Tofino

The following reviews have been left for this content:

Sunday, December 3, 2017 - 12:41 by saskriderzrok

My partner bought me a Tofino for my birthday and I love it! The fretboard is easy to maneuver..nice low action on the strings and the sound is unbelievable, compared to the other 6 acoustics I own. Thank-you Mackenzie and Marr for creating solid quality at a reasonable price!!

5
Saturday, February 18, 2017 - 12:15 by

Doug Ankenmann, Chesley, Ont.

I bought the Ian Tyson # 248(lucky me), over two years ago. I have had no problems with it...finish is excellent, sound even better than that. Great playability...well worth the price($ 1400.00 del)
It plays and sounds better than my friend's 72 Martin D28 or his Larrivee.

Jon Marr is a wonderful man. Have talked to him on the phone and met him in person in Elmira.

Keep up the good work guys!

Thanks again.

Monday, October 10, 2016 - 10:53 by holman.donald

When My Brother -in-law came for a visit he seemed smitten by my  Tofino. So I got him one..this was his responce when he opened the package and  played  his LTP Tofino.

Peter Zetlin

Hey Don,

Unwrapping the Mackenzie reminded me of helping a beautiful woman take
off her clothes. And once she was out, I wasn't disappointed either.
Nice cedar smell too.

The tuning pegs were smooth compared to my 50 year old Epiphone Texan.
The Mackenzie is clearer, fuller than the Texan. Just so sweet. I'm
going to have some fine moments with her. The neck is wider than the
Texan and will take some getting used to. When you can get your
fingers in the right place, that full chord rings just right.

What a nice gift. Many thanks to you!

 

 

Thursday, July 28, 2016 - 18:48 by steelstringer

I was looking for a non-dreadnought guitar to top off my acoustic collection, but I didn't want to spend a bundle. After doing a lot of online research into various names and models I went for the Tofino---partly on a hunch that it would be a great choice, and partly based on reviews and videos. In any case, I am thoroughly impressed by the tone, craftsmanship, appearance and playability. If I picked this up in a guitar shop with no prior knowledge of M+M instruments, I would venture a guess that this guitar was in the 2K price range. Instead, it was a fraction of that cost. This is a great instrument at a price that defies all appearance and expectation. 

Tuesday, March 22, 2016 - 14:32 by Donna.herman

a really fine instrument can enable you to play better, and it's neat that the average listener can hear there's something special going on with this guitar. Very light, easy to play, sounds great recorded, holds tune well, the Baggs pickup system is the best I've had. A real treat to spend time playing it, I'd hate to be without it!
Greg

Friday, March 4, 2016 - 08:55 by John.douglascoley

Guitar arrived perfectly intact. There was a little difficulty and delay due to the fact that the guitar is left handed. I can understand the difficulties in production for left handed models. This is not new to me, I have been living with it all my life. Having said that, the construction and finish of the instrument are flawless. Frets are level and true with no protruding ends. The tone is superb, the cedar top of the Tofino seem to give a slightly warmer tone compared to a spruce top, although it is plenty bright when it needs to be. I really like the less "boomy" sound of this size body compared to a Dreadnought size. The L.R.Baggs Anthem pickup is also superb once one gets the feel of it. The setup and action were perfect as delivered from the shop, also the intonation was spot on. The guitar also performs well with alternate tunings, I tuned it to a C Wahine tuning where the low E string drops to C, this can kill the intonation of most guitars, but the Tofino sounds wonderful in this tuning delivering clear , tight low end. All in all I would recommend this guitar, it is equal or better than many higher priced and "name brand" instruments. Thank you Mackenzie Marr for your excellent service.

Thursday, January 7, 2016 - 23:23 by markblydorp

After waiting around 8 months to receive the Tofino I finally received the guitar about 3 months ago. Over this time, I took a lot of time to get to know the guitar and now am able to give an adequate review.

