Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Daniel from Sudbury

Tue, 12/01/2020 - 16:09

Wow!!! They nailed it with this guitar!. Beautiful workmanship, and the sound rings like a bell. Every note played, comes out clean and clear!! Truly a work of art! Can’t find anything wrong with this beauty! Well worth the price, totally satisfied!!

James from Conway

Tue, 12/01/2020 - 15:57

My Ian Tyson Inspiration arrived a few days ago, and I think I'm in love.  The first thing I saw was just the sheer physical beauty of the guitar.  The wood, the fit and finish, the attention to detail are fabulous.  Even if I just hung it on the wall it would (almost) be worth the price and the wait.  It would be a real shame to do that though.  From the first chord, I could tell this guitar was something special.  The balance really stands out, with solid lows that penetrate without sounding "boomy", and crisp clean highs that ring forever.  Incredible sustain.  Like many people, I was at first hesitant to buy sight (and sound) unseen, but those fears were allayed in minutes. Friends who are much better players than me have confirmed my thoughts.  I've already had one person try to buy it!  My other guitars, including two Taylors, are fine instruments, especially my 414, but the Ian Tyson is something special.   There was one small problem when the guitar arrived.  The pickup had become detached in shipping, which John attributed to a bad bottle of Krazy glue, but it was about a five-minute fix. The LR Baggs pickup, which came at no extra charge, amplifies beautifully, with a clean true acoustic sound.  Buy your next guitar from these guys.  you won't regret it.

John from Baltimore

Fri, 11/20/2020 - 09:10

My guitar: Tofino X, 10th anniversary edition of the Tofino flagship guitar. Purchased May 2020. If you’re reading this you have two questions. 1. Should I buy a MacKenzie.& Marr guitar? 2. Why? The answer to the first question is an unequivocal “Yes.” Whatever one you’re considering buy it now. As for the second question, I’ve narrowed the answers down to the following. Playability. This is or should be the prime criterion when selecting a guitar. The trick with a MacMarr is that you cannot assess its playability before you open the case for the first time. So let me assure you: It’s playable. My Tofino X is arguably one of the most playable instruments on the market. For tone, balance, clarity, volume, sustain (such sustain!) you cannot do better without spending thousands more — and even then you’ll probably do just as well. The neck as set up by MacMarr plays a big role in this; it’s an amazingly playable neck for an acoustic. I have mine on an acoustic guitar stand in the living room, in front of our non-working fireplace. I can’t walk by it without picking it up just to fingerpick or strum and pick out some scales, even for a couple of minutes. It is a very satisfying guitar to play. Beauty. That’s the only word I can come up with to describe how really, really good this guitar looks. It’s beautiful. The reason it’s allowed to sit in its stand in the living room is because my wife thinks it’s beautiful, too. The silhouette, the inlay, the finish, the binding, the lovely gold hardware, the headstock and logo... It is a very beautiful guitar and impossible to not just stand in front of it and admire it. All the Little Details. This guitar wants for nothing. The touches that add to its beauty. The quality of the wood and hardware. X-bracing! The strings. Here’s one detail that I really applaud MacMarr for. I hate getting a new acoustic and having to drill a hole in the heel of the neck for a strap button. I’m always afraid I’m going to screw it up. I was particularly stressed about my Tofino as I waited for it. And then I opened the case and there on the neck heel was a lovely, perfectly placed strap button. For that alone they will always have my admiration. You could call this answer “MacKenzie & Marr clearly has made sure that every small detail that would make a guitarist smile is included in the final product. And that includes the arch top case, which is both solid and really cool. This is one thoughtfully designed, carefully crafted, and perfectly produced instrument.” Value. There is no better value on the market, anywhere. The price for an instrument this playable, beautiful, and detail-rich should shame other builders. And they are highly valued by their owners, as an ongoing survey of sites like eBay and Reverb shows. I’ve looked high and low, month after month, and I’ve found just one MacMarr for sale. No one is parting with his or her MacKenzie & Marr. If you want a MacMarr, you’ll have to buy new. And you’ll want more. Every BMW owner I know loves their BMW so much that they have at least two. I think MacMarr owners feel the same about their guitars. I’m saving for an Opeongo and hope I can salt enough away for the upcoming 12-string, too, before it sells out. MacKenzie & Marr. Guitars aren’t built in a vacuum. When you buy your guitar, you’re also buying into the company that built it. I have nothing but admiration for and trust in MacMarr. They are a thoroughly customer-focused organization, uncompromising in their vision and execution of that vision. They care about the customer experience. Here’s a perfect example. For you kids reading this in 2045, we had a bit of a scare with something called COVID-19 back in 2020. My guitar came with a thoughtfully designed and perfectly crafted mask, a vital piece of the public health battle against the disease. It was such a beautiful, happy surprise. How many other companies can you name that care if you live or die — and show you? MacKenzie & Marr is one of the best companies in any category, anywhere. I really love my Tofino X. I consider it one of the best purchases I’ve made and a truly satisfying addition to my life. It will only increase in value. I look forward to expanding my MacMarr collection. Any other questions?

