Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Bob from Greenville

Wed, 07/07/2021 - 14:49

I have two of your instruments, the Opeongo and the Tofino( I probably didn’t spell correctly)…they both are really good instruments to play. Easy playing, good sound. The Opeongo, is fuller sounding than I anticipated. The Tofino, sound great. Thanks

Norman from Conway

Tue, 07/06/2021 - 15:55

Just a big thanx for building my OO. Opeongo. I’m so pleased with this little beauty. Beyond my expectations. Plays like a dream with flatpick AND finger style...clean sound, makes me want to do the “old” songs as well as adapt to “newer” stuff.

Bill from Winnipeg

Sun, 06/27/2021 - 14:42

I have played guitar for 58 years but it has been a bit spotty so I am not the greatest. That being said I have played and owned many guitars over the years. In all that time I have not owned a 12 fret to the body so I thought I would try one. The Opeongo has a strong ringing tone and is virtually flawless in it's construction. After tuning a few strings it was good to go. The action was a bit higher than I like but I left it that way for the one week trial. There is lots of height in the saddle so I can get whatever action I choose. I will not be returning this guitar

James from Fort Lee

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 17:08

Superb craftsmanship, focused tone! This instrument would compliment a fat 6 string if they were both spread apart in a mix. I also can't get over how beautiful it looks. Thank you!

Phil from Long Beach

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 17:02

I would like to say that I am very happy with my MacKenzie & Marr Algonquin 12, 12-string guitar. It is indeed a beautifully crafted instrument. The tone is bright and clear and the harmonics go on forever. I am particularly pleased with the balance of tone and volume from the bass all the way to the treble. The intonation is spot on, always a concern with a 12-string. The tuning pegs are top-notch allowing for precise tuning, also especially important. It is indeed comparable to instruments two to three times its price.

Robert from NAPLES

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 16:34

Absolutely beautiful instrument. Well worth the small wait. Great full 12 string sound very playable and amazing for the price. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this fine guitar.

Frank from San Angelo

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 16:32

First I give it ***** [5] stars for tone [it jingles as a 12 should], playability and looks. It is better than I expected and I expected a fine guitar. Over the years I have had a love/hate relationship with my many 12 strings, mostly because they wouldn't stay in tune. This one holds tuning which is a minor miracle for a 12. It took me a while to decide to buy because it is the first guitar I have purchased without playing it first. Damn good gamble...she is a keeper and I laud you on a finely constructed guitar. Sincerely, Frank

Kevin from Knoxville

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 16:30

So….I love this guitar! I now have 3 MacKenzie & Marr guitars! This 12 string is my main guitar! It’s full, balanced, incredible projection! The neck is gorgeous! The LR Baggs Anthem just adds to the beauty of this 12 String! It’s a welcome addition to my Ian Tyson & Opeongo! I took a chance when I bought my Ian Tyson and never looked back! Again, I now have three - all different body types to cover all aspects of my playing! If you’re thinking about it, do it! Don’t wait!

Michael from Round Rock

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 16:13

This is a fine musical instrument. The woods used in its construction are premium tone woods. It has the distinctive shimmering sound of the best 12 strings ie Martin, Guild, Gibson etc. The finish is impeccable. Comparable priced models have plywood sides and backs and tops and sound as if they are made of old packing crates and pallets. This is beauty is spectacular. Mikey from Mikey and the Muddy Puppies

Daniel from Jacksonville

Tue, 06/15/2021 - 11:42

I had been looking for a parlor size guitar for quite some time and had tried out several. I wasn’t impressed by any I tried either because they just didn’t have much sound or didn’t play well or weren’t very well constructed. I decided to take a chance on the Mackenzie & Marr Opeongo since I could return in a week it if I wasn’t happy for a full refund, including return shipping. I was so pleasantly surprised at how big and beautiful it sounded for a smaller acoustic. The workmanship is impeccable and it’s so beautifully finished plus I love love the retro look. The neck is superb. I knew pretty much immediately that I was keeping it. No complaints whatsoever. I’d highly recommend one to anybody in the market for a parlor guitar.

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.