Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Curtis from Centuria

Fri, 04/10/2020 - 00:00

I've played on and off for the past 45 years and own a half dozen other guitars but I always wanted a slope shoulder dreadnought. There are of course others for sale out there but none that I could find that had the specs this one has at this price. So I figured I'd order this one, give it a try and send it back if I wasn't impressed enough to keep it. I'd be out $50 but that's the chance you take. When I received it, I removed it from the shipping box so that I could inspect it for damage,and then let it stay in the case until the next morning. After opening the case and taking the guitar out I was pretty impressed with the case and what a tight fit to the guitar it has. Nice! Much better fit than the original case that came with my 70's J50. After tuning and playing for a few minutes it was obvious that neck adjustments were needed. The neck had no relief and the saddle needed to be lowered a bit. There was an annoying B string buzz that was still there after proper relief was added to the neck but a little nut sauce took care of that. I checked all frets with a fret rocker and all were perfect. Nut string height was perfect too. I don't consider any of this unusual and didn't take long to take care. The Manan plays and sounds good and the Grover turners work very smooth. The Anthem pickup I ordered with it is the best acoustic pickup I've used and really brings out the voice & sustain this guitar has with just a small amount of volume. The guitar sounds good on it's own but the pickup is impressive. I inspected the inside with a lighted mirror and found it clean of sloppy gluing and all bracing seemed tight. Also, the appointments and workmanship on the Grand Manan are not done justice in the photos on the M&M website. This guitar is beautiful in a reserved sort of way. The sound hole rosette and bindings are outstanding. John, keep things the way they are now. As I said recently, you guitars speak for themselves. My 2c,

Brent from Escondito, CA

Sat, 02/29/2020 - 00:00

Absolutely love the guitar. It looks and sound amazing. Yesterday, I took it to my guitar tech/luthier for an inspection and set up adjustment and he was floored at how nice the guitar is... he swore it was a $3500 instrument... and he works on high end instruments all day long.

Myla from Virginia Beach

Thu, 01/30/2020 - 15:09

This beautiful guitar has an easy action and great sound. It’s a delight to play!

Bruce from West Boylston

Thu, 01/16/2020 - 11:44

I already own a few acoustic guitars (Guild, Martin, Alvarez, Fender, Cordoba), but I was thinking about maybe getting a Taylor, after playing a couple at a songwriting workshop last year. So I started looking around. Then I somehow heard about Mackenzie and Marr and decided to try one of their Ian Tyson models based on good reviews, watching a few videos, and very attractive pricing. I received the guitar four days ago, and I really love it. First of all, the woods, the finish, the design, and the construction are all beautiful (even the case is quite nice). The sound is full and rich, with a good balance of highs and lows, not “boomy,” and great for both fingerpicking and full strumming. It was ready to play out of the box with no adjustments needed. The neck has a great feel and I like that the back of it has a smooth semi-matte finish, not shiny lacquer. I got the pickup option thanks to a special promo but I haven’t tried it yet (I will soon). I don’t play out much these days but I like to have a pickup available and it might be useful for recording (I like that it didn’t require cutting any holes in the body). All in all, one of the best Christmas presents I ever gave myself. A really wonderful instrument.

Bruce from West Boylston

Thu, 01/16/2020 - 10:16

I already own a few acoustic guitars (Guild, Martin, Alvarez, Fender, Cordoba), but I was thinking about maybe getting a Taylor, after playing a couple at a songwriting workshop last year. So I started looking around. Then I somehow heard about Mackenzie and Marr and decided to try one of their Ian Tyson models based on good reviews, watching a few videos, and very attractive pricing. I received the guitar four days ago, and I really love it. First of all, the woods, the finish, the design, and the construction are all beautiful (even the case is quite nice). The sound is full and rich, with a good balance of highs and lows, not “boomy,” and great for both fingerpicking and full strumming. It was ready to play out of the box with no adjustments needed. The neck has a great feel and I like that the back of it has a smooth semi-matte finish, not shiny lacquer. I got the pickup option thanks to a special promo but I haven’t tried it yet (I will soon). I don’t play out much these days but I like to have a pickup available and it might be useful for recording (I like that it didn’t require cutting any holes in the body). All in all, one of the best Christmas presents I ever gave myself. A really wonderful instrument.

Thomas from Newburyport

Tue, 01/07/2020 - 15:13

very pleased with the communication, packaging, and shipment of the Tom Rush Naked Lady. I am even more pleased with the quality, and the sound of the guitar. thanks john. TA

Greg from Kennewick

Tue, 01/07/2020 - 15:11

I was a little leery about buying a guitar without being able to play it first but I hit the purchase button anyway. I have three Martins and two Taylors. My go to is my Johnny Cash D35, a great Martin dreadnaught and my aTaylor 814 CE deluxe. I was blown away by the crisp sound of the cedar top on this naked lady. The Baggs sound is amazing. I find it hard to believe that this guitar sells for around $1100 US. It is a bit bigger than my Martin dread but the sound is not only big but clear. I bought this guitar to put in my motor home for travel. I will not hesitate to use it for performing. I am 68 years old and this will be the last guitar I buy, last but not least

Tim from UPPER KENT

Sat, 01/04/2020 - 13:38

I read the notice about the new Tofino X. I have Tofino #56 from M&M's second batch and have always loved it but don't need two of them. If you don't have a Tofino, the X at the preorder price (less than I paid for mine 10 years ago), IS A BARGAIN! sorry for shouting. Just buy one.

David from New York, NY

Fri, 01/03/2020 - 00:00

I have been playing the Opeongo for about a month. I bought it to keep at my office so I could play during the day. At home, I have a number of more well-known guitars including some with comparable smaller bodies. From the start, I have been impressed by the resonance of its sound, by its feel and excellent playability, and by the quality of workmanship. The guitar is still new and still opening up, but it already holds its own among more expensive guitars in terms of both sound and playability. The simplicity of the design and the high quality of the workmanship are admirable as well. It arrived well set-up and has held its tuning. The Opeongo has a distinct and pleasing tone character, more resonant in the highs and lows than in the middle tones. I imagine the bigger M-M bodies have both fuller base and middle tones, but the Opeongo has good balance and the concentrated sound typical of smaller body guitars. Overall I am delighted with it.

Dave from Louisville

Wed, 12/11/2019 - 10:03

I have had my Opeongo now for a couple months now and could not be more satisfied. The build quality is excellent! It has great feel, setup was good, and the volume and tone is fantastic. I see that they are sold out now on the website now, but do yourself a favor and buy one when they are available again.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.