First the bad, the first issue was that the guitar took 8 months to get to me when I was expecting it to arrive a lot sooner then this, had I had known this before purchasing the guitar I don't if I would have in the first place but what happens happens and I understand why the guitar took so long to get to me. Next issue is the case, the case does not fit snuggly around the guitar, I was expecting one that would fit a lot closer to the body it still snuggly in the case but it is not custom made for the Tofino. Also it’s a bit cheaply made, I’ve already bent some of the closing clips just from normal use. The next issue is the pick guard that was sent with the guitar, it is an after market stick it on yourself type deal which I don’t mind that much but the guard its self is one I wouldn’t put on any guitar. The pattern looks quite cheesy and the round on the guard that comes pre cut doesn’t line up with the radius of the sound hole or the sound hole rosette. Instead of applying this guard I took the guitar to my local guitar shop to have a professional customized guard fitted because I am one to hit my picks in to the body on down strokes and like to keep the guitar looking spotless. The last issue is that when the guitar arrived the pick up which was supposed to be attached to the inside of the guitar was loose, meaning I had to attach the pick up myself, I am pretty handy when it comes to things like this but who knows what could have happened to the pick up in the shipping process and what kind of damage it did to the inside of the guitar.

                Now to the good, as you will notice the above problems weren’t about the guitar its self but the things that came with the guitar, and I have nothing but good things to say about the guitar. It is a wonderful instrument to play. Picking is meet with a beautiful crispness and every note is clear. Just straight strumming is also wonderful, every note of the chord rings out. I really enjoy the sound as well and after fixing the pick up the guitar sounds amazing plugged in. I have played many gigs with my band “The Caucasian Lifeguards” and those among the crowd with a more musical mind complemented the sound quality of my little guitar. Playing this guitar is a dream and it makes you want to come back, which I find very important. Playing guitar should be something enjoyable and the Tofino makes it that. With all the defects that you first notice when you take it out of the box like the loose pick up, the cheesy pick guard and the fact that you waited 8 months are over shadowed by how incredibly enjoyable this guitar is to play and to listen too. It was money well spent and just at a fraction of the cost of another guitar of the same calibre.   

Monday, November 2, 2015 - 16:08 by rg.dorval

I had been thinking about getting a Tofino guitar since I first became aware of them several years ago.Finally I took the plunge and ordered one back in the spring. There was a long delay but I got the call about a month ago that they had, at long last, arrived. Fortunately, I live near enough that I was able to go to the "loft", and meet John and check out the guitar.  I have to admit that it was a nice looking instrument and the set up was great. The finish was beautiful and the quality of the wood was excellent. I prefer to play alone, so after a quick check I took it home where I would feel more comfortable.

I've had it for a month now and there never was any question as to whether I would return it after the "play me" week was over. It's just so nice to play. It feels good and sounds good and the more I use it the better is seems to get.  I have never played a $3000 guitar so, unlike others, I have no way of comparing it to that, but I really feel that I got good "bang" for the buck.

Thanks John it was nice meeting you and talking to you and I am still considering taking a cutaway also!!

RG Dorval.

Saturday, October 31, 2015 - 00:23 by reeve

Thanks guys, I know that the order was prolonged... so what I recieved #13 thanks for that in the new 5th EDITION Tofino... sounds amazing.. my daughter loves her Canadian Songwriter...forget Taylor or Martin you provide an amazing product at an amazing price and PERSONAL support - another 6 months until the next purchase - maybe a cutaway..all the best Reeve and thanks for the EVERYTHING you guys rock....btw the next special addition i want #1 LOL

 

 

 

Tuesday, October 20, 2015 - 10:23 by holman.donald

I finally got my Tofino after waiting 5 months. Sometimes things happen and nothing can be done but to wait. I did not realize that Mackenzie and Marr did not have the instruments in stock.  That became apparent as soon as they missed the first delivery date.

After opening the Cardboard Box and removing the guitar case, I carefully inspected the outside of the case. The case was in pretty good shape with the exception of a small ding on the outside, top.  I checked out the guitar and there was no damage or scratches. So Fed-Ex did a great job and the packing by the shipper was adequate.

After letting the guitar sit for a few hours to let it get used to its new environment I sat down and played it.  It sounds really great.  I have been playing it for several days and I will not return it. It is really worth the price.  I have guitars that cost a lot more than the Tofino and while they do sound better than the Tofino, it has its own distinct, sweet sound.

I had requested that the pick-guard be installed before shipping, but they forgot to do that. I decided not to put it on. I love how it looks without it.  One thing I felt irritated by was the lack of a battery installed on the Anthem pick-up. I had to remove the strings to put a battery in. Makes me wonder if they tested it. One last thing, there is no such material as Ebony Plastic. There is Ebony and Plastic, and perhaps Ebony colored Plastic. But, there is no such material as Ebony Plastic.

