Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Christian from Burlington

Tue, 09/15/2020 - 08:29

I ordered my Tofino X limited edition in 2019 and waited earnestly for the delivery. With Covid my patience was tested. Since receiving this instrument I was very pleased with the sound as I was specifically looking for a cedar top and mahogany. The warm tones and sustain a more than I had expected. I did not install the optional pick guard because the guitar looks so damn pretty without it. I do not call myself a musician but I noodle around every day. I would recommend this guitar to anyone looking for a quality instrument that will deliver high expectations. Christian

Basil from Fort McMurray

Sat, 09/12/2020 - 13:53

On December 21st, 2009, I placed an order to purchase a Mackenzie and Marr guitar. It was a Tofino, the only guitar they were making at the time. The guitar was recommended to me by my daughter, who was working at CBC on the Dragon's Den show at the time, and this guitar (and company) caused quite a sensation with all the players who worked for CBC. Based on what they told her about the guitar, she phoned me, gave me the story and said to me that I should order one. As a rule, I don't collect guitars. I feel I only need one of each; one acoustic steel-string guitar, one classical guitar, one solid body electric guitar, one vintage acoustic-electric guitar and one solid body electric bass. I had a Martin Guitar and, at the time, felt that it was the only one I needed for its category. However, I was intrigued with the buzz at CBC, the Dragon's Den Show, the concept of the guitar and the company. I felt it was worth giving the Tofino a shot. It came through Canada Post in a huge well-packed box. When I brought it home, unpacked the box and opened the case, it was a joy to see for the first time. The attention to detail was remarkable; it was nice and light. It played beautifully, especially after changing the strings to D' Addario Silk and Steel. All I have added was a pickup, which wasn't an option from the company when I first bought it. Twelve years later, almost to the day, it is still a joy to play. The Tofino is my go-to guitar when I want to learn a new song, experiment with a solo or practice for a gig. The Martin is long gone, I traded it for a much better classical guitar. I would rank my Tofino guitar as it is: 5 out of 5; no regrets on this purchase. Basil Kazakos New Brunswick, Canada

Randy from Springfield

Sat, 09/12/2020 - 13:51

Understandably, it took just a little longer to receive my Tofino than I had originally anticipated. Mind you, this was pre-COVID, but as they say in Toy Story 2, "you can't rush art." After unboxing the guitar, the first thing that struck me was how both rugged and classy the case was. Then I opened the case and saw the work of art within. The wood grain of the cedar top is exquisite, as are the mahogany back and sides. The abalone inlays are stunning. My main guitar is a bowl-back Ovation that I bought brand new in 1984. The Tofino feels like it is half the weight of the Ovation - which is a good thing but the deep tonal quality of the Ovation is definitely richer and louder compared to the Tofino . With that said, the Tofino is definitely brighter in sound and is very playable with a slightly thinner neck than the ovation. It did indeed take me a full seven days to fall in love with the Tofino. It is now the first guitar I pick up when I want to wind down for the day. There is one thing that I do not love about the Tofino, and that is the way the wiring for the Baggs pick-up just dangles inside the guitar and if you have a battery installed at the end of the wire, the sound of the banging of the battery as you pull your guitar off the stand and into playing position is disappointing and seems like an afterthought rather than an integration. With that said, the positive take on this situation is that it is extremely easy to change the battery. So being a glass half-full kind of guy, I'll focus on that aspect of this issue. Next battery change, however, I do plan on taping some foam around the battery to lesson the blow as it tumbles inside the guitar. My overall impression is that this is one classy guitar. I would challenge anyone to find an equally priced guitar that looks or sounds as good as the Tofino for the price.

Richard from Hudson

Sat, 09/12/2020 - 13:50

This guitar is amazing. The tone is perfect. It has great sustain. The attention to detail is superior to any modern guitar I have. I can only imagine what it will sound like in 10 or 20 years!

