Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Daniel from Red Bluff

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 12:11

A very carefully built guitar. It matches the resonance of the best guitars I've ever played. I'm not a pro, but I've picked up some really expensive guitars to try. It almost sings by itself. When it is in in a room with other instruments playing, the strings will resonate with the surrounding music. Light and solid and beautiful it is easy to play and very hard to put down again.

Chad from Lancaster

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 12:00

I was thoroughly impressed by the grand Manan. The construction, fit & finish are top notch and it has an excellent sweet and dry mahogany tone. I had a J-15($1,700) and by all measures the Grand Manan is the superior instrument (also stays in tune much more consistently). Mackenzie and Marr guitars live up to their billing as premium guitars for a fraction of the price.

Al from Brighton

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 11:59

An all round beauty..it's my 3rd guitar from MMG and my 4th should be be arriving Monday... thinking about doin' the 12 string also..

John from Elkins Park

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 11:58

3.5 stars. Good for the price. 4 stars for high end Martin's, etc. 5 stars for vintage guitars so 3.5 is good. Guitar is made of very nice wood, inlays and binding are exceptional. Tone woods are nice and it feels good in hands. My complaint is action was very high, almost unplayable past 5th fret. High E buzzes, can't figure out where, not a fret buzz, internal. Pick guard is cheap, I didn't even put it on. I did lower the bridge, but still need to lower 1/16th inch to get it where it should be, Hopefully that will eliminate the buzzing.

George from Wedgeport

Sat, 10/10/2020 - 10:36

I have been a Martin and Gibson player for many years. To my surprise it stands out the best. The strings give a great ring to the guitar. I put ex strings on the guitar. Surprising to my surprise a much better ring. Haven't found anything bad with it at all. Very satisfied with it.

Steven from Astatula

Sat, 10/10/2020 - 10:33

This guitar is SWEET! Wonderful tone! Long sustain with delicate overtones. Perfect intonation. And so playable! It plays as easily as my SG. And it's beautiful to look at and to hold. I was so impressed with the Opeongo that I also bought the Ian Tyson Limited Edition!

David from BAR HARBOR

Thu, 10/01/2020 - 09:58

Only good things to say about this fine instrument! Have had it awhile now and play it almost every day. My daughter has been staying with us for some of the quarantine times this Summer and had to pull it out of her their hands mare than a few times. The more it’s played, like most instruments the better and sweeter it sounds. Easier to play, barre chords and palm mute than my other steel string guitar.

Karl from Lowbanks

Mon, 09/21/2020 - 09:03

I played a little guitar 50 years ago and after retiring I bought myself a decent guitar for Christmas last year. I was quite enjoying learning to play again when I saw an ad for Mackenzie & Marr guitars and decided to go for it. What an awesome instrument. Its beautiful to look at,has great sound and is so easy to play, even barre chords. It's the one I always pick up so I sold my "decent" guitar

George from Chicago

Sat, 09/19/2020 - 15:03

This guitar lives up to all the claims made by the makers. After having it for about at month, I find it totally enjoyable to play. Fingering and action is fine, the tone is balanced and rich. And perhaps the best review is my cat's, who enjoys licking the strings as I play. I've been playing for over 50 years (not THAT good, though) - first a Martin D-18 which was actually not so good, and then a D-41 which is fine, but kind of a bit jumbo. So I decided to try a slightly smaller instrument and took a chance on the (unknown to me) Tofino. No regrets at all!

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.