fbpx Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Doug from Vancouver

Fri, 09/04/2020 - 13:01

Just to let you know that I have received my delivery on the 25th of August. I have been playing the guitar for the past few days and at first thought that it sounded just as I thought a small guitar would sound. If this had bee in a store I would have returned the guitar to it's location and moved on. After awhile it becomes apparent that there is more nuance to the tone than I had first thought. The tone grows on you. Thanks for a great guitar. I guess I won't be sending it back after all.

jim from o'fallon

Fri, 09/04/2020 - 10:32

Oh my Lord.  We have eleven guitars in our house, a Taylor and Gretsch parlor, and this destroys both of them.  Thank you for this wonderfully brilliantly designed loud, rich, luxurious guitar.  We will not be returning it.  Love, four guitar players in the Harris Household....

Greer from El Paso

Wed, 07/08/2020 - 12:02

My Opeongo OO size guitar arrived rapidly and in perfect condition. It’s wonderful to play, craftsmanship of construction is great, and setup was exactly as discussed. Communication with M&M about some questions has also been terrific. The whole purchase experience couldn’t have been better. Thanks.

Albert from Woodstock, NB

Mon, 07/06/2020 - 10:46

WOW! I really wasn't prepared for the quality of workmanship or The Sweet Sounds that come from my Grand Manan. I've let some of my guitar playing friends try it and the response is always the same - "That's a great guitar". I was hesitant to buy a guitar sight unseen, but I will not hesitate to recommend a MacKenzie-Marr guitar to anyone.

Darren from Stettler

Fri, 07/03/2020 - 08:49

I suppose this short letter should be directed to John Marr as he is the guy I’ve dealt with and he had to deal with my disappointment with the naked lady that I purchased. His response to my problem was directly aimed at making me a happy customer and he accomplished this by getting me a different guitar in a very fair amount of time. Just as I was quick to let my dissatisfaction with my first purchase be known (and I’m very happy with my naked lady now) I feel it quite necessary to praise your company for the absolutely beautiful anniversary tofino that I now own. Now don’t let this balloon your heads too much because I’m no pro but it is a wonderfull sounding instrument that is a dream to play. I can barely put it down and I’ve had to pry it from every pair of hands that I’ve allowed to touch it. A good friend of mine just spent $3500 on a custom built guitar and after playing mine he is not happy with his purchase. I know what his next one will be. Your whole company deserves a pat on the back for the design and workmanship that’s gone into this beautiful guitar. I’ve never seen the original tofino in person but this one has to be a bit of a step up. Anyway thanks so much for this timepassing tool in this time of pandemic. I love it. If I can afford another guitar it’ll be MacKenzie and Marr. Stay safe. Sincerely, Darren LaRose

John from Baltimore

Tue, 06/30/2020 - 13:53

I’m writing to thank you for the extraordinary Tofino X I recently received. It is the most thoughtfully designed and built guitar I’ve ever seen. Neck strap button. The exquisite inlay, x-bracing. The beautiful gold hardware. (Not to mention the mask! Incredibly thoughtful and deeply appreciated.) And the sound… amazing. My Tofino encourages me to play better, to play more, and rewards me for my efforts. I’ve put off buying a new acoustic for years, unable to find an affordable guitar at an acceptable quality level. I’m so glad I found you. I have no reason to ever look at another guitar again. Well, except the Opeongo. Enclosed is a picture of me enjoying my Tofino on the front porch, on a lovely summer eve. Thanks for making that moment possible. Sincerely, John H…

Court from Davidsonville

Fri, 05/29/2020 - 10:41

Absolutely love the guitar. It looks and sound amazing. Yesterday, I took it to my guitar tech/luthier for an inspection and set up adjustment and he was floored at how nice the guitar is... he swore it was a $3500 instrument... and he works on high end instruments all day long. So abundant kudos to the MacMarr team!!!

