at a songwriting workshop last year. So I started looking around. Then I somehow heard about Mackenzie and Marr and decided to try one of their Ian Tyson models based on good reviews, watching a few videos, and very attractive pricing. I received the guitar four days ago, and I really love it. First of all, the woods, the finish, the design, and the construction are all beautiful (even the case is quite nice). The sound is full and rich, with a good balance of highs and lows, not “boomy,” and great for both fingerpicking and full strumming. It was ready to play out of the box with no adjustments needed. The neck has a great feel and I like that the back of it has a smooth semi-matte finish, not shiny lacquer. I got the pickup option thanks to a special promo but I haven’t tried it yet (I will soon). I don’t play out much these days but I like to have a pickup available and it might be useful for recording (I like that it didn’t require cutting any holes in the body). All in all, one of the best Christmas presents I ever gave myself. A really wonderful instrument.
Reveiwed by: bruceirvingmusic on 01/16/2020 - 16:41

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I read the notice about the new Tofino X. I have Tofino #56 from
M&M's second batch and have always loved it but don't need two of them. If
you don't have a Tofino, the X at the preorder price (less than I paid for
mine 10 years ago), IS A BARGAIN! sorry for shouting. Just buy one.
Reveiwed by: tmckenna on 01/14/2020 - 18:53

The Tom Rush Naked Lady

I was a little leery about buying a guitar without being able to play it first but I hit the purchase button anyway. I have three Martins and two Taylors. My go to is my Johnny Cash D35, a great Martin dreadnaught and my aTaylor 814 CE deluxe. I was blown away by the crisp sound of the cedar top on this naked lady. The Baggs sound is amazing. I find it hard to believe that this guitar sells for around $1100 US. It is a bit bigger than my Martin dread but the sound is not only big but clear. I bought this guitar to put in my motor home for travel. I will not hesitate to use it for performing. I am 68 years old and this will be the last guitar I buy, last but not least


Reveiwed by: greg2 on 01/07/2020 - 22:00

The Tom Rush Naked Lady

very pleased with the communication, packaging, and shipment of the Tom Rush Naked Lady. I am even more pleased with the quality, and the sound of the guitar.


thanks john.


TA


Reveiwed by: seanotemusic on 01/07/2020 - 14:23

Opeongo OO

I have been playing the Opeongo for about a month. I bought it to keep at my office so I could play during the day. At home, I have a number of more well-known guitars including some with comparable smaller bodies. From the start, I have been impressed by the resonance of its sound, by its feel and excellent playability, and by the quality of workmanship. The guitar is still new and still opening up, but it already holds its own among more expensive guitars in terms of both sound and playability. The simplicity of the design and the high quality of the workmanship are admirable as well. It arrived well set-up and has held its tuning.

The Opeongo has a distinct and pleasing tone character, more resonant in the highs and lows than in the middle tones. I imagine the bigger M-M bodies have both fuller base and middle tones, but the Opeongo has good balance and the concentrated sound typical of smaller body guitars. Overall I am delighted with it.


Reveiwed by: dlichtenstein on 01/03/2020 - 16:24

Opeongo OO

I have had my Opeongo now for a couple months now and could not be more satisfied. The build quality is excellent! It has great feel, setup was good, and the volume and tone is fantastic. I see that they are sold out now on the website now, but do yourself a favor and buy one when they are available again.


Reveiwed by: denverbronco_1 on 12/11/2019 - 09:42

The Ian Tyson Inspiration

So, I have had my Ian Tyson Inspiration guitar for just over a week. When I received it, I first checked the set-up (neck straightness, fret height, intonation, etc). I did have to adjust the neck slightly, did some minor fret dressing and adjusted the saddle height a bit, but once that was done to my liking - I tuned her up and the intonation was perfect!!

This guitar is amazing. The woods are exquisite, as were the fit and finish. Looking at the insides with a mirror and light is clean and precise. The range of sound is rich, vibrant and deep across all ranges with absolutely amazing sustain!! I am very impressed with this guitar, and love playing it. Can't wait to sit down with some friends to play and show off this new baby. Thanks guys!!


Reg


Reveiwed by: Regprostebby on 11/19/2019 - 15:34

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.