Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Reeve from JARVIS BAY

Sat, 10/31/2015 - 15:58

Thanks guys, I know that the order was prolonged... so what I recieved #13 thanks for that in the new 5th EDITION Tofino... sounds amazing.. my daughter loves her Canadian Songwriter...forget Taylor or Martin you provide an amazing product at an amazing price and PERSONAL support - another 6 months until the next purchase - maybe a cutaway..all the best Reeve and thanks for the EVERYTHING you guys rock....btw the next special addition i want #1 LOL

Jack from Franklin

Tue, 10/06/2015 - 16:36

I was fortunate to play Tom's Naked Lady briefly at a concert last spring and fell in love with it. I've been playing mine for almost two months now and wouldn't trade it for Tom's! This guitar has a wide range of tones from bright and sharp to sweet under/overtones. Playing rhythm it is full sounding and lays the background for the others to follow. Playing leads it commands everyone's attention. I find it to be much more versatile than either my HD-35 or OM-21, which I still love. I've just started playing it out and am impressed with the Baggs system. It took about 5 minutes to become facile in making adjustments. I'm extremely happy that I picked this guitar.

Robert from Litchfield Park

Tue, 09/08/2015 - 16:43

I ordered the Tom Rush Signature guitar almost a year ago. I currently own a Martin and a Larrivee guitar. Both have beautiful sound and are a joy to play. When I called to order the Tom Rush guitar, I asked John if, because of no middle man, superior materials, and skillful luthiers, the Tom Rush guitar would be noticeably better in sound and playability. John thought that was a reasonable expectation. Quite frankly, I was skeptical. When I got the guitar and played it, I was impressed. The guitar was set up beautifully and when I compared its sound to the Martin and Larrivee, it did sould better ... better resonance ... richer sound quality ... and the Martin I have is 25 years old. I liked the Tom Rush Signature guitar so much that I just had to have the Naked Lady. It's every bit as good as the Signature guitar and I now reach for one of the two Tom Rush guitars when I sit down in my living room to play. They're the last two guitars I'll ever buy.

MARY from ST-LAURENT

Thu, 07/30/2015 - 16:06

I've tried many high end acoustic guitars over the past few years. I finally decided to try a Tofino, so I purchased one online. Why not? They have a "7 day love it or leave it guarantee". In my opinion, the Tofino is at least as good as, or better than any high- end guitar I've ever tried. The Tofino is possibly the best guitar I've ever played. The feel, the playability and the sound are amazing! I highly recommend the Tofino!

Sarah from Toronto

Tue, 05/19/2015 - 15:41

When I started taking guitar lessons 6 years ago, I didn't have the experience to explore the kind of acoustic guitar I really needed. My husband originally ordered a Tofino for an anniversary gift and due to some unforeseen delivery problems, Mackenzie and Marr offered me an Ian Tyson Ltd. Edition with pickups. I thought this would be my one and only acoustic guitar for life. Fool Me! Anyone passionate about guitars knows that one guitar is never enough! So, one Ian Tyson, one Les Paul Studio, one Baby Taylor later, I found myself searching for the perfect acoustic guitar with comfort and ease of play, with a rich balanced sound. I had already been to several guitar stores and played a few high end acoustics and thought I would be spending in excess of 2 thousand to get the sound and comfort I needed. As luck would have it, the Opeongo was born! So, after talking to John on the phone and listened to the artists play this little beauty, I confidently placed my order. My wish list was realized. What a great guitar!!! The perfect materials and flawless workmanship used to create this small guitar delivers clear balanced acoustic tone weather you play quiet finger style or strum with passion! Everyone that plays guitar has their favourite and when I walk into my music room, my Opeongo is the first one I gravitate to. When you order your guitar from MacKenzie and Marr you will get a high quality guitar with beautiful sound at fraction of the price of a high end brand name guitar.

