MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.
2021-03-04
Star Rating: 
5
Philip from Toronto writes:
I have been looking at a new guitar for a while now (years really). The guitars that I gravitated towards - were pushing thousands of dollars. As a casual player I kept pushing off a new purchase. That was until an ad popped up this past year about Mackenzie and Marr guitars. I gave them a look, comparing the specs on the Tofino X against the guitars I was looking at. I read every review I could find. It checked all the boxes on paper at easily half the cost. And with the seven day love it or leave it I thought there was little to lose. The guitar arrived towards the end of January with only a slight delay from the pre-order date. The guitar arrived boxed up in pristine condition. I pulled the case out of the box and let the guitar acclimate for about three hours or so as recommended on the box (it was a cold Toronto day). The guitar case is solid, and a nice touch. Here are my first impressions once I could finally get the Tofino in my hands. The guitar is beautiful. The inlay and binding are stunning. The finish was pristine. I took a look inside the sound hole - this is a very well constructed instrument. It is also lighter than I would have thought. This was a surprise to me but made me realize the difference between a well crafted guitar that wasn't over-glued vs what I have been playing for years that now feels like a solid block of wood. Once strummed this guitar really sings. The set-up was great. And the satin finish on the neck really makes this a playable instrument. But is was the tone and the sustain that really caught my attention. The tone is very well balanced and clear. And the sustain goes on forever. Needless to say I am thrilled with the Tofino. It looks, plays and sounds like an instrument easily two or three times the price. Buying a guitar without being able to strum is is always a risk. Tone can be a very personal thing. However, I find it hard to believe that there are (m)any that would turn this instrument away after playing it for a couple of days. Well done boys!
2021-03-04
Star Rating: 
5
Steven from Myrtle Beach writes:
The Tofino X is obviously a very well made guitar. Great to look at great to play. I’ve had mine for 8 weeks, and it’s sounding better all the time. You won’t find another guitar at this price point to beat it. There’s no way you’ll return this guitar after the trial period.
2021-02-23
Star Rating: 
5
Gary from Cranbury, NJ writes:
I could not wait to get my hands on this guitar after reading about it. I was surprised to take it out of the box and find it was more than it was cracked up to be. It is beautiful and the tone is on a par or better than my other guitars that cost 3 to 5 times as much. The setup was very good. I have been playing for 63 years and have played many other acoustic brands and types. This rates among the best I have had the pleasure of playing. I am almost afraid to play it out on my different venues :). A work of art. Hats off to Mackenzie & Marr.
2021-02-23
Star Rating: 
4
john from cedar knolls writes:
The guitar is a fine instrument. Good workmanship, great sound. Worth the price paid. The only minor issue I had was the fact there was no battery installed requiring me to loosen all the strings and fish for the battery casing, which was attached by velcro to the interior of the guitar.
2021-02-23
Star Rating: 
5
Bruce from Charlottesville writes:
You can’t go wrong with a MacKenzie and Marr handmade guitar. They feature: 1. Clear communication; 2. An owner who is directly and promptly responsive to questions; 3. Guitars with outstanding price and value; including 4. Tofino X . This is a 5.Beautiful guitar, which is 6. As easy to play as it is beautiful, and 7.Sounds even better than it looks! 8. My Tofie has me already beginning to rationalize buying another MaxKenzie and Marr guitar sometime in late 2021.
2021-02-18
Star Rating: 
5
Lorn..(Guitar was a surprise gift ) from LYNDEN Ontario writes:
The tone is superb. I am getting readjusted to steel strings and the neck width after 10 years of playing a classical nylon stringed Yamaha. Ian and Sylvia were the first concert l took myself to. I play blues and folk for my own enjoyment. Usually finger picking style. The guitar and amp were a gift from my family. Certainly the best guitar l am likely to own though my 50 year old Framus is pretty good.
2021-02-18
Star Rating: 
5
Rich from Boston writes:
All my life I wanted a solid wood guitar, but the cost of a Gibson or Martin et al. was out of range for a hobby guitarist. I took a chance on this brand and I couldn't be happier. An elegantly crafted instrument. “It stays in tune!”
2021-02-18
Star Rating: 
5
Dan from Kitchener writes:
I was skeptical about buying a guitar online but my skepticism was laid to rest the first time I played the Dionisio. Your offer of returning the guitar within 7 days was the clincher. The Dionisio guitar not only looks great but it sounds beautiful. A guitar has to feel comfortable to hold and play otherwise it looses it's appeal. The Dionisio covered all my concerns with it's comfortable playability. This guitar plays well above it's price range and can really sing. They're definitely worth every penny. Thanks for a great product. I'm sold on Mackenzie and Marr guitars.
2021-02-16
Star Rating: 
5
Grant from Roseneath writes:
I purchased a Grand Manan Slope Shoulder Dreadnaught in December i might add this is my 4th Mackenzie and Marr as with the others the guitar comes ready to go i dont know if its just luck but i highly doubt its luck the guitar was awesome im not a great player by any means but i do know the sound i want and the playability set up and feel This guitar did not disappoint i just havent wanted to set it down which to me is the connection when your touched by the guitar i would back these guitars anytime as i said its my 4th will not be my last quality is second to none Thanks Mackenzie and Marr you knocked it out of the park again
2021-02-16
Star Rating: 
5
Charles from Amma, WV, USA writes:
I'm 78 years old, 5 ft 2 inches tall, with corresponding short arms and a body that's not very flexible. I also have short and very thick fingers. I wanted a smaller guitar (that I could reach around comfortably) with a short neck (so I could reach the end) with a wide neck (room for those fingers). The Opeongo gave me all I wanted plus the sound of a larger, more expensive guitar. No adjustments in "action" had to be made out of the box and it came in a much higher quality case than I expected. However, I would gladly pay more for one just like it that delivered even higher quality sound (probably not possible).

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.