MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.
2023-05-10
Star Rating: 
5
Robert from San Diego writes:
I am very impressed with the whole process start to finish I bought at least 20 guitars over the years ranging from ovation, Taylor road king Paul, Reed Smith. Washburn, an Fender Tofino x cedar guitar, beautiful clarity and craftsmanship. I would recommend your guitar to anybody the usual things to attend to after receiving such a beauty oil. Nice wipe down. Thank you so much.
2023-05-03
Star Rating: 
5
Craig from LONGWOOD writes:
Received my Dionisio yesterday and thanks to the marketing "hype" my expectations bar was set very high. I own a Martin and two Taylors (among others) and I expected this to be at least in that neighborhood. What I didn't expect was for it to be the Mayor of the neighborhood. This surpasses my Taylors in playability, tone, and most certainly in looks. It's a tie with my Martin except for looks, which the Dionisio wins hands down. The fit and finish is perfect. Intonation - perfect. Tone - well, it's a cedar top, very sensitive, very responsive, more so than spruce, so you have to "lay off" of it a bit, don't overdrive it, let the guitar do the work and it's scary good! I think the most impressive thing for me is the playability. The nut is just a hair smaller than the other instruments mentioned (1 11/16" vs. 1 3/4") but the shape of the neck is...I don't know..."better", although I know that's a personal preference thing. By the way, I put the word "hype" in quotes at the beginning of this on purpose. Because it's not. Hype that is. It's not hype. It's facts. This guitar is 5 stars across the board at twice this price. So yeah...I guess I'm keeping it. Anybody wanna buy a Taylor 324CE?
2023-05-02
Star Rating: 
5
Kelly from Plainview writes:
I recently purchased an Opeongo OO model guitar. I have bought high dollar guitars online before and they were not as carefully packaged as this one. The folks at Mackenzie and Marr made sure that it would arrive in pristine shape. The guitar was built well, it has a nice appearance and it has a great sound. Give these guitars a chance and I don't think y'all will be disappointed. Kelly W., Texas, USA
2023-05-01
Star Rating: 
5
Victor from Auburndale writes:
Upon receiving the 12 string guitar, I tuned it up and immediately could tell, it was a keeper! The vibrant sound of the 12 string was awesome! I have played several songs on it to date and just love the sound!❤️ I play songs on Youtube/FB and did a song for my audience and had many comments saying what a beautiful sounding guitar! Thanks Vic Shumate Auburndale, Fl
2023-04-16
Star Rating: 
5
Ronnie from Arkadelphia writes:
Have had the 12 string for a couple of months now bought in Feb 2023 I was probably the most skeptical buyer you could have didnt leave a review to start with but I can now. Everything you read in the reviews is true. Everyone that hears it says it a songbird, some pros played it and were blown away especially when the found out what it cost. Had a guy from Romania (best acoustic player I've ever heard) play it, he said it was a BMW and his Taylor was a Volkswagen he picked it up and played it like he had owned it for years it bought tears to eyes did me too. I almost passed on this purchase what a huge mistake that would have been. Thanks for being honest guys hard to find that now days
2023-04-05
Star Rating: 
5
PETER from Shorewood writes:
I have been a serious player since 1970, and owned far too many acoustic guitars than any rational person should. Some I had to sell (the poverty of youth), and some I traded away (with a few regrets), but this year I acquired two beautiful MacKenzie & Marr instruments. Let me first comment on the Algonquin 12 string. First, the setup: I am a finger-style player, having studied classical guitar for nine years long ago. Finger-style on a twelve string with the ability to move all over the fingerboard (inversions, overtones, pedal tones), can make a good twelve string become "Magic Music". Over the years I have had a Guild 212 jumbo, a Martin D-35-12, and an exceptional Taylor V-Class instrument. Frankly, only the Taylor had a setup that allow me to both play all over the fingerboard along with great tone from my fingers. That changed with my Algonquin. It is the easiest fingering I have ever experienced on any twelve string, and an absolute delight to play. Despite eight top-line six string guitars, I am first drawn to the Algonquin. Second, the Tone: Most 12 string guitars have fairly good tone in first position. I realize that few 12 string players are playing bar chords in the 7th position, but, I do. The tone needs to be balanced on all strings at all positions on the fretboard. The tone also needs good projection, especially in the upper strings and upper fret positions. The tone sustains itself both at very soft