Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Al from Brighton

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 11:59

An all round beauty..it's my 3rd guitar from MMG and my 4th should be be arriving Monday... thinking about doin' the 12 string also..

John from Elkins Park

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 11:58

3.5 stars. Good for the price. 4 stars for high end Martin's, etc. 5 stars for vintage guitars so 3.5 is good. Guitar is made of very nice wood, inlays and binding are exceptional. Tone woods are nice and it feels good in hands. My complaint is action was very high, almost unplayable past 5th fret. High E buzzes, can't figure out where, not a fret buzz, internal. Pick guard is cheap, I didn't even put it on. I did lower the bridge, but still need to lower 1/16th inch to get it where it should be, Hopefully that will eliminate the buzzing.

George from Wedgeport

Sat, 10/10/2020 - 10:36

I have been a Martin and Gibson player for many years. To my surprise it stands out the best. The strings give a great ring to the guitar. I put ex strings on the guitar. Surprising to my surprise a much better ring. Haven't found anything bad with it at all. Very satisfied with it.

Steven from Astatula

Sat, 10/10/2020 - 10:33

This guitar is SWEET! Wonderful tone! Long sustain with delicate overtones. Perfect intonation. And so playable! It plays as easily as my SG. And it's beautiful to look at and to hold. I was so impressed with the Opeongo that I also bought the Ian Tyson Limited Edition!

David from BAR HARBOR

Thu, 10/01/2020 - 09:58

Only good things to say about this fine instrument! Have had it awhile now and play it almost every day. My daughter has been staying with us for some of the quarantine times this Summer and had to pull it out of her their hands mare than a few times. The more it’s played, like most instruments the better and sweeter it sounds. Easier to play, barre chords and palm mute than my other steel string guitar.

Karl from Lowbanks

Mon, 09/21/2020 - 09:03

I played a little guitar 50 years ago and after retiring I bought myself a decent guitar for Christmas last year. I was quite enjoying learning to play again when I saw an ad for Mackenzie & Marr guitars and decided to go for it. What an awesome instrument. Its beautiful to look at,has great sound and is so easy to play, even barre chords. It's the one I always pick up so I sold my "decent" guitar

George from Chicago

Sat, 09/19/2020 - 15:03

This guitar lives up to all the claims made by the makers. After having it for about at month, I find it totally enjoyable to play. Fingering and action is fine, the tone is balanced and rich. And perhaps the best review is my cat's, who enjoys licking the strings as I play. I've been playing for over 50 years (not THAT good, though) - first a Martin D-18 which was actually not so good, and then a D-41 which is fine, but kind of a bit jumbo. So I decided to try a slightly smaller instrument and took a chance on the (unknown to me) Tofino. No regrets at all!

Christian from Burlington

Tue, 09/15/2020 - 08:29

I ordered my Tofino X limited edition in 2019 and waited earnestly for the delivery. With Covid my patience was tested. Since receiving this instrument I was very pleased with the sound as I was specifically looking for a cedar top and mahogany. The warm tones and sustain a more than I had expected. I did not install the optional pick guard because the guitar looks so damn pretty without it. I do not call myself a musician but I noodle around every day. I would recommend this guitar to anyone looking for a quality instrument that will deliver high expectations. Christian

Basil from Fort McMurray

Sat, 09/12/2020 - 13:53

On December 21st, 2009, I placed an order to purchase a Mackenzie and Marr guitar. It was a Tofino, the only guitar they were making at the time. The guitar was recommended to me by my daughter, who was working at CBC on the Dragon's Den show at the time, and this guitar (and company) caused quite a sensation with all the players who worked for CBC. Based on what they told her about the guitar, she phoned me, gave me the story and said to me that I should order one. As a rule, I don't collect guitars. I feel I only need one of each; one acoustic steel-string guitar, one classical guitar, one solid body electric guitar, one vintage acoustic-electric guitar and one solid body electric bass. I had a Martin Guitar and, at the time, felt that it was the only one I needed for its category. However, I was intrigued with the buzz at CBC, the Dragon's Den Show, the concept of the guitar and the company. I felt it was worth giving the Tofino a shot. It came through Canada Post in a huge well-packed box. When I brought it home, unpacked the box and opened the case, it was a joy to see for the first time. The attention to detail was remarkable; it was nice and light. It played beautifully, especially after changing the strings to D' Addario Silk and Steel. All I have added was a pickup, which wasn't an option from the company when I first bought it. Twelve years later, almost to the day, it is still a joy to play. The Tofino is my go-to guitar when I want to learn a new song, experiment with a solo or practice for a gig. The Martin is long gone, I traded it for a much better classical guitar. I would rank my Tofino guitar as it is: 5 out of 5; no regrets on this purchase. Basil Kazakos New Brunswick, Canada

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.