Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Andre from Sherwood Park

Wed, 08/17/2011 - 10:52

I went through the other comments and everyone has said it all. It's simply a wonderful instrument, well worth the price and in my opinion - a bargain, as you really do get $3000 quality for a $1000 price. About the time I bought it, I had read somewhere (I believe it was a Clapton interview) that when deciding on which guitar to buy, opt for the most expensive you can afford. I assumed, as with many things, he was saying you basically get what you pay for. I was in that state of mind, looking to improve my playing by investing in a better, more expensive guitar. I was trying out Martins and Taylors ($2500 range) when someone at work mentioned the dragons' den program and this guitar in particular. Just good timing I guess. It took a few days to weigh the risks - but I figured so long as I can return it and get my money back ... What can I say. The best decision I made. "Thirteen" (as I so lovingly call her) is a beautiful instrument. Plays beautifully, sounds amazing and truly is a bargain. And incidently, Clapton is right too. A better guitar does make you a better player - not instantly of course, but because it's easy to play (action is fantasic, sound is great), you just feel motivated to play more. I can't seem to put mine down. If you want that $3000 guitar, but aren't keen on parting with that much money, I recommend (highly) you go for the Tofino or other style they offer. You won't be disappointed and while your looking at your other new guitar - you know, the one you bought with the money you saved - well then you can simply thank me (and MacKenzie and Marr of course!)

Ray from Virginiatown

Thu, 07/28/2011 - 11:06

Just received my second Tofino, tone is amazing! The finish is outstanding! The guitar is everything that the ad said it was, great company to deal with, answered all my questions with straight to the point and honest answers. Thank you John, I am a very happy customer!! Ray

Jim from Deep River

Wed, 06/22/2011 - 11:13

I had my doubts about buying a guitar untried over the internet but I trusted the Dragon’s Den and I trusted my instincts. My Tofino arrived yesterday to much delight. I bought my first guitar 30 years ago, an El Degas for $500 and it still sounds great but the Tofina outshines it and the other two guitars that I own by a country mile. The Tofino is easy to play, that's the first thing I noticed and the sound is crisp and clear. This is a quality guitar and good value for my money. Jim

Bruce from Kenora

Tue, 04/05/2011 - 11:16

5 star rating I am a new guitar student The craftsmanship is outstanding and even thought my repertoire of cords is small the sound is amazing. Thanks so much The instrument is a pleasure to play.

patrick from kitchener

Sat, 04/02/2011 - 11:18

I bought my tofino before the appearance on the dragons den. The number of my guitar is 26. It took me a while to get use to the sound but when I put D'Addario silk and steel strings on it I found the sound I was looking for.I play in the finger picking style and found the tofino was the only guitar I needed. I give it a five star rating!!

Jim from Kitchener

Fri, 04/01/2011 - 13:30

I love my Tofino more, each time I play it. My other guitars are collecting dust. The tone and clarity are fantastic. Having a great guitar has inspired me to play more.

Maurice from Poplar Hill

Fri, 04/01/2011 - 11:21

I recently took possession of a Tofino model guitar made in China, and imported by Mackenzie-Marr, those two somewhat swashbuckling entrepreneurs who appeared in January 2010 on C.B.C.’s Dragons Den with their proposal to sell guitars on-line. They “ambushed” one of the “dragons”, Kevin O’Leary, to test-drive their guitar and he was very enthusiastic about the instrument. Consequently, I was sufficiently intrigued to try the guitar and offer some impressions: First of all, John Marr is a very good front man. He responded quickly and openly to my every inquiry, both about the instrument itself, and about the details regarding shipment, payment etc. The instrument came from Montreal to Comox B.C. in perfect order, via Fedex. I had a week to decide whether or not to keep the guitar and can report that there is no way that Marr is getting it back. Initially I found the set-up a little higher than my Martin D-18, and John Marr offered to enlist, at his expense, the services of a local luthier to change that. But I quickly adapted and the “problem” disappeared. What has really impressed me is the Tofino’s big sound. It’s a lot of guitar, quite the equal of my Martin. To be sure the fit and finish of the Martin seems a little better, but we’re comparing a $4000 instrument with a $999 one. In short, the Tofino is everything and more that Mackenzie-Marr claim – a lot of guitar for a very attractive price.

Bill from Calgary

Fri, 12/10/2010 - 13:21

Took to California for the winter. Fellow guitar players were astounded at the fantastic sound and tone of this guitar. And it's mine, mine, mine

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.