fbpx Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Rich from Boston

Thu, 02/18/2021 - 15:15

All my life I wanted a solid wood guitar, but the cost of a Gibson or Martin et al. was out of range for a hobby guitarist. I took a chance on this brand and I couldn't be happier. An elegantly crafted instrument. “It stays in tune!”

Dan from Kitchener

Thu, 02/18/2021 - 15:14

I was skeptical about buying a guitar online but my skepticism was laid to rest the first time I played the Dionisio. Your offer of returning the guitar within 7 days was the clincher. The Dionisio guitar not only looks great but it sounds beautiful. A guitar has to feel comfortable to hold and play otherwise it looses it's appeal. The Dionisio covered all my concerns with it's comfortable playability. This guitar plays well above it's price range and can really sing. They're definitely worth every penny. Thanks for a great product. I'm sold on Mackenzie and Marr guitars.

Grant from Roseneath

Tue, 02/16/2021 - 12:52

I purchased a Grand Manan Slope Shoulder Dreadnaught in December i might add this is my 4th Mackenzie and Marr as with the others the guitar comes ready to go i dont know if its just luck but i highly doubt its luck the guitar was awesome im not a great player by any means but i do know the sound i want and the playability set up and feel This guitar did not disappoint i just havent wanted to set it down which to me is the connection when your touched by the guitar i would back these guitars anytime as i said its my 4th will not be my last quality is second to none Thanks Mackenzie and Marr you knocked it out of the park again

Charles from Amma, WV, USA

Tue, 02/16/2021 - 12:49

I'm 78 years old, 5 ft 2 inches tall, with corresponding short arms and a body that's not very flexible. I also have short and very thick fingers. I wanted a smaller guitar (that I could reach around comfortably) with a short neck (so I could reach the end) with a wide neck (room for those fingers). The Opeongo gave me all I wanted plus the sound of a larger, more expensive guitar. No adjustments in "action" had to be made out of the box and it came in a much higher quality case than I expected. However, I would gladly pay more for one just like it that delivered even higher quality sound (probably not possible).

Kurt from NANAIMO

Fri, 02/05/2021 - 09:13

Dear MacKenzie & Marr: Thank you for providing me with a world-class guitar at such a relatively inexpensive price. It's a beauty: both visually and sound-wise. Twenty-three years ago, I purchased a 1997 Special Edition SPD-16T Martin for about twice the amount of money that I spent on the Tofino X. Over those past twenty-three years, I would periodically go into a guitar shop noodling around on a whole host of other 'brand name' guitars and would always leave the building smiling smugly to myself feeling more than complacent with the purchase I had made with the Martin. After a month of playing my Tofino X, I started to feel pangs of guilt having abandoned my Martin in its case in the foyer closet but the sheer pleasure of the sound of the Tofino X is all too tempting. I'm in a rather fortunate position of knowing how to play a variety of genres of music--classic, folk, blues, and mountain music--and will be able to allocate different 'numbers' to the different guitars: classic to my Yamaha Classic; perhaps folk to my Martin, and blues and mountain music to my Tofino X. Who knows, for sure? Anyhow, I am thrilled with the Tofino X. One surprise feature for me is the curvature of the body and how snugly it fits on my upper thigh. There seems to be no chance of the guitar sliding across my lap as I lean in to play. Hats off to MacKenzie and Marr for providing guitar enthusiasts with a superior product at such an accessible and affordable price! If I had enough money, I would surely buy one of each of the fine guitar models MacKenzie and Marr produces.

Mike from Gabriola

Thu, 02/04/2021 - 11:28

Well, 6 months or so ago I bought a Tofino Limited Edition and love it totally. Wrote a review on it. Today (only 10 days after ordering) I received my Opeongo 00 Acoustic parlour guitar. Based on the Tofino, I just had to get this one and man it is beautiful and sounds great. Everything about the Opeongo is top-notch. Right out of the pro four latch hard shell signature case it was in tune and the action was perfect. I've played it now for about an hour and absolutely love it. Easy to play and true the entire neck with an unbelievable loud full sound for a smaller body guitar. Living on a Gulf Island off the BC Canadian west coast I'm in a lot of ferry line ups so you'll see me in the back seat playing this guitar. To be buying guitars without seeing, touching or playing them seems nuts but I took a chance on the Tofino and now feel I don't need to go anywhere else. To me that says a lot about quality, sound, look and price. I'm already thinking of buying the Ian Tyson or the Grand Manan and I only just got the Opeongo today. After a year of Covid isolation and not going out for dinners, shows and concerts etc., I find I've saved enough to justify just one more guitar....ha ha.

Sam Z from Toronto

Wed, 01/27/2021 - 11:51

What can I say...quality and artisanship of Mackenzie & Marr guitars are out of this world! Preordered Tofino X and while waiting for this sweet guitar I bought a Martin mahogany to play for the interim. When Tofino X arrived a few weeks later, within seconds of playing I immediately regret buying the Martin, granted both guitars use different wood (cedar vs mahogany), but Tofino X exceeded my expectations in every way, from now on I won't buy another guitar unless it's from Mac&Marr. P.S. anyone interested in grabbing a Martin 000-15M in mint condition? :)

Mary from Silver Spring

Wed, 01/27/2021 - 11:46

This is a fantastic instrument. Perfectly set up. Beautiful to look at but the tone blows me away. So rich and angelic. I love everything about this guitar. Feels comfortable to play.

John from Baldur

Wed, 01/27/2021 - 11:43

I am very pleased with this guitar... There are several note worthy points. Aesthetic Beauty: One of the most beautiful instruments I have seen, let alone owned. The sap wood which runs throughout many parts of the guitar is beautiful against the dark tones of the rest of the instrument. Being a Florentine cutaway adds to the overall beauty while also implying that I might have the need to move that far up the neck.(I don't) The high gloss finish made it difficult to take a picture of it to send to friends. It was much like trying to take a picture of an unframed mirror, but in real time it looks fantastic and enhances the depth of the finish. My only complaint is with the clear pick guard. As with my other MacMarr purchase, a Tom Rush Naked Lady, it came with an uninstalled clear pick guard. The Naked Lady pick guard was much thinner and so less visible when installed. I like the look of pick-guard-less acoustic, but I also like the protection a clear guard provides. I realize I am being "picky"... Playability: As I play sitting down, the size of the guitar probably comes into play more so than for a standup player. I have owned my Naked Lady for a number of years, and find the this guitar much less tiring when played for extended periods. It sits comfortably on either leg, allowing me to shift my siting position, and I don't have the feeling of having to reach over the guitar in either position. The neck is well suited to my hand and style of playing. Sound: I had anticipated a much quieter guitar compared to the aforementioned Naked Lady. I was very pleasantly surprised to find that while perhaps not quite as much bass, it performs wonderfully through all ranges in both strumming or picking styles. Although I have yet to test the electronics in anything more than a LoudBox, the LR Baggs system is the same as in the Naked Lady, so I am not concerned. The guitar came well packed in a quality hard shell case. Although not needed the 7 day satisfaction guarantee gave me reassurance that I could change my mind if not happy. Great purchase experience of a great guitar. Nice addition to the stable... "I can drink too much whiskey, smoke too many cigars, but I'll never have too many guitars." JJ

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

UPDATE - We've learned that during the COVID-19 crisis FedEx is sometimes leaving cartons with no signature. Please follow the tracking number we provide to make sure you know when your guitar arrives.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.