MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.
2023-08-30
Star Rating: 
4
Todd C from Frederick writes:
I've been watching Mackenzie & Marr for quite some time, enjoying the website videos. Owning too many acoustic guitars, another purchase didn't seem prudent. However, I have begun to get serious about recording my original songs, so for the past 8-10 months I have been slowly building a catalog of recordings using several of my 6-string acoustics. Discussing arrangements with my producer, we decided that having a 12-string on some of the songs would be a good idea, so I purchased an older Alarez-Yairi 12-string. The guitar is fine, but playability is typical 'fight you' 12-string, making the playing experience difficult. After checking the Mackenzie & Marr website, as I do periodically, I discovered that the 12-string Algonquin had finally been released and was in-stock, so I hit the 'Buy' button. Although I haven't had as much playing time using the Algonquin as I'd like, I have been pleased with not only the fit & finish, but also the sound (full & rich). The guitar is has a beautiful small jumbo outline and wood selection is right-on. The most important part is playability - it is excellent ! So, am I satisfied, definitely 'YES'. I'll be doing an online video review of the guitar in the future so stay tuned. Thanks to John and the Mackenzie & Marr crew.
2023-08-29
Star Rating: 
5
Christopher from HIXSON writes:
I have two wonderful Martins and two wonderful Larrivees. On the day I received my Riverboat dreadnought here at work, I only had a few minutes to play it and I really couldn't make a good assessment of this guitar. However, after a few hours of actually playing it, I must say, WOW!!!! I like it better every single time I pick it up. I also enjoy just looking at it, and sending friends pictures just to show it off. It's so beautiful! The case is awesome too! Probably the most well made case I've ever received with an acoustic. I really can't say enough great things about this guitar. I'd put it up against my D-35 any time. I love the name and the background as well. Named after the famous Toronto Coffee House, The Riverboat, this axe simply begs for Gordon Lightfoot and Neil Young songs to be strummed on it. It's Canadian roots are a big plus to me, since, as a 53 year old American, I have secretly wished I was Canadian myself since Middle School. If you're considering buying a Riverboat Dread, tarry no longer. Take the plunge into the great white north and find new inspiration with this incredible work of art.
2023-08-28
Star Rating: 
5
Peter from Sherwood Park writes:
The Mackenzie Marr Baby Boat Guitar is my best acoustic guitar hands down. The superb sound, setup, craftsmanship and beauty keep me smiling every time I pick her up. I also had her fitted with the L R BAGGS Anthem System. WOW!! I will be enjoying my new Baby Boat for a long time. No regrets whatsoever!!!!
2023-08-28
Star Rating: 
4
Richard from Crestone writes:
I have the Algonquin 12, and while it may not be quite as good as my 1972 Martin 12-string, I've compared it to a $2,500 Taylor 12-string and find the MacMarr FAR superior, both in terms of sound and fingering.
2023-08-17
Star Rating: 
5
Clifford from Largo writes:
I love my Dionisio X Cut-a-Way guitar, and I never cared that it was "Less-Than-Perfect". I challenge anyone to even find the imperfection! First of all, the guitar is beautiful It is so visually appealing to be unbelievable at that price point. Second, the tone is beautiful. I've owned a couple Breedlove guitars, an Alvarez 12 string, as well as a Martin, and without a doubt the tone is the best. Very nice lower range - nicely bassy. Third, the action is outstanding straight out of the box. Lastly, the size is great. I just really like the Concerto "style" with the cutaway and the smaller body. It makes the fact that the bass is so great even more significant. MacKenzie & Marr are great communicators too. I absolutely recommend that you look at their entire line of guitars because there is going to be one perfect for you!"
2023-08-10
Star Rating: 
4
Niley from Wichita Falls writes:
Attractive, well-made instrument. Playability is about 3-star. I’m comparing against Furch, Martin and Taylor, all more playable, but still head and shoulders above Zager whose comparable product is a bit higher priced. Hard to replace an old Furch or Martin, but for the money M&M delivers a nice product.
2023-08-09
Star Rating: 
5
Brian from Lanark writes:
I have owned several high end guitars - Martin, Taylor, and Gibson - in my lifetime but my new Riverboat Dread is one of the best. The quality of the workmenship, the tone and the neck action are all superb and something you find rarely, even with comparably priced and higher priced instruments. My compliments to Mackenzie Marr for delivering on an exellent guitar.
2023-07-18
Star Rating: 
5
Richard from Conesus writes:
My Ian Tyson Inspiration is an incredible instrument! I have played for over 40 years and own/have owned guitars from many of the top guitar manufacturers: Gibson, Martin, Taylor, Fender, Rickenbacker, etc. This Mackenzie and Marr guitar is the equal of the finest of those guitars and superior to many of them. Tone, playability, craftsmanship, attention to detail are hard to believe in a guitar in this price range. My dad, rest his soul, used to say, “If a deal looks too good to be true, it probably is, steer clear of it”. Well Dad, sorry, it’s not the case this time. This guitar exceeds all expectations and is even more aesthetically beautiful than the pictures from the website. Wow!
2023-07-11
Star Rating: 
5
BRENDAN from MORPETH writes:
I purchased a guitar from Mackenzie Marr a year and a half ago, but sadly had to return it. The dimensions of the guitar did not suit my playing style. I returned it, with no hassel. This time around I did a little more homework and ordered a small palour guitar, the Opeongo OO. The guitar is exactly to spec and arrived well packaged and in a beautiful hard shell case. I love the look and feel of this guitar. A lot of sound from a small package. The neck is a little wider than what I am used to. It kinda' reminds me of an old Norman I learned to play on. The 12 fret neck is a unique experience and does make playing bar chords a little bit easier as your position over the guitar changes. I have noticed that the tuning keys become quite loose when the string tension lessons. However, they are Grover tuners and there should be a simple answer to that one. The open head stock does seem to transmit some sound as well, which was new learning for me. I like that the pick guard is optional, as I am not a hard strummer and the appearance of the guitar is a lot more authentic without it. I have owned Taylors, Martins and Guilds...some have worked well, others have moved on. But, I will be keeping this Mackenzie Marr parlour guitar. Thanks for your interest.
2023-06-29
Star Rating: 
5
Graham from Kelowna writes:
Hi I had no problems getting it the high e string broke as soon as I played it when I need new strings I'm going put a 11 gauge set of strings on wondering if it might change the sound I didn't put the pick guard on Hopefully I turn it into a Willie Nelson guitar

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.