Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

The Tom Rush Naked Lady

      Well i guess its best i tell my history with Mackenzie Marr i have in the past purchased first a Ian Tyson  which is just an awesome sounding and playing guitar i the bought a Tom Rush signature series one of the first run it to is a joy to play but my dream was to own a Tom Rush Naked Lady and  in December i was lucky enough to become a very proud owner of this awesome guitar the all around sound just grabs you i jam with a alot of Bluegrass friends and cant wait till the warm weather to come so i can showcase what has become my favourite guitar i do own a few othe guitars  a D45 a D28H and  an older Picador to name a few The Tom Rush Naked Lady is hands down my favourite  besides the sound  it just plain old feels good   i can play it for hours  I tip my hat to Mackenzie Marr and i have to say to anyone afraid to purchase an online guitar do your self a favour and give John and company a choice to please your ears I guess its apparent im a fan   But i dont give praise unless its deserved and i can tell you Its deserved Thnaks To Mackenzie Marr 


 


 


Reveiwed by: higgyone on 02/01/2016 - 11:53

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

After waiting around 8 months to receive the Tofino I finally received the guitar about 3 months ago. Over this time, I took a lot of time to get to know the guitar and now am able to give an adequate review.


First the bad, the first issue was that the guitar took 8 months to get to me when I was expecting it to arrive a lot sooner then this, had I had known this before purchasing the guitar I don't if I would have in the first place but what happens happens and I understand why the guitar took so long to get to me. Next issue is the case, the case does not fit snuggly around the guitar, I was expecting one that would fit a lot closer to the body it still snuggly in the case but it is not custom made for the Tofino. Also it’s a bit cheaply made, I’ve already bent some of the closing clips just from normal use. The next issue is the pick guard that was sent with the guitar, it is an after market stick it on yourself type deal which I don’t mind that much but the guard its self is one I wouldn’t put on any guitar. The pattern looks quite cheesy and the round on the guard that comes pre cut doesn’t line up with the radius of the sound hole or the sound hole rosette. Instead of applying this guard I took the guitar to my local guitar shop to have a professional customized guard fitted because I am one to hit my picks in to the body on down strokes and like to keep the guitar looking spotless. The last issue is that when the guitar arrived the pick up which was supposed to be attached to the inside of the guitar was loose, meaning I had to attach the pick up myself, I am pretty handy when it comes to things like this but who knows what could have happened to the pick up in the shipping process and what kind of damage it did to the inside of the guitar.


                Now to the good, as you will notice the above problems weren’t about the guitar its self but the things that came with the guitar, and I have nothing but good things to say about the guitar. It is a wonderful instrument to play. Picking is meet with a beautiful crispness and every note is clear. Just straight strumming is also wonderful, every note of the chord rings out. I really enjoy the sound as well and after fixing the pick up the guitar sounds amazing plugged in. I have played many gigs with my band “The Caucasian Lifeguards” and those among the crowd with a more musical mind complemented the sound quality of my little guitar. Playing this guitar is a dream and it makes you want to come back, which I find very important. Playing guitar should be something enjoyable and the Tofino makes it that. With all the defects that you first notice when you take it out of the box like the loose pick up, the cheesy pick guard and the fact that you waited 8 months are over shadowed by how incredibly enjoyable this guitar is to play and to listen too. It was money well spent and just at a fraction of the cost of another guitar of the same calibre.   


Reveiwed by: markblydorp on 01/07/2016 - 23:23

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I had been thinking about getting a Tofino guitar since I first became aware of them several years ago.Finally I took the plunge and ordered one back in the spring. There was a long delay but I got the call about a month ago that they had, at long last, arrived. Fortunately, I live near enough that I was able to go to the "loft", and meet John and check out the guitar.  I have to admit that it was a nice looking instrument and the set up was great. The finish was beautiful and the quality of the wood was excellent. I prefer to play alone, so after a quick check I took it home where I would feel more comfortable.


I've had it for a month now and there never was any question as to whether I would return it after the "play me" week was over. It's just so nice to play. It feels good and sounds good and the more I use it the better is seems to get.  I have never played a $3000 guitar so, unlike others, I have no way of comparing it to that, but I really feel that I got good "bang" for the buck.


Thanks John it was nice meeting you and talking to you and I am still considering taking a cutaway also!!


RG Dorval.


Reveiwed by: rg.dorval on 11/02/2015 - 16:08

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

Thanks guys, I know that the order was prolonged... so what I recieved #13 thanks for that in the new 5th EDITION Tofino... sounds amazing.. my daughter loves her Canadian Songwriter...forget Taylor or Martin you provide an amazing product at an amazing price and PERSONAL support - another 6 months until the next purchase - maybe a cutaway..all the best Reeve and thanks for the EVERYTHING you guys rock....btw the next special addition i want #1 LOL


 


 


 


Reveiwed by: reeve on 10/31/2015 - 00:23

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I finally got my Tofino after waiting 5 months. Sometimes things happen and nothing can be done but to wait. I did not realize that Mackenzie and Marr did not have the instruments in stock.  That became apparent as soon as they missed the first delivery date.


