Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Douglas from Killeen

Sat, 10/05/2019 - 11:39

Yesterday I received my Ian Tyson / MacKenzie-Marr guitar and case. I played it all night long. The craftsmanship and that sound is incredible! I own several Martins and since I have played the MacKenzie- Marr guitar designed by Ian Tyson, I'm afraid the Martins will have to take a backseat. I sent John Marr an email thanking him for the fine guitar and quick shipping... All the way from Montreal to Killeen Texas in six days, and it arrived in perfect condition. The neck is fast and the tone is loud and full. It has great "ever-last". As we say in Texas, "You can hit a chord, set it in the guitar stand, go in the kitchen and make a sandwich and go back to the guitar and the sound box is still ringing with a rich, round tone"! The case is of a rich quality as well, padded with thick felt, it locks and looks great! I encourage you serious guitar players and collectors, order one. John Marr will take personal care of your order. This is NOT a paid ad...I'm just very excited to have this Ian Tyson model guitar! Douglas Bowman Killeen, Texas.

Gene from Mississauga

Sun, 09/22/2019 - 11:45

First, a big thank-you for shipping the Ian Tyson Inspiration. It's an absolutely lovely instrument that sounds as good as it looks. I'm very pleased with it. Second, could you tell me what brand and gauge strings are on it? I love the sound and when it's time for new strings I'd like to replace them with the same kind. I really don't need seven days to love this instrument. By the second day of playing it I knew it was a keeper. Cheers, Gene

Patrick from Cornwall

Tue, 02/12/2019 - 15:15

I recently received my Tom Rush Naked Lady, and it is everything I expected it to be. Easy to play, a beautiful, rich, chimey sound that's also quite booming. I normally play with a pick but for the first day I just used my fingers and was very impressed by the sounds that I could make using just my fingertips and mostly chewed off fingernails. Ha! When I finally decided to use a pick, the bells chimed out even more. You don't have to strum or pick hard to be heard on this one. I went through my whole repertoire up and down the neck and hit every note. It's a fun guitar to play, you just don't want to put it down. As for looks, you can spend hours just looking at it, (and I'm not solely talking about the neck inlay). It is just gorgeous. From the high-altitude cedar top to the rosewood sides and back, to the tuning buttons. John Marr couldn't be more accommodating either. He made sure I was happy with my purchase and went the extra mile. I have Gibsons, I've played Martins and Taylors, but this is something different. Something unique. Thank you.

R W from Center Strafford

Mon, 01/07/2019 - 15:18

I have been a Tom Rush fan since 1962 and am familiar with his original naked lady guitar and it’s demise. When I read about the limited edition Tom Rush Naked Lady guitar (TRNL) available from MacKenzie & Marr in Tom’s recent newsletter, I immediately went online and ordered one as a Christmas gift for myself. I received it the week before Christmas and can honestly say I cannot remember being more pleased with a Christmas present. Spoiler alert: I purchased my first Martin guitar over fifty years ago and presently own eight. My #77 TRNL is an exceptional value and of equal quality and performance when compared to much more expensive guitars from the major manufacturers. The action is excellent and the combination of beautiful tonewoods provide brightness and balance with a bass response that is not overpowering. I no longer plug in, so I cannot comment on the Baggs electronics, but if Tom likes them, that is good enough for me. I like the hard shell case and the combination lock (if I can remember how to set it) and the keyed lock which I assume meets TSA standards for travel purposes. To sum it up, thank you M&M fo my TRNL!s

Maynard from Channahon

Sat, 01/05/2019 - 15:22

This is a FINE guitar. I've been a Tom Rush fan for decades and know he doesn't do a lot of endorsements, so I took notice when Tom endorsed this guitar. It came out of the case beautifully set-up ready for tuning & play. I usually favor Elixir strings, so we'll see how the D'Addario's do longer term. Aside from the intricate inlay on the neck, this guitar come with several upgrades that the Tom Rush Signature Dreadnought doesn't have, most especially the High Altitude cedar top. The tone & volume are both outstanding. I have a couple of Martin's and a couple of Larrivee's that I really like, but the Naked Lady has easily become the best of the ones I have.

Allin from Clearwater

Sat, 01/05/2019 - 15:20

I've had my Naked Lady for a bit over a month now, and it is my daily 'go to' guitar. Right out of the box it was my favorite to play...great sound, OMG playability, beautiful. I host a monthly song circle...the musicians at it last month all took turns playing it and loved what it gives them. I'll continue to use two Martins for specific purposes...one stays tuned to open G...but the Naked Lady is played every day.

