Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Kevin from Roseburg 97470

Wed, 11/17/2021 - 22:21

Such a sweet guitar! Worth every minute of the wait and every dollar spent . Fit and finish are way way more than expected for the price range. It beats my original Taylor 12 in playability and sound. Thanks guys

David from Altoona

Wed, 11/17/2021 - 21:45

Probably best $1100 guitar I have seen and played. I have 5 12 string guitars now and have sold/given away many more. The most important feature is the sound. Each string strummed sings independently and harmonizes perfectly with rest with “no muddiness” in the middle that you get with cheaper guitars. This stays in tune almost perfect with great tuners. Beautiful to look at and admire. Sounds great when plugged in. You will not be disappointed.

Rodney from Georgetown

Wed, 11/17/2021 - 21:41

The GOOD, the less than good, the really great. After the 4 month wait, finally received the Ian Tyson Inspiration. The Good: Beautiful woodwork, good action, excellent case, well packaged and arrived intact and unscathed by UPS and multiple other shipping adventures. The Lass than Good: Was missing the nylon tool to adjust the front/back balance on the Anthem pickup system. Contacted L.R. Baggs and they are sending one via post. Also was expecting an unattached clear pick guard, was not included. If I decide to put a pick guard on will source via internet. There is one blemish on the guitar......a chip in the finish at the edge of the cable plug-in/strap knob. The fitting is secure and the blemish is in a spot that is invisible when the strap is in place. Not a biggie, but just wanted to give a full, honest review. Contacted John and he said a clear pick guard is on its way and that compensation will be provided for the chipping at the strap peg. The REALLY GREAT: The sound!!!! What a live, balanced sound. For a "green" guitar, this amount of resonance and purity of tone are amazing and foretell of even more wonderful sounds as the guitar matures and seasons in. Have been playing the guitar for a month or so in rehearsal and performance and it is indeed opening up and sounding fantastic! Well done MacMarr!!!

John from Riverside

Wed, 11/17/2021 - 21:34

There are few dreadnaught guitars which are not simply banjo killers.  Joni had one.  So did Judy, but they are rarities.  With most the tone is just not tame or well balanced.  For accompaniment, they are not the best choice for a singer/songwriter. C.F.'s favorite guitar was a 00.  There were many nice old J model Gibsons like Buffy's but these smaller guitars, like the 00, didn't respond well to being redesigned for heavier strings.  The Martin F/M/J/0000 is a good choice but it tends to err to being overbuilt and somewhat undersized.  The old Martin F guitars which were converted to flattops were deeper with VERY rounded backs. If you sing and play well, the question becomes "where do I find a guitar which can accompany my voice?" The Tyson MacKenzie and Marr answers that question very forcefully. Pretty is nice.  If bling make you or audience happy, the Tyson is an elegant 40 style pearl guitar with an exceptional rosette.  Too bad the audience can't see the sides and back of Bolivian rosewood!  The sapwood back center may not please everyone.  Mine is a skunk, not a chevron this time and it is beautiful!  The top is wood it die for. The Venetian cutaway is something new to me.  I really can play up there?  Yes! The neck is familiar, comfortable, matte finished for speed and topped with open gear pegs - a favorite, The sound is authoritative but not overpowering.  It flatpicks beautifully and fingerpicks easily.  It doesn't BOOM but could hold it's own in any setting. I wonder why I am waiting for my Riverboat?  There are still banjoes prowling the world.  I can sing duets and trios but fo being alone with a mic, I'll take the Tyson.

Orlando from Mastic

Wed, 11/17/2021 - 20:16

A beautiful and affordable guitar that fulfills all the wishes for a great 12 string. From day 1 I was blown away and I could not put it down. Now it is one of my top three go to guitars for strumming and funning. Could not have asked for a better axe.

Carl from Olympia

Wed, 11/17/2021 - 17:07

I'm an experienced player, home studio owner, producer and singer songwriter. Over the 50 years I've been seriously engaged with these activities, I've played a wide variety of guitars and I own a variety of acoustics that cost me anywhere from $80 to $4,000. Guitars strike me as a personal choice, I'm not sure what I can say that will help anyone decide, but I can tell you why the Algonquin 12 works for me. 1) It works for my voice. I can sing what I've previously written and it will effortlessly support my voice. The only other acoustic guitar that I have that works as well is a six-string Goodall that cost me $4,000, used. 2) It inspires me to write. When I play it, I find a wide variety of intriguing sounds that lead me in new directions and because it supports my voice, I'm able to easily follow up on what I'm hearing by singing against this new palette. 3) It records extremely well. Acoustic guitars can be difficult - either too "boomy" or lacking in body. This guitar makes it easy. Again, the only other guitar I have in this category is the Goodall. 4) It's easy to play. It has a clear voice, stays in tune, has easy action and is way less temperamental that the other 12 strings I've owned or played. I'm so used to working harder on an acoustic 12 string, particularly on the Martin 12 string this instrument replaced, that it took me a couple of minutes to find my bearings. 5) I can stop looking for a new 12-string. About 45 years or so ago I played a Martin 12 string that I couldn't afford, the memory of which became the yardstick against which all other 12 strings have been measured. With the Algonquin 12 I've finally put that ghost to rest. To everyone who made this possible, please accept my sincere thanks. One more thing - John was wonderful to work with when the shipping company mangled my well packed guitar. Guitars are personal and hard to recommend, but good service is easy. I've never had someone on the other end of the phone show the level of care and respect for my emotional well-being as John did. If you are worried about after sales service, I can ease your mind on that count.

Christopher from Tacoma

Wed, 11/17/2021 - 13:18

This instrument is beautifully built, with a flawless finish. The rosewood body is exquisite, and the florentine cut-away is perfect. I can't imagine the high level of craftsmanship that this model requires. The tones of this guitar across the spectrum are lovely, balanced, and rich, and sustains long. The sound with my fingers alone is soft and melodious; and with a pick, the sound fills the room. I accepted the L R Baggs Anthem Pickup, an impressive upgrade, at no cost. Though, the sound is so full that I haven't needed to use it. There were daunting challenges in transit. In addition to the general difficulty in shipping these covid days, there was a carrier foul-up, no fault of Mackenzie and Marr. I received my guitar exactly as expected, given the delay, and I think it's safe arrival had everything to do with the outstanding attention that John Marr gave it. He was right on top of everything; and he communicated with me frankly and immediately. This is a first-rate company, top notch instruments and top-notch service. I am so happy I went with them. I have the Opeongo 00 guitar too. How do they do it? I can't decide which guitar to pickup, but I look forward to playing every day. It's amazing what a nice instrument does for you to make practice and scales a pleasure.

Gerald from Toronto

Tue, 11/16/2021 - 17:52

Wonderful addition to my collection. Vibrant sound, readily tunable, easy to hold seated or standing. I am enjoying its ringing tones changing the sound of old favourites.

Anthony from Welland

Thu, 11/11/2021 - 11:10

My Opeongo arrived last week and I absolutely love it! The fit and finish are immaculate and the setup was perfect right out of the box. I wish I had discovered the joys of a small body, 12 fret much earlier- it is just so comfortable to play. The sound is fantastic(apart from my mediocre playing), so much tone from a small instrument. To say it exceeded my expectations is an understatement.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.