fbpx Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Phil from Long Beach

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 17:02

I would like to say that I am very happy with my MacKenzie & Marr Algonquin 12, 12-string guitar. It is indeed a beautifully crafted instrument. The tone is bright and clear and the harmonics go on forever. I am particularly pleased with the balance of tone and volume from the bass all the way to the treble. The intonation is spot on, always a concern with a 12-string. The tuning pegs are top-notch allowing for precise tuning, also especially important. It is indeed comparable to instruments two to three times its price.

Robert from NAPLES

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 16:34

Absolutely beautiful instrument. Well worth the small wait. Great full 12 string sound very playable and amazing for the price. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this fine guitar.

Frank from San Angelo

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 16:32

First I give it ***** [5] stars for tone [it jingles as a 12 should], playability and looks. It is better than I expected and I expected a fine guitar. Over the years I have had a love/hate relationship with my many 12 strings, mostly because they wouldn't stay in tune. This one holds tuning which is a minor miracle for a 12. It took me a while to decide to buy because it is the first guitar I have purchased without playing it first. Damn good gamble...she is a keeper and I laud you on a finely constructed guitar. Sincerely, Frank

Kevin from Knoxville

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 16:30

So….I love this guitar! I now have 3 MacKenzie & Marr guitars! This 12 string is my main guitar! It’s full, balanced, incredible projection! The neck is gorgeous! The LR Baggs Anthem just adds to the beauty of this 12 String! It’s a welcome addition to my Ian Tyson & Opeongo! I took a chance when I bought my Ian Tyson and never looked back! Again, I now have three - all different body types to cover all aspects of my playing! If you’re thinking about it, do it! Don’t wait!

Michael from Round Rock

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 16:13

This is a fine musical instrument. The woods used in its construction are premium tone woods. It has the distinctive shimmering sound of the best 12 strings ie Martin, Guild, Gibson etc. The finish is impeccable. Comparable priced models have plywood sides and backs and tops and sound as if they are made of old packing crates and pallets. This is beauty is spectacular. Mikey from Mikey and the Muddy Puppies

Daniel from Jacksonville

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 11:42

I had been looking for a parlor size guitar for quite some time and had tried out several. I wasn’t impressed by any I tried either because they just didn’t have much sound or didn’t play well or weren’t very well constructed. I decided to take a chance on the Mackenzie & Marr Opeongo since I could return in a week it if I wasn’t happy for a full refund, including return shipping. I was so pleasantly surprised at how big and beautiful it sounded for a smaller acoustic. The workmanship is impeccable and it’s so beautifully finished plus I love love the retro look. The neck is superb. I knew pretty much immediately that I was keeping it. No complaints whatsoever. I’d highly recommend one to anybody in the market for a parlor guitar.

James from Novato

Fri, 06/11/2021 - 10:11

I waited a long time for my guitar to arrive, with some anxious moments because of COVID shipping delays. But I was thrilled when UPS delivered it. Some perspective: I have several guitars, some of which are made by high-end guitar makers with big names and one that is a custom job. So I know and appreciate quality. At this price point, I wasn't expecting to get an instrument that would compete with those larger instruments. In fact, I chose the Opeongo because I wanted a 12-fret with the feel that those instruments are known for—a looser feel and faster action. I added the Baggs pickup because one of my main guitars has the same one. Okay, so the results: Yesterday, I spent another hour playing my M & M. It is a "hot-rod" of a guitar that invites improvisation. What I also appreciate is its sonic balance. While it is not a "boomer" at this size, the bass notes absolutely support the treble end. Everything is clear. Chords seem more transparent as a result. I also value the "songs" that come out of any guitar, seemingly born with them. I noticed in the first half-hour of play that this guitar had some ideas of its own—things that somehow came out of my hand for the first time. Okay, that's magical thinking, I know. But it's true. This guitar had some gifts for me. I wish it had a glossy finish, yes, and if that were ever an option (like the pickup) I would go for it. But this is a friendly, playable guitar with great spirit. I'm a happy camper!

Dave from Corman Park

Thu, 06/10/2021 - 12:24

A very nice instrument. I have yet to figure out the nine volt battery power to the pickup and how that battery is to be anchored

Ramsey from Birmingham, AL

Thu, 06/10/2021 - 12:08

This is the first product review I've ever written. I bought the Opeongo on a whim with my tax refund. It took over 3 months to deliver but it was worth the wait. The action was set too high for my liking. The Allen wrench that fits my Martin didn't fit the Opeongo's truss rod. I emailed MacKenzie and Marr asking what size wrench was required. John Marr replied that there was an Allen wrench in the case. LOL. It took a little while to adjust but I have it set perfectly now. This guitar plays like a dream and sounds great, bright and full. They're not kidding. This is a quality instrument. Even the case is top quality. I have a Martin and a Taylor that don't get played much anymore.

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.