Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

5 star rating I am a new guitar student The craftsmanship is outstanding and even thought my repertoire of cords is small the sound is amazing. Thanks so much The instrument is a pleasure to play.
Reveiwed by: brucegdaly on 04/05/2011 - 20:12

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I bought my tofino before the appearance on the dragons den. The number of my guitar is 26. It took me a while to get use to the sound but when I put D'Addario silk and steel strings on it I found the sound I was looking for.I play in the finger picking style and found the tofino was the only guitar I needed. I give it a five star rating!!
Reveiwed by: cowpaddy on 04/02/2011 - 09:45

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I recently took possession of a Tofino model guitar made in China, and imported by Mackenzie-Marr, those two somewhat swashbuckling entrepreneurs who appeared in January 2010 on C.B.C.’s Dragons Den with their proposal to sell guitars on-line. They “ambushed” one of the “dragons”, Kevin O’Leary, to test-drive their guitar and he was very enthusiastic about the instrument. Consequently, I was sufficiently intrigued to try the guitar and offer some impressions: First of all, John Marr is a very good front man. He responded quickly and openly to my every inquiry, both about the instrument itself, and about the details regarding shipment, payment etc. The instrument came from Montreal to Comox B.C. in perfect order, via Fedex. I had a week to decide whether or not to keep the guitar and can report that there is no way that Marr is getting it back. Initially I found the set-up a little higher than my Martin D-18, and John Marr offered to enlist, at his expense, the services of a local luthier to change that. But I quickly adapted and the “problem” disappeared. What has really impressed me is the Tofino’s big sound. It’s a lot of guitar, quite the equal of my Martin. To be sure the fit and finish of the Martin seems a little better, but we’re comparing a $4000 instrument with a $999 one. In short, the Tofino is everything and more that Mackenzie-Marr claim – a lot of guitar for a very attractive price.


Reveiwed by: Mosco on 04/01/2011 - 15:24

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

I love my Tofino more, each time I play it. My other guitars are collecting dust. The tone and clarity are fantastic. Having a great guitar has inspired me to play more.
Reveiwed by: Jim Shepherd on 04/01/2011 - 07:09

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

This is a great guitar and I just love it. GREAT VALUE Thank You
Reveiwed by: chanel on 03/31/2011 - 21:14

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

great guitar, fantastic sound quality
Reveiwed by: giorgio 1956 on 03/31/2011 - 17:26

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

Took to California for the winter. Fellow guitar players were astounded at the fantastic sound and tone of this guitar. And it's mine, mine, mine
Reveiwed by: Bill Klasky on 03/31/2011 - 15:12

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

FedEx delivered it today. Unbelievably beautiful! It's a keeper.
Reveiwed by: lmarko on 03/09/2011 - 21:00

Tofino X (10th Anniversary Limited Edition)

Wow, so glad I ordered this guitar when I did. I got #16 of the original 48 and can't say enough about how happy I am that I trusted my feelings on this one, Everything they said about how you could spend easily 5 times what this little beauty costs and still not have something that is this sweet has been proven to me. Best of luck to you folks at MacKenzie Marr. The sound and feel is fantastic. Thanks very much, I'll enjoy this for the rest of my life. Kind regards, D. Harris
Reveiwed by: dlcyh on 09/04/2010 - 20:00

Pages

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST be obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton, it will not be left. We do this to ensure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.