MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr Guitar Owners' Reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.
2022-11-30
Star Rating: 
5
Jon from Pflugerville writes:
The Wednesday before Thanksgiving 2022 I was riding passenger from Austin Texas, up Rt. 35 to the Nations in Oklahoma to visit family. An ad came over my cell phone for McKenzie and Marr Guitars and just "hit me right". It said they were on sale and they don't sell through distributors. I would have never ever purchase a guitar over the internet...but I did. I purchased the parlor size with pick-ups and hardshell case. It was all against better judgement purchasing a guitar sight unseen...but I did. The 7 day money back warranty made me feel somewhat comfortable and I purchased through PayPal. When I got the guitar I opened the case without removing it so it would get up to room temperature. My first view of it told me I probably made a very good decision. After a few hours I held it, tuned it up and played it. The action was like a custom shop Martin. The sound was wonderful. I love this guitar. My friends who have played it agree. This company is the real deal. Totally excellent guitars.
2022-11-24
Star Rating: 
5
Tod from BAINBRIDGE ISLAND writes:
I don't remember how I became acquainted with Mackenzie and Marr guitars. I didn't know anyone who had one, and I'd never seen one in person, but there was something about this company that drew me in from the get go. The looks of the guitars was one thing, and the fine materials used were another, but there was something else that came though. I don't know what else to call it but poetry. Clearly passion was behind the instruments - evidenced by the owners' statements, and also by the fact that the guitars have names. I loved that. To me the names evoked soul. Most guitar companies give their instruments a number. How boring. Now, I had a great guitar before I purchased my M&M. A medium level Taylor, which cost me a lot more than my M&M. True I was looking for something different, but I didn't want to step down in quality or playability or sound. I checked in at M&M's website often over the course of a year. I'm retired and live on a fixed income, so I had to be careful. A voice kept telling me another guitar was not an essential purchase, or was it? I like a small guitar, and I live on a boat. So the Baby Boat was a no brainer. And I liked the idea of an Adirondack Spruce top. I've spent lots of time camping in the Adirondacks. I liked that connection. I also liked the Tofino with its red cedar top. I live in Washington state, and the red cedar tree is iconic here. These kinds of connection to landscape are important to me - and both these guitars resonated with me in a big way. One day I checked in at the site and there was a Baby Boat that had sustained shipping damage and was for sale at a discount. I went for it. The guitar is awesome, and is everything I hoped for. It's beautiful and the craftsmanship is perfection, truly. I play fingerstyle, and the sounds that come out of the guitar are clear with a lot of depth. It sings, and I love playing it. The Baby Boat is a work of art, and even in my amateur hands, it sounds like poetry. I am totally satisfied with the guitar. I don't know if owning two M&M guitars would make me any happier, but I feel a strong temptation to find out. Sometime.
2022-11-14
Star Rating: 
5
William from Oshawa writes:
I have been playing for about 50yrs. and I am as excited now as I was when I first started! I was in the market for a high end acoustic for quite awhile and played many of the brands over $5,000. I stumbled across MacKenzie and Marr some time ago and did my research. All of the videos and reviews said "go for it" and I did. The seven day love it or return tipped the scale. Just to let you know, you can't have it back! It came set up nicely right out of the box. I put the battery in the Baggs, tuned it up and took off. It plays and sounds great and the workmanship is really amazing. I find this every bit as good as the guitars costing five times as much and recommend them to anyone looking for a high quality instrument.
2022-10-21
Star Rating: 
5
Wayne from Sherwood Park writes:
This was a gift for my daughter and she was thrilled with the sound and how easy the guitar was to play. Something about easy fretting if that is a word.
2022-10-07
Star Rating: 
5
Jean-François from Granby writes:
J’ai récemment acheté une guitare de Mackenzie & Marr, la Grand Manan slope shoulder dreadnought. Je joue depuis plusieurs années et j’ai essayé plusieurs modèles et qualités de guitares avec le temps.   Je dois dire que je suis agréablement surpris par la qualité de cet instrument.  Non seulement l’instrument est bien construit et esthétiquement beau, mais sa sonorité est aussi super.  Le son est riche et chaleureux.  La caisse résonne bien. La touche est aussi facile à jouer.  Je suis très satisfait de cet instrument de grande qualité.  Il faudrait certainement débourser 2 ou 3 fois le prix de cette guitare pour avoir la même qualité en magasin. Merci!
2022-09-28
Star Rating: 
5
Salvatore from Burks Falls writes:
Waited 2 months to get this guitar. On opening the guitar case, I was WOWED. the wood is just beautiful, great piece of art. I have had the guitar now for a week. The sound is amazing. Great sustain and well balanced. I am a novice player but feels great in my hands. I am practicing more which hopefully will make me a better player. Was worth the Waite. Great value for the money.