Gary from Flagstaff

Thu, 06/28/2018 - 14:36

Let me first discuss my experience in purchasing a MacKenzie and Marr Dionisio guitar, and then discuss the attributes of the guitar itself. In early 2016 I purchased an LTP Dionisio (in MacKenzie & Marr lingo, an LTP instrument is “less-than-perfect,” and sold at a discounted price). Early on, I noticed one of the tuning machine knobs was falling apart. Upon emailing M & M I reached one of the owners(!), John Marr, who was very apologetic that somehow the guitar had been shipped with older knobs (which apparently suffered this problem). John immediately sent me a new set of knobs which were easily installed, and are working fine. The guitar did have some fret buzz, but I figured that could be rectified with a routine setup at my local, trusted luthier. However, upon taking the guitar in, my luthier determined that the fret buzz arose not from a simple adjustment, but a twisted neck – a serious issue that requires major repair, or replacement of the instrument. At this point I grew concerned – I live in Arizona, while MacKenzie and Marr is a Canadian company, without retail dealers. If M & M was a less than reputable company, they could easily dismiss my concerns, it would not be worth me pursuing the problem across an international boundary, and I would be left with some very expensive firewood. I returned the guitar to M & M, hoping for the best. John wrote back saying that they had inspected the guitar, that the neck was indeed twisted, that this was the first time they had run across this problem, and that they would be sending me out a replacement guitar at their expense. I was greatly relieved, and impressed, that they did the honorable thing. Indeed, John sent me a *first-quality* (non-LTP) replacement Dionisio to compensate me for my troubles. Yes, the guitar I purchased was defective. But even new iPhones and Toyotas can occasionally have problems. My local luthier told me that *all* guitar manufacturers – Gibson, Martin, whomever – sell a few guitars with twisted necks. The important point is not my purchase of a defective instrument, but MacKenzie and Marr’s response as a company – a company I now trust and would do business with again. Regarding the instrument itself, it has become my “go-to” standard guitar (i.e., non- baritone, non-resonator). I find that guitar reviews sometimes sound a bit like wine reviews -- if you can detect all the supposed nuance and subtlety in a glass of wine, or a guitar, great, but I don’t think I can. I do, however, know what I like, and I like the Dionisio. But let me relate what others have said about my Dionisio. I play original, solo, singer-songwriter material. I recently played the Tucson Folk Festival, and the Dionisio was my “standard” guitar for the 30-minute set. Before the festival, my trusted local luthier set up the guitar, including installing a new, bone nut with slightly wider string spacing (I've done this on many of my guitars -- like many fingerstyle players, I prefer the wider spacing). These are quality, experienced luthiers whom I have dealt with for years. When I picked up the guitar, the guy who had done the work was almost raving at what a nice guitar it was! He said that he and another guy in the shop just loved playing it! He even joked around that they would like to rent it from me sometime (actually, I think he was only *half* joking). I've never had anything like such a reaction before from these luthiers, despite the many guitars of mine that they've worked on. Also in preparation for the festival, I purchased a Fishman humbucking soundhole pickup for the guitar (I had purchased the guitar with the standard, baseline Fishman Sonotone pickup). Now, please realize that the Tucson Folk Festival is a quality event, and the sound engineers are experienced, competent people. The sound engineer at my stage was a guitar player himself, and performed a set at the festival. After my first couple songs with the Dionisio, the sound engineer *stopped me between songs,* and (with the audience listening!) asked what kind of guitar I was playing -- because, he said, "it sounds ridiculously good." Yup. Those were his exact words: "ridiculously good." Now, the pickup (and, I hope, my playing!) could have had something to do with that assessment. Still, lots of players no doubt had good pickups in their guitars, and lots of them are good players. But despite watching a number of performers play with this particular sound engineer, I never saw him make comments to any of the performers during the performance. I said to him (again, this was between songs) that it was a Canadian guitar, and I would show it to him after my set. When I did so, he seemed certain it was a custom-built guitar, made in Canada. When I said No, it's Chinese, he said "No way!" Yes ... way. Anyway, that's high praise for the Dionisio, and from people who know what they're talking about. There are countless wonderful acoustic guitar choices out there. I can’t say what others should buy, but I’m very happy with my Dionisio.

Braden from Conway

Thu, 05/10/2018 - 00:00

Have had my Dionisio now for over two years. Have owned a 1970 D-28 for many years (30...40+..,yikes) which I have been very pleased with, but was looking around for a decent cutaway, as I like to play up the neck a bit. Was checking out a Tom Rush concert locally and read he was playing a new "Naked Lady" made by MacKenzie and Marr. Did a little research and found the Dionisio. It seemed a little sketchy at first buying a guitar sight unseen. But then Tom Rush seems so trustworthy. Would my old New Hampshire folk hero steer me wrong? Well, he didn't. As hard as it is to admit, it's now my go to guitar. This is a very attractive, playable, (action may even be a little better than the Martin's)guitar. It hangs on my wall where it's most accessible (humidified). I still love my Martin, really I do, but it sleeps a lot these days, (I figure it's curing). The Donisio is a really good guitar, at least mine is, and I'm glad to have it. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another guitar from M&M. They seem like an upright company, with a good quality, very reasonably priced product, with service that seems kind of down homey, especially for people I've never seen and who live in another country. And thanks Tom, you were instrumental in helping me through my love life in high school and now you steered me toward a really nice guitar, I owe ya. Hard to ask for more than that from anybody. B. Mac Mt. Washington Valley, NH

Aaron from Hudson's Hope

Tue, 01/30/2018 - 15:24

My Naked Lady arrived a few days ago, all I have to say is where has this geeetar been my whole life. OMG wow. I've played many high end guitars and this my friends tops them all. Bar none. Amazingly deep full sounding with lots of undertones, and clean note separation. Also the harmonics it produces are second to none!!!! Great company to deal with too. Talked to John over the phone and he is very honest. I will b buying more from these guys for sure. Keep up the great work.

Michelle from Brandon

Sun, 12/03/2017 - 13:51

My partner bought me a Tofino for my birthday and I love it! The fretboard is easy to maneuver..nice low action on the strings and the sound is unbelievable, compared to the other 6 acoustics I own. Thank-you Mackenzie and Marr for creating solid quality at a reasonable price!!

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.