MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.
2018-05-10
Star Rating: 
5
Braden from Conway writes:
Have had my Dionisio now for over two years. Have owned a 1970 D-28 for many years (30...40+..,yikes) which I have been very pleased with, but was looking around for a decent cutaway, as I like to play up the neck a bit. Was checking out a Tom Rush concert locally and read he was playing a new "Naked Lady" made by MacKenzie and Marr. Did a little research and found the Dionisio. It seemed a little sketchy at first buying a guitar sight unseen. But then Tom Rush seems so trustworthy. Would my old New Hampshire folk hero steer me wrong? Well, he didn't. As hard as it is to admit, it's now my go to guitar. This is a very attractive, playable, (action may even be a little better than the Martin's)guitar. It hangs on my wall where it's most accessible (humidified). I still love my Martin, really I do, but it sleeps a lot these days, (I figure it's curing). The Donisio is a really good guitar, at least mine is, and I'm glad to have it. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another guitar from M&M. They seem like an upright company, with a good quality, very reasonably priced product, with service that seems kind of down homey, especially for people I've never seen and who live in another country. And thanks Tom, you were instrumental in helping me through my love life in high school and now you steered me toward a really nice guitar, I owe ya. Hard to ask for more than that from anybody. B. Mac Mt. Washington Valley, NH
2018-01-30
Star Rating: 
5
Aaron from Hudson's Hope writes:
My Naked Lady arrived a few days ago, all I have to say is where has this geeetar been my whole life. OMG wow. I've played many high end guitars and this my friends tops them all. Bar none. Amazingly deep full sounding with lots of undertones, and clean note separation. Also the harmonics it produces are second to none!!!! Great company to deal with too. Talked to John over the phone and he is very honest. I will b buying more from these guys for sure. Keep up the great work.
2017-12-03
Star Rating: 
5
Michelle from Brandon writes:
My partner bought me a Tofino for my birthday and I love it! The fretboard is easy to maneuver..nice low action on the strings and the sound is unbelievable, compared to the other 6 acoustics I own. Thank-you Mackenzie and Marr for creating solid quality at a reasonable price!!
2016-09-16
Star Rating: 
5
Angus from Moncton writes:
I purchased a Dionisio 4 years ago and that was the equivalent to drinking. the juice. I'm a believer. So when the Lady come out I started to salivate. It took me a while but I finally pulled the trigger. It easily lives up to the glowing reviews. The volume, tone, and beauty have impressed all of my guitar snob friends. I've had a Seagull for 20 years and the lady just blows it out of the water, at every level. Unfortunately for Mac and Marr, this is the last guitar I will ever buy. It is that good.
2016-08-29
Star Rating: 
5
Donald from Owen Sound writes:
When My Brother -in-law came for a visit he seemed smitten by my Tofino. So I got him one..this was his responce when he opened the package and played his LTP Tofino. Peter Zetlin Hey Don, Unwrapping the Mackenzie reminded me of helping a beautiful woman take off her clothes. And once she was out, I wasn't disappointed either. Nice cedar smell too. The tuning pegs were smooth compared to my 50 year old Epiphone Texan. The Mackenzie is clearer, fuller than the Texan. Just so sweet. I'm going to have some fine moments with her. The neck is wider than the Texan and will take some getting used to. When you can get your fingers in the right place, that full chord rings just right. What a nice gift. Many thanks to you!
2016-07-28
Star Rating: 
5
Danny from Chapel Hill writes:
I was looking for a non-dreadnought guitar to top off my acoustic collection, but I didn't want to spend a bundle. After doing a lot of online research into various names and models I went for the Tofino---partly on a hunch that it would be a great choice, and partly based on reviews and videos. In any case, I am thoroughly impressed by the tone, craftsmanship, appearance and playability. If I picked this up in a guitar shop with no prior knowledge of M+M instruments, I would venture a guess that this guitar was in the 2K price range. Instead, it was a fraction of that cost. This is a great instrument at a price that defies all appearance and expectation.
