Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Steven from Myrtle Beach

Thu, 03/04/2021 - 11:48

The Tofino X is obviously a very well made guitar. Great to look at great to play. I’ve had mine for 8 weeks, and it’s sounding better all the time. You won’t find another guitar at this price point to beat it. There’s no way you’ll return this guitar after the trial period.

Gary from Cranbury, NJ

Tue, 02/23/2021 - 14:11

I could not wait to get my hands on this guitar after reading about it. I was surprised to take it out of the box and find it was more than it was cracked up to be. It is beautiful and the tone is on a par or better than my other guitars that cost 3 to 5 times as much. The setup was very good. I have been playing for 63 years and have played many other acoustic brands and types. This rates among the best I have had the pleasure of playing. I am almost afraid to play it out on my different venues :). A work of art. Hats off to Mackenzie & Marr.

john from cedar knolls

Tue, 02/23/2021 - 14:10

The guitar is a fine instrument. Good workmanship, great sound. Worth the price paid. The only minor issue I had was the fact there was no battery installed requiring me to loosen all the strings and fish for the battery casing, which was attached by velcro to the interior of the guitar.

Bruce from Charlottesville

Tue, 02/23/2021 - 14:10

You can’t go wrong with a MacKenzie and Marr handmade guitar. They feature: 1. Clear communication; 2. An owner who is directly and promptly responsive to questions; 3. Guitars with outstanding price and value; including 4. Tofino X . This is a 5.Beautiful guitar, which is 6. As easy to play as it is beautiful, and 7.Sounds even better than it looks! 8. My Tofie has me already beginning to rationalize buying another MaxKenzie and Marr guitar sometime in late 2021.

Lorn..(Guitar was a surprise gift ) from LYNDEN Ontario

Thu, 02/18/2021 - 15:15

The tone is superb. I am getting readjusted to steel strings and the neck width after 10 years of playing a classical nylon stringed Yamaha. Ian and Sylvia were the first concert l took myself to. I play blues and folk for my own enjoyment. Usually finger picking style. The guitar and amp were a gift from my family. Certainly the best guitar l am likely to own though my 50 year old Framus is pretty good.

Rich from Boston

Thu, 02/18/2021 - 15:15

All my life I wanted a solid wood guitar, but the cost of a Gibson or Martin et al. was out of range for a hobby guitarist. I took a chance on this brand and I couldn't be happier. An elegantly crafted instrument. “It stays in tune!”

Dan from Kitchener

Thu, 02/18/2021 - 15:14

I was skeptical about buying a guitar online but my skepticism was laid to rest the first time I played the Dionisio. Your offer of returning the guitar within 7 days was the clincher. The Dionisio guitar not only looks great but it sounds beautiful. A guitar has to feel comfortable to hold and play otherwise it looses it's appeal. The Dionisio covered all my concerns with it's comfortable playability. This guitar plays well above it's price range and can really sing. They're definitely worth every penny. Thanks for a great product. I'm sold on Mackenzie and Marr guitars.

Grant from Roseneath

Tue, 02/16/2021 - 12:52

I purchased a Grand Manan Slope Shoulder Dreadnaught in December i might add this is my 4th Mackenzie and Marr as with the others the guitar comes ready to go i dont know if its just luck but i highly doubt its luck the guitar was awesome im not a great player by any means but i do know the sound i want and the playability set up and feel This guitar did not disappoint i just havent wanted to set it down which to me is the connection when your touched by the guitar i would back these guitars anytime as i said its my 4th will not be my last quality is second to none Thanks Mackenzie and Marr you knocked it out of the park again

Charles from Amma, WV, USA

Tue, 02/16/2021 - 12:49

I'm 78 years old, 5 ft 2 inches tall, with corresponding short arms and a body that's not very flexible. I also have short and very thick fingers. I wanted a smaller guitar (that I could reach around comfortably) with a short neck (so I could reach the end) with a wide neck (room for those fingers). The Opeongo gave me all I wanted plus the sound of a larger, more expensive guitar. No adjustments in "action" had to be made out of the box and it came in a much higher quality case than I expected. However, I would gladly pay more for one just like it that delivered even higher quality sound (probably not possible).

Kurt from NANAIMO

Fri, 02/05/2021 - 09:13

Dear MacKenzie & Marr: Thank you for providing me with a world-class guitar at such a relatively inexpensive price. It's a beauty: both visually and sound-wise. Twenty-three years ago, I purchased a 1997 Special Edition SPD-16T Martin for about twice the amount of money that I spent on the Tofino X. Over those past twenty-three years, I would periodically go into a guitar shop noodling around on a whole host of other 'brand name' guitars and would always leave the building smiling smugly to myself feeling more than complacent with the purchase I had made with the Martin. After a month of playing my Tofino X, I started to feel pangs of guilt having abandoned my Martin in its case in the foyer closet but the sheer pleasure of the sound of the Tofino X is all too tempting. I'm in a rather fortunate position of knowing how to play a variety of genres of music--classic, folk, blues, and mountain music--and will be able to allocate different 'numbers' to the different guitars: classic to my Yamaha Classic; perhaps folk to my Martin, and blues and mountain music to my Tofino X. Who knows, for sure? Anyhow, I am thrilled with the Tofino X. One surprise feature for me is the curvature of the body and how snugly it fits on my upper thigh. There seems to be no chance of the guitar sliding across my lap as I lean in to play. Hats off to MacKenzie and Marr for providing guitar enthusiasts with a superior product at such an accessible and affordable price! If I had enough money, I would surely buy one of each of the fine guitar models MacKenzie and Marr produces.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.