I am hoping to enjoy the Tofino for a long time.  We shall see how it is 10 years from now.

Regards,

 Don Holman

Thursday, October 8, 2015 - 16:32 by ronhaslam

I've tried many high end acoustic guitars over the past few years.  I finally
decided to try a Tofino, so I purchased one online. Why not? They have a "7
day love it or leave it guarantee".

In my opinion, the Tofino is at least as good as, or better than any high-
end guitar I've ever tried.  The Tofino is possibly the best guitar I've
ever played. The feel, the playability and the sound are amazing!

I highly recommend the Tofino!
 

Thursday, March 13, 2014 - 17:48 by drkilobravo207
I have been blessed with finding a Tofino #146 for $400 which led me to purchase the Songwriter after experiencing the Quality of the Tofino.M & M have shown me what " Bangs for the buck" really means. I've got Martins,Taylors, Carvin, Sigmas ( Both Japanese & Korean ),Seagulls ,and the play-ability and balance of the M & M outshine them all. I'd never even heard of this company until I saw one for sale on Craigs' list and it not only changed my view of guitars, but a lot of my fellow players who have paid for high-end equipment. I know that there are a lot of people who are only sold by the labels , they hear my guitars and say " That's not a Martin" with puzzled looks on their faces. I have to hold myself back from buying more M & M products , but enjoy the new ones that are coming out and keeping up with them on Facebook. I would recommend their products for any style picker and feel confident that they'll be more than satisfied. John Marr is more than helpful in delivering the product and has a good knowledge of what people want , by their output on questions and answers on Facebook. Enjoy !
5
Thursday, May 23, 2013 - 13:00 by kissmyaxe
First impressions when getting this guitar in terms of sound was "wow, amazing, this sounds great". There were some esthetic blemishes here and there upon receipt but the sound of this guitar more than made up for them. At the time I received this guitar, I was playing a Martin HD-28, the sound of which i was never too fussy about. When I received my tofino, it quickly took the place of the Martin and I eventually sold the Martin. The Martin I owned for about a year... never had any real problems with it in regards to playability (action, buzzing, truss issues); it was always kept in the case after I was done playing. I treated my Tofino with the exact same level of care; however, 4 months after owning the guitar, the neck significantly warped on it which was a surprise to me since it was never subjected to any sudden harsh temperature changes nor was it ever left out of the case when done playing. I brought it in for repairs and it was indicated to me that the neck had a significant hump around the 11th and 12th fret, a fret dress was required to repair the problem; however since getting it back, it's back in tip top shape and plays great once again. For the price I paid, this guitar was a great investment so far, even with the minor repair made. Anyways, that was my experience.
4
Monday, October 1, 2012 - 15:32 by endofjays
First impression: Wow! I couldn't wait for my new Tofino to be delivered. In fact, I was waiting at the door when the FedEx guy arrived at 9:00 am and I just put it down after three hours of huge grins! Right out of the (very nice!) case the Tofino impressed me. It's a lovely instrument but as great as it looks, it sounds even better! If you're thinking about buying a new guitar I would strongly recommend the Tofino.
5
Friday, June 29, 2012 - 12:42 by Robert LaCavera
I was interested in this guitar ever since the Dragon's Den show. I couldn't see myself spending that much for a guitar. Or so I thought at that time. I went on your website and played the different videos several times. Wow! What great sounding guitars. Someday I am getting one of those. I thought long and hard but I just couldn't resist your June Newsletter..... Watch for our Mid-year sale on a limited number of guitars. Starting on June 6th. Well I was on there first thing in the morning. Darn it! It's not there yet! Finally - it's on line. It took me just minutes to place my order for a "Less Than Perfect" guitar. Hey I am going to scratch it, bang into a table or something at sometime. So why not save a couple of bucks and buy a slightly less than perfect guitar. Anticipating it's arrival which only took a couple of days. The box was well sealed, the guitar wrapped in there like a new born baby in the womb. I wrestled to get it out - well worth the exercise. I just couldn't wait to play afew chord, to hear how it sounded. SWEET! Very mellow just like Kevins' playing on the Dragon's Den. I am glad I made the choice. I told my granddaughter if she learns how to play the guitar. I will leave it to her in my will. She said "Really Grandpa", Yes I'll give it to you. So I'm hoping this will give her some incentive to carry on with her lessons. I think I made a good investment - Mackenzie & Marr Guitars are for me.
5
Friday, March 9, 2012 - 15:22 by chris.laurie
