Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

John from Elkins Park

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 11:58

3.5 stars. Good for the price. 4 stars for high end Martin's, etc. 5 stars for vintage guitars so 3.5 is good. Guitar is made of very nice wood, inlays and binding are exceptional. Tone woods are nice and it feels good in hands. My complaint is action was very high, almost unplayable past 5th fret. High E buzzes, can't figure out where, not a fret buzz, internal. Pick guard is cheap, I didn't even put it on. I did lower the bridge, but still need to lower 1/16th inch to get it where it should be, Hopefully that will eliminate the buzzing.

George from Wedgeport

Sat, 10/10/2020 - 10:36

I have been a Martin and Gibson player for many years. To my surprise it stands out the best. The strings give a great ring to the guitar. I put ex strings on the guitar. Surprising to my surprise a much better ring. Haven't found anything bad with it at all. Very satisfied with it.

Steven from Astatula

Sat, 10/10/2020 - 10:33

This guitar is SWEET! Wonderful tone! Long sustain with delicate overtones. Perfect intonation. And so playable! It plays as easily as my SG. And it's beautiful to look at and to hold. I was so impressed with the Opeongo that I also bought the Ian Tyson Limited Edition!

David from BAR HARBOR

Thu, 10/01/2020 - 09:58

Only good things to say about this fine instrument! Have had it awhile now and play it almost every day. My daughter has been staying with us for some of the quarantine times this Summer and had to pull it out of her their hands mare than a few times. The more it’s played, like most instruments the better and sweeter it sounds. Easier to play, barre chords and palm mute than my other steel string guitar.

Karl from Lowbanks

Mon, 09/21/2020 - 09:03

I played a little guitar 50 years ago and after retiring I bought myself a decent guitar for Christmas last year. I was quite enjoying learning to play again when I saw an ad for Mackenzie & Marr guitars and decided to go for it. What an awesome instrument. Its beautiful to look at,has great sound and is so easy to play, even barre chords. It's the one I always pick up so I sold my "decent" guitar

George from Chicago

Sat, 09/19/2020 - 15:03

This guitar lives up to all the claims made by the makers. After having it for about at month, I find it totally enjoyable to play. Fingering and action is fine, the tone is balanced and rich. And perhaps the best review is my cat's, who enjoys licking the strings as I play. I've been playing for over 50 years (not THAT good, though) - first a Martin D-18 which was actually not so good, and then a D-41 which is fine, but kind of a bit jumbo. So I decided to try a slightly smaller instrument and took a chance on the (unknown to me) Tofino. No regrets at all!

Christian from Burlington

Tue, 09/15/2020 - 08:29

I ordered my Tofino X limited edition in 2019 and waited earnestly for the delivery. With Covid my patience was tested. Since receiving this instrument I was very pleased with the sound as I was specifically looking for a cedar top and mahogany. The warm tones and sustain a more than I had expected. I did not install the optional pick guard because the guitar looks so damn pretty without it. I do not call myself a musician but I noodle around every day. I would recommend this guitar to anyone looking for a quality instrument that will deliver high expectations. Christian

Randy from Springfield

Sat, 09/12/2020 - 13:51

Understandably, it took just a little longer to receive my Tofino than I had originally anticipated. Mind you, this was pre-COVID, but as they say in Toy Story 2, "you can't rush art." After unboxing the guitar, the first thing that struck me was how both rugged and classy the case was. Then I opened the case and saw the work of art within. The wood grain of the cedar top is exquisite, as are the mahogany back and sides. The abalone inlays are stunning. My main guitar is a bowl-back Ovation that I bought brand new in 1984. The Tofino feels like it is half the weight of the Ovation - which is a good thing but the deep tonal quality of the Ovation is definitely richer and louder compared to the Tofino . With that said, the Tofino is definitely brighter in sound and is very playable with a slightly thinner neck than the ovation. It did indeed take me a full seven days to fall in love with the Tofino. It is now the first guitar I pick up when I want to wind down for the day. There is one thing that I do not love about the Tofino, and that is the way the wiring for the Baggs pick-up just dangles inside the guitar and if you have a battery installed at the end of the wire, the sound of the banging of the battery as you pull your guitar off the stand and into playing position is disappointing and seems like an afterthought rather than an integration. With that said, the positive take on this situation is that it is extremely easy to change the battery. So being a glass half-full kind of guy, I'll focus on that aspect of this issue. Next battery change, however, I do plan on taping some foam around the battery to lesson the blow as it tumbles inside the guitar. My overall impression is that this is one classy guitar. I would challenge anyone to find an equally priced guitar that looks or sounds as good as the Tofino for the price.

Richard from Hudson

Sat, 09/12/2020 - 13:50

This guitar is amazing. The tone is perfect. It has great sustain. The attention to detail is superior to any modern guitar I have. I can only imagine what it will sound like in 10 or 20 years!

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.