Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Rick from Altona

Thu, 06/23/2022 - 14:08

I am very pleased with my new Dionisio X. The purchase went smoothly from order to delivery. I was kept informed of the progress until the guitar had been delivered to my door. The guitar was packaged securely and arrived with no signs of damage to the outer box. The case and the guitar were in perfect condition and a beautiful sight to behold. The finish is flawless and each wood is like a display on itsa own, showcasing the beautiful grains. I love the way it feels in my hands. It felt so natural the first time I picked it up. It has a sweet mellow tone with a surprising amount of sound projection. I didn't get the electronic addition and do not regret it. If I played with other musicians I would have added it but for myself, the guitar is more than enough. I do appreciate the quality of materials and workmanship that went into the creation of this fine instrument. I would not hesitate to buy another Mackenzie and Marr instrument. They delivered on everything they said they would. Each time I pick it up to play I am so pleased I bought this beautiful instrument.

Keith from ETOBICOKE

Wed, 06/08/2022 - 11:01

I’m an amateur who wants to play a little bit on an acoustic (69 yrs). I appreciate craftsmanship and while I may never do this beautiful guitar justice, I just wanted to treat myself and not have to buy another down the road. My rationale? I’ll leave it to my son some day. I discovered your company, read your story online. Canadian eh? Made in China? The reviews looked promising so I decided to take the leap, enamoured by the quality of materials and apparent craftsmanship. When I opened the lovely case and saw what I can only describe as an artistic masterpiece, I was so happy and assured that I’d made the right decision. The detail, materials and craftsmanship in this instrument are astounding. The website photos can’t convey its true beauty. Thanks for a great instrument and for delivering on your promise. I look forward to years of pleasure with my new Riverboat. Keith N - Toronto

Lou from Ormond Beach

Wed, 06/08/2022 - 11:01

I’m a singer-songwriter, and play 12-string as my primary instrument. I use live on-stage solo, with duos, trios, and bands, through small PA’s and house systems, in venues from small clubs to festival stages. It’s my choice in studio settings as well. I was looking for a backup 12-string guitar I could quickly switch to in a live situation if needed. Well, the Algonquin 12 caught my eye right away. It’s a beautiful axe, and the pictures (fit and finish), reviews (from first-timers to professionals), and brand endorsements (Tom Rush) caught my attention. After couple of email exchanges with John Marr, who satisfied my concerns about on-stage feedback issues, and keeping a 12-string guitar at concert pitch, I decided to take a chance and ordered one. The no-questions-asked 7-day guarantee made it an easy choice. The guitar arrived in perfect shape, and after installing the battery, I found it to be better than expected. The Anthem pickup is flawless, and easy to adjust. Most important, the sound is truly wonderful. Bolivian rosewood and spruce bring a clarity which I expect will only improve as the guitar opens up. Needless to say, the Algonquin 12 is now my primary live performance guitar and my former go-to axe (without mentioning the brand) is now relegated to the guitar stand at the back of the stage. Can’t wait to see what songs may be waiting to be unlocked. If the songs end up as pretty as the guitar, I’ll be all set.

Richard from Montreal

Mon, 06/06/2022 - 12:27

I am now the proud owners of two Mackenzie and Marr guitars and have to say how so very pleased I am. They play superbly and look so very special. I can only say and recommend any future purchasers of guitars to consider these great products; they won't be disappointed

Tom from Sherwood Park

Mon, 05/30/2022 - 13:42

I recently purchased the Opeongo as a replacement for my previous Parlor guitar and it has met my expectations (which were admittedly high). The guitar has great bass response and single string clarity making it an excellent choice for fingerstyle. There is a bit of buzz as noted by other reviewers on the thinner strings at the lower frets...although I am pretty sure it's cause the action is really low. I plan to raise the action a bit to set it up for some slide playing and expect it to shine there as well. A great guitar for a great price!

GARTH from Orleans

Mon, 05/30/2022 - 13:42

In 2021 we switched from driving to Florida to flying. So I needed to get a guitar that I'd play there. An American friend suggested M&M who were Canadian but I had never heard of. I ended up ordering the Ian Tyson Inspiration which they delivered there. On opening the box, my first impression was how beautiful it was. Unlike the model on the website which was a typical "dark" rosewood, it is a lighter "golden" colour with a lovely grain structure. On playing it, I was impressed by the ergonomics of its smooth straight neck, low action, and comfy body fit. And the sound! Wow. Clear, distinct, and balanced. The case too is beautiful, solid and very snugly padded. Heading back to Canada in 2022 I was very conflicted. I didn't want to leave my best guitar behind. But then I wouldn't have one in Florida. So I ordered another for delivery here! Again the same beautiful look, feel, and sound of the sibling. Obviously, I highly recommend it. Check out John Marr's videos of the Riverboat and ITI models which gives a better view of the back and sides of Bolivian rosewood. My spruce tops are "unblemished".

Stephen from Ajax

Mon, 05/30/2022 - 13:42

I Received my new instrument a little over 4 months after the order. There were some delays, but it was most definitely worth the wait. The craftsmanship is superb, as is the sound quality and comes with a custom fitting hardshell case. I'm now contemplating ordering the Riverboat Dred.

James from Cortland

Wed, 05/25/2022 - 02:29

I believe this may be the best acoustic guitar on the market at any price. It’s simply a beautiful instrument. I could not find even one small imperfection in the finish, it’s flawless. Thou I am not a professional player, it fits me perfectly and sounds absolutely fantastic. Case is very nice also. My only gripe was I thought when I bought it was made in the USA, and not in China. But that is a minor concern now as I love it. I have a Seagull, Taylor, Dean, and Epiphone Master built Texan and it’s my favorite go to guitar. I love cedar top instruments. GO BUY ONE

Craig from Spartanburg

Thu, 05/19/2022 - 14:47

I'm primarily an electric player (Jazz, Blues, Rock) and have typically struggled with acoustic instruments because I can't do what I want to on them like I can on my archtops and solid body electrics. This Ian Tyson is the first acoustic that plays well enough for me to be able to play what I want. The feel and action is great, the instrument is beautiful & the sound is rich and full. Thank you Macmarr for introducing me to the acoustic I've been looking for these last 30 yrs.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.