The Tom Rush Naked Lady

The following reviews have been left for this content:

Friday, April 21, 2017 - 14:01 by

This is my second M&M guitar, the first one is a Dionisio cut away. My naked lady has quickly become one of my main players even before my Gibsons and Martins. Tone is excellent, volume is impressive, low action makes it very easy to play various styles. I now promote M&M guitars to all my friends.

Monday, November 14, 2016 - 12:00 by chris0

A while back I had the misfortune of losing my Mackenzie and Marr Tom Rush Signature Series guitar to someone who thought they needed it more than I did and used the five-finger discount system. Well if you ever played one, all I can say is “who can blame them”. So now I am one of the lucky guys to say I own a McKenzie and Marr naked lady and what a beautiful instrument it is!!!. Last week I had the chance to play a Gibson Hummingbird and everybody that played the Hummingbird and the Naked Lady that night all agreed they preferred the Naked Lady. John Mackenzie and John Marr I tip my hat to you and thank you for creating such a beautiful instrument and introducing it to the music industry. It's a true gem!!!

Thank's Mackenzie and Marr. Chris Koenning

Wednesday, April 20, 2016 - 20:13 by MsManda

I got this guitar in November of 2013....it is still my all time favourite. I have not even bought another guitar since because I keep comparing them to my Lady! I do own five other various guitars from over the years that I still have but I always reach for my Lady every time. I will take one of the older guitars if I go travelling but for home, shows, or recording I only pick up my Lady. My daughter feels spoiled too since I have let her play on it she is no longer satisfied with her guitar haha. I like it so much that I might end up buying a second one when its in my budget after house renovations. I don't know if I will ever have a guitar again that I love as much as her.... 

Monday, February 1, 2016 - 11:53 by higgyone

      Well i guess its best i tell my history with Mackenzie Marr i have in the past purchased first a Ian Tyson  which is just an awesome sounding and playing guitar i the bought a Tom Rush signature series one of the first run it to is a joy to play but my dream was to own a Tom Rush Naked Lady and  in December i was lucky enough to become a very proud owner of this awesome guitar the all around sound just grabs you i jam with a alot of Bluegrass friends and cant wait till the warm weather to come so i can showcase what has become my favourite guitar i do own a few othe guitars  a D45 a D28H and  an older Picador to name a few The Tom Rush Naked Lady is hands down my favourite  besides the sound  it just plain old feels good   i can play it for hours  I tip my hat to Mackenzie Marr and i have to say to anyone afraid to purchase an online guitar do your self a favour and give John and company a choice to please your ears I guess its apparent im a fan   But i dont give praise unless its deserved and i can tell you Its deserved Thnaks To Mackenzie Marr 

 

 

Tuesday, October 6, 2015 - 14:41 by Jack Murray
I was fortunate to play Tom's Naked Lady briefly at a concert last spring and fell in love with it. I've been playing mine for almost two months now and wouldn't trade it for Tom's! This guitar has a wide range of tones from bright and sharp to sweet under/overtones. Playing rhythm it is full sounding and lays the background for the others to follow. Playing leads it commands everyone's attention. I find it to be much more versatile than either my HD-35 or OM-21, which I still love. I've just started playing it out and am impressed with the Baggs system. It took about 5 minutes to become facile in making adjustments. I'm extremely happy that I picked this guitar.
4
Wednesday, September 16, 2015 - 09:22 by angus

I purched a Dionosio 4 years ago and that was the equivalent to drinking. the juice.  I'm a believer.  So when the Lady come out I started to salivate.  It took me a while but I fanally pulled the trigger.  It easily lives up to the glowing reviews.  The volume, tone, and beauty have impressed all of my guitar snob friends.  I've had a Seagull for 20 years and the lady just blows it out of the water, at every level.  Unfortunatly for Mac and Marr, this is the last guitar I will ever buy.  It is that good.