I've had my Tofino for about 3 months now and I do like it very much. I know very little about guitars and my fingers still hurt at times as I am a learner. It is a beautiful instrument and looks to be well made and it makes me want to play it. It sounds very nice to me and my wife has commented several times on how nice it sounds to her. My 21 year old son loves it very much and hints that it could live at his residence at University any time. He plays it lots when home visiting. My brother in law is a guitar tech. and has worked for many bands in the past as well as played with The Stampeders years ago. He visits from time to time when he is passing by on the 401 between shows. He feels it is a very nice guitar and especially likes the finish on the neck. Perhaps a bit jealous with me but oh well. He is not a judgemental sort of person and is low profile so when he says he likes anything about something it really means allot. He is very helpful and gave me all kinds of care tips on the acoustic and where to get the best deals on humidifiers and so forth so I think he is impressed and wants to see it taken care of. I have ordered the Ian Tyson edition now and I am looking forward to getting it. Good luck and best wishes to M&M guitars in the future. Chris.
4
Wednesday, November 16, 2011 - 08:50 by kindpilgrim
Saw the recent Dragon's Den and was excited about the MacKenzie and Marr guitars. Never heard of them before. On an impulse I decided to try one. My wife thought I was mad to buy a guitar on line without having seen or played it. I talked to John on the phone next morning and felt reassured. The Tofino arrived within a few days. It is beautifully crafted. Started playing it at suppertime when I opened the box and continued on into the evening sitting in the dark. Couldn't put it down. What a sound! Rich. Rich! Compares very favourably with my 1941 Martin. It's great value and I'd recommend this guitar to anyone.
4
Tuesday, November 15, 2011 - 21:42 by bigheadme
Well my Tofino #174 showed up on time the box in great shape and the packaging was superb. I immediatly unveild this beautiful instrument checked it over with a fine tooth comb so to speak. The only very minor flaw was the wiring clip on the inside had let go and was riding loose on the wires instead of holding the wires up and against the side like it was designed to do. Emailed and phoned John and he returned both and told me the very minor job of getting some double sided tape and tape the wire holder clip back in place. Tuned the guitar with my electronic tuner and WOW what a deep beautiful sound being projected from this guitar. Within one minute of playing it like others have said I knew it was not going back. I would recommend this guitar to anyone looking to buy one, you cannot go wrong by buying one of these guitars online. John was helpful and got back to me everytime I had a question. I lost my tracking number by mistake and asked him to resend it to me and it was done. Very pleased and happy with my purchase now I have to decide whether or not to put the pick guard on or not. The guitar comes with a hard case as well and it is a nice one to boot. Rod
5
Wednesday, August 17, 2011 - 18:15 by andrebruneau
I went through the other comments and everyone has said it all. It's simply a wonderful instrument, well worth the price and in my opinion - a bargain, as you really do get $3000 quality for a $1000 price. About the time I bought it, I had read somewhere (I believe it was a Clapton interview) that when deciding on which guitar to buy, opt for the most expensive you can afford. I assumed, as with many things, he was saying you basically get what you pay for. I was in that state of mind, looking to improve my playing by investing in a better, more expensive guitar. I was trying out Martins and Taylors ($2500 range) when someone at work mentioned the dragons' den program and this guitar in particular. Just good timing I guess. It took a few days to weigh the risks - but I figured so long as I can return it and get my money back ... What can I say. The best decision I made. "Thirteen" (as I so lovingly call her) is a beautiful instrument. Plays beautifully, sounds amazing and truly is a bargain. And incidently, Clapton is right too. A better guitar does make you a better player - not instantly of course, but because it's easy to play (action is fantasic, sound is great), you just feel motivated to play more. I can't seem to put mine down. If you want that $3000 guitar, but aren't keen on parting with that much money, I recommend (highly) you go for the Tofino or other style they offer. You won't be disappointed and while your looking at your other new guitar - you know, the one you bought with the money you saved - well then you can simply thank me (and MacKenzie and Marr of course!)
5
Thursday, July 28, 2011 - 07:45 by razor
Just received my second Tofino, tone is amazing! The finish is outstanding! The guitar is everything that the ad said it was, great company to deal with, answered all my questions with straight to the point and honest answers. Thank you John, I am a very happy customer!! Ray
4
Wednesday, June 22, 2011 - 04:03 by jat001
I had my doubts about buying a guitar untried over the internet but I trusted the Dragon’s Den and I trusted my instincts. My Tofino arrived yesterday to much delight. I bought my first guitar 30 years ago, an El Degas for $500 and it still sounds great but the Tofina outshines it and the other two guitars that I own by a country mile. The Tofino is easy to play, that's the first thing I noticed and the sound is crisp and clear. This is a quality guitar and good value for my money. Jim
5
Tuesday, April 5, 2011 - 20:12 by brucegdaly
5 star rating I am a new guitar student The craftsmanship is outstanding and even thought my repertoire of cords is small the sound is amazing. Thanks so much The instrument is a pleasure to play.
5
Saturday, April 2, 2011 - 09:45 by cowpaddy
I bought my tofino before the appearance on the dragons den. The number of my guitar is 26. It took me a while to get use to the sound but when I put D'Addario silk and steel strings on it I found the sound I was looking for.I play in the finger picking style and found the tofino was the only guitar I needed. I give it a five star rating!!
5
Friday, April 1, 2011 - 15:24 by Mosco

