Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Gary from Flagstaff

Thu, 06/28/2018 - 14:36

Let me first discuss my experience in purchasing a MacKenzie and Marr Dionisio guitar, and then discuss the attributes of the guitar itself. In early 2016 I purchased an LTP Dionisio (in MacKenzie & Marr lingo, an LTP instrument is “less-than-perfect,” and sold at a discounted price). Early on, I noticed one of the tuning machine knobs was falling apart. Upon emailing M & M I reached one of the owners(!), John Marr, who was very apologetic that somehow the guitar had been shipped with older knobs (which apparently suffered this problem). John immediately sent me a new set of knobs which were easily installed, and are working fine. The guitar did have some fret buzz, but I figured that could be rectified with a routine setup at my local, trusted luthier. However, upon taking the guitar in, my luthier determined that the fret buzz arose not from a simple adjustment, but a twisted neck – a serious issue that requires major repair, or replacement of the instrument. At this point I grew concerned – I live in Arizona, while MacKenzie and Marr is a Canadian company, without retail dealers. If M & M was a less than reputable company, they could easily dismiss my concerns, it would not be worth me pursuing the problem across an international boundary, and I would be left with some very expensive firewood. I returned the guitar to M & M, hoping for the best. John wrote back saying that they had inspected the guitar, that the neck was indeed twisted, that this was the first time they had run across this problem, and that they would be sending me out a replacement guitar at their expense. I was greatly relieved, and impressed, that they did the honorable thing. Indeed, John sent me a *first-quality* (non-LTP) replacement Dionisio to compensate me for my troubles. Yes, the guitar I purchased was defective. But even new iPhones and Toyotas can occasionally have problems. My local luthier told me that *all* guitar manufacturers – Gibson, Martin, whomever – sell a few guitars with twisted necks. The important point is not my purchase of a defective instrument, but MacKenzie and Marr’s response as a company – a company I now trust and would do business with again. Regarding the instrument itself, it has become my “go-to” standard guitar (i.e., non- baritone, non-resonator). I find that guitar reviews sometimes sound a bit like wine reviews -- if you can detect all the supposed nuance and subtlety in a glass of wine, or a guitar, great, but I don’t think I can. I do, however, know what I like, and I like the Dionisio. But let me relate what others have said about my Dionisio. I play original, solo, singer-songwriter material. I recently played the Tucson Folk Festival, and the Dionisio was my “standard” guitar for the 30-minute set. Before the festival, my trusted local luthier set up the guitar, including installing a new, bone nut with slightly wider string spacing (I've done this on many of my guitars -- like many fingerstyle players, I prefer the wider spacing). These are quality, experienced luthiers whom I have dealt with for years. When I picked up the guitar, the guy who had done the work was almost raving at what a nice guitar it was! He said that he and another guy in the shop just loved playing it! He even joked around that they would like to rent it from me sometime (actually, I think he was only *half* joking). I've never had anything like such a reaction before from these luthiers, despite the many guitars of mine that they've worked on. Also in preparation for the festival, I purchased a Fishman humbucking soundhole pickup for the guitar (I had purchased the guitar with the standard, baseline Fishman Sonotone pickup). Now, please realize that the Tucson Folk Festival is a quality event, and the sound engineers are experienced, competent people. The sound engineer at my stage was a guitar player himself, and performed a set at the festival. After my first couple songs with the Dionisio, the sound engineer *stopped me between songs,* and (with the audience listening!) asked what kind of guitar I was playing -- because, he said, "it sounds ridiculously good." Yup. Those were his exact words: "ridiculously good." Now, the pickup (and, I hope, my playing!) could have had something to do with that assessment. Still, lots of players no doubt had good pickups in their guitars, and lots of them are good players. But despite watching a number of performers play with this particular sound engineer, I never saw him make comments to any of the performers during the performance. I said to him (again, this was between songs) that it was a Canadian guitar, and I would show it to him after my set. When I did so, he seemed certain it was a custom-built guitar, made in Canada. When I said No, it's Chinese, he said "No way!" Yes ... way. Anyway, that's high praise for the Dionisio, and from people who know what they're talking about. There are countless wonderful acoustic guitar choices out there. I can’t say what others should buy, but I’m very happy with my Dionisio.