Andrew from Alameda

Mon, 05/18/2020 - 20:48

Quick review of my Opeongo: Detailed, high-bar construction and materials. Lovely, balanced tones from the surprisingly rich low-end in a parlor instrument, to clear, present mids and highs. Despite the evident attention to visuals, the builders were obviously fiercely listening as they built this instrument. I know, over the top wordy, but these guys deserve some serious praise. Don't you dare tell them, but they could have doubled the price of this guitar and still found an enthusiastic public. Big kudos.

Larry from Toronto

Mon, 05/18/2020 - 16:26

To be honest I had never heard of Mackenzie & Marr. I found them quite literally by clicking on a popup ad on one of the news sites I frequent. I was thrilled to learn they were a Canadian guitar manufacturer. I browsed all of the guitar models they had to offer and I kept coming back to the Tom Rush Naked Lady. The rich tone and big sustain really got my attention. Being close to the end of the run only C grade (LPS) guitars were left. That concerned me somewhat so I sent an enquiry to find out exactly what that meant as I wasn't prepared to buy a guitar where that sound would be impaired. I received a reply from John Marr within 24 hours complete with photos of an example and his assurance that guitars graded less than perfect had had some minor repair that in no way impacted the tone or sound of the guitar. I decided I could live with this kind of repair and promptly hit the purchase button. I received my Tom Rush Naked Lady 2 weeks later. It came well packed. To say I am pleased with this guitar would be more than an understatement. The photos and even the videos online don't do this guitar justice. It's really a beautiful guitar with more detailing than can be seen online. Most importantly it has the sound that I was drawn to so much while browsing online. That imperfection? It took me some time to find it and it really is only a minor blemish which speaks volumes for Mackenzie & Marr's quality control. Finally, on the headstock is the logo Mackenzie & Marr Friends since 1958. That really brings a smile to my face as I was born in 1958. Thanks for making such a great guitar!

Larry from Empire, MI

Wed, 04/29/2020 - 08:12

The Opeongo was exactly what I was looking for in a parlor guitar. Dimensions of the smaller body with 12 frets to the body, combined with a C neck profile, shorter scale length, wider nut width and perfect action to make a pleasurable and comfortable playing experience. Couple this with balance and clarity across the tonal range from treble to mid to bass notes, good projection and nearly non-ending sustain and you have amazing sound from a very versatile instrument. It is well suited for my finger style playing on the couch. I find it also suitable to strum or flat pick a few tunes when I want. There is excellent intonation up the neck. The slotted head stock and simply appointed solid spruce top with solid mahogany back and sides has a very smooth open pore finish which is attractive and lends to a very natural, vintage look and nicely shows the wood grain. I believe the finish will allow the guitar to mature and open up very nicely. And it could be a great heirloom to pass on. I could find no flaws in the fit and finish on this guitar from headstock to fretboard and neck to body and saddle. All the boxes of my criteria were checked off with excellent marks: looks, sound, playability, fit & finish, and value for price. A very nice hardshell case is included. I did some research to find an all solid wood parlor style guitar and could not find any company that came close in price. There is no buyers remorse here. I confidently placed my order. This is truly a real value. I am very appreciative that I learned about MacKenzie & Marr guitars. They live up to their guiding principles. Again, my own research led me to believe this. Everything they say on their web site is true. I like honesty and integrity throughout the entire process from customer service response to delivery of product. I admire that they have chosen to sell their guitars only online, which as they say is “slightly inconvenient.”. To overcome this, they will let you try any of their guitars for a week. If you don’t like it, they will give a full refund including shipping cost. This might alleviate some hesitance to buy without playing. It is confidence on their part. This is a very difficult way to do business in a very competitive market. The product direct to customer savings is real and a much simpler process. There was one other guitar maker I found in the United States that made a similar try it or return it for a full refund including shipping. My research revealed some inaccurate claims and much higher prices. Conclusion is I am pleased and happy with my choice. It does more than hold its own against guitars that cost two to three times more made by a company in Pennsylvania. I know because I own several. Cécile Doo-Kingué is playing an Opeongo in a video on the M & M website. She also has videos on YouTube.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.