David from Caledonia

Tue, 11/17/2020 - 17:55

The guitar is such a welcome addition to my collection, the combination of the lite and dark rosewood is just plain stunning coupled with the spruce top the tone is fantastic... With the playability,the fit and finish and the included features I think it's just a really good bang for the dollar, I will probably swap out the bridge pins for something a little more exotic because I like bling

Brian from Cambridge

Tue, 11/17/2020 - 10:29

Guitar arrived a few weeks late - M&M did inform me of the delay and with Covid going on it was no surprise to me. Guitar arrived by Fedex and the packaging was solid. The Hard Shell Case is pretty substantial. The guitar is everything it was stated to be. Quality of build is incredibly high, the installation of the LR Baggs system is spot on. It's just a beautiful guitar. The sound is very well balanced and the notes ring out. Overall volume and sound is very, very good. I checked intonation up and down the neck and it's very good. I would highly recommend M&M guitars. You get a lot of guitar for the price point...easily could sell for double what I paid. M&M deliver what they promise. One tiny critique is the bridge pins...they looked like they are from a toy guitar and were not well fitted...this surprised me given the high attention to all other details. I have pins at home that I switched out so no big deal. I am glad I made the decision to go with M&M - all in all a great experience and I look forward to adding the Ian Tyson Inspiration to my collection of much played guitars.

Allen from Sydney

Thu, 11/12/2020 - 16:19

Have to say this guitar is amazing incredibly light and resonant ! Beautiful tone and the playability is off the charts . I have. Even using a tonerite device on it when not playing to help with the breakin I can honestly say this guitar has blossomed I’m very short period of time incredible instrument I could not be happier !!!!!

Peter from Penn Yan

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 12:12

The instrument is beautiful to look at and hold. Tone is as sweet as I was hoping for, and sound projection and clarity are outstanding for a parlor guitar. I wear hearing aids, and often they make stringed instruments sound harsh and full of overtones. That is not the case with this guitar. The Opeongo sounds FAR better than a $4000 hand built parlor guitar that I played recently, with its exotic hardwoods and high-end tuners, and is actually nicer to look at as well. I love the beautiful and sturdy hard shell case. I find the action a bit high at the 10th fret, but don't play up the neck all that much.

Daniel from Red Bluff

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 12:11

A very carefully built guitar. It matches the resonance of the best guitars I've ever played. I'm not a pro, but I've picked up some really expensive guitars to try. It almost sings by itself. When it is in in a room with other instruments playing, the strings will resonate with the surrounding music. Light and solid and beautiful it is easy to play and very hard to put down again.

Chad from Lancaster

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 12:00

I was thoroughly impressed by the grand Manan. The construction, fit & finish are top notch and it has an excellent sweet and dry mahogany tone. I had a J-15($1,700) and by all measures the Grand Manan is the superior instrument (also stays in tune much more consistently). Mackenzie and Marr guitars live up to their billing as premium guitars for a fraction of the price.

Al from Brighton

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 11:59

An all round beauty..it's my 3rd guitar from MMG and my 4th should be be arriving Monday... thinking about doin' the 12 string also..

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.