Braden from Conway

Thu, 05/10/2018 - 00:00

Have had my Dionisio now for over two years. Have owned a 1970 D-28 for many years (30...40+..,yikes) which I have been very pleased with, but was looking around for a decent cutaway, as I like to play up the neck a bit. Was checking out a Tom Rush concert locally and read he was playing a new "Naked Lady" made by MacKenzie and Marr. Did a little research and found the Dionisio. It seemed a little sketchy at first buying a guitar sight unseen. But then Tom Rush seems so trustworthy. Would my old New Hampshire folk hero steer me wrong? Well, he didn't. As hard as it is to admit, it's now my go to guitar. This is a very attractive, playable, (action may even be a little better than the Martin's)guitar. It hangs on my wall where it's most accessible (humidified). I still love my Martin, really I do, but it sleeps a lot these days, (I figure it's curing). The Donisio is a really good guitar, at least mine is, and I'm glad to have it. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another guitar from M&M. They seem like an upright company, with a good quality, very reasonably priced product, with service that seems kind of down homey, especially for people I've never seen and who live in another country. And thanks Tom, you were instrumental in helping me through my love life in high school and now you steered me toward a really nice guitar, I owe ya. Hard to ask for more than that from anybody. B. Mac Mt. Washington Valley, NH

Aaron from Hudson's Hope

Tue, 01/30/2018 - 15:24

My Naked Lady arrived a few days ago, all I have to say is where has this geeetar been my whole life. OMG wow. I've played many high end guitars and this my friends tops them all. Bar none. Amazingly deep full sounding with lots of undertones, and clean note separation. Also the harmonics it produces are second to none!!!! Great company to deal with too. Talked to John over the phone and he is very honest. I will b buying more from these guys for sure. Keep up the great work.

Michelle from Brandon

Sun, 12/03/2017 - 13:51

My partner bought me a Tofino for my birthday and I love it! The fretboard is easy to maneuver..nice low action on the strings and the sound is unbelievable, compared to the other 6 acoustics I own. Thank-you Mackenzie and Marr for creating solid quality at a reasonable price!!

Angus from Moncton

Fri, 09/16/2016 - 16:39

I purched a Dionosio 4 years ago and that was the equivalent to drinking. the juice. I'm a believer. So when the Lady come out I started to salivate. It took me a while but I fanally pulled the trigger. It easily lives up to the glowing reviews. The volume, tone, and beauty have impressed all of my guitar snob friends. I've had a Seagull for 20 years and the lady just blows it out of the water, at every level. Unfortunatly for Mac and Marr, this is the last guitar I will ever buy. It is that good.

Donald from Owen Sound

Mon, 08/29/2016 - 15:27

When My Brother -in-law came for a visit he seemed smitten by my Tofino. So I got him one..this was his responce when he opened the package and played his LTP Tofino. Peter Zetlin Hey Don, Unwrapping the Mackenzie reminded me of helping a beautiful woman take off her clothes. And once she was out, I wasn't disappointed either. Nice cedar smell too. The tuning pegs were smooth compared to my 50 year old Epiphone Texan. The Mackenzie is clearer, fuller than the Texan. Just so sweet. I'm going to have some fine moments with her. The neck is wider than the Texan and will take some getting used to. When you can get your fingers in the right place, that full chord rings just right. What a nice gift. Many thanks to you!

Danny from Chapel Hill

Thu, 07/28/2016 - 15:40

I was looking for a non-dreadnought guitar to top off my acoustic collection, but I didn't want to spend a bundle. After doing a lot of online research into various names and models I went for the Tofino---partly on a hunch that it would be a great choice, and partly based on reviews and videos. In any case, I am thoroughly impressed by the tone, craftsmanship, appearance and playability. If I picked this up in a guitar shop with no prior knowledge of M+M instruments, I would venture a guess that this guitar was in the 2K price range. Instead, it was a fraction of that cost. This is a great instrument at a price that defies all appearance and expectation.

