Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Jorge from St Catharines

Mon, 04/05/2021 - 09:41

Overall a beautiful guitar with an amazing sound. Sometimes I have to take a step back and just admire it in the sunlight. The mahogany back is unlike anything I’ve seen and it just really stands out. The guitar arrived only a couple days after tracking number was received and much earlier than anticipated since it ended up arriving on a weekend. Compared to other guitars in this price range, I don’t think you’ll find a better deal than this beautiful instrument.

Richard from Montreal

Mon, 04/05/2021 - 09:39

I would like to state that I have found your guitar that I bought from you an exceptional piece of craftsmanship. Of all the guitars I've owned, and that is quite a few, this is the one I've always dreamed of owning. It looks very good, plays very well and makes me feel so comfortable playing it.

Mike from Gabriola.BC.Canada

Sun, 03/28/2021 - 14:33

My new Opeongo that is hanging on my wall resonates and sings back to me when I sneeze. First off the guitar is awesome and sounds great but to have it sing back when I'm not touching it denotes the calling of a top quality guitar. I pick it up and play it right away when that happens.

Steve from Stratford

Wed, 03/24/2021 - 15:42

The Tofino X is the second Tofino model that I own. It is everything my first one is plus more. It looks so much prettier with the abalone binding and the gold tuners. But the thing that is most important is the sound. I am so thrilled with it. The high clear tones and the mids shine magnificently. Some chords even ring almost as much as a 12 string. The action is smooth and effortless and damn it’s just a great guitar. There should be no hesitation in getting one. I have recommended Mackenzie and Marr many times and am proud to be able to do so.

Gene from Portland

Wed, 03/24/2021 - 15:38

I made a living as an acoustic guitarist/vocalist for a lot of years. The guitars I use now are mostly for recording, writing and front porch jams. I've bought and sold dozens of guitars over the years, and keep the special ones. I'll be keeping this one. Amazing value. Full sound that should only improve with age. Beautiful attention to detail. Wood binding is gorgeous. The case alone would cost at least $150. Well done, MacMarr.

Bruce from Barrie

Sun, 03/07/2021 - 09:59

This all started with an information request by email. Reply came back on the same Sunday I sent it!! That was the first big surprise - extra special customer service! So I ordered the same day. Next big surprise, the delivery arrived on Tuesday. Less than forty-eight hours from the order time. Biggest surprise of all, this instrument is absolutely beautiful. Beautiful to look at, beautiful to play and beautiful to listen to. Oh yes, the case was also a surprise. I am a big Martin fan. Have too many of them. Each instrument has its own sound, and I admit I am sold on the cedar top sound. It is what I have been missing. Now I still love my Martins, they all play and sound great too. But...... If this sounds like too good to be true, then let me add, I gave this Dionisio to my friend and band mate to play. We go back (just like these guys) to high school days in the late 60's. Bob was so impressed, he has ordered two - yes two instruments from MacKenzie and Marr - a Tofino and an Algonquin twelve string - both arriving in May. I am really excited about this - mostly because I know I will get to play both of them and hear them on a regular basis as we continue to play and sing together. So if you are on the fence wondering if one of these fine - amazingly priced instruments belongs in your hands, I am certain you will be very pleasantly surprised - just like I still am. I am in the process of selling an unplayed Anniversary '68 Gibson Les Paul Custom - so I can order another model (or two)from MacMarr!

Maynard from Channahon

Thu, 03/04/2021 - 11:50

This is a REALLY fine guitar!! Its smaller body makes for more comfortable playing but doesn't seem to give up anything in tone. It's very playable and is beautiful. There's just no downside to owning this guitar.

Philip from Toronto

Thu, 03/04/2021 - 11:49

I have been looking at a new guitar for a while now (years really). The guitars that I gravitated towards - were pushing thousands of dollars. As a casual player I kept pushing off a new purchase. That was until an ad popped up this past year about Mackenzie and Marr guitars. I gave them a look, comparing the specs on the Tofino X against the guitars I was looking at. I read every review I could find. It checked all the boxes on paper at easily half the cost. And with the seven day love it or leave it I thought there was little to lose. The guitar arrived towards the end of January with only a slight delay from the pre-order date. The guitar arrived boxed up in pristine condition. I pulled the case out of the box and let the guitar acclimate for about three hours or so as recommended on the box (it was a cold Toronto day). The guitar case is solid, and a nice touch. Here are my first impressions once I could finally get the Tofino in my hands. The guitar is beautiful. The inlay and binding are stunning. The finish was pristine. I took a look inside the sound hole - this is a very well constructed instrument. It is also lighter than I would have thought. This was a surprise to me but made me realize the difference between a well crafted guitar that wasn't over-glued vs what I have been playing for years that now feels like a solid block of wood. Once strummed this guitar really sings. The set-up was great. And the satin finish on the neck really makes this a playable instrument. But is was the tone and the sustain that really caught my attention. The tone is very well balanced and clear. And the sustain goes on forever. Needless to say I am thrilled with the Tofino. It looks, plays and sounds like an instrument easily two or three times the price. Buying a guitar without being able to strum is is always a risk. Tone can be a very personal thing. However, I find it hard to believe that there are (m)any that would turn this instrument away after playing it for a couple of days. Well done boys!

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.