Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

The Tom Rush Signature Dreadnought

We purchased the Tom Rush Signature as a Xmas gift for my son on Nov./12.  It's been 4 years and it still plays and sounds great (when I get a chance to play it!) . I also have an Ian Tyson that I purchased in June/12 and  it also plays and sounds great. Both guitars are aging nicely . The  Tom Rush is not so bright and getting more mellow and richer everyday. I also have an older Larrivee Jumbo that's 16 years old. The Tom Rush and the Ian Tyson are equal in quality and sound to the older Larrivee.                       I wouldn't hesitate in purchasing another guitar from these guys.


Rob Higginson


Reveiwed by: rdhigginson on 09/12/2016 - 21:01

The Tom Rush Signature Dreadnought

The guitar is great. Ever since buying her, I've neglected all of my others. I recently took it to a get-together, and all of my guitar colleagues couldn't stop raving about the quality of the sound and feel of the guitar, comparing her to Martin's products. Booming bass, great feel, holds the tone nicely. I highly recommend investing in this one of a kind signature dreadnought. 


Reveiwed by: blata on 09/12/2016 - 15:37

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I was looking for a non-dreadnought guitar to top off my acoustic collection, but I didn't want to spend a bundle. After doing a lot of online research into various names and models I went for the Tofino---partly on a hunch that it would be a great choice, and partly based on reviews and videos. In any case, I am thoroughly impressed by the tone, craftsmanship, appearance and playability. If I picked this up in a guitar shop with no prior knowledge of M+M instruments, I would venture a guess that this guitar was in the 2K price range. Instead, it was a fraction of that cost. This is a great instrument at a price that defies all appearance and expectation. 


Reveiwed by: steelstringer on 07/28/2016 - 18:48

Opeongo OO

What an absolutely lovely guitar.  First of all the sound is splendid, but I suspect that goes without saying when it comes to a MacKenzie & Marr guitar.  What I really want to talk about is the comfort.  I can just sit anywhere with this guitar and feel really comfortable, even more recently often sitting with it in front of my home office desktop as I consult the www for various songs to play.  To be honest, I don't think I was even aware of the "parlour" sized guitar before I saw the Opeongo.  While other reviewers reassure that the sound of the guitar is loud enough I want to emphasize how nicely it fits with the singing voice of a rather soft-spoken person.  I can actually sing with this guitar without being drowned out!  Buying a MacKenzie & Marr guitar was on my shopping list for maybe 5 years and I'm delighted that my delay coincided with the arrival of the Opeongo.  It was also delightful meeting John Marr!


 


Cheers


Ken Sproul, Toronto


Reveiwed by: ksproul on 07/12/2016 - 15:06

Dionisio Cedar Top Cutaway

I had the privilege to stop by the loft in Montreal and had the pleasure to meet John Mahr, I was also able to try out various models on hand and ended up purchasing a Dionisio. A cutaway with amazing tone and a very light fingering touch. I play it regularly and I usually bring it with me in my travels. When not playing it, it sits next to my Gibsons, Martins, Fender, etc.. Now I have my eye on a naked lady to add to my collection... I recommend M&M guitares to all my musician friends.


Reveiwed by: bob_cormier on 06/01/2016 - 01:07

The 710

I can't believe I waited so long to try a Mackenzie and Marr guitar after seeing that demo with O'Leary on Dragons Den in 2010. 


Wonderful warm tone rings out loud and clear.  Especially impressed with the strong bass notes.  Easy and precise action.  Finish is very impressive too.  Just as advertised, this guitar plays and sounds like a more expensive instrument.  As the tone has already started to open up with playing  I am looking forward to even better things to come. 


Reveiwed by: bronail99 on 05/17/2016 - 20:25

The Tom Rush Naked Lady

I got this guitar in November of 2013....it is still my all time favourite. I have not even bought another guitar since because I keep comparing them to my Lady! I do own five other various guitars from over the years that I still have but I always reach for my Lady every time. I will take one of the older guitars if I go travelling but for home, shows, or recording I only pick up my Lady. My daughter feels spoiled too since I have let her play on it she is no longer satisfied with her guitar haha. I like it so much that I might end up buying a second one when its in my budget after house renovations. I don't know if I will ever have a guitar again that I love as much as her.... 


Reveiwed by: MsManda on 04/20/2016 - 20:13

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

a really fine instrument can enable you to play better, and it's neat that the average listener can hear there's something special going on with this guitar. Very light, easy to play, sounds great recorded, holds tune well, the Baggs pickup system is the best I've had. A real treat to spend time playing it, I'd hate to be without it!

Greg


Reveiwed by: Donna.herman on 03/22/2016 - 14:32

The Tom Rush Signature Dreadnought

After buying a Tofino guitar in 2015 and being so pleased with it, I started looking at the larger bodied Tom Rush Signature guitar. I have been wanting to get a solid Rosewood guitar for quite a while but really couldn't decide on what to buy. Playing the Tofino made up my mind for me. Seeing the quality of the Mackenzie Marr brand I felt really comfortable ordering one. When I received it I was really pleased!!  The finish on it was excellent and the set up was perfect, no tinkering needed. Side by side with the Tofino they are two impressive looking guitars but two different sounding guitars.  I found the Tom Rush Signature to have a much more "mellow" sound and the Tofino a "brighter" sound.............a perfect pair.  I cannot comment on the electronics as I prefer to play unplugged but playing it unplugged the sound is lovely.  One thing I did notice was when playing the G,B and high E strings on the 14th+ Frets, the sound is clear and pure, not the case with other guitars I have. The only negative is the fret edges are just a tad rough but nothing that detracts from the playability and that could well be caused by the dryness in the house this time of year.  All in all a super guitar and another "keeper".


Thanks again John for quality instruments at affordable prices.  Keep them coming!!


Reveiwed by: rg.dorval on 03/10/2016 - 16:30

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

Guitar arrived perfectly intact. There was a little difficulty and delay due to the fact that the guitar is left handed. I can understand the difficulties in production for left handed models. This is not new to me, I have been living with it all my life. Having said that, the construction and finish of the instrument are flawless. Frets are level and true with no protruding ends. The tone is superb, the cedar top of the Tofino seem to give a slightly warmer tone compared to a spruce top, although it is plenty bright when it needs to be. I really like the less "boomy" sound of this size body compared to a Dreadnought size. The L.R.Baggs Anthem pickup is also superb once one gets the feel of it. The setup and action were perfect as delivered from the shop, also the intonation was spot on. The guitar also performs well with alternate tunings, I tuned it to a C Wahine tuning where the low E string drops to C, this can kill the intonation of most guitars, but the Tofino sounds wonderful in this tuning delivering clear , tight low end. All in all I would recommend this guitar, it is equal or better than many higher priced and "name brand" instruments. Thank you Mackenzie Marr for your excellent service.


Reveiwed by: John.douglascoley on 03/04/2016 - 08:55

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.