MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.
2023-03-24
Star Rating: 
5
Ambrose from Florence writes:
A sweet guitar in every aspect!
2023-03-24
Star Rating: 
5
Moran from Los Altos writes:
I simply love the reverb that the guitar body has — and this is strictly acoustically without using the pick up nor amp! At the price Mac Marr offer it, it’s a hell of a bargain. The one tiny gripe I have are the strings rattling as I play past the 12th fret. However, I am so richly satisfied with my guitar, I can compensate for that happening now and again.
2023-03-18
Star Rating: 
4
Martin from Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle writes:
I bought the Riverboat Dread with a pickup. It sits in a nice sweet spot. I find it less boomy than a D-28, but not as flat-eq as a D-18. Playability is great, workmanship is great. The top is a little streaky, but I understand that is what new-growth Adirondack spruce is like. Having said that, everyone who has seen it says it's a looker. The pickup is very useful, and a welcome surprise. I can finally play an acoustic in an electric band. I'm not having feedback problems, and it sounds like an acoustic. I find it comparable to a D-18 style Larrivee which a friend of mine has. It does not sound at all like a Martin -- it's much brighter -- so I really can't compare it to that. It is significantly better, volume-wise and tone-wise, than another friend's D-28 style Blueridge. Martin
2023-03-17
Star Rating: 
5
David from Kamloops writes:
I love this guitar. I have had it for several months and play it everyday. This guitar is beautiful to play and to look at. It has great fit and finish. The craftsmanship is impeccable. I have made guitars and taken luthier training as a hobby. The joints are perfect as well as the inlay. The wood in this guitar is perfect and the small details such as vertical reinforcing strips of wood in the sides, the back graft and the bracing is spectacular. The rosewood sounds much like another guitar that I have that is Brazilian rosewood. The binding , the inlay, the to top, sides and back are all made of the best quality of wood. The sound of this guitar just gets better and better. It is easy to play and light but has the sound of a much larger guitar. It has great sustain, balance and the base on the guitar does not sound like a small body guitar. It especially sounds good when playing in Drop D. I have at least 12 guitars and many that cost thousands of dollars and made by famous makers but this is my favorite. I'm quite certain that this guitar would sell for between 6-8,000 dollars if made by one of the famous makers. I did not get the built in pickup but I think I will be ordering it as I would love to hear it amplified. My experience dealing With Mackenzie and Marr has been similar to other reviewers. I called and talked to the owner of the company who gave me a no nonsense honest review of the guitar. He said they had just got this model and initially he wasn't that sure about it but it grew on him and he started to love it. He said he did have a preference for Dreds. He told me when the guitar would be shipped and how long it would take to come and all went exactly as predicted. He also said I could buy the pickup from them later at the same price if I decided that I wanted to add it later. I think that if you like small bodied guitars you will love this guitar. I think that if you like dreds you may not want this guitar. I would like to have this guitar with a multiscale or fanfret design with the same bridge design, not the fat wide bridges some builders have gone with. In short I would highly recommend this guitar and Mackenzie and Marr to deal with.
2023-03-16
Star Rating: 
5
Claude from Piedmont writes:
Pour la seconde fois en 1 mois je me suis procuré une guitare MacKenzie et Marr. J'avais déjà acquis une Tofino X qui est excellente mais je voulais un instrument plus imposant avec pan-coupé. J'ai donc choisi la guitare inspirée de Ian Tyson. C'est un très bel instrument tant par sa sonorité profonde,sa belle gamme de tonalités et un son bien soutenu. Avec son pan coupé florentin, ses boiseries riches faites de bois de rose bolivien, sa table en épinette Sitka AAA, son manche en acajou, sa touche et son pont en ébène confèrent à cet instrument une place parmi les meilleures guitares disponibles actuellement sur le marché. Par ailleurs, son prix très abordable est selon moi sa plus grande qualité compte-tenu de tout ce qu'elle a à offrir. Le service à la clientèle de MacKenzie et Marr est également exceptionnel. Je me suis rendu à leur entrepôt de Montréal rencontrer M. John Marr qui s'est occupé de moi comme un VIP ce qui, de nos jours est fort appréciable. Je vous recommande fortement les guitares MacKenzie et Marr, vous ne serez pas déçu et si vous êtes un passionné comme moi, vous aurez un goût de revenez-y! Merci John pour vos instruments d'exception et votre excellent service. Longue vie à aux guitares MacKenzie et Marr! Claude Trudel Piedmont Québec
2023-02-21
Star Rating: 
5
Claude from Piedmont writes:
Bonjour, mon nom est Claude et je suis l'heureux propriétaire d'une très belle guitare Tofino X. Je suis un guitariste de salon et je joue également avec un voisin une fois par semaine. Nous avons commencé à jouer ensemble il y a un an et nous avons un petit répertoire de chansons françaises des années 60 et 70, de même que quelques pièces du répertoire anglais de pièces qui ont marquées notre jeunesse. J'ai eu l'honneur de jouer avec d'excellents musiciens dans les années 90 avec des instruments mythiques tel une Gibson J200. Depuis ce temps beaucoup d'eau a coulé sous les ponts et l'an dernier j'ai recommencé à jouer pour mon plus grand plaisir. J'avais alors acheté une petite Guild Jumbo junior qui m'a bien servi. J'ai commencé à regarder pour un instrument plus sonore, plus adapté au genre de musique que je pratiquais. J'ai essayé et acheté plusieurs guitares sans trouver mon bonheur, ce qui vous l'imaginé m'a coûté beaucoup d'argent mal dépensé. De plus le service après vente de la plupart des magasins d'instrument de musique laisse beaucoup a désirer, c'est une situation que nous vivons tous dans plusieurs autres domaines de la vie. J'ai acheté des grandes marques, Martin, Norman, Godin, PRS, Sigma sans jamais trouvé La guitare, celle qui me donnait le petit quelque chose de mieux qui en fait un instrument exceptionnel. J'ai alors découvert Mackenzie et Marr sur Facebook. Je ne connaissais pas cette marque et j'étais sceptique et pas convaincu que je pouvais acheter un instrument sans l'avoir touché, essayé. Puis, après ma dernièere mésaventure avec Martin, je me suis dit je me jette à l'eau je vais tenter ma chance avec Macc & Marr, je n'ai rien à perdre un de leur arguments de vente est que je peux la retourner si je ne sis pas satisfait à l'intérieur d'une semaine. J'ai donc commandé une Tofino X et suis allé la chercher hier à leur entrepôt de Montréal. J'ai été accueilli par Monsieur Marr en personne, quel chic type souriant et ravi de ma présence. NOus avons jasé un peu et passé au vif du sujet la Tofino. Il venait de terminé les ajustements. Lorsque la caisse s'est ouverte et que j'ai vu l'instrument, je n'en croyais pas mes yeux, de toute beauté. Je l'ai pris en main et plaqué quelques accords et les carottes étaient cuites, j'étais vendu. Quel instrument, quelle touche, quelle sonorité pour une guitare de cette taille. Et que dire du service à la clientèle, je me suis senti comme faisant partie de la famille, comme il fut un temps il y a très longtemps. Je serai un client fidèle la Riverboat me fait de l'oeil. N'hésitez-pas, jetez-vous à l'eau vous aussi si vous chercher un instrument exceptionnel à un prix aussi exceptionnel. Bonne musique à tous!
