Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I had been thinking about getting a Tofino guitar since I first became aware of them several years ago.Finally I took the plunge and ordered one back in the spring. There was a long delay but I got the call about a month ago that they had, at long last, arrived. Fortunately, I live near enough that I was able to go to the "loft", and meet John and check out the guitar.  I have to admit that it was a nice looking instrument and the set up was great. The finish was beautiful and the quality of the wood was excellent. I prefer to play alone, so after a quick check I took it home where I would feel more comfortable.


I've had it for a month now and there never was any question as to whether I would return it after the "play me" week was over. It's just so nice to play. It feels good and sounds good and the more I use it the better is seems to get.  I have never played a $3000 guitar so, unlike others, I have no way of comparing it to that, but I really feel that I got good "bang" for the buck.


Thanks John it was nice meeting you and talking to you and I am still considering taking a cutaway also!!


RG Dorval.


Reveiwed by: rg.dorval on 11/2/2015

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

Thanks guys, I know that the order was prolonged... so what I recieved #13 thanks for that in the new 5th EDITION Tofino... sounds amazing.. my daughter loves her Canadian Songwriter...forget Taylor or Martin you provide an amazing product at an amazing price and PERSONAL support - another 6 months until the next purchase - maybe a cutaway..all the best Reeve and thanks for the EVERYTHING you guys rock....btw the next special addition i want #1 LOL


 


 


 


Reveiwed by: reeve on 10/31/2015

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I finally got my Tofino after waiting 5 months. Sometimes things happen and nothing can be done but to wait. I did not realize that Mackenzie and Marr did not have the instruments in stock.  That became apparent as soon as they missed the first delivery date.


After opening the Cardboard Box and removing the guitar case, I carefully inspected the outside of the case. The case was in pretty good shape with the exception of a small ding on the outside, top.  I checked out the guitar and there was no damage or scratches. So Fed-Ex did a great job and the packing by the shipper was adequate.


After letting the guitar sit for a few hours to let it get used to its new environment I sat down and played it.  It sounds really great.  I have been playing it for several days and I will not return it. It is really worth the price.  I have guitars that cost a lot more than the Tofino and while they do sound better than the Tofino, it has its own distinct, sweet sound.


I had requested that the pick-guard be installed before shipping, but they forgot to do that. I decided not to put it on. I love how it looks without it.  One thing I felt irritated by was the lack of a battery installed on the Anthem pick-up. I had to remove the strings to put a battery in. Makes me wonder if they tested it. One last thing, there is no such material as Ebony Plastic. There is Ebony and Plastic, and perhaps Ebony colored Plastic. But, there is no such material as Ebony Plastic.


I am hoping to enjoy the Tofino for a long time.  We shall see how it is 10 years from now.


Regards,


 Don Holman


Reveiwed by: holman.donald on 10/20/2015

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I've tried many high end acoustic guitars over the past few years.  I finally

decided to try a Tofino, so I purchased one online. Why not? They have a "7

day love it or leave it guarantee".


In my opinion, the Tofino is at least as good as, or better than any high-

end guitar I've ever tried.  The Tofino is possibly the best guitar I've

ever played. The feel, the playability and the sound are amazing!


I highly recommend the Tofino!

 


Reveiwed by: ronhaslam on 10/8/2015

The Tom Rush Naked Lady

I was fortunate to play Tom's Naked Lady briefly at a concert last spring and fell in love with it. I've been playing mine for almost two months now and wouldn't trade it for Tom's! This guitar has a wide range of tones from bright and sharp to sweet under/overtones. Playing rhythm it is full sounding and lays the background for the others to follow. Playing leads it commands everyone's attention. I find it to be much more versatile than either my HD-35 or OM-21, which I still love. I've just started playing it out and am impressed with the Baggs system. It took about 5 minutes to become facile in making adjustments. I'm extremely happy that I picked this guitar.
Reveiwed by: Jack Murray on 10/6/2015

The Tom Rush Naked Lady

I purched a Dionosio 4 years ago and that was the equivalent to drinking. the juice.  I'm a believer.  So when the Lady come out I started to salivate.  It took me a while but I fanally pulled the trigger.  It easily lives up to the glowing reviews.  The volume, tone, and beauty have impressed all of my guitar snob friends.  I've had a Seagull for 20 years and the lady just blows it out of the water, at every level.  Unfortunatly for Mac and Marr, this is the last guitar I will ever buy.  It is that good.


