Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I was looking for a non-dreadnought guitar to top off my acoustic collection, but I didn't want to spend a bundle. After doing a lot of online research into various names and models I went for the Tofino---partly on a hunch that it would be a great choice, and partly based on reviews and videos. In any case, I am thoroughly impressed by the tone, craftsmanship, appearance and playability. If I picked this up in a guitar shop with no prior knowledge of M+M instruments, I would venture a guess that this guitar was in the 2K price range. Instead, it was a fraction of that cost. This is a great instrument at a price that defies all appearance and expectation. 


Reveiwed by: steelstringer on 07/28/2016 - 18:48

Opeongo OO

What an absolutely lovely guitar.  First of all the sound is splendid, but I suspect that goes without saying when it comes to a MacKenzie & Marr guitar.  What I really want to talk about is the comfort.  I can just sit anywhere with this guitar and feel really comfortable, even more recently often sitting with it in front of my home office desktop as I consult the www for various songs to play.  To be honest, I don't think I was even aware of the "parlour" sized guitar before I saw the Opeongo.  While other reviewers reassure that the sound of the guitar is loud enough I want to emphasize how nicely it fits with the singing voice of a rather soft-spoken person.  I can actually sing with this guitar without being drowned out!  Buying a MacKenzie & Marr guitar was on my shopping list for maybe 5 years and I'm delighted that my delay coincided with the arrival of the Opeongo.  It was also delightful meeting John Marr!


 


Cheers


Ken Sproul, Toronto


Reveiwed by: ksproul on 07/12/2016 - 15:06

Dionisio Cedar Top Cutaway

I had the privilege to stop by the loft in Montreal and had the pleasure to meet John Mahr, I was also able to try out various models on hand and ended up purchasing a Dionisio. A cutaway with amazing tone and a very light fingering touch. I play it regularly and I usually bring it with me in my travels. When not playing it, it sits next to my Gibsons, Martins, Fender, etc.. Now I have my eye on a naked lady to add to my collection... I recommend M&M guitares to all my musician friends.


Reveiwed by: bob_cormier on 06/01/2016 - 01:07

The 710

I can't believe I waited so long to try a Mackenzie and Marr guitar after seeing that demo with O'Leary on Dragons Den in 2010. 


Wonderful warm tone rings out loud and clear.  Especially impressed with the strong bass notes.  Easy and precise action.  Finish is very impressive too.  Just as advertised, this guitar plays and sounds like a more expensive instrument.  As the tone has already started to open up with playing  I am looking forward to even better things to come. 


Reveiwed by: bronail99 on 05/17/2016 - 20:25

The Tom Rush Naked Lady

I got this guitar in November of 2013....it is still my all time favourite. I have not even bought another guitar since because I keep comparing them to my Lady! I do own five other various guitars from over the years that I still have but I always reach for my Lady every time. I will take one of the older guitars if I go travelling but for home, shows, or recording I only pick up my Lady. My daughter feels spoiled too since I have let her play on it she is no longer satisfied with her guitar haha. I like it so much that I might end up buying a second one when its in my budget after house renovations. I don't know if I will ever have a guitar again that I love as much as her.... 


Reveiwed by: MsManda on 04/20/2016 - 20:13

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

a really fine instrument can enable you to play better, and it's neat that the average listener can hear there's something special going on with this guitar. Very light, easy to play, sounds great recorded, holds tune well, the Baggs pickup system is the best I've had. A real treat to spend time playing it, I'd hate to be without it!

Greg


Reveiwed by: Donna.herman on 03/22/2016 - 14:32

After buying a Tofino guitar in 2015 and being so pleased with it, I started looking at the larger bodied Tom Rush Signature guitar. I have been wanting to get a solid Rosewood guitar for quite a while but really couldn't decide on what to buy. Playing the Tofino made up my mind for me. Seeing the quality of the Mackenzie Marr brand I felt really comfortable ordering one. When I received it I was really pleased!!  The finish on it was excellent and the set up was perfect, no tinkering needed. Side by side with the Tofino they are two impressive looking guitars but two different sounding guitars.  I found the Tom Rush Signature to have a much more "mellow" sound and the Tofino a "brighter" sound.............a perfect pair.  I cannot comment on the electronics as I prefer to play unplugged but playing it unplugged the sound is lovely.  One thing I did notice was when playing the G,B and high E strings on the 14th+ Frets, the sound is clear and pure, not the case with other guitars I have. The only negative is the fret edges are just a tad rough but nothing that detracts from the playability and that could well be caused by the dryness in the house this time of year.  All in all a super guitar and another "keeper".


