Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Michel from St-Guy

Fri, 04/01/2022 - 10:38

Bonjour! Juste quelques mots pour vous dire que je suis un amoureux de guitares acoustiques, j'en ai eu plus de 30 dans ma vie. Je dois vous dire que j'ai eu un coup de foudre pour les guitares Mackenzie and Marr. Leur beauté esthétique, la qualité des matériaux et la gentillesse de monsieur Marr m'ont décidé à acheter une première guitare, la Opeongo. Après deux semaines de pur enchantement, j'ai compris que je commanderais une deuxième guitare: la Baby Boat. En 3 jours ouvrables, je l'ai reçue par Federal Express et après deux semaines de «réchauffement», la Baby boat a commencé à me donner une idée assez juste de son potentiel. Wow! Et ce n'est qu'un début! La preuve: j'ai commencé à mettre en vente mes guitares plus grosses et plus coûteuses! Il ne me resterait que mes deux M&M et je serais heureux! Longue vie aux guitares Mackenzie & Marr! Petit conseil: traduire votre publicité en français pour avoir une meilleure visibilité au Québec et même en France.

Joe from Poplar

Mon, 03/14/2022 - 18:05

The Baby Boat sailed in smoothly, well packaged. At first I thought the guitar sounded a bit thin and sharp. I prefer silk and steel or phosphor strings, so I changed them and she warmed up. I swear, the guitar warms up a bit each time I play it. The string sustain invites versatility, with a small body that I dig. It's a nice compliment to the Opeongo I bought a while back. The evolution of the Baby Boat character and soul will be interesting to experience. Thanks Mackenzie Marr for good sounding, good looking instruments. And just to mention, the saddle seemed a bit low, so you sent another saddle to me free, and I appreciate it. Hey everyone, get one of these guitars to cradle in your lap.

John from Riverside

Mon, 03/14/2022 - 18:05

Mackenzie and Marr guitars have a curious ability to sound unique.  Some models have distinctive shapes and woods so the difference in sound is to be expected.  What about an iconic dreadnought shape with a rosewood body and an Adirondack top?  Maybe that one should sound somewhat familiar?  It doesn't. The guitar is physically lighter that some of the lookalikes.  The beautiful Bolivian rosewood body has the familiar sapwood back stripe - a combination which has become a personal favorite.  The wood is just prettier than Indian rosewood with a colorful brightness that allows the grain of the wood to shine through.  There's a new thin zipper inlay at the rear peg - a nice touch that isn't a copy of anything. The body, neck and peghead are bound in curly maple with some additional wood accents.  The abalone binding and rosette are familiar and welcome.  My spec says the fretboard and bridge are also Bolivian but neither wood matches the body.  The board is a variegated brown and the bridge looks like ebony.  It's hard to imagine a tree with such a palate of colors. The neck is the only thing left to a CNC process,  If you like the M&M neck, this will be no exception.  The tuners are Grover gold Rotomatics - I prefer the open butterbeans which reduce the weight.  To each their own, I suppose.  I was overruled. I could have written this much within a few minutes of unpacking the guitar.  The sound, however, just left me scratching my head. My old Martins D-28's are more than a little bass heavy.  Apparently it made the Hawaiian players who requested such an instrument happy,  There wasn't a bass slide guitar or bass ukulele and they had need something in this register.  Early country musicians just needed something loud and after Earl joined the Bluegrass Boys there was need of a banjo killer. The Boat isn't in this tradition. So maybe it sounds like a D-18 with little less bass and a little more treble?  That's not quite right either.  My boat is almost even across all six strings with the slightly dominate ones being the 4th and 5th.  Neither the 1st or 6th strings fall into that category.  The 28 style is all about a loud 6th.  The 18's are often VERY bright with a very strong 1st in the treble.  The Boat falls happily in the middle.  Very happily, for a singer. The guitar can be LOUD as needed but still wonderfully responsive with a much lighter touch.  The smooth string balance can be fingerpicked and resemble the sound of an old OM or 000 which is not that common in a D body size. This was the first M&M I order but the fourth to arrive.  It was well worth the wait and I'm anxious to learn what the plan is to do next.

Herb from Pickering

Mon, 03/14/2022 - 09:30

Really enjoy the Algonquin 12 with the exception of a slight buzz on the high E string that seems to have disapated now. I'll be changing the strings in June and it can only get better. Not a huge fan of d'adarios.

Terry from Amanda

Mon, 03/14/2022 - 09:30

Mixed emotions at this point; fell in love immediately with the guitar for many reasons and have played it with great pleasure since. The pickup will not perform for me.  I have tinkered with it occasionally but have no need for amplification, I figured I would have my luthier try something when I can afford to take it in for fresh strings and set up. Which, by the way, the set up was very workable straight out of the box.  It is also a flawlessly beautiful piece of workmanship  and I genuinely treasure it. This instrument was a treat to myself for sticking with my practice as I continue to recover from a mild stroke.

Scott from Peace River

Sun, 03/13/2022 - 11:30

Stunningly beautiful to look at with beautiful workmanship, the sound is mellow enough for strumming and full enough for fingerpicking, yet loud enough to fill the space. The LR Baggs pickup captures its True Tone in the studio and on stage. A great investment, this is a guitar that I will keep for a lifetime.

Eric from Victoria

Fri, 03/11/2022 - 19:41

When I first called Mac Kenzie and Marr to enquire about The Baby Boat Mr. Marr answered the phone. Was I ever surprised. We talked for 20 to 30 minutes and what a fine good natured man he is. I told him I needed to discuss the purchase with my wife before finalizing the purchase. A few minutes later I called back and purchased the guitar and what a beauty it is. There is nothing about it I would change. The sound, the workmanship the over all visual appeal is first class. An employee at a near guitar shop who plays bluegrass was really taken back by the sound and volume from a smaller guitar. When asked, who carries this guitar, the answer was you buy direct. And I’m glad I did. Because there was going to be a number of months to wait before receiving the guitar I purchased another guitar that they had in stock. This purchase was not at the same time but a couple of months into the wait for the Baby Boat. I like a double o size guitar with 12 frets. The Opeongo is a wonderful instrument. It’s beauty is in its simplicity and wonderful craftsmanship. And the sound is just lovely. I’m thrilled with both guitars and should there be a Baby Boat with 12 frets offered one day I’ll probably buy it as well. I’m not rich, but the value for the price is just hard to turn down. Not to forget, their luthier set both guitars up just right for me. Thank you all for making such lovely instruments. Eric

Richard from Hudson

Fri, 03/11/2022 - 17:38

This is my 7th M&M guitar and like the rest, it has excellent playability, tone, and appearance. Booming base tones and crisp clean trebles make this a standout in my collection of over 95 acoustics. I’ve been playing for 60+ years and wouldn’t hesitate to play this guitar on stage. The price point makes it the perfect dreadnaught for an entry level player too.

George from Chelmsford

Mon, 01/31/2022 - 22:51

Simply a terrific guitar! I own over 30 guitars, some costing in the multiple of thousands and this guitar is as good or better than any of them. It's also beautiful, plays easily and is an incredible buy. I am extremely happy with my purchase. Nice case too.

Rocky from Cincinnati

Mon, 01/31/2022 - 22:35

This instrument is really built well. It plays very easily. The intonation is spot on. The top is starting to open up. It’s a fantastic 00 size Parlor. Very light weight. All solid woods! It’s just gettin better and the price was more than reasonable! There are great deals on guitars out there and you just found one!

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.