Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Bruce from West Boylston

Thu, 01/16/2020 - 10:16

I already own a few acoustic guitars (Guild, Martin, Alvarez, Fender, Cordoba), but I was thinking about maybe getting a Taylor, after playing a couple at a songwriting workshop last year. So I started looking around. Then I somehow heard about Mackenzie and Marr and decided to try one of their Ian Tyson models based on good reviews, watching a few videos, and very attractive pricing. I received the guitar four days ago, and I really love it. First of all, the woods, the finish, the design, and the construction are all beautiful (even the case is quite nice). The sound is full and rich, with a good balance of highs and lows, not “boomy,” and great for both fingerpicking and full strumming. It was ready to play out of the box with no adjustments needed. The neck has a great feel and I like that the back of it has a smooth semi-matte finish, not shiny lacquer. I got the pickup option thanks to a special promo but I haven’t tried it yet (I will soon). I don’t play out much these days but I like to have a pickup available and it might be useful for recording (I like that it didn’t require cutting any holes in the body). All in all, one of the best Christmas presents I ever gave myself. A really wonderful instrument.

Thomas from Newburyport

Tue, 01/07/2020 - 15:13

very pleased with the communication, packaging, and shipment of the Tom Rush Naked Lady. I am even more pleased with the quality, and the sound of the guitar. thanks john. TA

Greg from Kennewick

Tue, 01/07/2020 - 15:11

I was a little leery about buying a guitar without being able to play it first but I hit the purchase button anyway. I have three Martins and two Taylors. My go to is my Johnny Cash D35, a great Martin dreadnaught and my aTaylor 814 CE deluxe. I was blown away by the crisp sound of the cedar top on this naked lady. The Baggs sound is amazing. I find it hard to believe that this guitar sells for around $1100 US. It is a bit bigger than my Martin dread but the sound is not only big but clear. I bought this guitar to put in my motor home for travel. I will not hesitate to use it for performing. I am 68 years old and this will be the last guitar I buy, last but not least

Tim from UPPER KENT

Sat, 01/04/2020 - 13:38

I read the notice about the new Tofino X. I have Tofino #56 from M&M's second batch and have always loved it but don't need two of them. If you don't have a Tofino, the X at the preorder price (less than I paid for mine 10 years ago), IS A BARGAIN! sorry for shouting. Just buy one.

David from New York, NY

Fri, 01/03/2020 - 00:00

I have been playing the Opeongo for about a month. I bought it to keep at my office so I could play during the day. At home, I have a number of more well-known guitars including some with comparable smaller bodies. From the start, I have been impressed by the resonance of its sound, by its feel and excellent playability, and by the quality of workmanship. The guitar is still new and still opening up, but it already holds its own among more expensive guitars in terms of both sound and playability. The simplicity of the design and the high quality of the workmanship are admirable as well. It arrived well set-up and has held its tuning. The Opeongo has a distinct and pleasing tone character, more resonant in the highs and lows than in the middle tones. I imagine the bigger M-M bodies have both fuller base and middle tones, but the Opeongo has good balance and the concentrated sound typical of smaller body guitars. Overall I am delighted with it.

Dave from Louisville

Wed, 12/11/2019 - 10:03

I have had my Opeongo now for a couple months now and could not be more satisfied. The build quality is excellent! It has great feel, setup was good, and the volume and tone is fantastic. I see that they are sold out now on the website now, but do yourself a favor and buy one when they are available again.

R W from Center Strafford

Tue, 11/19/2019 - 10:20

This is possibly the most beautiful guitar I now own - the Bolivian rosewood is gorgeous (I own several Martins with East Indian rosewood that do not compare). The sound is well balanced and the action is easy on the fingers. If I have one minor issue it is with the white plastic bridge pins; this guitar deserves better, so I replaced them with ebony bridge pins with abalone dots to match the abalone in the rosette. I now have a very difficult choice between playing this guitar and my Tom Rush Naked Lady guitar. Thank you MacKenzie & Marr, you have outdone yourselves again. Bill

Reg from Red Deer

Tue, 11/19/2019 - 07:57

So, I have had my Ian Tyson Inspiration guitar for just over a week. When I received it, I first checked the set-up (neck straightness, fret height, intonation, etc). I did have to adjust the neck slightly, did some minor fret dressing and adjusted the saddle height a bit, but once that was done to my liking - I tuned her up and the intonation was perfect!! This guitar is amazing. The woods are exquisite, as were the fit and finish. Looking at the insides with a mirror and light is clean and precise. The range of sound is rich, vibrant and deep across all ranges with absolutely amazing sustain!! I am very impressed with this guitar, and love playing it. Can't wait to sit down with some friends to play and show off this new baby. Thanks guys!!

Randy from Toronto

Fri, 10/18/2019 - 11:26

It took me about 30 seconds to fall in love with this guitar. As soon as I lifted it out of the case and plucked a few strings, I knew it was a special piece of work. The sound is amazingly dynamic with a rich bottom end and beautiful highs. It plays extremely well and the Florentine cut-away gives access to a repertoire that is seldom explored in acoustic guitars. The location of the strap button bothered me until I tried it and it does give a better balance that I would have expected. I also got the Anthem pickup, which also works extremely well. It almost captures the dynamic range of the un-amplified guitar - almost :) Finally, there is a clear pickguard included that one can put on. I tried it but it's hard to mount without getting bubbles underneath and honestly it detracts from the look of the guitar. Besides, guitar is a tool not an ornament so a few scratches means it's getting used well. Great product!!!

Richard from Hudson

Sun, 10/06/2019 - 11:42

WOW! I’ve had the Tyson for two days and I’m just now able to put the guitar down. It plays beautifully and sounds just perfect. The tone quality is superb and the sustain is amazing! I’ve been playing since the early 1960s and can honestly say that I’ve never had a better “out of the box” experience… I’ve currently got 10 6-strings and 8 12-strings and the Ian Tyson is my new daily player! If you ever make a 12-string, just send the first one to me! Thanks so much for a beautifully crafted and set up instrument!

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.