2016-03-22
Star Rating: 
5
Greg from Medicine Hat writes:
a really fine instrument can enable you to play better, and it's neat that the average listener can hear there's something special going on with this guitar. Very light, easy to play, sounds great recorded, holds tune well, the Baggs pickup system is the best I've had. A real treat to spend time playing it, I'd hate to be without it! Greg
2016-02-01
Star Rating: 
5
Grant from Roseneath writes:
Well i guess its best i tell my history with Mackenzie Marr i have in the past purchased first a Ian Tyson which is just an awesome sounding and playing guitar i the bought a Tom Rush signature series one of the first run it to is a joy to play but my dream was to own a Tom Rush Naked Lady and in December i was lucky enough to become a very proud owner of this awesome guitar the all around sound just grabs you i jam with a alot of Bluegrass friends and cant wait till the warm weather to come so i can showcase what has become my favourite guitar i do own a few othe guitars a D45 a D28H and an older Picador to name a few The Tom Rush Naked Lady is hands down my favourite besides the sound it just plain old feels good i can play it for hours I tip my hat to Mackenzie Marr and i have to say to anyone afraid to purchase an online guitar do your self a favour and give John and company a choice to please your ears I guess its apparent im a fan But i dont give praise unless its deserved and i can tell you Its deserved Thnaks To Mackenzie Marr
2016-01-07
Star Rating: 
4
Mark from Amarath writes:
After waiting around 8 months to receive the Tofino I finally received the guitar about 3 months ago. Over this time, I took a lot of time to get to know the guitar and now am able to give an adequate review. First the bad, the first issue was that the guitar took 8 months to get to me when I was expecting it to arrive a lot sooner then this, had I had known this before purchasing the guitar I don't if I would have in the first place but what happens happens and I understand why the guitar took so long to get to me. Next issue is the case, the case does not fit snuggly around the guitar, I was expecting one that would fit a lot closer to the body it still snuggly in the case but it is not custom made for the Tofino. Also it’s a bit cheaply made, I’ve already bent some of the closing clips just from normal use. The next issue is the pick guard that was sent with the guitar, it is an after market stick it on yourself type deal which I don’t mind that much but the guard its self is one I wouldn’t put on any guitar. The pattern looks quite cheesy and the round on the guard that comes pre cut doesn’t line up with the radius of the sound hole or the sound hole rosette. Instead of applying this guard I took the guitar to my local guitar shop to have a professional customized guard fitted because I am one to hit my picks in to the body on down strokes and like to keep the guitar looking spotless. The last issue is that when the guitar arrived the pick up which was supposed to be attached to the inside of the guitar was loose, meaning I had to attach the pick up myself, I am pretty handy when it comes to things like this but who knows what could have happened to the pick up in the shipping process and what kind of damage it did to the inside of the guitar. Now to the good, as you will notice the above problems weren’t about the guitar its self but the things that came with the guitar, and I have nothing but good things to say about the guitar. It is a wonderful instrument to play. Picking is meet with a beautiful crispness and every note is clear. Just straight strumming is also wonderful, every note of the chord rings out. I really enjoy the sound as well and after fixing the pick up the guitar sounds amazing plugged in. I have played many gigs with my band “The Caucasian Lifeguards” and those among the crowd with a more musical mind complemented the sound quality of my little guitar. Playing this guitar is a dream and it makes you want to come back, which I find very important. Playing guitar should be something enjoyable and the Tofino makes it that. With all the defects that you first notice when you take it out of the box like the loose pick up, the cheesy pick guard and the fact that you waited 8 months are over shadowed by how incredibly enjoyable this guitar is to play and to listen too. It was money well spent and just at a fraction of the cost of another guitar of the same calibre.
2015-10-31
Star Rating: 
5
Reeve from JARVIS BAY writes:
Thanks guys, I know that the order was prolonged... so what I recieved #13 thanks for that in the new 5th EDITION Tofino... sounds amazing.. my daughter loves her Canadian Songwriter...forget Taylor or Martin you provide an amazing product at an amazing price and PERSONAL support - another 6 months until the next purchase - maybe a cutaway..all the best Reeve and thanks for the EVERYTHING you guys rock....btw the next special addition i want #1 LOL

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.