Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Ron from WEST KELOWNA

Tue, 06/08/2021 - 21:53

I absolutely love my Tofino X! The quality is Top-Self and second to none. The craftsmanship and finish are superb. The action is smooth and the sound is amazing. I love how the aroma of the wood is almost intoxicating as I play, I find it inspiring. The case that comes with it is also of the highest quality. I'm so grateful I came across MacKenzie & Marr guitars, I couldn't be more pleased and happy with my purchase. I would highly recommend anyone looking for a high-quality, beautiful-looking, amazing rich-sounding instrument, be sure to check out Mac-Marr guitars before looking anywhere else. Thank you, John and Jonathan, for delivering an outstanding hand-crafted guitar at such an affordable price. A loyal customer for life. Cheers!

Michael from Embrun

Tue, 06/08/2021 - 21:49

Fantastic Guitar. Exceeded my expectations. Sounds fantastic.A fantastic looking piece of furniture in our condo. Well worth the money. Sounds as good as a Martin or Gibson Keep up the great product

ERIC from KINGSTON, ON

Thu, 05/13/2021 - 17:19

I recently purchased an Ian Tyson inspired cutaway. It is the most beautiful acoustic that I have ever seen. Everyone who has seen the guitar comments on its beauty. It has a sweet sound and the balance from the high e to the low e blends beautifully. The neck is quite similar to an electric and as it comes equipped with light gauge strings it is very playable. I purchased the Tom Rush Signature dreadnaught #55 back in 2012. It has more bass and volume that the Ian Tyson but doesn't have the same balance. I have gone into music stores and played their high-end guitars. I found none that sounded any better, or as good, as either of my MacKenzie Marr guitars. As it turns out, I have two amazing guitars for far less than than than I would have paid for a mid-level "brand name".

Dick from Fenton

Wed, 04/28/2021 - 10:39

Beautiful guitar. I have several very fine guitars, and the Grand Manan is right there at the top. Workmanship couldn't be any better. I played it yesterday with friends. They each play Martins. One is a 00028 EC, and the other is an OM 42. My new Macmarr made itself proud and drew compliments from my friends. The clarity and definition are amazing. I can't wait to get back at it again today. Thanks to John Marr for all his support and knowledge.

John (Jack) from Millet, Alberta, Canada

Thu, 04/22/2021 - 14:19

I am glad to have this opportunity to review my new guitar from MacKenzie and Marr. There were a few hiccups to begin with ie: late shipping and delivery. I finally tracked down my guitar at the local post office. The problem lay in an incomplete address on the packaging. This, however, does not reflect on the guitar itself. I was very pleased with the quality of workmanshhip and materials of the guitar. The sound is amazing, full and bright. It's a very easy to play instrument. I have not had a 12-string guitar for over 45 years so it's not easy to compare it to others but I have many acoustic and electric guitars and this Algonquin has now become my favourite. The colouring and finish of the woods are amazing. I love the high gloss on the body. The matte finish on the neck is beautiful and allows the left hand to slide smoothly and quickly up and down the neck. I have only plugged it into my small acoustic amp a couple of times but the L.R.Baggs Anthem pickup seems to be a quality and pleasing addition. Overall, this is an amazing guitar and I'm looking forward to years of enjoyment. A great addition to my collection.

Robert from Lacey

Thu, 04/15/2021 - 19:45

Great guitar, well built, great value, also very nice and responsive company, I will own and enjoy this guitar for a long time, thanks Mackenzie & Marr

Gordon from Stittsville

Thu, 04/15/2021 - 16:22

Inspiring! After a number of conversations with John Marr I settled on the Grand Manan. When it arrived and I got through the robust packaging and then got to the incredibly nice case and opened it, I was greeted with a very pretty example of a slope shouldered dreadnaught. I Picked it up, tuned it and then hit and open G and was immediately impressed. I then played it daily for about a week and it got better and better, I then took it to my bench and set it up and as I like my guitars and then played it, the word inspiring came to mind. Now, while this sounds like gushing, I made sure that I added some objectivity to this review. I have a number of other guitars and I spent some serious time comparing and the Mack/Marr Grand Manan continued to Stand out. It’s on the stand closest to my hand and gets played daily. Even my wife thinks this is the nicest acoustic I have. The next acoustic I buy will be another Mack/Marr. Thank you gentlemen.

Lee from Galena

Thu, 04/08/2021 - 08:50

This guitar has a lovely voice: balanced and bright with an excellent sustain. To my hand the neck is sublime as to be invisible. I would describe it as perfect. The wood is everywhere remarkable. The fine old-growth sacrificed to produce this instrument has found a second life as vital as the first. Detailing on a par with the general excellence of this instrument puts it in an odd class where superlatives turn trite. It simply must be played to be appreciated.

Deric from San Diego

Thu, 04/08/2021 - 08:35

Hello, I received my Ian Tyson yesterday and the problem I'm having with it is I can't put it down. It is not only a gorgeous piece but plays and sounds just as wonderful as it looks. Craftmanship is exquisite. The setup is right around where I like it so no need to adjust for now. This is going to age nicely. One other problem is pickguard or no pickguard but I'll eventually get that worked out. Thank you for your honest advertising and keeping your quality at such a high level. Deric

Kevin from Etobicoke

Wed, 04/07/2021 - 10:35

Guitar exceeded my expectations for quality of craftmanship, playability and superb beauty. As my first Mackenzie & Marr purchase my friends & fellow players are jealous of me! Special thanks to Mr. Marr who was awsome helping me with an ordering mistake on my part. Very,very satisfied.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.