Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Richard from Conway

Thu, 09/10/2020 - 16:04

 Got a buddy that was checking out your Ian Tyson model recently and wanted to know what I thought. "Beautiful guitar at a good price AND a return policy..BUY IT" was my reply while twisting his arm. Then I made the comment "If I ever bought one, I'd pick the Opeongo". After he ordered his guitar, which arrives in November he ordered ME the Opeongo which arrived last Thursday!      When I opened the custom case I was struck by how beautiful it looked. The size, shape, slot head, and OMG THE TRIM ties everything together. Love the fact that it wasn't made to be cute or fancy. The very clean looking top will age well, bringing out the grain more. The open pore sides and back AND the overall lack of a high gloss reminds you that it IS crafted wood. I believe this also keeps the sound of the woods purer! Also the pick guard is thankfully NOT installed because it looks awesome without it and since I'm not a strummer, I don't need it.      As I picked it up it was very light and balanced. With ANY instrument, getting into a good, useful playing position is crucial. The size and feel of the body and neck would feel comfortable on a couch or resting on the right leg BUT this isn't how I would suggest playing it. After playing it for a bit I noticed that holding it lighter, more in a classical position and away from my belly there appears another voice which adds so much to the overall dynamics. The sustain and volume is surprising and it's voices are versatile and unique. Depending how you play it, you can coax the sound to suit your needs. No...it isn't a heavy strummer or a hard flatpicking guitar but I was playing old timey music, classical, churchy, and blues with it sounding appropriate. The biggest surprise was when I used a capo! I noticed that it STAYS IN TUNE. I'm one of those nitpickers that hear when something is out of tune. I use the capo most of the time so I'm used to the "tricks" of sweetening the sound after the capo is put on. I was shocked when I didn't "need" to. The action is perfect and I can cleanly play things on the Opeongo that I cannot play on my other guitars.      If I had my druthers I would like the neck to be an 1-7/8". If I had a better left hand position instead of a "hillbilly" wraparound thumb position I might feel differently. The shallow neck profile is enough different that I have to adjust for this.     Wishlist: I think that a double high strung 12 string in this size would be an awesome instrument! My rating on the Opeongo out of 5 stars is a 4.99!

Frank from Bakersfield

Thu, 09/10/2020 - 10:59

As I stated in my prior message to you I am very well pleased with my OO Opeongo guitar. The workmanship is superb, it is a beautiful guitar, it plays good and it sounds great. One of the guys I play with played it & said he might have to buy him one. He has about 8 or 10 guitars already as do I. No, you can't have it back ! I was not notified by Fed-Ex when it was going to be delivered & I just happened to come back home while the truck was in front of my house & was going to leave it on the front porch. I did not have to sign for it, he just typed my last name in his gadget & said that was all he needed. It needs to be stressed to them about notification & just leaving it on the front porch when there's no one home.

Edward from Portsmouth

Thu, 09/10/2020 - 10:52

I've owned this guitar for a week and it's just the start of a beautiful friendship. The Opeongo presents so unpretentiously, no bling, and rings so true, what can I say, I couldn't be happier. Can't wait(will wait) for the two of us to settle in for a year or so. So glad I found you guys, many thanks.

Phillip from San Diego

Sat, 09/05/2020 - 10:23

I have only positive things to say about my new Opeong guitar. It is easy to play with a soft action, but none of the rattle that can sometimes come with that. The tone is beautiful, with plenty of volume for such a small guitar.  I opted for the version with pickups, and that performs as well as my much more expensive Takamine. I cannot boast much talent as a player, but I can say that my playing has improved a lot with this guitar. I frequently visit Guitar Center and play Gibson, Taylor and Martin guitars at the $2000 to $5000 price range (just to dream of being worthy).  This guitar is just as good as any of them. I have to give it a full complement of stars.  I can’t see how it could be better.

Doug from Vancouver

Fri, 09/04/2020 - 13:01

Just to let you know that I have received my delivery on the 25th of August. I have been playing the guitar for the past few days and at first thought that it sounded just as I thought a small guitar would sound. If this had bee in a store I would have returned the guitar to it's location and moved on. After awhile it becomes apparent that there is more nuance to the tone than I had first thought. The tone grows on you. Thanks for a great guitar. I guess I won't be sending it back after all.

jim from o'fallon

Fri, 09/04/2020 - 10:32

Oh my Lord.  We have eleven guitars in our house, a Taylor and Gretsch parlor, and this destroys both of them.  Thank you for this wonderfully brilliantly designed loud, rich, luxurious guitar.  We will not be returning it.  Love, four guitar players in the Harris Household....

Greer from El Paso

Wed, 07/08/2020 - 12:02

My Opeongo OO size guitar arrived rapidly and in perfect condition. It’s wonderful to play, craftsmanship of construction is great, and setup was exactly as discussed. Communication with M&M about some questions has also been terrific. The whole purchase experience couldn’t have been better. Thanks.

Albert from Woodstock, NB

Mon, 07/06/2020 - 10:46

WOW! I really wasn't prepared for the quality of workmanship or The Sweet Sounds that come from my Grand Manan. I've let some of my guitar playing friends try it and the response is always the same - "That's a great guitar". I was hesitant to buy a guitar sight unseen, but I will not hesitate to recommend a MacKenzie-Marr guitar to anyone.

Darren from Stettler

Fri, 07/03/2020 - 08:49

I suppose this short letter should be directed to John Marr as he is the guy I’ve dealt with and he had to deal with my disappointment with the naked lady that I purchased. His response to my problem was directly aimed at making me a happy customer and he accomplished this by getting me a different guitar in a very fair amount of time. Just as I was quick to let my dissatisfaction with my first purchase be known (and I’m very happy with my naked lady now) I feel it quite necessary to praise your company for the absolutely beautiful anniversary tofino that I now own. Now don’t let this balloon your heads too much because I’m no pro but it is a wonderfull sounding instrument that is a dream to play. I can barely put it down and I’ve had to pry it from every pair of hands that I’ve allowed to touch it. A good friend of mine just spent $3500 on a custom built guitar and after playing mine he is not happy with his purchase. I know what his next one will be. Your whole company deserves a pat on the back for the design and workmanship that’s gone into this beautiful guitar. I’ve never seen the original tofino in person but this one has to be a bit of a step up. Anyway thanks so much for this timepassing tool in this time of pandemic. I love it. If I can afford another guitar it’ll be MacKenzie and Marr. Stay safe. Sincerely, Darren LaRose

John from Baltimore

Tue, 06/30/2020 - 13:53

I’m writing to thank you for the extraordinary Tofino X I recently received. It is the most thoughtfully designed and built guitar I’ve ever seen. Neck strap button. The exquisite inlay, x-bracing. The beautiful gold hardware. (Not to mention the mask! Incredibly thoughtful and deeply appreciated.) And the sound… amazing. My Tofino encourages me to play better, to play more, and rewards me for my efforts. I’ve put off buying a new acoustic for years, unable to find an affordable guitar at an acceptable quality level. I’m so glad I found you. I have no reason to ever look at another guitar again. Well, except the Opeongo. Enclosed is a picture of me enjoying my Tofino on the front porch, on a lovely summer eve. Thanks for making that moment possible. Sincerely, John H…

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.