Thanks again John for quality instruments at affordable prices.  Keep them coming!!


Reveiwed by: rg.dorval on 03/10/2016 - 16:30

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

Guitar arrived perfectly intact. There was a little difficulty and delay due to the fact that the guitar is left handed. I can understand the difficulties in production for left handed models. This is not new to me, I have been living with it all my life. Having said that, the construction and finish of the instrument are flawless. Frets are level and true with no protruding ends. The tone is superb, the cedar top of the Tofino seem to give a slightly warmer tone compared to a spruce top, although it is plenty bright when it needs to be. I really like the less "boomy" sound of this size body compared to a Dreadnought size. The L.R.Baggs Anthem pickup is also superb once one gets the feel of it. The setup and action were perfect as delivered from the shop, also the intonation was spot on. The guitar also performs well with alternate tunings, I tuned it to a C Wahine tuning where the low E string drops to C, this can kill the intonation of most guitars, but the Tofino sounds wonderful in this tuning delivering clear , tight low end. All in all I would recommend this guitar, it is equal or better than many higher priced and "name brand" instruments. Thank you Mackenzie Marr for your excellent service.


Reveiwed by: John.douglascoley on 03/04/2016 - 08:55

The Tom Rush Naked Lady

      Well i guess its best i tell my history with Mackenzie Marr i have in the past purchased first a Ian Tyson  which is just an awesome sounding and playing guitar i the bought a Tom Rush signature series one of the first run it to is a joy to play but my dream was to own a Tom Rush Naked Lady and  in December i was lucky enough to become a very proud owner of this awesome guitar the all around sound just grabs you i jam with a alot of Bluegrass friends and cant wait till the warm weather to come so i can showcase what has become my favourite guitar i do own a few othe guitars  a D45 a D28H and  an older Picador to name a few The Tom Rush Naked Lady is hands down my favourite  besides the sound  it just plain old feels good   i can play it for hours  I tip my hat to Mackenzie Marr and i have to say to anyone afraid to purchase an online guitar do your self a favour and give John and company a choice to please your ears I guess its apparent im a fan   But i dont give praise unless its deserved and i can tell you Its deserved Thnaks To Mackenzie Marr 


 


 


Reveiwed by: higgyone on 02/01/2016 - 11:53

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

After waiting around 8 months to receive the Tofino I finally received the guitar about 3 months ago. Over this time, I took a lot of time to get to know the guitar and now am able to give an adequate review.


First the bad, the first issue was that the guitar took 8 months to get to me when I was expecting it to arrive a lot sooner then this, had I had known this before purchasing the guitar I don't if I would have in the first place but what happens happens and I understand why the guitar took so long to get to me. Next issue is the case, the case does not fit snuggly around the guitar, I was expecting one that would fit a lot closer to the body it still snuggly in the case but it is not custom made for the Tofino. Also it’s a bit cheaply made, I’ve already bent some of the closing clips just from normal use. The next issue is the pick guard that was sent with the guitar, it is an after market stick it on yourself type deal which I don’t mind that much but the guard its self is one I wouldn’t put on any guitar. The pattern looks quite cheesy and the round on the guard that comes pre cut doesn’t line up with the radius of the sound hole or the sound hole rosette. Instead of applying this guard I took the guitar to my local guitar shop to have a professional customized guard fitted because I am one to hit my picks in to the body on down strokes and like to keep the guitar looking spotless. The last issue is that when the guitar arrived the pick up which was supposed to be attached to the inside of the guitar was loose, meaning I had to attach the pick up myself, I am pretty handy when it comes to things like this but who knows what could have happened to the pick up in the shipping process and what kind of damage it did to the inside of the guitar.


                Now to the good, as you will notice the above problems weren’t about the guitar its self but the things that came with the guitar, and I have nothing but good things to say about the guitar. It is a wonderful instrument to play. Picking is meet with a beautiful crispness and every note is clear. Just straight strumming is also wonderful, every note of the chord rings out. I really enjoy the sound as well and after fixing the pick up the guitar sounds amazing plugged in. I have played many gigs with my band “The Caucasian Lifeguards” and those among the crowd with a more musical mind complemented the sound quality of my little guitar. Playing this guitar is a dream and it makes you want to come back, which I find very important. Playing guitar should be something enjoyable and the Tofino makes it that. With all the defects that you first notice when you take it out of the box like the loose pick up, the cheesy pick guard and the fact that you waited 8 months are over shadowed by how incredibly enjoyable this guitar is to play and to listen too. It was money well spent and just at a fraction of the cost of another guitar of the same calibre.   


Reveiwed by: markblydorp on 01/07/2016 - 23:23

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.