MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.
2023-09-11
Star Rating: 
5
Kay from Soquel writes:
My new little Opeongo guitar is definitely a keeper! I’ve been playing it pretty much nonstop since I got it. The combination of mahogany back and sides and spruce top is amazing and just what I’ve been looking for. The combination of these tone-woods and the deeper sound box really adds up to a clear, full, and robust sound. The shape of the neck is super comfortable. And while the Opeongo doesn’t sound quite as good with a capo as my Martin 00 ms15, and doesn’t ring as clear beyond the 12th fret, this is a fine instrument and is a welcome addition to my collection. This is a great looking little guitar, too. The logo on the headstock is handsome, and it also looks great on the awesome hard shell case the guitar comes in. There were some minor issues upon delivery, but John Marr kindly and promptly replied to my email and we worked that out. He even checked back with me a few days later to make sure everything was okay. Thanks John:) I’m quite happy with this M&M guitar, and I seem to pick it up these days instead of any of my other guitars. With the “fall in love in a week” guarantee, there’s really nothing to lose. That guarantee speaks confidence! Take MacKenzie and Marr up on that—you won’t be sorry.
2023-09-10
Star Rating: 
5
Thomas from SUN PRAIRIE writes:
I have several Mackenzie & Marr guitars, but I've always been intrigued by the Riverboat Dread. That Adirondack Spruce top seemed like a real winner, especially after I obtained a used Baby Boat... it's become my favorite guitar, with excellent balance and LOOONG sustain! Circumstances allowed me to finally break down and order a Riverboat Dread. I wasn't disappointed. Of all the MacMarr guitars I've encountered, the Dread is, visually, the most understated. That has a charm all it's own. While the contrasting wood and abalone inlays on the others are quite nice, as are maple bindings, they tend to be a bit flashy. The Dread is a more low key instrument. I like that. IMHO it's quite tastefully done. I asked David for a Dread with the widest stripe of sapwood in the back that he had on hand; my Baby Boat has a prominent stripe that I found charming. He sent me one with a VERY handsome and broad back stripe. I'm pleased with it; this is a simple but quite handsome instrument, without any pretenses. The winter grain in the top is without a doubt the most pronounced grain I've ever seen in a guitar, but it fits in nicely with the rest of the aesthetics of this instrument. It makes the guitar individual, but without being intrusive. One reason the Baby Boat is my favorite is string spacing. I have sort of chubby fingers, and the spacing on it is near perfect for me. The Dread duplicates that. Tuning it up straight out of the carton and giving it a try was gratifying, to say the least! This is a duplicate of my Baby Boat, but it can REALLY sound off like the Baby never could! Well balanced, a low end that is powerful but not muddy and rumbling (unlike some Martin Dreads that I've had the chance to play). As with all of my MacMarr guitars, the setup was quite good; no tweeking was necessary right out of the box, unlike some other guitars I've owned. Like any brand new guitar, it will take some playing to make it's voice open up completely, but as I wrote shortly after my Dread arrived, this one WON'T be going back after 7 days... it's found it's Forever Home with me.
2023-08-31
Star Rating: 
5
PETER from Shorewood writes:
The Tofino X is my third instrument from MacKenzie and Marr, joining six other acoustics, two classical, and eight electrics at my home. The acoustics range from a custom built Hoffman, a Lowden, Gibsons, and others. The Tofino X arrived and I was stunned. It is a work of art. First, the tone woods. The grain on the cedar top looks like it belongs on a $10,000 classical guitar. The Mahogany sides and back are beautiful, subtle in grain and texture, and contribute to the elegance of the look. The neck and fingerboard are perfect. As a player trained in classical guitar technique (though I play many styles and compose for the guitar as a solo instrument), I play all over the fingerboard. Usually, new instrument require me to visit a luthier to set up the action and the neck for my style of playing. Not the Tofino X. Literally, all the way up the neck the intonation, the balance, and the dynamic range were right on point to my top line acoustics including the $9k Lowden. The inlay work: Absolutely beautiful. I am afraid I am going to spend more time staring at the top than playing it. Finally, the sound: I realize the instrument is "green", and few months of playing (and vibrating along with the other instruments as they are played) will only enhance the tone, but, right now? Projection and volume are a match for anything else I have hanging on the wall. This is comparing it to acoustics over 25 years old. In particular, the bass projection is on a par with any jumbo or dreadnaught I have played; a pleasant surprise, as my experience with mahogany instruments is the tone is usually less "deep" than my rosewood instruments. Whether you are chord strummer or a fingerpicker, you will not be disappointed with a Tofino X (if there are any left)!
