Opeongo OO acoustic

The following reviews have been left for this content:

Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 22:10 by Hal Webre

I'm not really a musician, but I love playing the ten finger style tunes I know over and over until my wife leaves the room. A few years ago I decided that I wanted a parlor guitar. I bought a pre-war Regal guitar. It has a sweet sound, but is difficult to play due to a thick neck and high action. Didn't matter for a while, but then I got sick and ended up with peripheral neuropathy in my hands and feet. Couldn't play guitar, couldn't type for a couple of years. When I improved some, I thought I could play again if I had a more a forgiving guitar than the Regal with which to work. That's when I ordered the Opeongo.

I'm not a stranger to Mackenzie & Marr. As a birthday gift, I gave my son one of the Ian Tyson models when they were released. So I expected high quality and extraordinary value. And that's what I got with the Opeongo. It is virtually the perfect guitar for me. Even with neuropathy in my hands, the Opeongo feels better than any other instrument I own. There is virtually nothing I can say about it that is negative. I admit to being a little surprised by the matte finish. It's fine, I just expected a gloss finish. So, the instrument's form and finish are beautiful, the setup is excellent, and the materials seem to be of very high quality. I'm not an expert at judging sound, but it seems plenty loud and balanced to me.

In short it is everything I had hoped it would be ... plus an extraordinary value. For anyone in the market for a new 00 size parlor guitar, I can't imagine a better choice ... at least not without spending thousands. I'm so pleased, I'm considering learning an eleventh tune.

5
Friday, August 11, 2017 - 11:53 by Bayousailor46

I love the blues and enjoy playing and learning as much as I can. The Opeongo is wonderful guitar for my passion, with a sweet sound, easy to play and beautifully crafted. I own two, which is a long story, one stays at home and the other goes to sea with me. It's size makes it easier to carry and store onboard. If you're a fan of acoustic Blues you should check out this guitar. It has that sound.

5
Tuesday, December 13, 2016 - 13:06 by proutland
I have received my "long waiting for" Opeongo Guitar. While I am only a beginner player at 86 yearrs of age; (and already own 5 other quality guitars) ... I have to place my" Opeongo", as the most beautiful craftsmanship, and quality of sound guitar in my collection. My level of ability is low, (but improving) but my appreciation of quality is high. Thank you for your excellence of workmanship !
Tuesday, July 12, 2016 - 15:06 by ksproul

What an absolutely lovely guitar.  First of all the sound is splendid, but I suspect that goes without saying when it comes to a MacKenzie & Marr guitar.  What I really want to talk about is the comfort.  I can just sit anywhere with this guitar and feel really comfortable, even more recently often sitting with it in front of my home office desktop as I consult the www for various songs to play.  To be honest, I don't think I was even aware of the "parlour" sized guitar before I saw the Opeongo.  While other reviewers reassure that the sound of the guitar is loud enough I want to emphasize how nicely it fits with the singing voice of a rather soft-spoken person.  I can actually sing with this guitar without being drowned out!  Buying a MacKenzie & Marr guitar was on my shopping list for maybe 5 years and I'm delighted that my delay coincided with the arrival of the Opeongo.  It was also delightful meeting John Marr!

 

Cheers

Ken Sproul, Toronto

Tuesday, May 19, 2015 - 15:41 by slakramer
When I started taking guitar lessons 6 years ago, I didn't have the experience to explore the kind of acoustic guitar I really needed. My husband originally ordered a Tofino for an anniversary gift and due to some unforeseen delivery problems, Mackenzie and Marr offered me an Ian Tyson Ltd. Edition with pickups. I thought this would be my one and only acoustic guitar for life. Fool Me! Anyone passionate about guitars knows that one guitar is never enough! So, one Ian Tyson, one Les Paul Studio, one Baby Taylor later, I found myself searching for the perfect acoustic guitar with comfort and ease of play, with a rich balanced sound. I had already been to several guitar stores and played a few high end acoustics and thought I would be spending in excess of 2 thousand to get the sound and comfort I needed. As luck would have it, the Opeongo was born! So, after talking to John on the phone and listened to the artists play this little beauty, I confidently placed my order. My wish list was realized. What a great guitar!!! The perfect materials and flawless workmanship used to create this small guitar delivers clear balanced acoustic tone weather you play quiet finger style or strum with passion! Everyone that plays guitar has their favourite and when I walk into my music room, my Opeongo is the first one I gravitate to. When you order your guitar from MacKenzie and Marr you will get a high quality guitar with beautiful sound at fraction of the price of a high end brand name guitar.
5
Monday, November 24, 2014 - 22:25 by colvine2

