Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

James from Novato

Fri, 06/11/2021 - 10:11

I waited a long time for my guitar to arrive, with some anxious moments because of COVID shipping delays. But I was thrilled when UPS delivered it. Some perspective: I have several guitars, some of which are made by high-end guitar makers with big names and one that is a custom job. So I know and appreciate quality. At this price point, I wasn't expecting to get an instrument that would compete with those larger instruments. In fact, I chose the Opeongo because I wanted a 12-fret with the feel that those instruments are known for—a looser feel and faster action. I added the Baggs pickup because one of my main guitars has the same one. Okay, so the results: Yesterday, I spent another hour playing my M & M. It is a "hot-rod" of a guitar that invites improvisation. What I also appreciate is its sonic balance. While it is not a "boomer" at this size, the bass notes absolutely support the treble end. Everything is clear. Chords seem more transparent as a result. I also value the "songs" that come out of any guitar, seemingly born with them. I noticed in the first half-hour of play that this guitar had some ideas of its own—things that somehow came out of my hand for the first time. Okay, that's magical thinking, I know. But it's true. This guitar had some gifts for me. I wish it had a glossy finish, yes, and if that were ever an option (like the pickup) I would go for it. But this is a friendly, playable guitar with great spirit. I'm a happy camper!

Dave from Corman Park

Thu, 06/10/2021 - 12:24

A very nice instrument. I have yet to figure out the nine volt battery power to the pickup and how that battery is to be anchored

Ramsey from Birmingham, AL

Thu, 06/10/2021 - 12:08

This is the first product review I've ever written. I bought the Opeongo on a whim with my tax refund. It took over 3 months to deliver but it was worth the wait. The action was set too high for my liking. The Allen wrench that fits my Martin didn't fit the Opeongo's truss rod. I emailed MacKenzie and Marr asking what size wrench was required. John Marr replied that there was an Allen wrench in the case. LOL. It took a little while to adjust but I have it set perfectly now. This guitar plays like a dream and sounds great, bright and full. They're not kidding. This is a quality instrument. Even the case is top quality. I have a Martin and a Taylor that don't get played much anymore.

Alan from OTTAWA

Thu, 06/10/2021 - 10:01

I wrote this review to say how much I like the Tofino. I am a novice guitar player and I have been playing a Taylor Academy for only a year so I cannot give a professional opinion but when I started I choose the Academy for its sound and ease of playing. The Tofino is considerably better in my opinion and the finish and the inlays are just beautiful. I am very pleased.

Glenn from Liverpool

Tue, 06/08/2021 - 23:18

My Opeongo is a great little guitar. Been playing it every day for about a month now. Sits right next to my Southern Jumbo and gets played more. It's easier to get my arms around that the SJ which makes it a convenient armchair guitar, but I'm also playing it because it sounds great, and tunes really great. It's a joy to own. It plays like you'd expect a parlor to play. I find the fret edges a little sharp, but it doesn't actually annoy me or stop me from picking it up several times a day. I've played dozens of new Gibsons and Martins in music stores and immediately put them back on the rack because they just don't cut it. Especially when you look at the price tag for these high end brands. This Opeongo is exactly what the company says it is. A guitar that measures up to others that cost 2-3 times as much. I'm very pleased. I will always own it.

Evecci from Toronto

Tue, 06/08/2021 - 22:00

I'm not a pro and I'm not an accomplished guitarist, but I like to sing and play my guitar and I understand a bit about music and how musicians make it. I've only played "expensive" guitars a couple of times, but I've heard them plenty. The pandemic gave me the opportunity to reconnect with my old seagull s-6. It had warped a bit, the action was high, the tone was dull and the damn thing would not stay in tune, especially in DADGAD. But I persevered,and ordered my Tofino. It was night and day. The tiny neck and low action make it so easy to play. My left thumb has become a Richie Havens weapon. The sound was big and bright and wonderful. Then I changed the strings it came with. Rrringg!! Thank you, thank you, thank you. And I don't need too retune after every song!

Ron from WEST KELOWNA

Tue, 06/08/2021 - 21:53

I absolutely love my Tofino X! The quality is Top-Self and second to none. The craftsmanship and finish are superb. The action is smooth and the sound is amazing. I love how the aroma of the wood is almost intoxicating as I play, I find it inspiring. The case that comes with it is also of the highest quality. I'm so grateful I came across MacKenzie & Marr guitars, I couldn't be more pleased and happy with my purchase. I would highly recommend anyone looking for a high-quality, beautiful-looking, amazing rich-sounding instrument, be sure to check out Mac-Marr guitars before looking anywhere else. Thank you, John and Jonathan, for delivering an outstanding hand-crafted guitar at such an affordable price. A loyal customer for life. Cheers!

Michael from Embrun

Tue, 06/08/2021 - 21:49

Fantastic Guitar. Exceeded my expectations. Sounds fantastic.A fantastic looking piece of furniture in our condo. Well worth the money. Sounds as good as a Martin or Gibson Keep up the great product

ERIC from KINGSTON, ON

Thu, 05/13/2021 - 17:19

I recently purchased an Ian Tyson inspired cutaway. It is the most beautiful acoustic that I have ever seen. Everyone who has seen the guitar comments on its beauty. It has a sweet sound and the balance from the high e to the low e blends beautifully. The neck is quite similar to an electric and as it comes equipped with light gauge strings it is very playable. I purchased the Tom Rush Signature dreadnaught #55 back in 2012. It has more bass and volume that the Ian Tyson but doesn't have the same balance. I have gone into music stores and played their high-end guitars. I found none that sounded any better, or as good, as either of my MacKenzie Marr guitars. As it turns out, I have two amazing guitars for far less than than than I would have paid for a mid-level "brand name".

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.