MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.
2022-09-12
Star Rating: 
5
Rick from Kingsville writes:
I was on the golf course when my wife sent a pic and message saying “Your package has arrived”. Needless to say, my decent round went down hill quickly as all I could think about was getting home to play my new Tofino X! I was impressed with the protective packaging for shipping and the case was just as impressive. When I first opened the case, I was even more thrilled. The guitar is beautiful! The abalone purfling and rosette add a richness to the cedar top. The African mahogany is beautiful sharp contrast to the top. The workmanship in the guitar is excellent. All in all, a beauty to behold. But things got even better when I started playing! The set up was excellent…the sound amazing…and the size is just what was seeking. I must admit some trepidation when ordering without holding and playing but the 7 day return policy got me over it. I have Seagull, Martin and Yamaha guitars which I thoroughly enjoy but find the Tofino the most comfortable. I am looking forward to many years of enjoyment with my new guitar.
2022-08-23
Star Rating: 
5
Pierre from Montreal writes:
A great well built Guitar at a super price! this guitar is just right on! You get a great guitar at a fraction of the cost. It will only get better by playing it. The quality of the guitar can match many high-end guitars out there. Mr. Marr sure knows how good Guitars are made of.
2022-08-22
Star Rating: 
5
Hans from Port Stanley writes:
Awesome guitar I like just looking at it as well as playing it. It really is a work of art Great job Mackenzie and Marr
2022-08-10
Star Rating: 
5
Ken from Sacramento writes:
This is a beautiful guitar, very pleasing to the eye. The tone and ease of play are much better than expected for this price point. And the clarity and presence are excellent as well. With a solid AAA Sitka spruce top and Bolivian Rosewood back and sides, this instrument is a tremendous value, comparing very favorably with top-end Martin, Guild, and Taylor 12-strings. And I can't seem to put it down!
2022-07-26
Star Rating: 
5
Brian from Winnipeg writes:
I received my guitar on Friday. You are not getting this one back, all I have been saying is wow, if I were to be super critical there's nothing, and I mean nothing that I can say about this guitar. From the sound of the cedar to the mahogany sides and back from top to bottom it is flawless and I just love the sound, I could go on and on .
2022-07-26
Star Rating: 
5
Graham from Toronto writes:
A beautiful instrument with beautiful sound.
2022-07-26
Star Rating: 
5
Paul from Wakaw writes:
This is the third Mackenzie and Marr guitar I have owned, first being a Tom Rush and then an Opeongo. Both are guitars I really liked but the former gone to my father and the latter to my daughter. The Tofino has much the same feel as a vintage Gibson SJ with the same gentle playability but a far superior sound. The Tofino isn't easily overpowered by percussive strumming and the whereas the Gibson can sound muted the M and M stays warm and clear.
2022-07-21
Star Rating: 
5
David from Racine writes:
My experience with 12-string guitars was limited to the not so good instrument that I bought way back in 1990. I didn't know much about guitars then. It was a Dreadnought Style guitar, large and not too dissimilar to hugging a log. The sound of the instrument was bright but brittle and over time the neck warped Beyond repair and could not be readjusted.  I considered a number of brand named instruments and found to be overpriced and I didn't like the sound of most when I heard them on the videos.  Then I found the Algonquin in my online search. First, I admire the business philosophy of Mackenzie and Marr: high quality instruments at Factory Direct prices. I appreciate the craftsmanship and the care that went into the development of this Algonquin. It took me a while to adjust to the algonquin. The shape and size of this instrument were different than my old 12 string. The body style of the Algonquin is very similar in design and tone to my Santa Cruz F model 6 string, both being rich and balanced and resonant. The overtones on the Algonquin ring like handbells. The appearance of the instrument is indeed dramatic with the split Rosewood back, the spruce top with its long straight grain, the detail work and finish flawless. Tuners are quite sensitive and this instrument is easy to keep in tune.  I am very happy to have purchased this instrument. My only regret was not having the electronics installed. Simply, I was just too anxious to play your superb instrument. Thank you for your work in developing this fine instrument.
2022-07-18
Star Rating: 
5
Derek from Lee Creek writes:
The only negative I have was that it did need an initial setup as there was some buzzing.. But a slight adjustment on the neck, and bam! Beautiful sound and wonderful to play. I think my guitar time has increased tenfold since it arrived as it is so fun to play. I would recommend it to anyone!
2022-07-11
Star Rating: 
5
Christopher from Worcester writes:
When I first received the Opeongo and unpacked it, I was very impressed with the quality of craftmanship on the guitar. I was also impressed with the fine quality case. When I began to play I was a bit concerned that the tone was thin and reedy. That being said I found it so easy to play that I kept picking it up, and not surprising for a guitar made of fine quality solid wood, the tone changed rapidly, becoming deeper but still maintaining a clarity from note to note which is a real pleasure. I am enjoying this guitar a great deal. It is truly a fine bargain, a great value for dollars invested. Thanks to you at M&M !

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.