fbpx Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Gene from Portland

Wed, 03/24/2021 - 15:38

I made a living as an acoustic guitarist/vocalist for a lot of years. The guitars I use now are mostly for recording, writing and front porch jams. I've bought and sold dozens of guitars over the years, and keep the special ones. I'll be keeping this one. Amazing value. Full sound that should only improve with age. Beautiful attention to detail. Wood binding is gorgeous. The case alone would cost at least $150. Well done, MacMarr.

Bruce from Barrie

Sun, 03/07/2021 - 09:59

This all started with an information request by email. Reply came back on the same Sunday I sent it!! That was the first big surprise - extra special customer service! So I ordered the same day. Next big surprise, the delivery arrived on Tuesday. Less than forty-eight hours from the order time. Biggest surprise of all, this instrument is absolutely beautiful. Beautiful to look at, beautiful to play and beautiful to listen to. Oh yes, the case was also a surprise. I am a big Martin fan. Have too many of them. Each instrument has its own sound, and I admit I am sold on the cedar top sound. It is what I have been missing. Now I still love my Martins, they all play and sound great too. But...... If this sounds like too good to be true, then let me add, I gave this Dionisio to my friend and band mate to play. We go back (just like these guys) to high school days in the late 60's. Bob was so impressed, he has ordered two - yes two instruments from MacKenzie and Marr - a Tofino and an Algonquin twelve string - both arriving in May. I am really excited about this - mostly because I know I will get to play both of them and hear them on a regular basis as we continue to play and sing together. So if you are on the fence wondering if one of these fine - amazingly priced instruments belongs in your hands, I am certain you will be very pleasantly surprised - just like I still am. I am in the process of selling an unplayed Anniversary '68 Gibson Les Paul Custom - so I can order another model (or two)from MacMarr!

Maynard from Channahon

Thu, 03/04/2021 - 11:50

This is a REALLY fine guitar!! Its smaller body makes for more comfortable playing but doesn't seem to give up anything in tone. It's very playable and is beautiful. There's just no downside to owning this guitar.

Philip from Toronto

Thu, 03/04/2021 - 11:49

I have been looking at a new guitar for a while now (years really). The guitars that I gravitated towards - were pushing thousands of dollars. As a casual player I kept pushing off a new purchase. That was until an ad popped up this past year about Mackenzie and Marr guitars. I gave them a look, comparing the specs on the Tofino X against the guitars I was looking at. I read every review I could find. It checked all the boxes on paper at easily half the cost. And with the seven day love it or leave it I thought there was little to lose. The guitar arrived towards the end of January with only a slight delay from the pre-order date. The guitar arrived boxed up in pristine condition. I pulled the case out of the box and let the guitar acclimate for about three hours or so as recommended on the box (it was a cold Toronto day). The guitar case is solid, and a nice touch. Here are my first impressions once I could finally get the Tofino in my hands. The guitar is beautiful. The inlay and binding are stunning. The finish was pristine. I took a look inside the sound hole - this is a very well constructed instrument. It is also lighter than I would have thought. This was a surprise to me but made me realize the difference between a well crafted guitar that wasn't over-glued vs what I have been playing for years that now feels like a solid block of wood. Once strummed this guitar really sings. The set-up was great. And the satin finish on the neck really makes this a playable instrument. But is was the tone and the sustain that really caught my attention. The tone is very well balanced and clear. And the sustain goes on forever. Needless to say I am thrilled with the Tofino. It looks, plays and sounds like an instrument easily two or three times the price. Buying a guitar without being able to strum is is always a risk. Tone can be a very personal thing. However, I find it hard to believe that there are (m)any that would turn this instrument away after playing it for a couple of days. Well done boys!

Steven from Myrtle Beach

Thu, 03/04/2021 - 11:48

The Tofino X is obviously a very well made guitar. Great to look at great to play. I’ve had mine for 8 weeks, and it’s sounding better all the time. You won’t find another guitar at this price point to beat it. There’s no way you’ll return this guitar after the trial period.

Gary from Cranbury, NJ

Tue, 02/23/2021 - 14:11

I could not wait to get my hands on this guitar after reading about it. I was surprised to take it out of the box and find it was more than it was cracked up to be. It is beautiful and the tone is on a par or better than my other guitars that cost 3 to 5 times as much. The setup was very good. I have been playing for 63 years and have played many other acoustic brands and types. This rates among the best I have had the pleasure of playing. I am almost afraid to play it out on my different venues :). A work of art. Hats off to Mackenzie & Marr.

john from cedar knolls

Tue, 02/23/2021 - 14:10

The guitar is a fine instrument. Good workmanship, great sound. Worth the price paid. The only minor issue I had was the fact there was no battery installed requiring me to loosen all the strings and fish for the battery casing, which was attached by velcro to the interior of the guitar.

Bruce from Charlottesville

Tue, 02/23/2021 - 14:10

You can’t go wrong with a MacKenzie and Marr handmade guitar. They feature: 1. Clear communication; 2. An owner who is directly and promptly responsive to questions; 3. Guitars with outstanding price and value; including 4. Tofino X . This is a 5.Beautiful guitar, which is 6. As easy to play as it is beautiful, and 7.Sounds even better than it looks! 8. My Tofie has me already beginning to rationalize buying another MaxKenzie and Marr guitar sometime in late 2021.

Lorn..(Guitar was a surprise gift ) from LYNDEN Ontario

Thu, 02/18/2021 - 15:15

The tone is superb. I am getting readjusted to steel strings and the neck width after 10 years of playing a classical nylon stringed Yamaha. Ian and Sylvia were the first concert l took myself to. I play blues and folk for my own enjoyment. Usually finger picking style. The guitar and amp were a gift from my family. Certainly the best guitar l am likely to own though my 50 year old Framus is pretty good.

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.