Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Ron from north attleboro

Fri, 07/23/2021 - 09:53

Sounds great, plays great, and looks even better. Comes in a really nice case. I was so impressed with this guitar I ordered the Riverboat Dread.

Gail from Gresham

Fri, 07/23/2021 - 09:32

I am very satisfied, the build quality is very good, fit and feel are great. I am looking for a 12 fret slope shoulder dreadnaught. Hope something may be in the works. Gail.

Nathan from London

Fri, 07/23/2021 - 09:25

Having ordered the 12-string online without playing it first, I was apprehensive. It was a pleasant surprise that it arrived in only two days. When I took it out of the case, I was struck with the quality of its finish, the Grover tuners, and the fine spruce and rosewood construction. It is a really fine-looking instrument. It had been tuned to standard 'E' tuning, and I lowered it to a 'DGCFAD', which I prefer on a 12-string. I tried a few tunes which fit best on a 12-string, like "Walk Right In" and was so pleased with its lovely tone and sustain. I've been playing it for two weeks I have not installed a battery and tried it with an amplifier so cannot comment on that. I can't tell if there is a truss rod or some way to adjust the neck if necessary. I really enjoy playing this guitar and so far, I am satisfied that it is a very good guitar at a very good price.

John from Riverside

Mon, 07/19/2021 - 09:50

Twelve strings are the conundrum of the guitar world.  The really good ones either self destruct like flamenco instruments or achieve a day in the sun because they were terribly overbuilt and can accidentally withstand the abuse of years of heavy handed playing and poorly chosen strings. There are a few nicely crafted instruments which don't have a reputation for sounding very good.  There are a few handmade instruments with quirky designs at very high prices and there are roughhewn historic relics best known from black and white photographs and 78 recordings.  You can't help but wonder "what if?" The Algonquin probably costs less in adjusted dollars than Leadbelly's Stella.  The quality of the build however is equal or maybe even superior to any instrument on the market.  The top is a AAA grade spruce,  The grain is not only fine, it is perfectly uniform across the width of the top.  You can read about wood like this but this is the first time I've actually seen it.  There is also an extremely fine, uniform bear claw figure which rivals the very best curly grain imaginable. The back and sides are beautifully matched Bolivian rosewood.  I've seen some pieces of old growth Brazilian which were almost this intense and colorful.  The grain is straight enough to please those who cater in that direction and just wild enough with vibrant white center chevron to spark a long conversation.  It probably starts with "Wow." The black binding with a w/b accent is subtle and dignified.  A couple times I wondered "what if" but now I think this was the right choice,  A white or maple binding isn't warranted.  There's a nice M&M rosette with a simple abalone ring.  The neck has their customary matte finish - a pleasure to hold.  There's a nicely carved volute, and a headstock with Grover Rotomatics.  I can hear Leadbelly wondering "what if?" The D'Addario light gauge strings are more than adequate to drive the guitar to railroad trilogy crescendos.  What's really nice is the instrument responds equally well to a really light touch.  No, really light!  You can sing over a chorus of sound with a fullness that just doesn't happen with a six string. I've got the tuning lowered a half step.  One day I may drop it down to D.  I don't foresee any problem with the strings or with the action.  Gordon, eat your heart out!

Christopher from Toronto

Mon, 07/19/2021 - 09:49

Delivery was fast with no issues. Have been looking for an affordable12 fret small body acoustic for some and the Opeongo all solid ticks all the boxes. Love this box.

Edward from Vancouver

Wed, 07/14/2021 - 10:13

This is one sweet guitar that demands precise contact to yield a rich tone. Wow, did I say that... I've improved dramatically in only a few days! The more I caress this instrument.. the sweeter the sound in general. Finger picker may wants to lower the action but now it's a good compromise. Intonation is almost bang on, and my slide likes the height of the strings.. Looks wonderful, feels wonderful, and even smells wonderful. To the point, I can forgive a blemish or two. ) Five stars are needed to complement this guitar!

Holly from Montgomery

Tue, 07/13/2021 - 10:41

My Opeongo arrived in early June and has exceeded every expectation. The spruce and mahogany wood on this baby is gorgeous. The playability is impressive: highs and lows ring clear and the guitar is wonderfully balanced with great sustain. I love the size of this guitar. It is not as small as, say, a Larrivee parlor (which is a fine guitar, btw), but is just the perfect size for me. It has an amazing resonance for its size. I was so pleased with the overall quality of this instrument that I have pre-ordered the 14-fret Baby Riverboat.

Dave from Lloydminster

Sat, 07/10/2021 - 13:35

I'm one of those who almost never leaves reviews. However, as I was always looking for new reviews before I purchased mine, I thought I should leave one for someone in the same position. I think its a very very nice guitar. Looks great. Sounds great. Very well balanced sound. Much nicer mids than my other acoustics and the top and bottom end are sweet. Surprising how much bottom end is there. I played it for a friend who at first said "nice guitar". Then he said after how nice it sounds. As well it's a very light and comfortable guitar to play. I can't wait to hear the reactions and the sound when others play it or I have the chance to play and compare it to other peoples guitars. No buyers remorse here at all. But, just one thing to mention for people thinking about it - if you play chords up the neck often, as I do, consider a 14 fret or cutaway. At the time I purchased, it was the only small body 1-3/4 nut width being offered and I really wanted that width as I play fingerstyle often. I see another guitar in my future now and wouldn't be concerned in the slightest purchasing from M&M again.

Charles from Wichita

Wed, 07/07/2021 - 14:57

I recently purchased the Opeongo because I have wanted a small body, 12-fret, slotted headstock guitar. And this guitar fits all those requirements. I also have a couple of high-end dreadnought guitars as well. I could not ask for a better moderately priced guitar, and am very happy with it. I don't believe I have played one of the dreadnoughts since this one arrived. Very good "bang" for the "buck."

Dennis from Lebanon

Wed, 07/07/2021 - 14:52

The guitar is well built with good materials but it frets out when I play first string 3rd fret G.I want to keep it but it needs to see a luthier

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.