2022-09-27
Star Rating: 
5
Alan from PALM COAST writes:
In the sea of nice looking but uninspiring guitars, I found the Algonquin 12 stunning in its construction, tonewoods, playability, and sound quality. It's a beautiful instrument with a company behind it that seems to care about what they produce. Things like a proper setup, a good case, new and well matched string sets, seven day trial period, and reasonable shipping costs make it a good deal. That's the way it should be and I'm very grateful for it.
2022-09-27
Star Rating: 
5
Lance from Kitchener writes:
Lately, I've been looking about for a different guitar. I've been perfectly happy with my Martin HD-28. When I was learning to play in the late sixties, all my guitar influences played guitars like these. My parents were both musicians and I learned on my Dad's ' 51 Gibson SJ-200 and my Mom's '50 J-45. (Yes, I was lucky!) But, finally, after half a century, I finally realized something. I have a low baritone voice, and the boomy bottom end of those big dreadnoughts drowns out my voice when not plugged in. Back in the old days of poor PA systems, we needed all the volume we could get from acoustic. Not so, today. I'd been trying out some smaller guitars that have great sound and better balance. I found I particularly liked the Martin 000-28 style guitars. But...these are WAY over what I can afford! I love the sound of James Taylor's Olsen guitars, but these are much more expensive than even Martins! Strictly fantasy material! For the last few years. I've been watching the ads for MacKenzie and Marr guitars. They looked beautiful. The marketing philosophy seemed logical. The prices were excellent. All the words made sense – but, then again – Everyone makes claims like this! I've been underwhelmed too many times. I would never have dreamed of buying an acoustic guitar that I couldn't try in person. I don't know how many times I've advised people never to buy a guitar online! But, when I first saw the Ian Tyson inspired guitars on your site I was really intrigued. They looked wonderful, but I couldn't believe the claims about them at that price point. But – one day, I noticed a special deal for one that had been damaged and repaired. I contacted you and was assured that it still had a full factory warranty. The price was so good, I HAD to take it! When it arrived, I was thrilled! It was easily as good as the claims. I waited a few weeks to write this, to make sure I still thought so. I still think so. It actually is the same size as my Martin dread, but for some reason, it seems much smaller. It has that lovely rosewood/spruce sound that I want, but it is much more balanced. The play action is probably the best I've ever seen on an acoustic. More like a typical electric. It is great for both strumming and finger picking. The workmanship is exquisite. The look is even somewhat like those Olsens! And, yes, I've always liked Florentine cutaways. (even though I don't really do much playing up there) At that price, I can't believe that the case is as good as any I've seen on high end instruments. It really is as good as competitors' products costing many thousands of dollars. I can't believe my good fortune in finding such a good instrument at this price. There is only one thing I would change, but it's no fault of the guitar. The pickup included is very nice, and considered high end by most people. Again, I'm surprised to see one of these included in this price range. It works well, but it still has that piezo sound. True, it's well damped, but still, they have to give you directions on how to set it to “find” the best sound.. I will probably leave it in there and use it that way, but, I much prefer the K&K pure mini currently in my Martin. On that one, you don't need a battery, and there is only one sound – that of the guitar. It just gets louder when you turn it up. Personal preference, I suppose. I'm sure many would disagree with me on this. But, in general – I couldn't be happier with my purchase!
2022-09-21
Star Rating: 
5
Larry from Empire writes:
Placed my order for a Baby Boat and it was delivered in a week. I was excited with anticipation and expectation, having purchased an Opeongo about a year and a half ago. Summarily, I can say I am completely fulfilled. It is gorgeous looking, amazing sounding and easy playing. It has a beautiful gloss finished Adirondack Spruce top with Bolivian Rosewood back and sides. Mine displayed some really nice lighter sapwood and wood grain pattern. The maple binding, abalone purfling and rosette adds to the looks. The fit exhibits excellent craftsmanship. The sound projects and sustains with balance and clarity across the tonal range. The action is perfect and so it’s easy to play. You could pay two or three times more and not get a better guitar, but why? I was fortunate when I purchased it. I received a discounted price and really feel like I got a great deal on their already reasonable prices.
2022-09-14
Star Rating: 
5
Pierre from Montreal writes:
Tout simplement, incroyable! Une construction impeccable. Le choix des bois comme sur les meilleures guitares. M&M connait vraiment la recette pour produire une bonne guitare. Et à ce prix, tout simplement incroyable. Le son de cette guitare est tout simplement fantastique. J'ai confiance que le son va encore s'améliorer avec le temps.À date je ne trouve aucun défaut. Merci Mac and Marr!

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.