2022-11-30
Star Rating: 
4
Antonio from Salaberry-de-Valleyfield writes:
Déjà 12 semaines que j'ai acheté cette guitare. Très satisfait de ma guitare Opeongo. Une sonorité surprenante pour une si petite guitare. Des matériaux de qualité et une facture impeccable une guitare très légère avec un substain étonnamment long que je trouve très inspirant pour mon style de créativité (je n'est pas trouvé le mot en français pour substain) Mes quelques amis musiciens qui en ont joués ou entendus sont très étonnés du petit prix que j'ai payé. Mon prochain achat chez Mac and Marr sera la guitare 12 cordes Algonquin. Très heureux d'avoir découvert les instruments de musique Mackenzie/Marr Merci John Santé Antonio
2022-11-30
Star Rating: 
5
Jon from Pflugerville writes:
The Wednesday before Thanksgiving 2022 I was riding passenger from Austin Texas, up Rt. 35 to the Nations in Oklahoma to visit family. An ad came over my cell phone for McKenzie and Marr Guitars and just "hit me right". It said they were on sale and they don't sell through distributors. I would have never ever purchase a guitar over the internet...but I did. I purchased the parlor size with pick-ups and hardshell case. It was all against better judgement purchasing a guitar sight unseen...but I did. The 7 day money back warranty made me feel somewhat comfortable and I purchased through PayPal. When I got the guitar I opened the case without removing it so it would get up to room temperature. My first view of it told me I probably made a very good decision. After a few hours I held it, tuned it up and played it. The action was like a custom shop Martin. The sound was wonderful. I love this guitar. My friends who have played it agree. This company is the real deal. Totally excellent guitars.
2022-11-24
Star Rating: 
5
Tod from BAINBRIDGE ISLAND writes:
I don't remember how I became acquainted with Mackenzie and Marr guitars. I didn't know anyone who had one, and I'd never seen one in person, but there was something about this company that drew me in from the get go. The looks of the guitars was one thing, and the fine materials used were another, but there was something else that came though. I don't know what else to call it but poetry. Clearly passion was behind the instruments - evidenced by the owners' statements, and also by the fact that the guitars have names. I loved that. To me the names evoked soul. Most guitar companies give their instruments a number. How boring. Now, I had a great guitar before I purchased my M&M. A medium level Taylor, which cost me a lot more than my M&M. True I was looking for something different, but I didn't want to step down in quality or playability or sound. I checked in at M&M's website often over the course of a year. I'm retired and live on a fixed income, so I had to be careful. A voice kept telling me another guitar was not an essential purchase, or was it? I like a small guitar, and I live on a boat. So the Baby Boat was a no brainer. And I liked the idea of an Adirondack Spruce top. I've spent lots of time camping in the Adirondacks. I liked that connection. I also liked the Tofino with its red cedar top. I live in Washington state, and the red cedar tree is iconic here. These kinds of connection to landscape are important to me - and both these guitars resonated with me in a big way. One day I checked in at the site and there was a Baby Boat that had sustained shipping damage and was for sale at a discount. I went for it. The guitar is awesome, and is everything I hoped for. It's beautiful and the craftsmanship is perfection, truly. I play fingerstyle, and the sounds that come out of the guitar are clear with a lot of depth. It sings, and I love playing it. The Baby Boat is a work of art, and even in my amateur hands, it sounds like poetry. I am totally satisfied with the guitar. I don't know if owning two M&M guitars would make me any happier, but I feel a strong temptation to find out. Sometime.
2022-11-14
Star Rating: 
5
William from Oshawa writes:
I have been playing for about 50yrs. and I am as excited now as I was when I first started! I was in the market for a high end acoustic for quite awhile and played many of the brands over $5,000. I stumbled across MacKenzie and Marr some time ago and did my research. All of the videos and reviews said "go for it" and I did. The seven day love it or return tipped the scale. Just to let you know, you can't have it back! It came set up nicely right out of the box. I put the battery in the Baggs, tuned it up and took off. It plays and sounds great and the workmanship is really amazing. I find this every bit as good as the guitars costing five times as much and recommend them to anyone looking for a high quality instrument.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.