2023-08-30
Star Rating: 
1
Betty from Cowansville writes:
Well I’ve had this guitar over a month now…it’s a good looking guitar..and in my opinion…that’s all it has..the action is high….it’s got fret buzz.. at certain frets…as well as a string rattle at certain spots..also ..with the c shape it’s very pronounced after the 5 th fret……you should pay more attention to playability..of this guitar….as far as sound it’s acceptable.for its size….would I buy another guitar from you No…..
2023-08-30
Star Rating: 
4
Todd C from Frederick writes:
I've been watching Mackenzie & Marr for quite some time, enjoying the website videos. Owning too many acoustic guitars, another purchase didn't seem prudent. However, I have begun to get serious about recording my original songs, so for the past 8-10 months I have been slowly building a catalog of recordings using several of my 6-string acoustics. Discussing arrangements with my producer, we decided that having a 12-string on some of the songs would be a good idea, so I purchased an older Alarez-Yairi 12-string. The guitar is fine, but playability is typical 'fight you' 12-string, making the playing experience difficult. After checking the Mackenzie & Marr website, as I do periodically, I discovered that the 12-string Algonquin had finally been released and was in-stock, so I hit the 'Buy' button. Although I haven't had as much playing time using the Algonquin as I'd like, I have been pleased with not only the fit & finish, but also the sound (full & rich). The guitar is has a beautiful small jumbo outline and wood selection is right-on. The most important part is playability - it is excellent ! So, am I satisfied, definitely 'YES'. I'll be doing an online video review of the guitar in the future so stay tuned. Thanks to John and the Mackenzie & Marr crew.
2023-08-29
Star Rating: 
5
Christopher from HIXSON writes:
I have two wonderful Martins and two wonderful Larrivees. On the day I received my Riverboat dreadnought here at work, I only had a few minutes to play it and I really couldn't make a good assessment of this guitar. However, after a few hours of actually playing it, I must say, WOW!!!! I like it better every single time I pick it up. I also enjoy just looking at it, and sending friends pictures just to show it off. It's so beautiful! The case is awesome too! Probably the most well made case I've ever received with an acoustic. I really can't say enough great things about this guitar. I'd put it up against my D-35 any time. I love the name and the background as well. Named after the famous Toronto Coffee House, The Riverboat, this axe simply begs for Gordon Lightfoot and Neil Young songs to be strummed on it. It's Canadian roots are a big plus to me, since, as a 53 year old American, I have secretly wished I was Canadian myself since Middle School. If you're considering buying a Riverboat Dread, tarry no longer. Take the plunge into the great white north and find new inspiration with this incredible work of art.
2023-08-28
Star Rating: 
5
Peter from Sherwood Park writes:
The Mackenzie Marr Baby Boat Guitar is my best acoustic guitar hands down. The superb sound, setup, craftsmanship and beauty keep me smiling every time I pick her up. I also had her fitted with the L R BAGGS Anthem System. WOW!! I will be enjoying my new Baby Boat for a long time. No regrets whatsoever!!!!
2023-08-28
Star Rating: 
4
Richard from Crestone writes:
I have the Algonquin 12, and while it may not be quite as good as my 1972 Martin 12-string, I've compared it to a $2,500 Taylor 12-string and find the MacMarr FAR superior, both in terms of sound and fingering.
2023-08-17
Star Rating: 
5
Clifford from Largo writes:
I love my Dionisio X Cut-a-Way guitar, and I never cared that it was "Less-Than-Perfect". I challenge anyone to even find the imperfection! First of all, the guitar is beautiful It is so visually appealing to be unbelievable at that price point. Second, the tone is beautiful. I've owned a couple Breedlove guitars, an Alvarez 12 string, as well as a Martin, and without a doubt the tone is the best. Very nice lower range - nicely bassy. Third, the action is outstanding straight out of the box. Lastly, the size is great. I just really like the Concerto "style" with the cutaway and the smaller body. It makes the fact that the bass is so great even more significant. MacKenzie & Marr are great communicators too. I absolutely recommend that you look at their entire line of guitars because there is going to be one perfect for you!"
2023-08-10
Star Rating: 
4
Niley from Wichita Falls writes:
Attractive, well-made instrument. Playability is about 3-star. I’m comparing against Furch, Martin and Taylor, all more playable, but still head and shoulders above Zager whose comparable product is a bit higher priced. Hard to replace an old Furch or Martin, but for the money M&M delivers a nice product.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.