I recently took possession of a Tofino model guitar made in China, and imported by Mackenzie-Marr, those two somewhat swashbuckling entrepreneurs who appeared in January 2010 on C.B.C.’s Dragons Den with their proposal to sell guitars on-line. They “ambushed” one of the “dragons”, Kevin O’Leary, to test-drive their guitar and he was very enthusiastic about the instrument. Consequently, I was sufficiently intrigued to try the guitar and offer some impressions: First of all, John Marr is a very good front man. He responded quickly and openly to my every inquiry, both about the instrument itself, and about the details regarding shipment, payment etc. The instrument came from Montreal to Comox B.C. in perfect order, via Fedex. I had a week to decide whether or not to keep the guitar and can report that there is no way that Marr is getting it back. Initially I found the set-up a little higher than my Martin D-18, and John Marr offered to enlist, at his expense, the services of a local luthier to change that. But I quickly adapted and the “problem” disappeared. What has really impressed me is the Tofino’s big sound. It’s a lot of guitar, quite the equal of my Martin. To be sure the fit and finish of the Martin seems a little better, but we’re comparing a $4000 instrument with a $999 one. In short, the Tofino is everything and more that Mackenzie-Marr claim – a lot of guitar for a very attractive price.

5
Friday, April 1, 2011 - 09:30 by Anonymous

Very pleased , a well built guitar. The tone and clarity is great. Easy to play. Thanks Guys Paul Ballard

4
Friday, April 1, 2011 - 07:09 by Jim Shepherd
I love my Tofino more, each time I play it. My other guitars are collecting dust. The tone and clarity are fantastic. Having a great guitar has inspired me to play more.
5
Thursday, March 31, 2011 - 21:14 by chanel
This is a great guitar and I just love it. GREAT VALUE Thank You
5
Thursday, March 31, 2011 - 17:49 by zachprice
Awesome guitar!!
5
Thursday, March 31, 2011 - 17:26 by giorgio 1956
great guitar, fantastic sound quality
4
Thursday, March 31, 2011 - 15:12 by Bill Klasky
Took to California for the winter. Fellow guitar players were astounded at the fantastic sound and tone of this guitar. And it's mine, mine, mine
5
Wednesday, March 9, 2011 - 21:00 by lmarko
FedEx delivered it today. Unbelievably beautiful! It's a keeper.
5
Saturday, September 4, 2010 - 20:00 by dlcyh
Wow, so glad I ordered this guitar when I did. I got #16 of the original 48 and can't say enough about how happy I am that I trusted my feelings on this one, Everything they said about how you could spend easily 5 times what this little beauty costs and still not have something that is this sweet has been proven to me. Best of luck to you folks at MacKenzie Marr. The sound and feel is fantastic. Thanks very much, I'll enjoy this for the rest of my life. Kind regards, D. Harris
5
There are 32 published reviews for this content.
There are 0 pending reviews for this content.

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton it will not be left. We do this to insure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.