Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I was interested in this guitar ever since the Dragon's Den show. I couldn't see myself spending that much for a guitar. Or so I thought at that time. I went on your website and played the different videos several times. Wow! What great sounding guitars. Someday I am getting one of those. I thought long and hard but I just couldn't resist your June Newsletter..... Watch for our Mid-year sale on a limited number of guitars. Starting on June 6th. Well I was on there first thing in the morning. Darn it! It's not there yet! Finally - it's on line. It took me just minutes to place my order for a "Less Than Perfect" guitar. Hey I am going to scratch it, bang into a table or something at sometime. So why not save a couple of bucks and buy a slightly less than perfect guitar. Anticipating it's arrival which only took a couple of days. The box was well sealed, the guitar wrapped in there like a new born baby in the womb. I wrestled to get it out - well worth the exercise. I just couldn't wait to play afew chord, to hear how it sounded. SWEET! Very mellow just like Kevins' playing on the Dragon's Den. I am glad I made the choice. I told my granddaughter if she learns how to play the guitar. I will leave it to her in my will. She said "Really Grandpa", Yes I'll give it to you. So I'm hoping this will give her some incentive to carry on with her lessons. I think I made a good investment - Mackenzie & Marr Guitars are for me.
Reveiwed by: Robert LaCavera on 06/29/2012 - 12:42

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I've had my Tofino for about 3 months now and I do like it very much. I know very little about guitars and my fingers still hurt at times as I am a learner. It is a beautiful instrument and looks to be well made and it makes me want to play it. It sounds very nice to me and my wife has commented several times on how nice it sounds to her. My 21 year old son loves it very much and hints that it could live at his residence at University any time. He plays it lots when home visiting. My brother in law is a guitar tech. and has worked for many bands in the past as well as played with The Stampeders years ago. He visits from time to time when he is passing by on the 401 between shows. He feels it is a very nice guitar and especially likes the finish on the neck. Perhaps a bit jealous with me but oh well. He is not a judgemental sort of person and is low profile so when he says he likes anything about something it really means allot. He is very helpful and gave me all kinds of care tips on the acoustic and where to get the best deals on humidifiers and so forth so I think he is impressed and wants to see it taken care of. I have ordered the Ian Tyson edition now and I am looking forward to getting it. Good luck and best wishes to M&M guitars in the future. Chris.
Reveiwed by: chris.laurie on 03/09/2012 - 15:22

Dionisio Cedar Top Cutaway

Very well packed, promptly delivered, the sound quality is as promised, surprisingly nice case, and I like having the option to not have a pick guard. I couldn't be happier. Thanks gentlemen.
Reveiwed by: angus on 01/06/2012 - 10:25

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

Saw the recent Dragon's Den and was excited about the MacKenzie and Marr guitars. Never heard of them before. On an impulse I decided to try one. My wife thought I was mad to buy a guitar on line without having seen or played it. I talked to John on the phone next morning and felt reassured. The Tofino arrived within a few days. It is beautifully crafted. Started playing it at suppertime when I opened the box and continued on into the evening sitting in the dark. Couldn't put it down. What a sound! Rich. Rich! Compares very favourably with my 1941 Martin. It's great value and I'd recommend this guitar to anyone.
Reveiwed by: kindpilgrim on 11/16/2011 - 08:50

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

Well my Tofino #174 showed up on time the box in great shape and the packaging was superb. I immediatly unveild this beautiful instrument checked it over with a fine tooth comb so to speak. The only very minor flaw was the wiring clip on the inside had let go and was riding loose on the wires instead of holding the wires up and against the side like it was designed to do. Emailed and phoned John and he returned both and told me the very minor job of getting some double sided tape and tape the wire holder clip back in place. Tuned the guitar with my electronic tuner and WOW what a deep beautiful sound being projected from this guitar. Within one minute of playing it like others have said I knew it was not going back. I would recommend this guitar to anyone looking to buy one, you cannot go wrong by buying one of these guitars online. John was helpful and got back to me everytime I had a question. I lost my tracking number by mistake and asked him to resend it to me and it was done. Very pleased and happy with my purchase now I have to decide whether or not to put the pick guard on or not. The guitar comes with a hard case as well and it is a nice one to boot. Rod
Reveiwed by: bigheadme on 11/15/2011 - 21:42