as well as very loud volumes. I found this true whether using a flat pick or strictly my fingers. The Algonquin put itself in a class of 1 on these terms. Next, my thoughts on my new Ian Tyson Inspiration. Being a finger style player, the action needed to be spot on, particularly since I am frequently at the ninth fret and higher. The Tyson delivered. It's playability is right up there with a 25 year old Lowden, a Gibson Parlor, and a custom built Hoffman. I can't give it higher praise than that! The tone and volume dynamics are still there on the 15th through 18th fret. Balance of the tone is important to me; In general I am not a fan of dreadnoughts, as I don't need the "boomy bass" usually there in a Martine D28; I am playing melodies with bass lines, where balance is critical. Once again the Tyson is right there, and the tone is well rounded all over the finger board. What is so amazing is that the Ian Tyson Inspiration delivers musicality that is absolutely equal to instruments in my collection that would cost over $7,000 US to replace. Pretty amazing for the price point of this instrument. Bottom line? No matter which of my collection I chose to play, I ALWAYS include the Ian Tyson (if it wasn't the first choice)! Finally, the response time on any questions or concerns I have had about the instruments has been rapidly and effectively answered and dealt with by the M&M team. I don't think you could go wrong on purchasing either of these incredible instrument. Peter M.
2023-04-05
Star Rating: 
5
Rex from North Little Rock writes:
I received my new M&M Dread last week. Love it. Everything about it speaks quality. It's beautiful. Sounds and plays great. And the Baggs pickup carries through with the tone. I am only an intermediate guitar player and have only played a couple of expensive guitars (so I am not an expert reviewer) but I'll be treating this one as if it were worth 5 times as much. And I suspect someday, it will be.
2023-04-02
Star Rating: 
5
David from Pitt Meadows writes:
First off, what a gorgeous guitar. I bought the Tofino X as a birthday gift to myself and it arrived last week. I’m very happy with this beautifully made instrument and my sessions seem to be getting longer whenever I pick it up. My playing also feels like it’s been elevated just by having this fine guitar at hand. It’s so enjoyable to play. This is my first guitar from MM but it sure won’t be my last. Thanks again MM and crew! I also have to compliment you on the shipping. It played out exactly as promised and the box arrived a day early very well packed, with no dings or marks, all the way across the country. Not bad for $50 bucks! David Bennett Pitt Meadows BC.
2023-03-30
Star Rating: 
5
Vernon from Mesilla Park writes:
The Ian Tyson Inspiration has been a delight from the moment I opened the case. In fact, the case floored me as an included accessory. The instrument is a beautiful meticulously crafted instrument of some of the prettiest woods to be seen. Bolivian Rosewood is gorgeous. Looking over the instrument inside and out, it is evident that much care was taken in the crafting of this guitar. Playing the fretboard is as comfortable as playing my Taylor 814 so no time was spent getting adjusted to it. For the size of the body, I am struck by the lighter weight. Tone-wise it is full but not boomy, with a nicely balanced sound. I'm a very pleased customer. Thank you Mackenzie & Marr!
2023-03-29
Star Rating: 
5
Sanjit from Oakton writes:
I play mostly electrics and semihollow guitars, and have for 30 years. I was looking for a high-quality parlor guitar for practice and small venues. My experience on acoustics is entirely with full-sized ones, and I could never find one which was flexible enough to get great tone for different playing styles. So I was very pleasantly surprised with the Opeongo’s tone for the different styles I like to play. It is crisp and bloomy when pick-strummed, doesn’t sound too boomy or bassy when thumb-strumming, and has really nice presence and body for finger picking. The body is very resonant, and you can really feel it when you do percussive picking. It just has a really balanced tone across the spectrum. Most parlor guitars tend to be 25” scale or shorter, but the 25.5” scale on the Opeongo provides more complex trebles that contribute to a very sweet sound. In terms of action and intonation, after a quarter turn of the truss rod both were quite suitable. In fact, the action is the best I’ve ever played on an acoustic - doing single note runs is only slightly more difficult than on my Heritage semi-hollow. The mahogany and spruce are high-quality, and being partial to open-pore finishes, the finish is for me perfectly minimalist. Fit is excellent, and looks high-quality. All in all, the Opeongo is a guitar that makes me want to play more.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.