Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Deric from San Diego

Thu, 09/30/2021 - 12:03

I've been in possession of my Dionisio for one week now and it has at least 25 hours worth of play. Having received my Ian Tyson earlier in the year I had no reservations ordering my second Mackenzie & Marr guitar. My Ian Tyson is pretty much flawless in everyway and my Dionisio arrived in the same condition with a very nice setup, medium low action and intonates as good as you could ask for. The quality of materials and the craftsmanship of their luthiers is second to none. These instruments play and sound beautiful. I've put a Riverboat on my bucket list. Thank you John and Co. for keeping quality and customer service at a high level.

Robert from League City

Thu, 09/30/2021 - 11:14

I have had this guitar for well over a month now, and it continues to grow on me. It is a beautiful guitar, and the craftsmanship is top notch. It has a very sweet voice, great highs and mids, but a decent bass response as well. I would put it up against a lot of more expensive guitars. I expect many years of playing pleasure with this one. Very glad that I took the leap of faith and purchased one.

Ron from South Riding

Thu, 09/30/2021 - 08:15

Nice guitar, though smaller than I am used to as a D-28 player for decades. The size difference also translates to less bottom end and a bit less volume. I'm not sure if some of that may also be the red cedar top. I have only placed spruce until now, but the top does look great, as does the rest of the woodwork. Strings seem heavy, so I plan to change them to at least one size lighter. Action arrived a bit high for me, but I'm comparing it to a $5K Martin. Other than that, I wish I had sprung for the pickup. Maybe on the next one!

Dan from Stephenville

Thu, 09/30/2021 - 08:12

Well made, very beautiful instrument. The sound is magnificent! The guitar could easily sell for twice the price. I highly recommend Mackenzie and Marr Guitars Even though the company offers the opportunity to return the guitar, i am definitely keeping mine! Thank you for the privilege of owning a wonderful instrument!

Thomas DIONISIO from HOHOKUS NJ 07423

Thu, 09/30/2021 - 07:56

I PURCHASED "DIONISIO" GUITAR FOR MY GRANDSON 17TH BIRTHDAY.....HE PLAYS IT EVERYDAY AND TAKES LESSONS EVERY WEEK...HE ENJOYS THIS BEAUTIFUL GUITAR EVERYDAY!!

GEORGE from ANCRAM

Wed, 09/29/2021 - 10:01

Wow!! I am blown away. I received my Dionisio on October 4th. This guitar is absolutely beautiful on every level. It's everything they say it is. If I didn't know any better I'd guess the price would be at least $3000 or more.The Cedar and Mahogany woods are gorgeous and it sounds AMAZING!! The set up was perfect. In my time I've played and have owned many guitars. Martin, Guild and more specifically aGibson J45. The Dionisio stands toe to toe with every one of them. Last but not least customer service was superb. This guitar is truly the find of the century for me. A very big thanks to M&M for making such high quality guitars at affordable prices. Great job M&M.

Alan from Toronto

Fri, 09/10/2021 - 13:43

Some people may be reluctant to buy a guitar sound-unheard, as it were, but that is exactly how I have purchased all of my guitars as I do not want a guitar that has been played by anyone and everyone in a guitar store. This guitar is great and I will buy another M&M guitar down the road.

Rick from EASTON, MD USA

Tue, 08/24/2021 - 12:17

The Opeongo exceeded my highest expectations. The small body/12 frets clear design is perfect for fingerstyle; the guitar is light and well balanced to hold. I was surprised by the complexity of the tone, the sustain and overtones. Excellent worksmanship apparant in the wood bound neck, nearly invisable.

John from Cumberland

Tue, 08/17/2021 - 12:26

The very first comment I have for this company is to praise the outstanding service. I purchased an Opeongo recently and had an issue with the guitar. Having purchased the guitar “sight unseen”, I was skeptical on how this issue would be resolved. Within hours of receiving the instrument and discovering the issue, I called the company. I spoke with John Marr directly and explained the issue to him. He immediately arranged to have the instrument looked at the very next day. He assured me if there was a problem with the instrument would be fixed on site or that if it could not be resolved immediately, it would be replaced. To be honest, that night I was questioning myself about having purchased a guitar without trying it first. And now there was an issue with the guitar. After thinking about the situation I was pretty sure I was going to return the guitar the next day when I met with the luthier. As the company has a “love it or leave it” policy. The next day I met with the Luthier from M&M a very knowledgeable, polite, friendly fellow and is truly an asset to their company. He inspected the guitar and came to the conclusion that it could not be repaired on site and had to be returned for repair. He had, along with his tools, brought a brand new Opeongo guitar just in case he could not repair the one that I had received the day before. As I mentioned earlier, I was just simply going to return the guitar. But since the Luthier had brought another Opeongo and I hadn’t had the opportunity to try one as the first one had issues, I decided to try the new one. It was set up just the way I like and the playability was excellent. So I decided to keep the new one and give it an honest try. Once the Luthier had left I went over the guitar with a fine tooth comb. Fit and finish are excellent A +. The matte finish is very appealing to me. Size and weight are perfect for me. Grover tuning machines are very smooth. The sounds, highs and lows are second to none. I love the sound ! I started playing the guitar and just couldn’t put it down ! What a fun guitar to play. This is my guitar to keep !! In conclusion, I would not hesitate to purchase another instrument from Mackenzie & Marr. They have an excellent product. The customer service is the best I have ever had or seen. A VERY happy customer John (Admin comments: The reviewer did not mention the name of the luthier. He's Jerry Greenberg. He's a key member of our team. Jerry is available to do work for individuals and can be reached at (613)636-1094.

Douglas from Killeen

Mon, 08/02/2021 - 14:08

The Algonquin 12 string arrived in flawless condition. It looks and sounds just great.The Baggs PU was installed but the end that holds the battery needed to be taped down, so I took care of that. I plugged it in, made the adjustments on the insert. I am very pleased. The cases is suitable for traveling with no worries. Thank you, MacKenzie and Marr. I already owned the Ian Tyson model 6 string with the venetian cut-away and its my baby. But I have taken the 12 string out on-stage and its a hit! I have been playing since 1968. I already own a Martin SPD 6string, a 1972 Martin D 28 and a 1972 Martin D 41. But the Mac's are at the top of my list. Once again, a HUGE Thank You!

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.