Richard from Conway

Thu, 09/10/2020 - 16:04

 Got a buddy that was checking out your Ian Tyson model recently and wanted to know what I thought. "Beautiful guitar at a good price AND a return policy..BUY IT" was my reply while twisting his arm. Then I made the comment "If I ever bought one, I'd pick the Opeongo". After he ordered his guitar, which arrives in November he ordered ME the Opeongo which arrived last Thursday!      When I opened the custom case I was struck by how beautiful it looked. The size, shape, slot head, and OMG THE TRIM ties everything together. Love the fact that it wasn't made to be cute or fancy. The very clean looking top will age well, bringing out the grain more. The open pore sides and back AND the overall lack of a high gloss reminds you that it IS crafted wood. I believe this also keeps the sound of the woods purer! Also the pick guard is thankfully NOT installed because it looks awesome without it and since I'm not a strummer, I don't need it.      As I picked it up it was very light and balanced. With ANY instrument, getting into a good, useful playing position is crucial. The size and feel of the body and neck would feel comfortable on a couch or resting on the right leg BUT this isn't how I would suggest playing it. After playing it for a bit I noticed that holding it lighter, more in a classical position and away from my belly there appears another voice which adds so much to the overall dynamics. The sustain and volume is surprising and it's voices are versatile and unique. Depending how you play it, you can coax the sound to suit your needs. No...it isn't a heavy strummer or a hard flatpicking guitar but I was playing old timey music, classical, churchy, and blues with it sounding appropriate. The biggest surprise was when I used a capo! I noticed that it STAYS IN TUNE. I'm one of those nitpickers that hear when something is out of tune. I use the capo most of the time so I'm used to the "tricks" of sweetening the sound after the capo is put on. I was shocked when I didn't "need" to. The action is perfect and I can cleanly play things on the Opeongo that I cannot play on my other guitars.      If I had my druthers I would like the neck to be an 1-7/8". If I had a better left hand position instead of a "hillbilly" wraparound thumb position I might feel differently. The shallow neck profile is enough different that I have to adjust for this.     Wishlist: I think that a double high strung 12 string in this size would be an awesome instrument! My rating on the Opeongo out of 5 stars is a 4.99!

Frank from Bakersfield

Thu, 09/10/2020 - 10:59

As I stated in my prior message to you I am very well pleased with my OO Opeongo guitar. The workmanship is superb, it is a beautiful guitar, it plays good and it sounds great. One of the guys I play with played it & said he might have to buy him one. He has about 8 or 10 guitars already as do I. No, you can't have it back ! I was not notified by Fed-Ex when it was going to be delivered & I just happened to come back home while the truck was in front of my house & was going to leave it on the front porch. I did not have to sign for it, he just typed my last name in his gadget & said that was all he needed. It needs to be stressed to them about notification & just leaving it on the front porch when there's no one home.

Edward from Portsmouth

Thu, 09/10/2020 - 10:52

I've owned this guitar for a week and it's just the start of a beautiful friendship. The Opeongo presents so unpretentiously, no bling, and rings so true, what can I say, I couldn't be happier. Can't wait(will wait) for the two of us to settle in for a year or so. So glad I found you guys, many thanks.

Phillip from San Diego

Sat, 09/05/2020 - 10:23

I have only positive things to say about my new Opeong guitar. It is easy to play with a soft action, but none of the rattle that can sometimes come with that. The tone is beautiful, with plenty of volume for such a small guitar.  I opted for the version with pickups, and that performs as well as my much more expensive Takamine. I cannot boast much talent as a player, but I can say that my playing has improved a lot with this guitar. I frequently visit Guitar Center and play Gibson, Taylor and Martin guitars at the $2000 to $5000 price range (just to dream of being worthy).  This guitar is just as good as any of them. I have to give it a full complement of stars.  I can’t see how it could be better.

Doug from Vancouver

Fri, 09/04/2020 - 13:01

Just to let you know that I have received my delivery on the 25th of August. I have been playing the guitar for the past few days and at first thought that it sounded just as I thought a small guitar would sound. If this had bee in a store I would have returned the guitar to it's location and moved on. After awhile it becomes apparent that there is more nuance to the tone than I had first thought. The tone grows on you. Thanks for a great guitar. I guess I won't be sending it back after all.

jim from o'fallon

Fri, 09/04/2020 - 10:32

Oh my Lord.  We have eleven guitars in our house, a Taylor and Gretsch parlor, and this destroys both of them.  Thank you for this wonderfully brilliantly designed loud, rich, luxurious guitar.  We will not be returning it.  Love, four guitar players in the Harris Household....

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.