Donald from Owen Sound

Mon, 03/30/2015 - 16:03

I finally got my Tofino after waiting 5 months. Sometimes things happen and nothing can be done but to wait. I did not realize that Mackenzie and Marr did not have the instruments in stock. That became apparent as soon as they missed the first delivery date. After opening the Cardboard Box and removing the guitar case, I carefully inspected the outside of the case. The case was in pretty good shape with the exception of a small ding on the outside, top. I checked out the guitar and there was no damage or scratches. So Fed-Ex did a great job and the packing by the shipper was adequate. After letting the guitar sit for a few hours to let it get used to its new environment I sat down and played it. It sounds really great. I have been playing it for several days and I will not return it. It is really worth the price. I have guitars that cost a lot more than the Tofino and while they do sound better than the Tofino, it has its own distinct, sweet sound. I had requested that the pick-guard be installed before shipping, but they forgot to do that. I decided not to put it on. I love how it looks without it. One thing I felt irritated by was the lack of a battery installed on the Anthem pick-up. I had to remove the strings to put a battery in. Makes me wonder if they tested it. One last thing, there is no such material as Ebony Plastic. There is Ebony and Plastic, and perhaps Ebony colored Plastic. But, there is no such material as Ebony Plastic. I am hoping to enjoy the Tofino for a long time. We shall see how it is 10 years from now. Regards, Don Holman

Charles from Friendswood

Thu, 01/10/2013 - 15:46

I bought my Ian Tyson model a year ago; so it did not take too much of a leap of faith to order a Naked Lady last week. Naked Lady #14 arrived here in Texas today and is nestled beside Ian and between my D28 and D18. She plays smooth and mellow and is a true beauty. Now I am going to have real problems deciding which to play they are all great. Congrats Mac and Marr you have done yourselves proud. The addition of the safety neck strap in the case is a nice touch. I have never dumped a guitar picking up a case that was not fastened - but I have seen it happen to others.

Sean from Chicago

Mon, 01/07/2013 - 15:51

John and I worked together in a past life and I knew about him starting his guitar shop. As my skills were being upgraded, I thought an upgrade to my guitars were in order. Immediately short listing the Gibson Hummingbird or a 700 series Taylor, I remembered John. Looked him and decided to give his guitars a try...and probably the best decision I made. I picked up a Tom Rush Limited Ed. in Rosewood and an Ian Tyson Limited Ed. Both these guitars are INCREDIBLE! The finish outstanding but the sound is where you really appreciate them. The TR Rosewood feels like a very expensive guitar and booms with equivalent confidence while the Ian Tyson is crisp and a delight to strum. I know you have to take a leap of faith here but in using this review, trust that it's one you need to take. The guitars are worth every penny. John's hand's on service is truly outstanding. He is passionate about his guitars and it shows in their craftsmanship. Only the best woods are used in every Mac & Marr and they shine whether you strum or finger pick. I'm not the greatest guitarist but I sound 10 times better than I did last week! Thanks John and thanks Mac & Marr guitars! Again, Incredible! Wow!

Don from Newport News

Wed, 11/14/2012 - 15:58

She arrived yesterday! After her 4-day trip in a brown truck, # 58 is absolutely gorgeous! Design, fit and finish, attention to detail is impeccable. More than I expected and I expected A LOT! After examining her (drooling involved) I went to my favorite tuning C-G-C-G-C-E and had at her. Beautiful voice, clear and bright on top, mellow middles and a low end to bring tears to your eyes. Great job, gentlemen, she's a winner! Oh, and the other naked lady isn't jealous at all! ;) Don Marcopulos

Jason from Calgary

Sun, 09/16/2012 - 16:30

First impression: Wow! I couldn't wait for my new Tofino to be delivered. In fact, I was waiting at the door when the FedEx guy arrived at 9:00 am and I just put it down after three hours of huge grins! Right out of the (very nice!) case the Tofino impressed me. It's a lovely instrument but as great as it looks, it sounds even better! If you're thinking about buying a new guitar I would strongly recommend the Tofino.

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.