MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.
2024-01-09
Star Rating: 
5
donna from Wimauma writes:
Hi this is Bill Donna's husband. She bought me the Algonquin 12 string for Christmas and boy was I happy. I have a couple of Martin six strings with Indian Rosewood back and sides that sound good and have played a friend's with Brazilian Rosewood that is special. So when I saw your video on the shark pit and looked up your site I saw and read about all of your guitars and was impressed with the quality look and the materials that you used. I have been wanting a 12 string for a while and fell in love with the Algonquin so when my wife asked me what I wanted for Christmas I showed her your guitar. So we took a chance and it has proven to be one of the best decisions I've ever made. It looks beautiful and sounds beautiful. The fretboard plays like butter. I took it to my guitar group and everyone fell in love with it. Now I am thinking about selling one of my Martin's and getting one of your six strings to match it. Thank you for building such a fantastic guitar. Your new friend Bill
2024-01-07
Star Rating: 
5
Henry from Winlock writes:
This is a really fun guitar to play. I mainly finger pick and occasionally use a plectrum. My other 6 string is a D18 MD and I wanted a different sounding guitar. I must admit I was not happy with my first strum but the more I play it the more I love the crisp, clean "woody" sound. That's probably due to the excellent construction and the minimalist open pore matte finish. The intonation was right on and I only needed a little tweak to straighten the fretboard. Good setup. I made 3 modifications. I prefer a thinner triangular neck, like the Martin so I reshaped the neck. I think the new M&M guitar has this neck. The frets are well finished without too much slope on the fret ends so I able to fill and recut the nut for the 1st and 6th strings to move the strings further out. Take advantage of the 1 3/4 inch nut. Now I can use my thumb on the 6th string (D chord), and not damp the 1st string when playing a C chord. The asymmetric nut modification works for me. I also put silk and steel strings on this Opeongo parlor guitar. Very happy I took the leap to mail order a guitar. Wouldn't hesitate to buy another. Maybe I need something in rosewood. Great case too.
2024-01-04
Star Rating: 
5
H Collins from Great Barrington writes:
The Ian Tyson has what it takes for a performing/studio guitarist of many decades. The florentine cutaway and gold equipment make it a looker when performing. It sounds very balanced in the studio miked, the lower large bout gives it a smooth bass that's wonderful, and great in open tunings. Easy to play for both strumming and finger work. All around a great value, after I tried all the top models of the usual Taylor, Breedlove, etc...this one has a voice worth hearing. Just for the record, I grew up on Ian and Sylvia LP's, so this one has extra meaning, an added bonus.
2024-01-04
Star Rating: 
5
Robert from Michigan city writes:
This is an amazing 12 string guitar. The sound and sustain are incredible the only thing I would like to see is a ebony finger board, but it is amazing. Even the case is nice. Fits like a glove. I still can't believe the quality for the price. Nice
2024-01-03
Star Rating: 
5
Stephen from Sioux Lookout writes:
My mackenzie and Marr Tofino X is everything I hoped it would be, beautiful to look at and wonderful to play with amazing tone.
2024-01-03
Star Rating: 
5
Roger from Prescott Valley writes:
I own a Martin, several Taylors, and many other name brand guitars. I'm always looking for a better playing, better sounding guitar. I have been absolutely amazed by my Torfino on the quality and finish but more than that, the superb sound quality. This guitar has become my everyday player and I'm thinking of selling many of my other guitars. Mackenzie and Marr, well done and keep up the quality.
2024-01-02
Star Rating: 
5
wiliam from TACOMA writes:
like it a lot. sound great. it has the fattest body of any of the guitars i own but that is what probably makes it sound so good. it also has a great sentimental value to me because i first heard ian and sylvia in a nasty part of vietnam many years ago. thanks to a comrade who thought to bring a cassette tape recorder and three of their cd's in his duffle bag, they provided the only music we got to hear for a year. tyson's picture stares at me from inside the guitar when it is on its stand and i'm playing another instrument. spooky, especially when i'm playing one of their songs.
2024-01-02
Star Rating: 
5
Chris from Dundas writes:
I received my Ian Tyson Inspiration guitar in early Dec. as promised. Opening the case revealed a beautifully crafted guitar. The Bolivian Rosewood has a beauty unmatched in my opinion. The fit and finish are impeccable. Traversing along the neck felt very comfortable and familiar. The sound is warm, full and bright. This is my 2nd M&M guitar (3 yr. Old Tofino X) and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or purchase another M&M guitar. Chris
2024-01-02
Star Rating: 
4
Doug from SUNDERLAND writes:
I had been impressed with the Dragon's Den episode and had contacted the company the week following to inquire if the financing had been arranged as broadcast, with the thought of speaking with the company about their monetary backing and if they were still looking for an investor. I thought the demo was well done, and surprised that the prototype had done so well in comparison with a much more expensive instrument. (The look on Kevin O'Leary's face was rather priceless.) Flash forward 10 years, I was looking for a higher quality guitar, I returned to the page, and was looking to purchase a "factory outlet" version of the Ian Tyson model. I dithered and delayed a day too long and missed out. I did put the retail version in my cart, but left the transaction incomplete. John reached out to me by email and made a suggestion, and at which I completed the sale. Guitar arrived as promised, plays very well. Considering adding the Algonquin 12 to the fold and selling the Taylor. Nice company to deal with, the personal touch meant a lot to me and my decision to move ahead. Thank you John.
2024-01-02
Star Rating: 
5
Michael from Hempstead writes:
I own several guitars, most much more expensive than this one. The Ian Tyson model ranks with the best of the others and is my current favorite. The tone, playability and workmanship is outstanding. Highly recommended!

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.