Reveiwed by: angus on 9/16/2015

The Tom Rush Naked Lady

I ordered the Tom Rush Signature guitar almost a year ago.  I currently own a Martin and a Larrivee guitar.  Both have beautiful sound and are a joy to play.  When I called to order the Tom Rush guitar, I asked John if, because of no middle man, superior materials, and skillful luthiers, the Tom Rush guitar would be noticeably better in sound and playability.  John thought that was a reasonable expectation.  Quite frankly, I was skeptical.  When I got the guitar and played it, I was impressed.  The guitar was set up beautifully and when I compared its sound to the Martin and Larrivee, it did sould better ... better resonance ... richer sound quality ... and the Martin I have is 25 years old.  I liked the Tom Rush Signature guitar so much that I just had to have the Naked Lady.  It's every bit as good as the Signature guitar and I now reach for one of the two Tom Rush guitars when I sit down in my living room to play.   They're the last two guitars I'll ever buy.  


Reveiwed by: rmarkq on 9/8/2015

Opeongo OO

When I started taking guitar lessons 6 years ago, I didn't have the experience to explore the kind of acoustic guitar I really needed. My husband originally ordered a Tofino for an anniversary gift and due to some unforeseen delivery problems, Mackenzie and Marr offered me an Ian Tyson Ltd. Edition with pickups. I thought this would be my one and only acoustic guitar for life. Fool Me! Anyone passionate about guitars knows that one guitar is never enough! So, one Ian Tyson, one Les Paul Studio, one Baby Taylor later, I found myself searching for the perfect acoustic guitar with comfort and ease of play, with a rich balanced sound. I had already been to several guitar stores and played a few high end acoustics and thought I would be spending in excess of 2 thousand to get the sound and comfort I needed. As luck would have it, the Opeongo was born! So, after talking to John on the phone and listened to the artists play this little beauty, I confidently placed my order. My wish list was realized. What a great guitar!!! The perfect materials and flawless workmanship used to create this small guitar delivers clear balanced acoustic tone weather you play quiet finger style or strum with passion! Everyone that plays guitar has their favourite and when I walk into my music room, my Opeongo is the first one I gravitate to.
When you order your guitar from MacKenzie and Marr you will get a high quality guitar with beautiful sound at fraction of the price of a high end brand name guitar.
Reveiwed by: slakramer on 5/19/2015

The Canadian Songwriter

This is the best purchase I have ever made the sound truly resonates with that Taylor & Martin quality!! beautiful deep tone with crisp high note clarity that only comes from high quality instrument. I have had it for a week now and just can't put it down. I do plug it in but I love the barefoot acoustic sound even better. 2 Thumbs Up on this one!! on price, sound & workmanship "I noticed my friends had a hint of jealousy", You know the feeling "DAM I want that" with the tight lip anchous look & mmm how much? thing going on. I was a little skeptical at first because of the size and weight, I am use to my 12 string Takamine big body guitar but found it to be more comfortable, more volume, more tone and clarity. I'll would never give up my Takamine, and now my M&M songwriter for its bluegrass picking sound. You will be pleased great purchase. Cheers...
Reveiwed by: phillw53 on 11/14/2014

Opeongo OO

My experience with Mackenzie and Marr started with a pre-order of the Opeongo followed by an agonizing wait. Within a couple days after the guitars arrived in Canada, I met John Marr briefly to pick mine up. He was very flexible scheduling a pickup, just so I wouldn't have to wait an extra day. My first impression was that the case was quite nice. It feels quite robust, is nicely lined on the interior and has a small storage space on the inside. It came with a little key, although it's not a unique key - the 'lock' can be turned with any thin flat object. Visually, the guitar is great. The design, materials and worksmanship are impeccable. The satin finish feels and looks wonderful and is nearly flawless. I say nearly because only by running my fingers over the entire guitar did I find 2 deviations so small that they could only be felt, not seen. The design and finish of the headstock is my favourite part of the guitar. I am not a particularly experienced or adept guitar player, but the moment I picked up the guitar I felt a huge difference. The neck is very comfortable for me - both while playing bar chords and fingerpicking. The action feels good as well - it is very easy to play. This is due in part to the light D'Addario strings that came with the guitar, which definitely sound like a good match. The tone of the guitar is where it really starts to shine. The sound can range from laid-back and smooth when fingerpicking lightly, to vibrant when plucked more aggressively. The sustain is impressive and the and the sound is very rich. While letting an open string ring I could readily pick out individual overtones. Each string can pick up the vibrations from the others and ring slightly, further enriching the tone. The richness in the mid-range is especially appealing to me. I can definitely verify the claim that you can hear the "True Wood" when playing this guitar. The intonation is good. It stays in tune reasonably well - I expect it will improve as the strings are further broken in and the guitar continues to get acclimated to its new environment. The tuners used are very good and comfortable to use as well thanks to the integration on the slotted headstock. Conclusion: I am very happy with the guitar and the service from Mackenzie and Marr. In my hands the Opeongo sounds very good, in the hands of a better guitar player I bet it'll sing.


Reveiwed by: disaac2 on 10/30/2014

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.