Dionisio Cedar Top Cutaway

The Dionisio is an amazing sounding guitar, I could not be happier with the way it plays. My only complaint is the battery pack for the pickup was poorly glued and I have had to glue it back onto its spot myself. A small thing that in no way has taken away from how much I enjoy this guitar.
Reveiwed by: Derekdec on 09/20/2011 - 14:45

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I went through the other comments and everyone has said it all. It's simply a wonderful instrument, well worth the price and in my opinion - a bargain, as you really do get $3000 quality for a $1000 price. About the time I bought it, I had read somewhere (I believe it was a Clapton interview) that when deciding on which guitar to buy, opt for the most expensive you can afford. I assumed, as with many things, he was saying you basically get what you pay for. I was in that state of mind, looking to improve my playing by investing in a better, more expensive guitar. I was trying out Martins and Taylors ($2500 range) when someone at work mentioned the dragons' den program and this guitar in particular. Just good timing I guess. It took a few days to weigh the risks - but I figured so long as I can return it and get my money back ... What can I say. The best decision I made. "Thirteen" (as I so lovingly call her) is a beautiful instrument. Plays beautifully, sounds amazing and truly is a bargain. And incidently, Clapton is right too. A better guitar does make you a better player - not instantly of course, but because it's easy to play (action is fantasic, sound is great), you just feel motivated to play more. I can't seem to put mine down. If you want that $3000 guitar, but aren't keen on parting with that much money, I recommend (highly) you go for the Tofino or other style they offer. You won't be disappointed and while your looking at your other new guitar - you know, the one you bought with the money you saved - well then you can simply thank me (and MacKenzie and Marr of course!)
Reveiwed by: andrebruneau on 08/17/2011 - 18:15

Dionisio Cedar Top Cutaway

I received my Dionisio a couple of weeks ago and was disappointed with the factory set-up: high action and a clumsy feel on the neck. After consulting John I embarked on a tweaking exercise that consisted of: 1. cranking the truss rod clockwise (oh oh, too much) and back again several times to find the best action..no buzzing on the frets, yet greater ease of playing at and around the 12th fret. 2. polishing the frets. 3. oil/buff the fretboard several times. 4. swapped-out a lighter gauge of strings. After several days of trial-and-error, and several more days of playing the bejeezus out of it, I now have a guitar that is perfect for me. You may have to do some personal tweaking of your own to get it where you want it, but it's worth the effort. I also have the Tofino model but it didn't require any tweaking at all. It's a great guitar with its own character and feel. As to the Dionisio, it's a sturdy, rich sounding guitar I'll be playing for a long, long time. Cheers, Larry
Reveiwed by: lmarko on 08/11/2011 - 15:21

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

Just received my second Tofino, tone is amazing! The finish is outstanding! The guitar is everything that the ad said it was, great company to deal with, answered all my questions with straight to the point and honest answers. Thank you John, I am a very happy customer!! Ray
Reveiwed by: razor on 07/28/2011 - 07:45

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I had my doubts about buying a guitar untried over the internet but I trusted the Dragon’s Den and I trusted my instincts. My Tofino arrived yesterday to much delight. I bought my first guitar 30 years ago, an El Degas for $500 and it still sounds great but the Tofina outshines it and the other two guitars that I own by a country mile. The Tofino is easy to play, that's the first thing I noticed and the sound is crisp and clear. This is a quality guitar and good value for my money. Jim
Reveiwed by: jat001 on 06/22/2011 - 04:03

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.