5
Tuesday, September 8, 2015 - 23:10 by rmarkq

I ordered the Tom Rush Signature guitar almost a year ago.  I currently own a Martin and a Larrivee guitar.  Both have beautiful sound and are a joy to play.  When I called to order the Tom Rush guitar, I asked John if, because of no middle man, superior materials, and skillful luthiers, the Tom Rush guitar would be noticeably better in sound and playability.  John thought that was a reasonable expectation.  Quite frankly, I was skeptical.  When I got the guitar and played it, I was impressed.  The guitar was set up beautifully and when I compared its sound to the Martin and Larrivee, it did sould better ... better resonance ... richer sound quality ... and the Martin I have is 25 years old.  I liked the Tom Rush Signature guitar so much that I just had to have the Naked Lady.  It's every bit as good as the Signature guitar and I now reach for one of the two Tom Rush guitars when I sit down in my living room to play.   They're the last two guitars I'll ever buy.  

5
Saturday, January 19, 2013 - 13:49 by pscopa80
John, Wanted to let you know that I am very happy with the Naked Lady that arrived last week. #15 arrived here a lot faster than I expected. Just a few days after I placed the order as you know. The guitar is a work of art. The wood is gorgeous and it's playability is on the level of my Martin DC16RGTE (Rosewood & Sitka Spruce) and Taylor 455ce (Ovangkol & Sitka Spruce). Tone is very different than my other guitars which is a good thing. The combination of the Rosewood and Western Cedar makes vibrant and warm tones. Finger picking and flat picking are a joy on this guitar. I love my Lady............
Thursday, January 10, 2013 - 20:02 by cgchris77546
I bought my Ian Tyson model a year ago; so it did not take too much of a leap of faith to order a Naked Lady last week. Naked Lady #14 arrived here in Texas today and is nestled beside Ian and between my D28 and D18. She plays smooth and mellow and is a true beauty. Now I am going to have real problems deciding which to play they are all great. Congrats Mac and Marr you have done yourselves proud. The addition of the safety neck strap in the case is a nice touch. I have never dumped a guitar picking up a case that was not fastened - but I have seen it happen to others.
Monday, January 7, 2013 - 12:04 by seanlefebvre
John and I worked together in a past life and I knew about him starting his guitar shop. As my skills were being upgraded, I thought an upgrade to my guitars were in order. Immediately short listing the Gibson Hummingbird or a 700 series Taylor, I remembered John. Looked him and decided to give his guitars a try...and probably the best decision I made. I picked up a Tom Rush Limited Ed. in Rosewood and an Ian Tyson Limited Ed. Both these guitars are INCREDIBLE! The finish outstanding but the sound is where you really appreciate them. The TR Rosewood feels like a very expensive guitar and booms with equivalent confidence while the Ian Tyson is crisp and a delight to strum. I know you have to take a leap of faith here but in using this review, trust that it's one you need to take. The guitars are worth every penny. John's hand's on service is truly outstanding. He is passionate about his guitars and it shows in their craftsmanship. Only the best woods are used in every Mac & Marr and they shine whether you strum or finger pick. I'm not the greatest guitarist but I sound 10 times better than I did last week! Thanks John and thanks Mac & Marr guitars! Again, Incredible! Wow!
5
Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 07:16 by donmarco
She arrived yesterday! After her 4-day trip in a brown truck, # 58 is absolutely gorgeous! Design, fit and finish, attention to detail is impeccable. More than I expected and I expected A LOT! After examining her (drooling involved) I went to my favorite tuning C-G-C-G-C-E and had at her. Beautiful voice, clear and bright on top, mellow middles and a low end to bring tears to your eyes. Great job, gentlemen, she's a winner! Oh, and the other naked lady isn't jealous at all! ;) Don Marcopulos
5
Sunday, November 11, 2012 - 18:43 by fgdesq9
I had heard about these guitars, being as I am a great Rush fan since 1967, but I was reluctant to buy a guitar about which I knew little and which was made in faraway places. As luck would have it, Tom recently came to my hometown of Sebastopol, CA for a show, and I took my family and my employees and their families. During the show he played and talked a bit about the Naked Lady, and he was kind enough to let me fondle it a little after the show. Seeing my reaction, my wife (bless her heart) said as follows: "You have to have one of those. The next day I ordered one, and two weeks later I had it in hand. Very few things you order these days are as good as you hope, but this one is better. Beginning with the case, which has a very luxurious feel as well as an interior security strap and a combination lock, this guitar exceeded all my expectations. First, it's ridiculously pretty, and not just for the flawless inlay. The cedar top has a warm look