Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Greg from Mount Pearl

Tue, 01/25/2022 - 18:52

I've been playing guitar since 1964, professionally since the early 70s and I'm still playing today. I have owned many guitars...some no name, some big name, and they all make good and bad. In the last number of years, with aging shoulders I have found the smaller body guitars like 000's and OM's to be more comfortable. I bought a Martin 000 and used it regularly on stage for a couple of years. Having an eye for "bling" , when I saw the Tofino X I was intrigued so I read the reviews on it and decided to buy one. Here are my thoughts. First on the downside. Communication with the company could have been better...delivery took longer than I thought it would, but some of that is where I live. I requested the action be set a certain way, as it was advertised, and that isn't the way it came. I brought it to my guitar guy and he did a set up on it. The frets also needed to be dressed and the edges filed, but I've also had much more expensive guitars that needed that right out of the box too. (Remember what I said about good and bad.) I use light stings too...10-47, so not unexpectedly the smaller body guitar doesn't have a big booming sound, but I would have been shocked if it did. Final little disappointment is the tiny print on the inside which says "made in China". I have never associated "quality" with chinese made guitars, but more in that in a minute. I could be mistaken, but I don't think this is a fact that Mackenzie and Marr advertise. Pros...regardless of where this guitar was made, the workmanship is extremely good... actually as good as I've ever seen. Salute to the Chinese Luther. I'm still getting used to the L.R. Baggs Anthem, but that's not the guitar. This is a hard guitar to put down. While not overly loud, it has an absolutely gorgeous tone. Very warm and extremely well balanced. I have since sold my Martin as frankly it's not in the same league with the Tofino X. Depending on how I make out with the L.R. Baggs set up I may or may not use this guitar on stage, but it is the guitar I pick up first...every time. I also own a Taylor T5, Godin A6 Ultra and 2 Adamas, one custom made, and a couple of Gretsch's. At the end of the day, the Tofino X will be my "keeper"...and it was only $1600.00 delivered! All things considered, It's a 5 star guitar.

Basil from New Brunswick

Tue, 01/18/2022 - 14:34

On December 21st, 2009, I placed an order to purchase a Mackenzie and Marr guitar. It was a Tofino, the only guitar they were making at the time. The guitar was recommended to me by my daughter, who was working at CBC on the Dragon's Den show at the time, and this guitar (and company) caused quite a sensation with all the players who worked for CBC. Based on what they told her about the guitar, she phoned me, gave me the story and said to me that I should order one. As a rule, I don't collect guitars. I feel I only need one of each; one acoustic steel-string guitar, one classical guitar, one solid body electric guitar, one vintage acoustic-electric guitar and one solid body electric bass. I had a Martin Guitar and, at the time, felt that it was the only one I needed for its category. However, I was intrigued with the buzz at CBC, the Dragon's Den Show, the concept of the guitar and the company. I felt it was worth giving the Tofino a shot. It came through Canada Post in a huge well-packed box. When I brought it home, unpacked the box and opened the case, it was a joy to see for the first time. The attention to detail was remarkable; it was nice and light. It played beautifully, especially after changing the strings to D' Addario Silk and Steel. All I have added was a pickup, which wasn't an option from the company when I first bought it. Twelve years later, almost to the day, it is still a joy to play. The Tofino is my go-to guitar when I want to learn a new song, experiment with a solo or practice for a gig. The Martin is long gone, I traded it for a much better classical guitar. I would rank my Tofino guitar as it is: 5 out of 5; no regrets on this purchase. Basil Kazakos New Brunswick, Canada

William from Sorrento, BC

Wed, 01/12/2022 - 19:36

Wow!!! Great purchase. I have an acoustic Takamine that I purchased in 1984 and it has a beautiful tone with a natural volume but nothing compared to the Tofino X. Amazing price for this quality guitar and Mackenzie & Marr were exceptionally easy to deal with. Item was "as described" and received in excellent condition. Even the guitar case was impressive. I will gladly recommend Mackenzie & Marr to my music friends. Thanks again!

BRENT from Peterborough

Wed, 01/12/2022 - 19:33

I really love the fact I can get a solid wood instrument for one thousand bucks. My favorite place to play is by the campfire, and I don't want to settle for just an inexpensive "beater" guitar. On top of that Mackenzie and Marr really nailed it when it comes to my preference and what I was looking for with this guitar. This 00 is a joy to play, comfortable with a lightweight so you can really feel the music you are playing. Soundwise the guitar is still very new and still developing character but volume is great and very responsive to my finger picking. Trebles are clear and chimy and the low end has a bit of a gritty sound I really like. Looking forward to hearing this guitar for years to come. It makes an excellent companion guitar. For the record this replaced my Martin 000-15m. Considering adding the Tofino to my collection now as well. Just want to say a special thank you to MacKenzie and Marr for their entrepreneurship, I would highly recommend these guitars to a friend.

Howard from Summerhill

Tue, 01/04/2022 - 12:55

We can all go down rabbit holes with our research and I kept coming back to the site and debating which model was right to try. I decided on the Tofino and was blown away by the packaging, the quality of the case and the first impression upon opening. I have been lucky to have had some high dollar instruments over the years from the names we all know and I can say that the set up out of the box was every bit as good and in some cases, far better than the more recognized brands. We had a couple small issues that were resolved, promptly and professionally in such a refreshing manner that my head is still spinning. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed at twice this price point and even higher with the attention to detail and the beauty of the instrument before it is even played. I have a high end instrument from a company that begins with a "T" and it is exquisite but at the end of the day, I most often reach for my Tofino. John Marr's personal outreach with my minor issues made me feel that I was part of the family - Pull the trigger.

Miguel from GLOUCESTER

Mon, 12/06/2021 - 12:48

I find the Tofino X very comfortable to play chords and strumming. Fingerpicking and arpeggios aren't that comfortable compared to typical classical guitars of wider neck. The sound quality, in my opinion, is comparable to much more expensive guitars. Service is very personalized and friendly; I happened to meet their luthier and he was quite friendly as well as knowledgeable and passionate for guitars.

R W from West Grove

Mon, 12/06/2021 - 12:48

Fantastic sound and playability. I picked it up and played my favorite 12-string songs I hadn’t played in couple of years with ease. Beautiful workmanship.

Ian from Sechelt

Mon, 12/06/2021 - 12:48

This is my second Mackenzie & Marr guitar and I am genuinely delighted with both of them. I wanted a well made small bodied guitar with good string spacing for finger style, and a friendly neck and this one rings all those bells. I love the satin finish, and for the size of it, it has great volume. Also, M & M restrung it to my requirements. Highly recommend these guys and their guitars!

Larry from Blacksburg

Mon, 11/29/2021 - 12:58

I am well pleased with my purchase of a M/M guitar. The fit and finish are impeccable. Playability is excellent. Set up nicely for my heavy strumming and flat picking. Big sound! I had no previous knowledge of this guitar maker, but the attractive price encouraged me to give it a try. Robust return policy gave me confidence that I was protected in case I was disappointed. I’m a happy buyer.

Daniel from Brampton

Tue, 11/23/2021 - 14:17

I love my Ian Tyson Inspiration guitars. Stay in tune best. Plays very well. Sounds awesome. Mackenzie Marr create beautiful instruments. Very much recommend this as high quality guitar of choice, produces great ty sound Valve for the money, I see extremely good Absolutely love my two Ian Tyson Inspiration Mackenzie Marr guitars Hands down great choice of acoustic guitar Best regards Daniel

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.