After opening the Cardboard Box and removing the guitar case, I carefully inspected the outside of the case. The case was in pretty good shape with the exception of a small ding on the outside, top.  I checked out the guitar and there was no damage or scratches. So Fed-Ex did a great job and the packing by the shipper was adequate.


After letting the guitar sit for a few hours to let it get used to its new environment I sat down and played it.  It sounds really great.  I have been playing it for several days and I will not return it. It is really worth the price.  I have guitars that cost a lot more than the Tofino and while they do sound better than the Tofino, it has its own distinct, sweet sound.


I had requested that the pick-guard be installed before shipping, but they forgot to do that. I decided not to put it on. I love how it looks without it.  One thing I felt irritated by was the lack of a battery installed on the Anthem pick-up. I had to remove the strings to put a battery in. Makes me wonder if they tested it. One last thing, there is no such material as Ebony Plastic. There is Ebony and Plastic, and perhaps Ebony colored Plastic. But, there is no such material as Ebony Plastic.


I am hoping to enjoy the Tofino for a long time.  We shall see how it is 10 years from now.


Regards,


 Don Holman


Reveiwed by: holman.donald on 10/20/2015 - 10:23

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I've tried many high end acoustic guitars over the past few years.  I finally

decided to try a Tofino, so I purchased one online. Why not? They have a "7

day love it or leave it guarantee".


In my opinion, the Tofino is at least as good as, or better than any high-

end guitar I've ever tried.  The Tofino is possibly the best guitar I've

ever played. The feel, the playability and the sound are amazing!


I highly recommend the Tofino!

 


Reveiwed by: ronhaslam on 10/08/2015 - 16:32

The Tom Rush Naked Lady

I was fortunate to play Tom's Naked Lady briefly at a concert last spring and fell in love with it. I've been playing mine for almost two months now and wouldn't trade it for Tom's! This guitar has a wide range of tones from bright and sharp to sweet under/overtones. Playing rhythm it is full sounding and lays the background for the others to follow. Playing leads it commands everyone's attention. I find it to be much more versatile than either my HD-35 or OM-21, which I still love. I've just started playing it out and am impressed with the Baggs system. It took about 5 minutes to become facile in making adjustments. I'm extremely happy that I picked this guitar.
Reveiwed by: Jack Murray on 10/06/2015 - 14:41

The Tom Rush Naked Lady

I purched a Dionosio 4 years ago and that was the equivalent to drinking. the juice.  I'm a believer.  So when the Lady come out I started to salivate.  It took me a while but I fanally pulled the trigger.  It easily lives up to the glowing reviews.  The volume, tone, and beauty have impressed all of my guitar snob friends.  I've had a Seagull for 20 years and the lady just blows it out of the water, at every level.  Unfortunatly for Mac and Marr, this is the last guitar I will ever buy.  It is that good.


Reveiwed by: angus on 09/16/2015 - 09:22

The Tom Rush Naked Lady

I ordered the Tom Rush Signature guitar almost a year ago.  I currently own a Martin and a Larrivee guitar.  Both have beautiful sound and are a joy to play.  When I called to order the Tom Rush guitar, I asked John if, because of no middle man, superior materials, and skillful luthiers, the Tom Rush guitar would be noticeably better in sound and playability.  John thought that was a reasonable expectation.  Quite frankly, I was skeptical.  When I got the guitar and played it, I was impressed.  The guitar was set up beautifully and when I compared its sound to the Martin and Larrivee, it did sould better ... better resonance ... richer sound quality ... and the Martin I have is 25 years old.  I liked the Tom Rush Signature guitar so much that I just had to have the Naked Lady.  It's every bit as good as the Signature guitar and I now reach for one of the two Tom Rush guitars when I sit down in my living room to play.   They're the last two guitars I'll ever buy.  


Reveiwed by: rmarkq on 09/08/2015 - 23:10

Opeongo OO

When I started taking guitar lessons 6 years ago, I didn't have the experience to explore the kind of acoustic guitar I really needed. My husband originally ordered a Tofino for an anniversary gift and due to some unforeseen delivery problems, Mackenzie and Marr offered me an Ian Tyson Ltd. Edition with pickups. I thought this would be my one and only acoustic guitar for life. Fool Me! Anyone passionate about guitars knows that one guitar is never enough! So, one Ian Tyson, one Les Paul Studio, one Baby Taylor later, I found myself searching for the perfect acoustic guitar with comfort and ease of play, with a rich balanced sound. I had already been to several guitar stores and played a few high end acoustics and thought I would be spending in excess of 2 thousand to get the sound and comfort I needed. As luck would have it, the Opeongo was born! So, after talking to John on the phone and listened to the artists play this little beauty, I confidently placed my order. My wish list was realized. What a great guitar!!! The perfect materials and flawless workmanship used to create this small guitar delivers clear balanced acoustic tone weather you play quiet finger style or strum with passion! Everyone that plays guitar has their favourite and when I walk into my music room, my Opeongo is the first one I gravitate to.
When you order your guitar from MacKenzie and Marr you will get a high quality guitar with beautiful sound at fraction of the price of a high end brand name guitar.
Reveiwed by: slakramer on 05/19/2015 - 15:41

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.