Donna from Medicine Hat

Tue, 03/22/2016 - 15:49

a really fine instrument can enable you to play better, and it's neat that the average listener can hear there's something special going on with this guitar. Very light, easy to play, sounds great recorded, holds tune well, the Baggs pickup system is the best I've had. A real treat to spend time playing it, I'd hate to be without it! Greg

Grant from Roseneath

Mon, 02/01/2016 - 15:27

Well i guess its best i tell my history with Mackenzie Marr i have in the past purchased first a Ian Tyson which is just an awesome sounding and playing guitar i the bought a Tom Rush signature series one of the first run it to is a joy to play but my dream was to own a Tom Rush Naked Lady and in December i was lucky enough to become a very proud owner of this awesome guitar the all around sound just grabs you i jam with a alot of Bluegrass friends and cant wait till the warm weather to come so i can showcase what has become my favourite guitar i do own a few othe guitars a D45 a D28H and an older Picador to name a few The Tom Rush Naked Lady is hands down my favourite besides the sound it just plain old feels good i can play it for hours I tip my hat to Mackenzie Marr and i have to say to anyone afraid to purchase an online guitar do your self a favour and give John and company a choice to please your ears I guess its apparent im a fan But i dont give praise unless its deserved and i can tell you Its deserved Thnaks To Mackenzie Marr

Mark from Amarath

Thu, 01/07/2016 - 14:55

After waiting around 8 months to receive the Tofino I finally received the guitar about 3 months ago. Over this time, I took a lot of time to get to know the guitar and now am able to give an adequate review. First the bad, the first issue was that the guitar took 8 months to get to me when I was expecting it to arrive a lot sooner then this, had I had known this before purchasing the guitar I don't if I would have in the first place but what happens happens and I understand why the guitar took so long to get to me. Next issue is the case, the case does not fit snuggly around the guitar, I was expecting one that would fit a lot closer to the body it still snuggly in the case but it is not custom made for the Tofino. Also it’s a bit cheaply made, I’ve already bent some of the closing clips just from normal use. The next issue is the pick guard that was sent with the guitar, it is an after market stick it on yourself type deal which I don’t mind that much but the guard its self is one I wouldn’t put on any guitar. The pattern looks quite cheesy and the round on the guard that comes pre cut doesn’t line up with the radius of the sound hole or the sound hole rosette. Instead of applying this guard I took the guitar to my local guitar shop to have a professional customized guard fitted because I am one to hit my picks in to the body on down strokes and like to keep the guitar looking spotless. The last issue is that when the guitar arrived the pick up which was supposed to be attached to the inside of the guitar was loose, meaning I had to attach the pick up myself, I am pretty handy when it comes to things like this but who knows what could have happened to the pick up in the shipping process and what kind of damage it did to the inside of the guitar. Now to the good, as you will notice the above problems weren’t about the guitar its self but the things that came with the guitar, and I have nothing but good things to say about the guitar. It is a wonderful instrument to play. Picking is meet with a beautiful crispness and every note is clear. Just straight strumming is also wonderful, every note of the chord rings out. I really enjoy the sound as well and after fixing the pick up the guitar sounds amazing plugged in. I have played many gigs with my band “The Caucasian Lifeguards” and those among the crowd with a more musical mind complemented the sound quality of my little guitar. Playing this guitar is a dream and it makes you want to come back, which I find very important. Playing guitar should be something enjoyable and the Tofino makes it that. With all the defects that you first notice when you take it out of the box like the loose pick up, the cheesy pick guard and the fact that you waited 8 months are over shadowed by how incredibly enjoyable this guitar is to play and to listen too. It was money well spent and just at a fraction of the cost of another guitar of the same calibre.

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.