and a nice even grain, while the herringbone trim blends nicely with the dark binding, which is a relief for those of us who are sick to death of seeing herringbone on everything.and the straight-grained rosewood back is perfectly book-matched, with a herringbone strip down the center. . The pearl/wood/pearl rosette is clean and classic. The headstock is simple and clean with just the name and slogan inlaid. The gold tuners have simple black knobs and string locks; I've never used locking tuners before, and I can't imagine why not. They're amazingly handy. The sound is the most surprising feature; I expected it to have tight quality that you so often find in a new guitar. It's easy to see how some playing time will open it up nicely, but make no mistake: it's ready to go right out of the box. The Anthem sound system is well known, and it works just as expected. I like my guitars with a slightly greater string width, and the neck has plenty of room to widen it a bit without having the strings too close to the edges. I had that done, and was delighted with the result. I was both surprised and pleased with the quality of the fit and finish. I've been a Martin snob for a very long time, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this guitar to anyone. In fact, it's one of those rare things that is making me think about buying a second one...just in case anything happens to mine. That's how much I like it.
5
Friday, October 12, 2012 - 16:14 by jackson5
John, Received the "Lady" a few days ago signed by Tom. It was a bit of a hassle for him but he was very accomidating and is a great guy. The guitar is awesome. The woods are very nice, The unbound fretboard is how I like them, the tuners are tight and the pickup is great as it has tone control as well as volume. We had a contest between the Lady and a 1948 Gibson J45, a 1953 J50, and a 1969 Texan FT79N Epiphone. The Texan is the same model Tom had that he lost in the house fire that was the original "Naked Lady" although I think his was a bit older. I played mostly my rendition of "Rockport Sunday" for the contest. I play it reasonably well. I had a freind visiting from Colorado who said the Lady won hands down. My wife preferred the tone of the Gibson's but said the interaction between the strings the Lady has is every bit as interesting, just different. The tone being different but great. The playability is as good as any acoustic I have played. It is a great pleasure to play. The inlay looks great. I don't know anything about inlays but I sure like this one. I have been enjoying fingerpicking this "Lady". No pun intended.
5
Saturday, September 22, 2012 - 10:41 by jamieo48
Number 4... apparently they aren't shipping in numerical order, since #37 commented above, but I'm tickled to death to have a single-digit, and highly pleased with my purchase. She's a real sweetheart! I haven't plugged in yet...haven't even hooked up the battery.... so I can't comment on the electronics yet.
4
Friday, August 24, 2012 - 13:52 by pharmatuk
I now own Naked Lady #3. I’ve been playing on and off since 1961 and have owned a number of guitars classic and “steel stringed” (Martin & Taylor). I have not played with any regularity for a number of years even though I often dream of playing like some of my heroes…. I saw Tome Rush a couple of winters ago at the Barns of Wolftrap and fell back in love with his music…it was mellow, poignant and spoke to my heart. He like most thing in my life, got better with age! My wife and I liked his music so much we are traveling from Virginia in December to attend his 50th anniversary concert in Boston. To help with funding for his concert, I submitted a donated to get his Naked Lady guitar from his website, but as the internet had it, my bid never made it and someone else took my “lady”. On Tom’s advice I contacted the folks at MacKenzie & Marr Guitars. I was reluctant initially to discuss buying the guitar when I was told that it came from Communist China……”I really hate all the cheap junk that comes from there that you get in Wal-Mart and Costco”, I told them…after some discussions and a description of how the guitars are made, I backed off from my stance and paid my money and bought Naked Lady #3. I love my lady. I and now back playing the guitar again…I spend some amount of time each morning holding her and relearning to play (while my wife gets ready for work). I am even getting calluses back on my fingers. My lady is truly a beautiful piece of work (similar to my wife of 43 years). I own both a Taylor and a Martin guitar, and this lady fingers the easiest of all. Her sound is wonderful and such; it makes an old picker/plucker like me, look and sound like I know what I’m doing and that I can really make music. The finish is gorgeous, the wood grain unmatched, the tuning mechanisms smooth as silk. I will say it again, I love my lady and so glad I bought this “piece of junk from Communist China”. See ya in Boston!
5
There are 15 published reviews for this content.
There are 0 pending reviews for this content.

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.