fbpx Owner Reviews

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.

MacKenzie & Marr guitar owners' reviews

Please note: We publish all reviews exactly as they are submitted. Occasionally we may correct an obvious typo but that's it. The opinions you read are the owner's own words.

Brian from Cambridge

Tue, 11/17/2020 - 10:29

Guitar arrived a few weeks late - M&M did inform me of the delay and with Covid going on it was no surprise to me. Guitar arrived by Fedex and the packaging was solid. The Hard Shell Case is pretty substantial. The guitar is everything it was stated to be. Quality of build is incredibly high, the installation of the LR Baggs system is spot on. It's just a beautiful guitar. The sound is very well balanced and the notes ring out. Overall volume and sound is very, very good. I checked intonation up and down the neck and it's very good. I would highly recommend M&M guitars. You get a lot of guitar for the price point...easily could sell for double what I paid. M&M deliver what they promise. One tiny critique is the bridge pins...they looked like they are from a toy guitar and were not well fitted...this surprised me given the high attention to all other details. I have pins at home that I switched out so no big deal. I am glad I made the decision to go with M&M - all in all a great experience and I look forward to adding the Ian Tyson Inspiration to my collection of much played guitars.

Allen from Sydney

Thu, 11/12/2020 - 16:19

Have to say this guitar is amazing incredibly light and resonant ! Beautiful tone and the playability is off the charts . I have. Even using a tonerite device on it when not playing to help with the breakin I can honestly say this guitar has blossomed I’m very short period of time incredible instrument I could not be happier !!!!!

Peter from Penn Yan

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 12:12

The instrument is beautiful to look at and hold. Tone is as sweet as I was hoping for, and sound projection and clarity are outstanding for a parlor guitar. I wear hearing aids, and often they make stringed instruments sound harsh and full of overtones. That is not the case with this guitar. The Opeongo sounds FAR better than a $4000 hand built parlor guitar that I played recently, with its exotic hardwoods and high-end tuners, and is actually nicer to look at as well. I love the beautiful and sturdy hard shell case. I find the action a bit high at the 10th fret, but don't play up the neck all that much.

Daniel from Red Bluff

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 12:11

A very carefully built guitar. It matches the resonance of the best guitars I've ever played. I'm not a pro, but I've picked up some really expensive guitars to try. It almost sings by itself. When it is in in a room with other instruments playing, the strings will resonate with the surrounding music. Light and solid and beautiful it is easy to play and very hard to put down again.

Chad from Lancaster

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 12:00

I was thoroughly impressed by the grand Manan. The construction, fit & finish are top notch and it has an excellent sweet and dry mahogany tone. I had a J-15($1,700) and by all measures the Grand Manan is the superior instrument (also stays in tune much more consistently). Mackenzie and Marr guitars live up to their billing as premium guitars for a fraction of the price.

Al from Brighton

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 11:59

An all round beauty..it's my 3rd guitar from MMG and my 4th should be be arriving Monday... thinking about doin' the 12 string also..

John from Elkins Park

Tue, 11/03/2020 - 11:58

3.5 stars. Good for the price. 4 stars for high end Martin's, etc. 5 stars for vintage guitars so 3.5 is good. Guitar is made of very nice wood, inlays and binding are exceptional. Tone woods are nice and it feels good in hands. My complaint is action was very high, almost unplayable past 5th fret. High E buzzes, can't figure out where, not a fret buzz, internal. Pick guard is cheap, I didn't even put it on. I did lower the bridge, but still need to lower 1/16th inch to get it where it should be, Hopefully that will eliminate the buzzing.

George from Wedgeport

Sat, 10/10/2020 - 10:36

I have been a Martin and Gibson player for many years. To my surprise it stands out the best. The strings give a great ring to the guitar. I put ex strings on the guitar. Surprising to my surprise a much better ring. Haven't found anything bad with it at all. Very satisfied with it.

Steven from Astatula

Sat, 10/10/2020 - 10:33

This guitar is SWEET! Wonderful tone! Long sustain with delicate overtones. Perfect intonation. And so playable! It plays as easily as my SG. And it's beautiful to look at and to hold. I was so impressed with the Opeongo that I also bought the Ian Tyson Limited Edition!

Pages

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).
*certain conditions apply.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.