Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Dave from Lloydminster

Sat, 07/10/2021 - 13:35

I'm one of those who almost never leaves reviews. However, as I was always looking for new reviews before I purchased mine, I thought I should leave one for someone in the same position. I think its a very very nice guitar. Looks great. Sounds great. Very well balanced sound. Much nicer mids than my other acoustics and the top and bottom end are sweet. Surprising how much bottom end is there. I played it for a friend who at first said "nice guitar". Then he said after how nice it sounds. As well it's a very light and comfortable guitar to play. I can't wait to hear the reactions and the sound when others play it or I have the chance to play and compare it to other peoples guitars. No buyers remorse here at all. But, just one thing to mention for people thinking about it - if you play chords up the neck often, as I do, consider a 14 fret or cutaway. At the time I purchased, it was the only small body 1-3/4 nut width being offered and I really wanted that width as I play fingerstyle often. I see another guitar in my future now and wouldn't be concerned in the slightest purchasing from M&M again.

Charles from Wichita

Wed, 07/07/2021 - 14:57

I recently purchased the Opeongo because I have wanted a small body, 12-fret, slotted headstock guitar. And this guitar fits all those requirements. I also have a couple of high-end dreadnought guitars as well. I could not ask for a better moderately priced guitar, and am very happy with it. I don't believe I have played one of the dreadnoughts since this one arrived. Very good "bang" for the "buck."

Dennis from Lebanon

Wed, 07/07/2021 - 14:52

The guitar is well built with good materials but it frets out when I play first string 3rd fret G.I want to keep it but it needs to see a luthier

Bob from Greenville

Wed, 07/07/2021 - 14:49

I have two of your instruments, the Opeongo and the Tofino( I probably didn’t spell correctly)…they both are really good instruments to play. Easy playing, good sound. The Opeongo, is fuller sounding than I anticipated. The Tofino, sound great. Thanks

Norman from Conway

Tue, 07/06/2021 - 15:55

Just a big thanx for building my OO. Opeongo. I’m so pleased with this little beauty. Beyond my expectations. Plays like a dream with flatpick AND finger style...clean sound, makes me want to do the “old” songs as well as adapt to “newer” stuff.

Bill from Winnipeg

Sun, 06/27/2021 - 14:42

I have played guitar for 58 years but it has been a bit spotty so I am not the greatest. That being said I have played and owned many guitars over the years. In all that time I have not owned a 12 fret to the body so I thought I would try one. The Opeongo has a strong ringing tone and is virtually flawless in it's construction. After tuning a few strings it was good to go. The action was a bit higher than I like but I left it that way for the one week trial. There is lots of height in the saddle so I can get whatever action I choose. I will not be returning this guitar

James from Fort Lee

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 17:08

Superb craftsmanship, focused tone! This instrument would compliment a fat 6 string if they were both spread apart in a mix. I also can't get over how beautiful it looks. Thank you!

Phil from Long Beach

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 17:02

I would like to say that I am very happy with my MacKenzie & Marr Algonquin 12, 12-string guitar. It is indeed a beautifully crafted instrument. The tone is bright and clear and the harmonics go on forever. I am particularly pleased with the balance of tone and volume from the bass all the way to the treble. The intonation is spot on, always a concern with a 12-string. The tuning pegs are top-notch allowing for precise tuning, also especially important. It is indeed comparable to instruments two to three times its price.

Robert from NAPLES

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 16:34

Absolutely beautiful instrument. Well worth the small wait. Great full 12 string sound very playable and amazing for the price. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this fine guitar.

Frank from San Angelo

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 16:32

First I give it ***** [5] stars for tone [it jingles as a 12 should], playability and looks. It is better than I expected and I expected a fine guitar. Over the years I have had a love/hate relationship with my many 12 strings, mostly because they wouldn't stay in tune. This one holds tuning which is a minor miracle for a 12. It took me a while to decide to buy because it is the first guitar I have purchased without playing it first. Damn good gamble...she is a keeper and I laud you on a finely constructed guitar. Sincerely, Frank

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.