Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

R W from Center Strafford

Tue, 11/19/2019 - 10:20

This is possibly the most beautiful guitar I now own - the Bolivian rosewood is gorgeous (I own several Martins with East Indian rosewood that do not compare). The sound is well balanced and the action is easy on the fingers. If I have one minor issue it is with the white plastic bridge pins; this guitar deserves better, so I replaced them with ebony bridge pins with abalone dots to match the abalone in the rosette. I now have a very difficult choice between playing this guitar and my Tom Rush Naked Lady guitar. Thank you MacKenzie & Marr, you have outdone yourselves again. Bill

Reg from Red Deer

Tue, 11/19/2019 - 07:57

So, I have had my Ian Tyson Inspiration guitar for just over a week. When I received it, I first checked the set-up (neck straightness, fret height, intonation, etc). I did have to adjust the neck slightly, did some minor fret dressing and adjusted the saddle height a bit, but once that was done to my liking - I tuned her up and the intonation was perfect!! This guitar is amazing. The woods are exquisite, as were the fit and finish. Looking at the insides with a mirror and light is clean and precise. The range of sound is rich, vibrant and deep across all ranges with absolutely amazing sustain!! I am very impressed with this guitar, and love playing it. Can't wait to sit down with some friends to play and show off this new baby. Thanks guys!!

Randy from Toronto

Fri, 10/18/2019 - 11:26

It took me about 30 seconds to fall in love with this guitar. As soon as I lifted it out of the case and plucked a few strings, I knew it was a special piece of work. The sound is amazingly dynamic with a rich bottom end and beautiful highs. It plays extremely well and the Florentine cut-away gives access to a repertoire that is seldom explored in acoustic guitars. The location of the strap button bothered me until I tried it and it does give a better balance that I would have expected. I also got the Anthem pickup, which also works extremely well. It almost captures the dynamic range of the un-amplified guitar - almost :) Finally, there is a clear pickguard included that one can put on. I tried it but it's hard to mount without getting bubbles underneath and honestly it detracts from the look of the guitar. Besides, guitar is a tool not an ornament so a few scratches means it's getting used well. Great product!!!

Richard from Hudson

Sun, 10/06/2019 - 11:42

WOW! I’ve had the Tyson for two days and I’m just now able to put the guitar down. It plays beautifully and sounds just perfect. The tone quality is superb and the sustain is amazing! I’ve been playing since the early 1960s and can honestly say that I’ve never had a better “out of the box” experience… I’ve currently got 10 6-strings and 8 12-strings and the Ian Tyson is my new daily player! If you ever make a 12-string, just send the first one to me! Thanks so much for a beautifully crafted and set up instrument!

Douglas from Killeen

Sat, 10/05/2019 - 11:39

Yesterday I received my Ian Tyson / MacKenzie-Marr guitar and case. I played it all night long. The craftsmanship and that sound is incredible! I own several Martins and since I have played the MacKenzie- Marr guitar designed by Ian Tyson, I'm afraid the Martins will have to take a backseat. I sent John Marr an email thanking him for the fine guitar and quick shipping... All the way from Montreal to Killeen Texas in six days, and it arrived in perfect condition. The neck is fast and the tone is loud and full. It has great "ever-last". As we say in Texas, "You can hit a chord, set it in the guitar stand, go in the kitchen and make a sandwich and go back to the guitar and the sound box is still ringing with a rich, round tone"! The case is of a rich quality as well, padded with thick felt, it locks and looks great! I encourage you serious guitar players and collectors, order one. John Marr will take personal care of your order. This is NOT a paid ad...I'm just very excited to have this Ian Tyson model guitar! Douglas Bowman Killeen, Texas.

Gene from Mississauga

Sun, 09/22/2019 - 11:45

First, a big thank-you for shipping the Ian Tyson Inspiration. It's an absolutely lovely instrument that sounds as good as it looks. I'm very pleased with it. Second, could you tell me what brand and gauge strings are on it? I love the sound and when it's time for new strings I'd like to replace them with the same kind. I really don't need seven days to love this instrument. By the second day of playing it I knew it was a keeper. Cheers, Gene

Patrick from Cornwall

Tue, 02/12/2019 - 15:15

I recently received my Tom Rush Naked Lady, and it is everything I expected it to be. Easy to play, a beautiful, rich, chimey sound that's also quite booming. I normally play with a pick but for the first day I just used my fingers and was very impressed by the sounds that I could make using just my fingertips and mostly chewed off fingernails. Ha! When I finally decided to use a pick, the bells chimed out even more. You don't have to strum or pick hard to be heard on this one. I went through my whole repertoire up and down the neck and hit every note. It's a fun guitar to play, you just don't want to put it down. As for looks, you can spend hours just looking at it, (and I'm not solely talking about the neck inlay). It is just gorgeous. From the high-altitude cedar top to the rosewood sides and back, to the tuning buttons. John Marr couldn't be more accommodating either. He made sure I was happy with my purchase and went the extra mile. I have Gibsons, I've played Martins and Taylors, but this is something different. Something unique. Thank you.

R W from Center Strafford

Mon, 01/07/2019 - 15:18

I have been a Tom Rush fan since 1962 and am familiar with his original naked lady guitar and it’s demise. When I read about the limited edition Tom Rush Naked Lady guitar (TRNL) available from MacKenzie & Marr in Tom’s recent newsletter, I immediately went online and ordered one as a Christmas gift for myself. I received it the week before Christmas and can honestly say I cannot remember being more pleased with a Christmas present. Spoiler alert: I purchased my first Martin guitar over fifty years ago and presently own eight. My #77 TRNL is an exceptional value and of equal quality and performance when compared to much more expensive guitars from the major manufacturers. The action is excellent and the combination of beautiful tonewoods provide brightness and balance with a bass response that is not overpowering. I no longer plug in, so I cannot comment on the Baggs electronics, but if Tom likes them, that is good enough for me. I like the hard shell case and the combination lock (if I can remember how to set it) and the keyed lock which I assume meets TSA standards for travel purposes. To sum it up, thank you M&M fo my TRNL!s

Maynard from Channahon

Sat, 01/05/2019 - 15:22

This is a FINE guitar. I've been a Tom Rush fan for decades and know he doesn't do a lot of endorsements, so I took notice when Tom endorsed this guitar. It came out of the case beautifully set-up ready for tuning & play. I usually favor Elixir strings, so we'll see how the D'Addario's do longer term. Aside from the intricate inlay on the neck, this guitar come with several upgrades that the Tom Rush Signature Dreadnought doesn't have, most especially the High Altitude cedar top. The tone & volume are both outstanding. I have a couple of Martin's and a couple of Larrivee's that I really like, but the Naked Lady has easily become the best of the ones I have.

Allin from Clearwater

Sat, 01/05/2019 - 15:20

I've had my Naked Lady for a bit over a month now, and it is my daily 'go to' guitar. Right out of the box it was my favorite to play...great sound, OMG playability, beautiful. I host a monthly song circle...the musicians at it last month all took turns playing it and loved what it gives them. I'll continue to use two Martins for specific purposes...one stays tuned to open G...but the Naked Lady is played every day.

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.