Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Opeongo OO

I love the blues and enjoy playing and learning as much as I can. The Opeongo is wonderful guitar for my passion, with a sweet sound, easy to play and beautifully crafted. I own two, which is a long story, one stays at home and the other goes to sea with me. It's size makes it easier to carry and store onboard. If you're a fan of acoustic Blues you should check out this guitar. It has that sound.


Reveiwed by: Bayousailor46 on 8/11/2017

The Canadian Songwriter

This is an exceptionally light, loud guitar.......great for fingerstyle or flatpick. Responds well when played hard or soft. As advertised, I find it to be perfect for vocal accompaniment. Neck is a bit more of a handful than my Tofino, but very comfortable. A high end guitar with a great case at an affordable price, it's as good and better than lots I've tried costing 4 to 5 times more.


Reveiwed by: Donna.herman on 2/7/2017

The Tom Rush Signature Dreadnought

Jan 7th, 2017

To start off I kept the guitar, and it is now my main guitar I play every day. After ordering my guitar I received an email that a shipping number would be sent. Never sent until 2 days later after I sent a request. Then the number was not active for another 5 days. It took 2 weeks for my guitar to arrive. Most things I order online show up in 2 to 3 days. I was getting worried and thought about cancelling my order. The guitar finally arrived! The packaging was excellent, the guitar case was good. I opened the case, and the looks of the guitar was underwhelming. The frets overhang the finger board, still do after 3 weeks, I will dress them up in the next couple days. Looking inside the guitar the bracing looked like they went through a dull shaper and never sanded. The lining looks like it was fitted with a dull ax. Like I said I was underwhelmed. Then I tuned it up and started to play. The setup was spot on, the pliability is excellent and the tone for me is perfect. My wife even commented on how nice the guitar sounds. If this guitar was broken, lost or stolen I would order another the same day. Blindfolded you would pick this guitar over any $3000.00 guitar I ever played. Would I recommend this Guitar? YES, the sound and playability are excellent and well worth the sale price I paid.


Reveiwed by: bwrgarlitz on 1/7/2017

The Canadian Songwriter

I bought the Canadian Singwriter guitar for my beautiful wife for Christmas and cannot believe the amazing sound it has. For the price point you'd expect this guitar to be upwards of $2500. Although it doesn't have booming lows it does have everything else and I'd imagine as it opens up you'd be hearing more and more lows as this amazing guitar ages. Thank goddess it's Canadian made. If this guitar doesn't become the next big thing out of Canada then we're living in an alternate universe...


Reveiwed by: bemore on 1/4/2017

The Tom Rush Signature Dreadnought

What a beauty!  It looks amazing and is even more fun to hold and play!  It is so easy and smooth to play.  When they say it is has a booming bass and rich tones - they aren't kidding.  It has a very full and rich sound that is a treat to look forward to playing every night. I had other cheaper guitars until this point and was looking for a long term guitar that would be a treat to play, use with friends and treat for them to play when over, and able to plug in when neeed, but also with a bit of a wow factor with all solid wood and from a Canadian company.  My budget was around ~$1,000 and with the sale price on now it is in that range and is in a league of its own when compared to the other laminated versions at that price range.  You also get a super nice black hard case with lock that is really nice, a pickup system, and shipped and at your door within a few days.  The support and ablitly to talk with the owner John via email and directly over the phone is unheard of and second to none.  You won't be disappointed.  Enjoy as I have had! JD    


Reveiwed by: jgdean on 12/19/2016

Opeongo OO

I have received my "long waiting for" Opeongo Guitar.
While I am only a beginner player at 86 yearrs of age;
(and already own 5 other quality guitars) ...
I have to place my" Opeongo", as the most beautiful craftsmanship, and quality of sound guitar in my collection.
My level of ability is low, (but improving) but my appreciation of quality is high.
Thank you for your excellence of workmanship !
Reveiwed by: proutland on 12/13/2016

The Tom Rush Naked Lady

A while back I had the misfortune of losing my Mackenzie and Marr Tom Rush Signature Series guitar to someone who thought they needed it more than I did and used the five-finger discount system. Well if you ever played one, all I can say is “who can blame them”. So now I am one of the lucky guys to say I own a McKenzie and Marr naked lady and what a beautiful instrument it is!!!. Last week I had the chance to play a Gibson Hummingbird and everybody that played the Hummingbird and the Naked Lady that night all agreed they preferred the Naked Lady. John Mackenzie and John Marr I tip my hat to you and thank you for creating such a beautiful instrument and introducing it to the music industry. It's a true gem!!!


Thank's Mackenzie and Marr. Chris Koenning


Reveiwed by: chris0 on 11/14/2016

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

When My Brother -in-law came for a visit he seemed smitten by my  Tofino. So I got him one..this was his responce when he opened the package and  played  his LTP Tofino.


Peter Zetlin


Hey Don,


Unwrapping the Mackenzie reminded me of helping a beautiful woman take

off her clothes. And once she was out, I wasn't disappointed either.

Nice cedar smell too.


The tuning pegs were smooth compared to my 50 year old Epiphone Texan.

The Mackenzie is clearer, fuller than the Texan. Just so sweet. I'm

going to have some fine moments with her. The neck is wider than the

Texan and will take some getting used to. When you can get your

fingers in the right place, that full chord rings just right.


What a nice gift. Many thanks to you!


 


 


Reveiwed by: holman.donald on 10/10/2016

The Tom Rush Signature Dreadnought

We purchased the Tom Rush Signature as a Xmas gift for my son on Nov./12.  It's been 4 years and it still plays and sounds great (when I get a chance to play it!) . I also have an Ian Tyson that I purchased in June/12 and  it also plays and sounds great. Both guitars are aging nicely . The  Tom Rush is not so bright and getting more mellow and richer everyday. I also have an older Larrivee Jumbo that's 16 years old. The Tom Rush and the Ian Tyson are equal in quality and sound to the older Larrivee.                       I wouldn't hesitate in purchasing another guitar from these guys.


Rob Higginson


Reveiwed by: rdhigginson on 9/12/2016

The Tom Rush Signature Dreadnought

The guitar is great. Ever since buying her, I've neglected all of my others. I recently took it to a get-together, and all of my guitar colleagues couldn't stop raving about the quality of the sound and feel of the guitar, comparing her to Martin's products. Booming bass, great feel, holds the tone nicely. I highly recommend investing in this one of a kind signature dreadnought. 


Reveiwed by: blata on 9/12/2016

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.