MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.
2024-02-25
Star Rating: 
5
Don from Smithville writes:
Mr. Marr, Thank you for taking the time to talk with me about your guitars. Admittedly when I saw a picture of your guitar on line it definitely caught my interest, but when I saw the price I thought though it was really nice looking, the quality might not be there. Because I was searching on-line to add to my collection, your guitars kept popping up, and each one was beautiful. So I finally sent you an email with my cell number asking for more information, and I was very surprised that you called me right away. You took the time to go into detail about your company and your approach to how and why you are selling these great guitars on line. Your trial and refund policy is excellent, so the next day I ordered the Dionisio model and you shipped it to me exactly when you said you would. I can't believe how beautiful this guitar is. It plays every bit as well, and sounds as nice as my other acoustic guitars (A Martin, Taylor and a Furch), at significantly less cost. I would highly recommend your company and your product, and wouldn't hesitate to order from you again. Don Robert
2024-02-23
Star Rating: 
5
Paul from SURREY writes:
I have been looking for a 12 string for a while now. I tried several in the local and national music shops. Big brand names, expensive ones, medium priced ones and cheap ones. None fitted the bill. They either sounded too bright, didn't hold the tuning or the action was off. I looked into Mackenzie & Marr. I researched them, read the reviews, watched the online videos. Honestly, I was hesitant to purchase a guitar on-line without seeing it, feeling it, playing it. They guarantee a seven day period which you can return it, so I was all ready to mail it back. It arrived having travelled across Canada through ice and snow and sub zero temperatures. Upon receipt I opened it up and strummed it. I was flabbergasted that it was still in tune! The action is better than most 6 strings I have played. The quality, sound resonance are all fabulous. I have used it for several live performances and the LR Baggs Anthem sounds superb through the various PA systems I plugged it into. It also comes with a quality hard case to protect it. Everything about it is top quality from the grover tuners to the abalone rosette. It is definitely a keeper.I would highly, highly recommend it.
2024-02-23
Star Rating: 
5
john from glace bay writes:
5star guitar and company, I also ordered another and all good with my new 6 string .both guitars are parked for daily playing by a kitchen window looking ocean view My solice.my music space thank you ,delivered on time,follow up is appreciated as well as flowers sent at valentines for my wife ,storm delivery for flowers did not turn out so fresh 4 days late,the thought that counts ,bloomex no response So thank you for beautiful playing guitars John mullaly Glacé bay ns
2024-02-16
Star Rating: 
5
Mick from Port alberni writes:
Just have to give a shout out to the girls and boys at Mackenzie & Marr , I picked up a Tofino X in January good job its truly a wonderful guitar , plays ,sounds, looks and feels great again truly a wonderful guitar thanks , sincerly Mick
2024-02-09
Star Rating: 
5
larry from Columbus writes:
My main acoustic guitar is a Guild D55. My second is a Martin CEO4. But now the Ian Tyson has knocked the Martin down the list. Impeccably made, flawless workmanship, superior tone woods and other items you would find on a guitar that costs twice as much. And it comes with a case!!! When I received it I could not stop playing it.
2024-02-09
Star Rating: 
4
Gerard from St-Damase writes:
Je suis vraiment étonné de la qualité de ma nouvelle guitare Ian Tyson Inspiration. Les ajustements sont parfait et elle sonne comme une guitare que l’on pourrait évaluer au double du prix. Très satisfait. Je n’ai pas mis 5 étoiles pour la seule raison que votre site et les communications sont en anglais seulement malgré que vous soyez une compagnie Montréalaise.
2024-01-18
Star Rating: 
5
JOHN from Sudbury writes:
Having only received my Algonquin 12 String a couple days ago, this review in based on my initial reaction. Definitely a beautiful instrument, with very minor 'imperfections' that really only add to the character of the guitar. I owned a Vox 12 string many years ago (don't recall what happened to it) and a Yamaha 12 more recently. Clearly my Algonquin far surpasses both. The tone and sustain match that of my Martin D28 (which is 14 years old). I have loved the sound of a 12 string ever since I attended a performance by Gordon Lightfoot in 1967 at the Living End Lounge in Detroit; hence the acquisition of the Vox. I had the chance to discuss Gibson B45-12 with Gord, which at the time was out of my price range. The Algonquin I am sure meets or possibly surpasses the Gibson in appearance and tone. The only modification that I intend to do with my guitar is to lower the saddle sightly as I primarily play finger-style and desire easier action at the upper end of the fret-board. Now back to playing my new guitar!
2024-01-09
Star Rating: 
5
donna from Wimauma writes:
Hi this is Bill Donna's husband. She bought me the Algonquin 12 string for Christmas and boy was I happy. I have a couple of Martin six strings with Indian Rosewood back and sides that sound good and have played a friend's with Brazilian Rosewood that is special. So when I saw your video on the shark pit and looked up your site I saw and read about all of your guitars and was impressed with the quality look and the materials that you used. I have been wanting a 12 string for a while and fell in love with the Algonquin so when my wife asked me what I wanted for Christmas I showed her your guitar. So we took a chance and it has proven to be one of the best decisions I've ever made. It looks beautiful and sounds beautiful. The fretboard plays like butter. I took it to my guitar group and everyone fell in love with it. Now I am thinking about selling one of my Martin's and getting one of your six strings to match it. Thank you for building such a fantastic guitar. Your new friend Bill
2024-01-07
Star Rating: 
5
Henry from Winlock writes:
This is a really fun guitar to play. I mainly finger pick and occasionally use a plectrum. My other 6 string is a D18 MD and I wanted a different sounding guitar. I must admit I was not happy with my first strum but the more I play it the more I love the crisp, clean "woody" sound. That's probably due to the excellent construction and the minimalist open pore matte finish. The intonation was right on and I only needed a little tweak to straighten the fretboard. Good setup. I made 3 modifications. I prefer a thinner triangular neck, like the Martin so I reshaped the neck. I think the new M&M guitar has this neck. The frets are well finished without too much slope on the fret ends so I able to fill and recut the nut for the 1st and 6th strings to move the strings further out. Take advantage of the 1 3/4 inch nut. Now I can use my thumb on the 6th string (D chord), and not damp the 1st string when playing a C chord. The asymmetric nut modification works for me. I also put silk and steel strings on this Opeongo parlor guitar. Very happy I took the leap to mail order a guitar. Wouldn't hesitate to buy another. Maybe I need something in rosewood. Great case too.
2024-01-04
Star Rating: 
5
H Collins from Great Barrington writes:
The Ian Tyson has what it takes for a performing/studio guitarist of many decades. The florentine cutaway and gold equipment make it a looker when performing. It sounds very balanced in the studio miked, the lower large bout gives it a smooth bass that's wonderful, and great in open tunings. Easy to play for both strumming and finger work. All around a great value, after I tried all the top models of the usual Taylor, Breedlove, etc...this one has a voice worth hearing. Just for the record, I grew up on Ian and Sylvia LP's, so this one has extra meaning, an added bonus.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.