After months of semi patiently waiting my Opeongo arrived. I ordered this guitar as the picture reminded me of a small body guitar I had in 1972 made by SADA. I opened the box and was happy to see a decent hardshell case. Opened the case and liked the look of the guitar immediately. Even out of the case the tuning was pretty good. Tuned her up and the sound was great. The neck feels comfortable in my smaller hands and the action was impressive. I also have a Martin D16 which I really like but the Opeongo sounds as good and possibly better. I think the action is better on the Opeongo. From what I can tell this guitar is very well made and the intonation is better than the Martin as judged by my electronic tuner when I compare bar chords. I am truly impressed and happy that I bought this guitar. Showed it to an experienced guitar player who manages a music store and he too was quite impressed.

Thursday, October 30, 2014 - 14:05 by disaac2

My experience with Mackenzie and Marr started with a pre-order of the Opeongo followed by an agonizing wait. Within a couple days after the guitars arrived in Canada, I met John Marr briefly to pick mine up. He was very flexible scheduling a pickup, just so I wouldn't have to wait an extra day. My first impression was that the case was quite nice. It feels quite robust, is nicely lined on the interior and has a small storage space on the inside. It came with a little key, although it's not a unique key - the 'lock' can be turned with any thin flat object. Visually, the guitar is great. The design, materials and worksmanship are impeccable. The satin finish feels and looks wonderful and is nearly flawless. I say nearly because only by running my fingers over the entire guitar did I find 2 deviations so small that they could only be felt, not seen. The design and finish of the headstock is my favourite part of the guitar. I am not a particularly experienced or adept guitar player, but the moment I picked up the guitar I felt a huge difference. The neck is very comfortable for me - both while playing bar chords and fingerpicking. The action feels good as well - it is very easy to play. This is due in part to the light D'Addario strings that came with the guitar, which definitely sound like a good match. The tone of the guitar is where it really starts to shine. The sound can range from laid-back and smooth when fingerpicking lightly, to vibrant when plucked more aggressively. The sustain is impressive and the and the sound is very rich. While letting an open string ring I could readily pick out individual overtones. Each string can pick up the vibrations from the others and ring slightly, further enriching the tone. The richness in the mid-range is especially appealing to me. I can definitely verify the claim that you can hear the "True Wood" when playing this guitar. The intonation is good. It stays in tune reasonably well - I expect it will improve as the strings are further broken in and the guitar continues to get acclimated to its new environment. The tuners used are very good and comfortable to use as well thanks to the integration on the slotted headstock. Conclusion: I am very happy with the guitar and the service from Mackenzie and Marr. In my hands the Opeongo sounds very good, in the hands of a better guitar player I bet it'll sing.

Wednesday, June 18, 2014 - 18:59 by bluegrassgirl

Played the Opeongo today and I was pleasantly surprised by everything about it. Firstly, the ease of play is beyond comparison. I was worried about the neck being slightly wider than what I am used to but the feel of this neck is just beautiful. It is well rounded in back like my vintage Framus, and just cradles the hand with comfort, making moving up and down the fretboard nothing but fun. I love this feature. For the size, the sound resonates loud and clear with a beautiful rich warm tone. This is exactly the guitar that I was looking for.... A small guitar with a vintage parlor look, crafted with attention to sound quality, comfort and outfitted with present day niceties. Great times a coming with this!! Purchased.

There are 8 published reviews for this content.
There are 0 pending reviews for this content.

An Important Note Regarding Porch Pirates

When we ship a guitar we always send it with instructions to the courier that a signature MUST obtained at the time of delivery. If no one is home to sign for the carton it will not be left. We do this to insure that your guitar does not fall into the hands of porch pirates (or other nefarious characters such as bass players or drummers).

Fall In Love In Less Than a Week

Try any of our guitars in the comfort of your own home. If you don't fall head over heels in love within a week we'll arrange to take it back and issue a full refund (including shipping).

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Occasionally we send out a well crafted (read: thrown together on the spur of the moment) missive about the latest happenings here at World Guitar HQ. Miss it at your peril.

Shopping cart

Your shopping cart is empty.